WESTERN DEMOCRACY! RIGHT PILL AT WRONG TIME?

Shahid Ali

Friends, Pls comment. But kindly refrain from any personality or any party bashing.

I request you to comment on the content. Thanks.

[video]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fNLadFsuh3Q&feature=related[/video]

WESTERN DEMOCRACY! RIGHT PILL AT WRONG TIME?

If we look upon countries trying to advance which are generally called as developing countries, specially South Asian developing countries, we will find that since their inception nothing at large has been improved. Big percentage of their population lives below poverty line. Food, drinking water, health, education, housing, nothing is adequately available to common people.

Since decades we are hearing that democracy is the only solution to these problems, uninterrupted democratic process will drain out dishonest politicians and socio-economic condition of common man will improve. All our thinkers, intellectuals and scholars have fed this in our minds since our childhood.

Some of developing countries have had continuous democracy in their history while some also had military interventions in between. One thing among these countries is common that all are obsessed upon forcing western democracy but their condition is still unchanged.

On the contrary, developed countries are reaping fruits from the same democratic system. Why our pudding is not as tasty as theirs? Why is the same medicine not helping us but affecting them?

Developing countries should evaluate themselves if this Western Democracy is really the solution provider during developing stage of a nation or this is a pill that we should take on a later stage?

To evaluate, take examples of few South Asian countries namely Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. All these countries are passionate to be called as democratic states.

India had enjoyed more than sixty years of democracy; almost same is with Sri Lanka. Military interventions could be witnessed in the political history of Pakistan and Bangladesh. But all these countries share same pathetic social and economic conditions; corruption is at its peak, justice is scarce, clean drinking water is not available, children die from common diseases, literacy rate is lowest (except Sri Lanka) and basic necessities of life are not available to poor.

Upon analyzing we will find that during the developing period of western countries, this current form of democracy was not in place. Their leaders excluded common man from ruling class and even from voting class.

At that time, besides personal interests, rulers and social scientists might be of the view that if they allow common man to participate in decision making of the state or allow them to elect their leaders, common man will elect leaders on the basis of color, cast, religion, tribe, ethnicity and wealth instead of leaders abilities.

Western rulers believed that common man does not have the aptitude to evaluate or elect competent rulers. At first common man was given education, made socially free and mentally strong to evaluate and elect their ruler. Evolution and development process of human resource and other social institutions was initiated and political system transformed gradually with the passage of time.

Few very brief historical facts could be furnished here.

1. Americans gave the right of vote to women after almost 150 years of countrys inception.

2. African Americans (Blacks) were given full rights to vote in 1965, almost after 190 years. Before that many statutes were made to block most African Americans and many poor whites from the right to vote. And that was the period when America flourished.

3. In England only wealthy property owners were given the right to vote. House of Commons and House of Lords still exist in England.

4. After 140 years, British women over 21 years of age were given that right to vote in 1928.

5. In Switzerland women gained the right to vote in February 1959.

6. In Australia Aboriginals were not allowed to vote until 1967, it took 66 years after independence.

Our neighboring, friendly and fast developing country China was a pure-communist state till 1982 and has 33 years of pure-communist history. Primarily their leaders improved the socio-economic conditions of people and political system started liberalizing with time. China gradually gave socio-political rights to citizens with various constitutional amendments but still they have not declared China a democratic republic.

There are other countries with monarch as rulers but socio-economic condition of people is far better than developing countries with long history of democracy.

Presently developing countries are almost in the same socio-political conditions as western countries were during their developing period. Obstacle in our progress is that we are trying to apply Wests PRESENT political system while our position is similar to their PAST. Are we trying to climb directly to second floor avoiding the first?

Either constant-democratic countries like India and Sri Lanka or episodic-democratic countries like Pakistan and Bangladesh, our rulers come from the same feudal, tribal, ethnic, religious, military and wealthy families. Ability to lead the nation towards prosperity is not their selection criteria. Uneducated, unqualified and even criminals are elected because at present our common man does not have that capacity to evaluate nor have the social freedom to elect appropriate leaders.

