Risks to economy increases with draining foreign reserves - Decide for yourself

AsifAmeer

a.jpg

From the Newspaper | Sahar Ahmed | 16 hours ago
http://dawn.com/2012/09/16/imf-lending-capacity-shrinking/

KARACHI, Sept 15: Risks to the countrys external accounts seem to be increasing daily, with IMF repayments, lack of foreign investment and a ballooning fiscal deficit, things on the macroeconomic front by no means offer any optimism, warned analysts talking to Dawn on Saturday.

There seems no sense of urgency from the government, which makes one wonder: is this gross indifference or the calm before the storm?

The government may be comfortable with $15 billion reserves, much higher than $7.75 billion in October 2008 when it signed agreement for IMF standby loan arrangement.

But rising international oil prices and repayment of $2.5 billion to IMF this fiscal year could easily hemorrhage foreign exchange reserves and numbers could change overnight if panic sets in as the government has no back up plan to cope with the situation.

Balance of payments pressure could reach a tipping point in early 2013, said Shamila Chaudhary, South Asia Analyst at Eurasia Group in Washington.

The current account deficit widened to $297 million in the first two months of 2012-13, compared with $82 million in the same period last year.

The State Bank of Pakistan last month cut its policy rate by 150 basis points to 10.5 per cent, knowing that the projected inflation could remain slightly higher than the target, which analysts said shows serious concerns and raises a red flag.

We are concerned, the SBP has also highlighted concerns in its recent monetary policy review, said Sayem Ali, economist at Standard Chartered Bank.

Investment spending has collapsed, the energy crisis is likely to worsen over the next couple of years and it seems only a matter of time before Pakistan head back to the IMF for another bailout, he noted.

Some analysts feel there is no urgency on the governments part as it is an election year.

There is no urgency on the governments part as there is sufficient fuel left for them to survive till early next year, said Muzammil Aslam, Managing Director at Emerging Economics Research.

But some feel that short-term corrective measures may be taken in early 2013.

We have heard this story before (BOP crisis), but this time, the stakes are more serious, at least for Pakistan Peoples Party, said Chaudhary.

If PPP is able to remain in power to become the first ever civilian government to complete a full term, then managing the economic downfall will be its utmost priority from now until elections.

Even though the macroeconomic numbers present a grim picture, the countrys main exchange hovering close to its record high and growth of retail shops and restaurants in the commercial hub seem to suggest a different story.

The Karachi Stock Exchange ended at 15,449.60 points on Friday, just 300 points below its all time high of 15,737.32 hit in April 2008. Companies profitability has increased on an average of 16 to 18 per cent year-on-year.

Real private consumption grew at 11.6 per cent in 2011-12 as compared to 3.7 per cent in 2010-11 and many analysts also think the undocumented economy of unreported cash transactions is strong.

AsifAmeer

Forgot to add my COMMENTS : Guys, there's this statement called the Liquidity Statement of the SBP. It was last updated in May. Since then, SBP has last another $2.5 billion in the forward contract market. I have CONFIRMED MY FINDINGS WITH THE ECONOMIST quoted in this article. So let me repeat my previous claim - State Bank of Pakistan is PROPPING up the Rupee against the dollar and is risking the existence of the Rupee!

only_truths

Forgot to add my COMMENTS : Guys, there's this statement called the Liquidity Statement of the SBP. It was last updated in May. Since then, SBP has last another $2.5 billion in the forward contract market. I have CONFIRMED MY FINDINGS WITH THE ECONOMIST quoted in this article. So let me repeat my previous claim - State Bank of Pakistan is PROPPING up the Rupee against the dollar and is risking the existence of the Rupee!

Every country prop up their currency in times of need. India did this year when its currency was allowed a free fall. China does prop up dollar to save its investments.(probably the only country to prop up other nation currency).

How it will risk the existence of rupee if Pakistan prop up its currency?

Temojin

The actual question should be, why is it risking rupees existence? Where does the lead actually end?

AsifAmeer

I do not mean that the rupee will disappear. For eg. anyone from Zimbabwe can claim that its currency is not dead and still used. Lekin using 3 trillion to buy an egg, I wouldnt call them money..I'd call it a headache.

SBP risk flooding the economy with inflation.. thats what i mean by existence of rupee. And once people stop believing in a currency, the currency dies very quickly..

The actual question should be, why is it risking rupees existence? Where does the lead actually end?

Temojin

I do not mean that the rupee will disappear. For eg. anyone from Zimbabwe can claim that its currency is not dead and still used. Lekin using 3 trillion to buy an egg, I wouldnt call them money..I'd call it a headache.

SBP risk flooding the economy with inflation.. thats what i mean by existence of rupee. And once people stop believing in a currency, the currency dies very quickly..

