Saudi oil well dries up

AsifAmeer

saudi_1880139c.jpg

By Ambrose Evans-Pritchard Energy Last updated: September 5th, 2012
http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/finance/ambroseevans-pritchard/100019812/saudi-oil-well-dries-up/

f Citigroup is right, Saudi Arabia will cease to be an oil exporter by 2030, far sooner than previously thought.

A 150-page report by Heidy Rehman on the Saudi petrochemical industry should be sober reading for those who think that shale oil and gas have solved our global energy crunch.

I don't wish to knock shale. It is a Godsend and should be encouraged with utmost vigour and dispatch in Britain. But it is for now plugging holes in global supply rather than covering the future shortfall as the industrial revolutions of Asia mature.

The basic point common to other Gulf oil producers is that Saudi local consumption is rocketing. Residential use makes up 50pc of demand, and over two thirds of that is air-conditioning.

The Saudis also consume 250 litres per head per day of water the world's third highest (which blows the mind), growing at 9pc a year and most of this is provided from energy-guzzling desalination plants.
All this is made far worse across the Gulf by fuel subsidies to placate restive populations.

The Saudis already consume a quarter of their 11.1m barrels a day of crude output. They are using more per capita than the US even though their industrial base as a share of GDP is much smaller.

The country already consumes all its gas. (Neighbouring Kuwait is now importing LNG gas from Russia:

From Heidy Rehman at Citi:
Saudi Arabia Could be an Oil Importer by ~2030 Saudi Arabia is the worlds largest oil producer (11.1mbpd) & exporter (7.7mbpd). It also consumes 25% of its production. Energy consumption per capita exceeds that of most industrial nations. Oil & its derivatives account for ~50% of Saudis electricity production, used mostly (>50%) for residential use. Peak power demand is growing by ~8%/yr. Our analysis shows that if nothing changes Saudi may have no available oil for export by 2030.
It Already Consumes All Its Gas Production Saudi Arabia produces 9.6bn ft3/day of natural gas. This is entirely consumed domestically. It is looking to raise gas production to 15.5bn ft3/day by 2015E, implying a 2011-15E CAGR of 12.7%. However, peak power demand is growing at almost 8% pa. We believe Saudi Arabia will need to find new sources to meet residential & industrial demand.
This may concentrate a few minds in The Kingdom. The country is already planning an 80GW nuclear blitz though they are woefully short of nuclear power experts.

It has big hopes from solar projects based on successes of solar farms in California. Both nuclear and solar would allow it export more of its oil output.

A great deal could change. New desalination filters should reduce energy use drastically, for instance. Saudi fuel subsidy policies may change.

While I don't wish to judge the claims of this report I merely pass it on to readers since I don't know enough about the Saudi system but it is yet another piece of evidence pointing to Peak Cheap Oil.

Jeremy Leggett, the head of the UK Taskforce on Peak Oil and Energy Security, says Britain is sleepwalking into a potential disaster by failing to prepare fully for a global supply crunch.

The refusal to listen to warning signals is comparable to the complacency in the build-up to the financial crisis, he argues, but with graver implications for the British economy.
I agree.

ThoughtFelon

Do you believe in this peak oil theory? It seems like another scam by oil companies to jack up the price of oil? The other I was watching T Boone Pickens on CNN talking about US being completely self sufficeint in energy if Washington choses to explore shale gas reserves inside mainland US.

Any comments?

Believer12

تیل کے کنویں خشک ھونے کی خبریں ھیں لیکن سعودیز شھنشاھوں کی عیاشیوں میں تو کوی خشکی کے آثار نظر نھیں آتے۔صرف شاھی خاندان کی عیاشیوں کے پیسے مسلم ممالک کے تمام غریبوں کی غربت ختم کر سکتے ھیں پر نھیں۔
اللہ تعالی بھی اپنے بندوں کو دیکھتا ھے کیونکہ اس پاک ذات نے کسی کو دولت دی ھے اور کسی کو غربت اور جنکو دولت دی ھے اگر وھ اسکا استعمال اچھے طریق سے نھیں کرتے تو اللہ تعالی یہ دولت انسے واپس لینے کی قدرت بھی رکھتا ھے۔
ایران دیکھ لیں کہ تیل کی تلاش کرتا کرتا پاکستان کے بلوچستان بارڈر تک آپنھچا اور ایک ھم ھیں کے اپنے ھی ملک کا تیل ایران کی طرف فلو ھوتے دیکھ رھے ھیں۔

Do you believe in this peak oil theory? It seems like another scam by oil companies to jack up the price of oil? The other I was watching T Boone Pickens on CNN talking about US being completely self sufficeint in energy if Washington choses to explore shale gas reserves inside mainland US.

Any comments?

Peak oil theory is based on estimation of proven reserves. If this wasnt the case, oil companies wouldnt be investing in extracting hard to drill resources such as shale gas and now Arctic oil.