Our intellectuals and socio-political analysts should re-examine and re-define our political system rationally with a clear head. This should be done keeping in view the ground realities and without obsession towards any political system.

There could be variety of views with various possible alternatives. A strict criterion for rulers with very strict restrictions over right of wealth and compulsory moderate living standard could be suggested enabling to drain out dishonest and artificial leaders. Or suspension of common mans some political rights for a certain period of time till the society matures. A mixture of democracy, communism and socialism could also come out of intellectual deliberations.

Ozmurd

It's a good article and shows the research that has been done to gather facts. Democracy was first introduced way back in Greece before birth of Christ (I don't exactly know when) and was applied on one region. At that time it was considered as a failure and couldn't proceed further at that time. As the brother mentioned the fact, that most of the people in South East Asia are uneducated so they really don't know or understand these concepts as their main goal is to somehow get shelter and gather enough food to survive in these harsh and difficult conditions. If a rule is to be applied regarding, say for example economics, how a common man even in advanced countries would know the complexities that lies within making a decision or implementing a law regarding that particular subject. So only a set of well educated and noble people who fully understands the concept, the way it could be beneficial or harmful should have the right to decide. And these people should first be elected by the people of their region based on their integrity and intellect. A lot could be written and said but I guess I am here to comment on the article and it was a good attempt. We certainly do need good people now to come out and try make a difference.

jimpack

It is more than 200 years of Democracy in America but they do not have a Women President till today.

Only India has Women as their President.

What you have to say about it

hnuter555

if u read islamic teachings and do some research modern form of democracy is forbidden bec in islam people with character or experience can vote on certian isssues for example if some one is a drinker how can he vote on drinking issues . our history shows that the greatest success of muslims was acheive by dictators in modern terms and this concept of nation state and democracy is enforced upon us by imperial powers after second world war bec they now realised that good way to control and enforce their agenda on muslim world is through democracy and secularism . this concept of democracy was basically windely spread by western powers to counter communists and they now fear islamic system which is calipath and they r very scared of it look at them they created european union and make it possible for people living there to work live and travel freely all the ideas goods and services and knoweldge can tranfer with out any restrictions and they are developing fast and yet they divided us in national states pakistanis cant go to india indians cant go to iran iranaies cant go to iraq and saudies cant come to pak without visa therefore the solution to problems with humanity is UNited Umma with out any boundaries so they can transfer their skills knoweldge human resource and capital and culture freely and develop all countries collectively

and get rid of this so called democracy what democracy [nawaz] then his son [zardari] then his son indra gandi then his son shiekh mujeeb then his doughter and all arab counties have moacrhies and all this uttter divison and confusion lead us no where they can control us by IMF and world bank and invade any country their desire iraq afghanistan (kawait,aman,saudie ,arabia, moscat willingly invaded via military basis ) and now they will invade pakistan and then iran who next and we will fallow their democracy to the last drop of our blood

allama iqbal rightly said in taza khudio meain sab see behra but hain watan
perhan jo isee ka hai wo museeb ka kafan hai

translation the new modern day idiol s are nation states and whoever fell to become the victim of nationa statehood must be contradicting the concept of islam

so in essense democracy is not a solution calipa with re defined role should be the answer of the day

i hope it will help ur understanding

Shahid Ali

@ Ozmurd, jimpack, hkniazi and hnuter555 Thanks for your comments.

@ jimpack: Only India has Women as their President
It is very good that India has taken a step to defy gender bias. They should be proud of that. Angela Merkel Chancellor of Germany is also a woman. Gender bias is definitely an issue but here we are focusing on a bigger scale.

hnuter555 is of the view that Islamic Caliphate should be the system for Islamic world. Though I do not agree with this concept at present keeping in view the ground realities of Islamic world but it is still very much related to the discussion. I feel it could be taken as a second or third phase thought. We cannot move directly towards that stage.

As previously discussed our system is completely in the clutches of feudals etc. I believe you all have agreed over the reasons given above, degree of agreement may vary.