I say it once again. Why is state bank risking the existence of the rupee itself? We know that buying an egg in 3 trillion means that the currency is virtually gone.

Where does the actual origin of all of it exists? The people who want One-world currency (not like dollar) where no other currency but the digital money or the like exist; Or anywhere else.

Omrkhan

Allah ke bande, we might get closer to what Sri Lanka currency is at. But please Zimbabwe tuk ke baat naa karo.

Bangash

سارے ڈھوب جائنگیں لیکن پاکستان نہیں کیونکہ ہم تو یا ڈہوبے ہوئے ہیں یا ڈھوبنے والوں کی طرح اپنے ساتھ والوں کو بھی ضرور ڈبو دینگے پتھر کی زمانے میں، ہمیں کیا فرق پڑھتا ہے اللہ ہمیں روز بروز نئے نئے تحفے عطا کرتا ہے آج بھی گیس دریافت ہوا ہے پاکستان میں- ہمارے مسائل ہماری اور دنیا کے ترقی یافتہ ممالک کی وجہے سے زیادہ ہیں مگر وسائل اللہ کی طرف سے زیادہ ہیں جبکہ دنیا کی وسائل کم ہورہے ہیں اور مسائل بھی ہمارے بغیر بھڑنے لگے ہیں- ہم تو بہتری کی طرف جارہے ہیں اور وہ لوگ نیچے گر رہے ہیں- پاکستان کو صرف اور صرف ایماندار قیادت کی ضرورت ہے باقی اللہ مہربان ہے صبح ہونے میں دیر نہیں

AsifAmeer

The perception I use to imply the existence of a currency is 1 rule of thumb - International Trade. When other party refuses to accept Rupee in the forex against any other currency. Thats basically my litmus for a currency. So yeah.. i dont mean in physical sense but its going to happen on the international front.

About digital currencies. Temo, there is nothing wrong with Digital currency. I am a big fan of Bitcoin. Its an Anti-Bank currency. Only 1 person can have it at 1 time. You cant deposit it at a bank and count it as yours while the bank lends it to out someone else. Similarly, GoldMoney's GoldGram debit cards are perfectly ok too. They provide storage facility for your gold and tie your gold balance to the debt card they issue you. Lekin the services/storage charges on that account are over 3% plus transaction cost. "Honest" money is not free.. or cheap...

I say it once again. Why is state bank risking the existence of the rupee itself? We know that buying an egg in 3 trillion means that the currency is virtually gone.

Where does the actual origin of all of it exists? The people who want One-world currency (not like dollar) where no other currency but the digital money or the like exist; Or anywhere else.

AsifAmeer

Here's how i see it. Pakistan is NOT Zimbabwe. Not because its important or anything. West doesnt give a rats behind. Lekin masla yahan hai.. You see Alot of Mid-East banks have their investments in India and Pakistan. Alot of far east investments. Alot of European Banks have invested in Mid East and far east banks. Alot of American Banks have vested interest in European Banks... You see the chained link?

Keynes once said "If you owe the bank $100 and you cant pay back, you have a problem. But if you that bank $1 million, then the bank has a problem"

Allah ke bande, we might get closer to what Sri Lanka currency is at. But please Zimbabwe tuk ke baat naa karo.

AsifAmeer

Yaar Bangash Pakistan ka sab se bara masla population bhi hai. No matter how you slice or dice thing. There is only so much water Pakistan can get per year. Agar Pakistan population for e.g. next 15 years mein double ho jati hai to Water k resource to double nahi ho sakte.. That means the existing resources will have to be divided further. Some will get more, and many will get less.. alot less. I call this issue "the law of proportionality". After a certain scale, you cannot replicate the results from that of a smaller scale.

سارے ڈھوب جائنگیں لیکن پاکستان نہیں کیونکہ ہم تو یا ڈہوبے ہوئے ہیں یا ڈھوبنے والوں کی طرح اپنے ساتھ والوں کو بھی ضرور ڈبو دینگے پتھر کی زمانے میں، ہمیں کیا فرق پڑھتا ہے اللہ ہمیں روز بروز نئے نئے تحفے عطا کرتا ہے آج بھی گیس دریافت ہوا ہے پاکستان میں- ہمارے مسائل ہماری اور دنیا کے ترقی یافتہ ممالک کی وجہے سے زیادہ ہیں مگر وسائل اللہ کی طرف سے زیادہ ہیں جبکہ دنیا کی وسائل کم ہورہے ہیں اور مسائل بھی ہمارے بغیر بھڑنے لگے ہیں- ہم تو بہتری کی طرف جارہے ہیں اور وہ لوگ نیچے گر رہے ہیں- پاکستان کو صرف اور صرف ایماندار قیادت کی ضرورت ہے باقی اللہ مہربان ہے صبح ہونے میں دیر نہیں

Bangash

Yaar Bangash Pakistan ka sab se bara masla population bhi hai. No matter how you slice or dice thing. There is only so much water Pakistan can get per year. Agar Pakistan population for e.g. next 15 years mein double ho jati hai to Water k resource to double nahi ho sakte.. That means the existing resources will have to be divided further. Some will get more, and many will get less.. alot less. I call this issue "the law of proportionality". After a certain scale, you cannot replicate the results from that of a smaller scale.

