Young cheats: Almost 50% of tax dodgers below 35 years of age

gulzar

Nearly five out of every 10 identified tax dodgers are between 18 and 35 years of age, while one out of every 10 of the evaders is a woman, according to official statistics.
Karachi hosts the maximum number of tax evaders, while traders make up the biggest group of those who earn millions, own multiple houses and expensive vehicles, maintain many accounts and spend significant time abroad while avoiding paying a rupee to the exchequer.
The statistics also show that almost two-thirds of the identified people use advanced business models.
The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) and the National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) have for the first time identified and grouped over 2.4 million tax dodgers, according to their age groups, sex, geographical background and professions.
Almost 60% of the 2.4 million have a two-member family, while 317,429 have more than five-member families. According to census and data, wealthy people like to have small families.
Also featuring in the list of evaders are 735,212 people who have remained taxpayers but have exited the system through corrupt FBR officials. However, this figure has not been used in working out the percentages in various categories of evaders. Salaried individuals and withholding agents have not been added to the list either.
According to official figures, as many as 2.2 million or almost 90% of the 2.4 million men and 240,292 (10.2%) women willfully evade taxes.
The government will provide the tax dodgers one last opportunity to avail the tax amnesty scheme before resorting to coercive measures.
Age groups
Ten percent or 242,640 indentified people are between 18 to 25 years of age; 465,549 or 20% are between 26 to 30 years of age and 393,850 people or 17% are between 31 and 35 years of age. This shows that 47% of the total evaders fall between the ages of 18 and 35, indicating the trend of transferring assets to offspring, a common practice among politicians and the industrialists in the country.
As many as 897,242 individuals or 38% are between the age group of 36 and 50 years. Fifteen per cent or 355,744 people fall in the age group of 36 to 40, while 285,409 or 12% are of 41 to 45 years of age. Eleven percent or 256,089 individuals are aged between 46 and 50 years.
In the elderly group of 51 to 60 years, as many as 360,546 people or 15% have been identified.
Top 10 cities
Karachi hosts 326,144 or 13.8% of the identified people followed by Lahore with 238,050 people (10%), Rawalpindi with 117,639 people (5%), Faisalabad with 101,422 people (4.3%) and Sialkot with 97,391 people or 4.2%.
The rest are residents of Gujranwala, Gujrat, Multan, Peshawar and Islamabad.
Top 10 professions
The maximum numbers of evaders, 62,779, are traders by profession, followed by contractors (36,270), importers-exporters (17,853), general-store wholesalers (13,531), jewellers (10,728), small industry owners (10,105), construction industry owners (9,569), doctors (9,330), travel agents (5,426) and owners of filling stations (3,766.)

UKPakistani

So Sorry but the biggest cheats are the ones who pay NO tax whatsoever not the 2% registered to pay, income tax

but the ones who pay nothing at all, and are worth billions and trillions in Pak, Waderas Industrialsists Polticians and Land Owners

Wajdan

Another reason why people do not pay taxas because they normally think that their Money will be wasted and there is no chance govt. will spend that amount on them. (AND THEY ARE RIGHT TOO).

A credible govt. of pakistan needs to build trust and then see how money comes in.

InsafianPTI

so i repeat what asad umar said.
you do not ask them to pay it...you make them to pay it! thats what the govt's job is....what is your geedar doing??
finding women for himself?

through them in jail if they don't.
ask your geedar leader to do it, DO IT NOW.....
Brace yourselves, every lame reason for not paying taxes will find its way here soon.

Sedqal

so i repeat what asad umar said.
you do not ask them to pay it...you make them to pay it! thats what the govt's job is....what is your geedar doing??
finding women for himself?

through them in jail if they don't.
ask your geedar leader to do it, DO IT NOW.....

Oh you mean your geedar still has not asked AbrarulHaq? Who has NEVER paid any taxes (and his CDs and Cassettes have gone Platinum) he doesn't have a National Tax Number (NTN). The first time when he will pay income tax (hopefully) he will be allotted a NTN number.