Extraction of shale gas is replete with immense environmental hazards due to 'fracking' operations so it isnt the most popular form of energy resource to market.

http://www.dangersoffracking.com/

تیل کے کنویں خشک ھونے کی خبریں ھیں لیکن سعودیز شھنشاھوں کی عیاشیوں میں تو کوی خشکی کے آثار نظر نھیں آتے۔صرف شاھی خاندان کی عیاشیوں کے پیسے مسلم ممالک کے تمام غریبوں کی غربت ختم کر سکتے ھیں پر نھیں۔
اللہ تعالی بھی اپنے بندوں کو دیکھتا ھے کیونکہ اس پاک ذات نے کسی کو دولت دی ھے اور کسی کو غربت اور جنکو دولت دی ھے اگر وھ اسکا استعمال اچھے طریق سے نھیں کرتے تو اللہ تعالی یہ دولت انسے واپس لینے کی قدرت بھی رکھتا ھے۔
ایران دیکھ لیں کہ تیل کی تلاش کرتا کرتا پاکستان کے بلوچستان بارڈر تک آپنھچا اور ایک ھم ھیں کے اپنے ھی ملک کا تیل ایران کی طرف فلو ھوتے دیکھ رھے ھیں۔

There is no such thing as 'flowing of our oil to Iran'.

Its an urban legend which you will find yourself laughing at once you understand how oil and gas reservoirs work.

Temojin

Though my dislike towards the house of saud is already apparent to everyone yet they too have planners and the developments mentioned in the report also indicate towards their approach to produce power through nuclear and solar sources which would be more than enough for them. Moreover, wind energy could also be helpful to them. The industrial growth in that country is also going fast so its production capacity might increase with time, yet they are not that intelligent also and we must keep it in mind that the final goal of these corporations is to have a religion-less society so we can almost guess where it is all going. Moreover, they are too indulged into activities that might provide them with an economy which would finally benefit those who are already super rich and get commoners into a position where we are today. Additionally, there is a lot more inside this labyrinthine issue which is useless to be discussed over here.

hkniazi

Not doubt. Refrigeration consumes more energy than heating process.

the day you turn pu$$y, live luxury and ignore the facts that your forefathers were living and working in the same heat you can't even bare, is the age you are on decline my saudi friend.

sherkhan314

[MENTION=24375]AsifAmeer[/MENTION]

I dont know if you know this, but saudi arabia has oil wells that can provide oil for atleast another 200 years.

I know bcoz I worked with oil companies there.

rfarooqi

I have a little better perspective about oil production.

1. We have been part of development of very sophisticated systems for water injection systems in oil field. Basic theory is that one cannot get all the oil out of an oil field. When wells dry up, then very high pressure water is injected into the oil field. The oil floats on that injected water, increases the pressure in the field and makes extraction of high quantity of oil possible. To my knowledge Saudis have not have had to use much water injection in their oil fields so far. Which to me indicates more oil reserves than general perception. I am also aware that Aramco strictly guards their geological data and estimates of oil reserves. The figures out there are intelligent speculations.

2. Recently Aramco has started a strong drive on alternative energy technology development. There are indications of hiring some of the world's best academic brains in solar technology for instance. It seems they have allocated a decent amount of money to this. I am not sure if all of this is a publicity (PR) stunt of there is serious effort in solar development. Saudia have a lot of sunshine around the year making it a great location for development of solar energy, and the also have surplus money for such investment heavy infrastructure, but so far it has seemed more like an eyewash to me.

3. The carbon footprint of Saudia and other gulf countries is very high. However it does takes energy to run many oil refineries other industries. So the energy consumption figures cannot be actual per capita consumption. I believe Saudia is subsidizing energy to many of its industries.

4. Desalination does take a considerable amount of energy. It seems the suggestion in the article is that desalination and increasing water consumption (and cost of water transportation through pipelines) account for the increase in energy consumption. Need more data to evaluate this. Reverse osmosis technology is developing which much improved method of energy recovery. i.e. energy is spent in pressurizing the salty side of the system. How much of that energy can be recovered would directly impact the operating cost. Designs are coming up which claim up to 90% energy recovery. These would greatly reduce the energy demand on RO plants in future.

5. Having said all of the above, Saudia will eventually run out of oil one day. This event will be a major geopolitical game changer by any standards.

whats ggoing to replace it?

You have not been watching news lately its " Aqua Waqaar's water fueled dream kit ":lol:

There have been slow advancement in technology in alternative fuels. I think in next ten years you will sea a **** in the automotive industry that is the biggest consumer of oil.

G

gotti

[hilar]ab yeh banda peak oil theory lay ker aa gaya hai

kaun aisa insaan hoga jo article likh likh ker aik forum per aa ker daalay takay log parhain?

bhai aap itni barri site per likh rahay ho to wahan ki viewership kaafi nahi? :lol:

asal main wahan koi dekhta nahi hoga, idhar aa ker daalta hai takay views milain aur iski jagah qaaim rahay

kal iski thread ignore kerna shuro kerdo, do din main site say nikaal daingay

what is this peak oil theory and why is their a choice to believe in it or not? this not believing is like another agha waqar scam. the day it requires more energy to pull a barrel of oil than you get out of burning it, surely peak oil would be a reality long before that day. this is basic thermodynamics.

Any comments?

the faster this criminal kingdom runs out of oil, the sooner one can expect muslims around the world to behave like normal people (everyone else). the amount of money this criminal kingdom spends in promoting its bigotted ideology and radicalizing muslims youth across the world, they should have a quick exit. good for the environment, good for the mind, good for civilization.