Please float some ideas that can practically be applied to adjust, modify, amend or completely change our political system. Step 1, 2, 3. What should be the practical form of government in Pakistan? If you endorse democracy, then what changes you suggest. If you suggest any other form of government please discuss. Or you propose any change in election procedure.

Positive discussion will produce some path to move forward.

Thanks

jimpack

At present, Pakistan is busy with fixing its Democracy and by the time they fix it, there may be another General who will take over and these very same Politians will approve of him and join him.

This two and fore with Democracy can never give you way forward for progress. The Government cant work for the people and at the end of it, its the poor people who get the side effects of non functional Government which leads to anarchy and chaos.

Good or bad, Democracy is the only way forward for the overall development of a Country and its people. Democracy gives people the right to self progress.

When institutions are strong, Country is strong, when Country is strong; people are healthy, which leads to progression in every aspect of lift.

Shahid Ali

Jimpack said Good or bad, Democracy is the only way forward for the overall development of a Country and its people. Democracy gives people the right to self progress.

When institutions are strong, Country is strong, when Country is strong; people are healthy, which leads to progression in every aspect of lift.

These lines sound very good to the ears and also have value too. But looking at the practical implementation of democracy in our countries, a different picture is seen.

Let us have a look at the democratic leaders of Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Srilanka.

PAKISTAN

Bhutto Family
-----------------
Sir Shah Nawaz Bhutto
Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto (Son of SNB)
Nusrat Bhutto (Wife of ZAB)
Benazir Bhutto (Daughter of ZAB)
Asif Ali Zardari (Husband of BB).
Bilawal Bhutto Zardari (Son of AAZ & BB)

Sharif Family
----------------
Nawaz Sharif
Shahbaz Sharif (brother of NS)
Kulsoom Nawaz (Wife of NS)
Hassan Nawaz (Son of NS)
Hamza Shahbaz (Son of SS)
Capt. Safdar (Son in law of NS)

Chaudhry Family
---------------------
Ch. Zahoor Elahi
Ch. Shujaat Hussain (Son of ZE)
Ch. Pervez Elahi (Cousin of SH)
Ch. Wajahat Hussain (Brother of SH)
Ch. Monis Elahi (Son of PE)

INDIA

Gandhi Nehru family
--------------------------
Jawahar Lal Nehru
Kamala Nehru (Wife of JLN)
Indira Gandhi (Daughter of JLN)
Rajiv Gandhi (Son of IG)
Sonia Gandhi (Wife of Rajiv G)
Rahul Gandhi (Son of Rajiv & SG)

BANGLADESH

Mujibur Rehman Family
------------------------------
Shaikh Mujibur Rehman
Shaikh Hasina Wajid (Daughter of SMR)
Sajeeb Wajid (Son of SHW)

Ziaur Rehman Family
---------------------------
Ziaur Rehman
Khaleda Zia (Wife of ZR)
Tariq Rehman (Son of ZR & KZ)

SRILANKA

Bandaranaike-Kumaratunga Family
--------------------------------------------
Solomon Bandaranaike
Sirimavo Bandaranaike (Wife of SB)
Chandrika Kumaratunga (Daughter of SB)

Rajapaksa Family
----------------------
Don Alwin Rajapaksa
Mahinda Rajapaksa (Son of DAR)
Chamal Rajapaksa (Son of DAR)
Basil Rajapaksa (Son of DAR)

Senanayake Family
------------------------
Don Stephen Senanayake
Dudley Senanayake (Son of Don SS)
Rukman Senanayake (Son of DS)

We see that rulers come only from few wealthy and powerful elite families.

Only family members are entitled to lead political parties. If any other politician of party who they feel is coming closer to their status and gaining popularity he/she is thrown out of the party by various methods.

Leaders are declared life-time chairmen / presidents of their so-called political parties and if party elections are mandatory by countys law, a drama is arranged to elect the same leader.

One thinks, how all the leadership qualities come only into their families and only they are the saviors? What about other millions of people or even other politicians.

jimpack

Apart from Nehru-Gandhi family in India, there are other democratic parties also that have ruled the Country and have done good job. In India now it is not very significant matter to be a Nehru or Gandhi to win election. People here judge the politician from the work they do and what is that they have done to make their particular constituency progressive.