What was that hoopla about declaring property and assets, he declared his assets when he has NO income (bigsmile)

InsafianPTI

oh you think IK is in govt?
If there is a case against Ibrar than drag him in court....forget court....send tax collectors to his house....make him pay it NOW!
unless govts asks him to pay me or IK won't know he still needs to pay...
:P
we are talking about 50% too? why are you not making them pay for it?
if u can't do it now,there is no way u can do in next govt.
Oh you mean your geedar still has not asked AbrarulHaq? Who has NEVER paid any taxes (and his CDs and Cassettes have gone Platinum) he doesn't have a National Tax Number (NTN). The first time when he will pay income tax (hopefully) he will be allotted a NTN number.

What was that hoopla about declaring property and assets, he declared his assets when he has NO income (bigsmile)

Sedqal

oh you think IK is in govt?
If there is a case against Ibrar than drag him in court....forget court....send tax collectors to his house....make him pay it NOW!
unless govts asks him to pay me or IK won't know he still needs to pay...
:P
we are talking about 50% too? why are you not making them pay for it?
if u can't do it now,there is no way u can do in next govt.

Tax collection is the jurisdiction of FBR i.e FEDERAL board of revenue. Provincial Govt has nothing to do with it.

Wow how quickly we jumped from the moral side of affairs to the legal side of affairs, an action in the real spirit of PTI (bigsmile).

InsafianPTI

wow punjaab govt tu sirf aur sirf 65% taxes ka khaney keh liye paida huwi hai....punjaab agar khaa raha hai tu iss ko tax collect kernay ki responsibility bhi laini chaheiye thi.
THE distribution of NFC award was wrongly done.....punj govt sits there blams it all on zardari...wahhhhhhhhhhhh

now obviously its govt's job to tell the people if somebody is not paying tax....IK don't have access to Tax data,he would only know if govt officials will challenge it officially...not just any street thugs doing blame game (those who produced fake yahoodi check in past :lol:)
the whole purpose of declaring assets was that if there is any misconduct it can be catched...and sorted out accordingly.

so I stand where I was morally and legally! No changes in my position,where do you stand?
when is Noora pushing for a legislation to get the responsibility to collect tax even only being in provincial govt?
are u gonna try to do your bit of responsibility?

Tax collection is the jurisdiction of FBR i.e FEDERAL board of revenue. Provincial Govt has nothing to do with it.

Wow how quickly we jumped from the moral side of affairs to the legal side of affairs, an action in the real spirit of PTI (bigsmile).

Sedqal

wow punjaab govt tu sirf aur sirf 65% taxes ka khaney keh liye paida huwi hai....punjaab agar khaa raha hai tu iss ko tax collect kernay ki responsibility bhi laini chaheiye thi.
THE distribution of NFC award was wrongly done.....punj govt sits there blams it all on zardari...wahhhhhhhhhhhh

now obviously its govt's job to tell the people if somebody is not paying tax....IK don't have access to Tax data,he would only know if govt officials will challenge it officially...not just any street thugs doing blame game (those who produced fake yahoodi check in past :lol:)
the whole purpose of declaring assets was that if there is any misconduct it can be catched...and sorted out accordingly.

so I stand where I was morally and legally! No changes in my position,where do you stand?
when is Noora pushing for a legislation to get the responsibility to collect tax even only being in provincial govt?
are u gonna try to do your bit of responsibility?

Oh but he seems to have all the data on PMLN? double standards much :P

InsafianPTI

PMLN ka data tu courts mein pouch chukka.
PMLN keh data per tu puri dunya mein kitaabein likhi ja chukki hein.
PMLN keh data per tu BBC ney documentries banai thi.
PMLN keh data per tu asghar khan case mein SC ka faisla ho chukka.
kahan tak suno gaye,kahan tak sunaein.

aab mera mun maat khulwaoo....bechara bhangra ganey wala ibrar tu kissi ginti mein he nahi...
unless I see an official thing against him....i'm not gonna believe even for 1% on what you say.

how can anyone in right mind believe Nooras.
Oh but he seems to have all the data on PMLN? double standards much :P

Sedqal

PMLN ka data tu courts mein pouch chukka.
PMLN keh data per tu puri dunya mein kitaabein likhi ja chukki hein.
PMLN keh data per tu BBC ney documentries banai thi.
PMLN keh data per tu asghar khan case mein SC ka faisla ho chukka.
kahan tak suno gaye,kahan tak sunaein.

aab mera mun maat khulwaoo....bechara bhangra ganey wala ibrar tu kissi ginti mein he nahi...
unless I see an official thing against him....i'm not gonna believe even for 1% on what you say.

how can anyone in right mind believe Nooras.

