Worst passwords of 2013 revealed Do you use any of them?

Night_Hawk

Worst passwords of 2013 revealed! Do you use any of them?

(Agencies) / 22 January 2014

The annual worst passwords list is a way to spread public awareness about password security.

passwords_625.jpg

123456 is the worst password of 2013, software firm SplashData has said in a list it released.

Last year's worst password - password - has been displaced from its perch for the first time ever.
Several weak passwords are as short as four-five characters, and are often really easy to guess, such as 'admin', '1234', '12345'.
The annual worst passwords list is a way to spread public awareness about password security.
SplashData, which sells password management software, recommends the use of a strong password manager that can automatically log in to websites, allowing users to create strong passwords that they don't have to remember. Other simple tips include avoiding number-letter substitutions such as 'p4s$w0rd', and avoiding the same username and password combinations across multiple services.
Here's the complete list of the passwords:
1. 123456
2. password
3. 12345678
4. qwerty
5. abc123
6. 123456789
7. 111111
8. 1234567
9. iloveyou
10. adobe123
11. 123123
12. admin
13. 1234567890
14. letmein
15. photoshop
16. 1234
17. monkey
18. shadow
19. sunshine
20. 12345
21. password1
22. princess
23. azerty
24. trustno1
25. 000000

http://tinyurl.com/mvd68sx

Joker

Re: Worst passwords of 2013 revealed! Do you use any of them?

How they know it that # 9 is my password on Siasat.pk..... (bigsmile)

knower

Yes I use one of them and never had problems with it, so it means its a good password :)

messam

Mazzay ke baat yeh hai k mein last year tak "123456" use kartaa thaa... phir kisi k mashwaray pay i changed it to "password123"....Aur 2014 ko to add the highest security i made it "123456789".... or yeh b pakra gaya.. ab mein is list mein say koi nahi choose karnay wala..

PIND-WALA

What happened to the policy that passwords are secret and no one checks or stores them except the owner ?

shah3145

What happened to the policy that passwords are secret and no one checks or stores them except the owner ?

policies tu banter her toot nay ke liya hair:) who cares

I have used my village name with some number as the end.

In very important accounts, like financial accounts, I use the village name in which I use some character e.g. instead of "a", I use @...

Humi

nope....but I have used them in the past...:P

Night_Hawk

[h=1]4 Easy Steps To Become A Password Pro[/h]
  • by SYD
  • June 3, 2013 - 0 comments

[h=2]
Follow these tips to build a stronger password for your accounts[/h] Password security is a hot topic now, and for good reason. The news is full of tales about passwords being hacked, identities stolen, social media profiles hijacked and bank accounts compromised. The more time you spend online and the more sites that have your personal information, the more vulnerable you are to malicious attacks that attempt to steal your identity.
You’ve heard the horror stories, but how do you make sure password theft doesn’t happen to you? If you follow this simple checklist of security precautions, you’ll be well on your way to experiencing password freedom. [h=4]1. Pick a strong password.[/h] OK, let’s get the basics out of the way first. Don’t pick your child’s name (or your own name) or your birthday. Avoid generic passwords like the classic “password1234.” Don’t use keyboard sequences like “12345” or “qwerty.” Instead, pick a random password with a string of letters, numbers, and symbols. The best password is the one you can’t remember. It’s true. A gibberish password like “fkulisn18%4t^” is much less likely to be guessed by the bad guys when they’re trying to crack your accounts. [h=4]2. Use a unique password (or passphrase) for each site.[/h] We know, we know. It’s a pain to use a different, difficult-to-remember password for each site. However, it’s the safest way to go. If a hacker gets ahold of one of your passwords, it doesn’t mean your online life is up for grabs. So pick a strong password, and then don’t use it again. [h=4]3. Lie on your password hints.[/h] That’s right, you read that correctly. If the question is, “What was the name of your first pet?” don’t answer “Rover” or “Spot” or “Harold the fuzzy hamster.” Pick something else, something only you will remember. Maybe you rhyme pet with bet and make your answer “The 1986 Mets” or the “2001 Patriots.” However you need to do it, just remember the most important thing about password hints: Don’t tell the truth. [h=4]4. Browse safely.[/h] There are lots of fraudulent sites out there that attempt to steal your personal information, but how do you know which sites are for real — and which ones are just out to get you? Don’t worry — we’ve got your back. Norton™ Safe Web screens sites and helps keep your personal information safe as you spend more and more time online. Don’t be tricked into revealing confidential information to the wrong crowd. Know whether a site is bad, before it loads.
Keeping your passwords protected can get pretty complicated, that’s for sure. However, if you want to stay safe online these days, you need a strong password — in fact, you need a lot of them. So the question then becomes, how do you remember all these completely random passwords?
There’s actually a very simple solution. Use a free password manager program like Norton™ Identity Safe. It stores all of your random passwords in the cloud, where only you can get to them. Identity Safe makes logging in to your favorite sites easier, faster, and, most importantly, more secure. So, if you’ve taken the steps to keep your online life safe, say good-bye to password hassles and say hello to an easy-to-use, secure password manager.
http://identitysafe.norton.com/blog/blog/2013/06/03/4-easy-steps-to-become-a-best-password-pro/

sjpti

I use no 4 but with my date of birth in the middle fro example

qwe2014rtyDec (bigsmile) don't think any one on siastat .pk would try to give it a try to steal my pword