If you have noted, in spite of Rahul Gandhi campaigning in Uttar Pardesh for so many days, Congress did not win majority of seats. They came fourth in the seats won from there.

There is lot of water that has gone under the bridge and now days it is not easy to win election just because your from some family. Family names does help but it just for a while and after that you have to show the performance.

Rahul Gandhi is doing lot of groundwork and goes all over the Country to know the things from grass root level. He is also getting ready to lead the Congress in the next General election and is front-runner to be next Prime Minister of India.

In India there are lots of new generations leaders that have come and people have voted for them.

Shahid Ali

Dear Jimpack thanks for your valuable comments.

Indian National Congress of Gandhi Nehru family ruled India for more than 80% period since 1947 and still ruling.

With due respect I would say that you have endorsed my opinion by saying:

Rahul Gandhi is doing lot of groundwork and goes all over the Country to know the things from grass root level. He is also getting ready to lead the Congress in the next General election and is front-runner to be next Prime Minister of India.

These ruling families groom their kids to become future rulers. Party officials teach them all ins and outs of countrys politics. With these royal kids a team of loyal workers is attached for guidance. These kids are accompanied on various important visits abroad to learn and network with international friends..

In short they are taught like a prince of any monarch keeping in mind that they will be the future rulers of country.

In May 2004 Rahul Gandhi got Congress party ticket to contest elections. You definitely know India better than me. Please guide as I dont find any other reason or qualification of Rahul Gandhi other than being the son of Rajiv and Sonia Gandhi to get party ticket. I am sure there must be hundreds of deserving workers for party ticket waiting for decades.

Sonia Gandhi became the president of Party after just 62 days of joining the party.

I was googling and found a related article. This will be of interest to Indian friends as well as Pakistani readers. Here is the link.

http://www.merinews.com/catFull.jsp?articleID=150279

Lastly I will say that same situation persist in Pakistan. So dont worry we are with you ?.

Hopefully in near future Prime Minister Rahul Gandhi and Prime Minister Bilawal Bhutto Zardari would be discussing bilateral issues between India and Pakistan. People of both counties would be standing in a queue to get a bucket of drinking water or . (ending here, post in getting too long. May God prove me wrong - Ameen)

Best Regards

hnuter555

any one advocating democracy in this form should study islam first and then decide weather this form of democracy is allowed or not if u dont have enough time to go through islam just study the last ever poem of allama iqbal ra abliess ki mujlisee shora u will realise how fake this concept of democracy is. lets be honest with each other what democracy delivered to our country do china have democracy ? look where they r ? what about russia ? democracy i am not communist dont get me wrong but just giving u an example democracy is a failed concept if we cant do calipha then we can set some sort of tecnocrete govt , imagine [fazl] making rules obout cyber crimes and imagine he is making rules about [zardari] education and imagine he making rules about local governece [altaf] so freinds u can see visiable flaws we r muslims and our rules are given to us 1400 years ago in the form of quran and hadess and sharia however how to implement it is an issue needed to be sorted out .

our problems can be sloved by going back to book which is quran our problems cant be sloved by democracy never ever . i am not saying have one man show but alternative way of democracy how i can vote on or express on nasa space programme when i cant read and write people even dont know what is vote in rural areas i seen it first hand people just say sheer upper tupppa marnah means vote for lion or arrow depends on the party line.

they will never allowed to ask any agenda or plan for country

so democracy is a massive no no to me any other alternative must be welcome by all of us

Shahid Ali

Dear hnutter555 thanks.

if you further elaborate your technocrat govt it will be really helpful for us. e.g. how they should be chosen etc etc. It looks appealing.

Shahid Ali

Come on democrats! support democracy with logic and suggestions. It is loosing debate just because of elite and corrupt rulers of Pakistan. I am not loving this. :|

Shahid Ali

Friends pls suggest some way out.... Pakistan is bleeding.... Pakistanis are in problem ..... how to bring change.... its not happening