No court has ruled against them till now. So now PTI like other parties will pass the buck to courts and no action will be taken against Abrar. Good to know that (bigsmile) It seems there really isn't much difference between PPP and PTI

InsafianPTI

accha tu army generals ney paisay kia farishtu ko diye they....woh kaun see makhlooq thi jiss ney paisey liye?

pehley Ibraral keh against official case tu lao phir bucks ki baat kerna.....you don't even have a case yet.

No court has ruled against them till now. So now PTI like other parties will pass the buck to courts and no action will be taken against Abrar. Good to know that (bigsmile) It seems there really isn't much difference between PPP and PTI

Geek

464858-shutterstock_-1352763869-101-640x480.jpg

Nearly five out of every 10 identified tax dodgers are between 18 and 35 years of age, while one out of every 10 of the evaders is a woman, according to official statistics.

Karachi hosts the maximum number of tax evaders, while traders make up the biggest group of those who earn millions, own multiple houses and expensive vehicles, maintain many accounts and spend significant time abroad while avoiding paying a rupee to the exchequer.

The statistics also show that almost two-thirds of the identified people use advanced business models.

The Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) and the National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) have for the first time identified and grouped over 2.4 million tax dodgers, according to their age groups, sex, geographical background and professions.

Almost 60% of the 2.4 million have a two-member family, while 317,429 have more than five-member families. According to census and data, wealthy people like to have small families.

Also featuring in the list of evaders are 735,212 people who have remained taxpayers but have exited the system through corrupt FBR officials. However, this figure has not been used in working out the percentages in various categories of evaders. Salaried individuals and withholding agents have not been added to the list either.

According to official figures, as many as 2.2 million or almost 90% of the 2.4 million men and 240,292 (10.2%) women willfully evade taxes.

The government will provide the tax dodgers one last opportunity to avail the tax amnesty scheme before resorting to coercive measures.

Age groups

Ten percent or 242,640 indentified people are between 18 to 25 years of age; 465,549 or 20% are between 26 to 30 years of age and 393,850 people or 17% are between 31 and 35 years of age. This shows that 47% of the total evaders fall between the ages of 18 and 35, indicating the trend of transferring assets to offspring, a common practice among politicians and the industrialists in the country.

As many as 897,242 individuals or 38% are between the age group of 36 and 50 years. Fifteen per cent or 355,744 people fall in the age group of 36 to 40, while 285,409 or 12% are of 41 to 45 years of age. Eleven percent or 256,089 individuals are aged between 46 and 50 years.

In the elderly group of 51 to 60 years, as many as 360,546 people or 15% have been identified.

Top 10 cities

Karachi hosts 326,144 or 13.8% of the identified people followed by Lahore with 238,050 people (10%), Rawalpindi with 117,639 people (5%), Faisalabad with 101,422 people (4.3%) and Sialkot with 97,391 people or 4.2%.

The rest are residents of Gujranwala, Gujrat, Multan, Peshawar and Islamabad.

Top 10 professions

The maximum numbers of evaders, 62,779, are traders by profession, followed by contractors (36,270), importers-exporters (17,853), general-store wholesalers (13,531), jewellers (10,728), small industry owners (10,105), construction industry owners (9,569), doctors (9,330), travel agents (5,426) and owners of filling stations (3,766.)

Published in The Express Tribune, November 13[SUP]th[/SUP], 2012.

pkpatriot

It think they have not considered politics as a profession.... Which is ofcourse in our country...

If politics is conseidered as politics than Politicians should have top the group of TAX dacoits...