مسلمان ہوجاؤ سب سمجھ جاؤ گے - میں اپ کے ساتھ دماغ نہیں کھا سکتا- اپ اگر وطن پرستی پر یقین کرتے ہیں تو یہ بڑا شرق ہے پھر چائنا کی طرح مسائل حل کریں بہتری نظر آئیگی لیکن ایک دن مذھب کے خاتمے کے ساتھ پاکستان بھی ٹکڑوں میں تقسیم ہوگا- اگر مسلمان بھی رہنا چاہتے ہیں اور غیر مسلموں کی طرح باتیں کرتے ہیں تو منافقت اور بھی زیادہ خواری غلامی ہے جو آپکو ابھی نظر آرہا ہے آپکی اس تھریڈ میں منافقت کا نتیجہ ہے- میرا مشورہ مان لو سچے مسلمان ہوجاؤ رزق دینے والا اللہ ہے اور دنیا مسلمانوں کی ہے- چاہے ووٹ سے چاہے کسی اور طریقے سے ہو اللہ ہمارے ساتھ ہے- ہمارا مسلہ وہی ایک ہے ایماندار قیادت

Temojin

The perception I use to imply the existence of a currency is 1 rule of thumb - International Trade. When other party refuses to accept Rupee in the forex against any other currency. Thats basically my litmus for a currency. So yeah.. i dont mean in physical sense but its going to happen on the international front.

About digital currencies. Temo, there is nothing wrong with Digital currency. I am a big fan of Bitcoin. Its an Anti-Bank currency. Only 1 person can have it at 1 time. You cant deposit it at a bank and count it as yours while the bank lends it to out someone else. Similarly, GoldMoney's GoldGram debit cards are perfectly ok too. They provide storage facility for your gold and tie your gold balance to the debt card they issue you. Lekin the services/storage charges on that account are over 3% plus transaction cost. "Honest" money is not free.. or cheap...

asif aaj aisa kion ho raha hai ke mein baat samjha nahi pa raha hoon, looks like i am getting old or something else :( I am asking some other thing.

AsifAmeer

Yaar ye kya baat huwi? Doesnt a Muslim have the right to have a rational conversation? Tell me something.
  • Do you understand the "laws of nature"?
  • Moajza kya hota hai?

Looking forward for a rational answer.

مسلمان ہوجاؤ سب سمجھ جاؤ گے - میں اپ کے ساتھ دماغ نہیں کھا سکتا- اپ اگر وطن پرستی پر یقین کرتے ہیں تو یہ بڑا شرق ہے پھر چائنا کی طرح مسائل حل کریں بہتری نظر آئیگی لیکن ایک دن مذھب کے خاتمے کے ساتھ پاکستان بھی ٹکڑوں میں تقسیم ہوگا- اگر مسلمان بھی رہنا چاہتے ہیں اور غیر مسلموں کی طرح باتیں کرتے ہیں تو منافقت اور بھی زیادہ خواری غلامی ہے جو آپکو ابھی نظر آرہا ہے آپکی اس تھریڈ میں منافقت کا نتیجہ ہے- میرا مشورہ مان لو سچے مسلمان ہوجاؤ رزق دینے والا اللہ ہے اور دنیا مسلمانوں کی ہے- چاہے ووٹ سے چاہے کسی اور طریقے سے ہو اللہ ہمارے ساتھ ہے- ہمارا مسلہ وہی ایک ہے ایماندار قیادت

Bangash

Yaar ye kya baat huwi? Doesnt a Muslim have the right to have a rational conversation? Tell me something.
  • Do you understand the "laws of nature"?
  • Moajza kya hota hai?

Looking forward for a rational answer.

موا جزا جس کو انگلش میں ڈسکووری کہتے ہیں وہ انسانوں کے لئے مواجزا ہے. قدرت کا قانون جب اپ جان لیتے ہیں- قدرت کے قانون کو آپکی زبان میں فزیکس کا قانون بھی کہتے ہیں مٹیریل دنیا میں لیکن یہ ایک چھوٹا سا حصہ ہے قدرت کے قانون کا جس کے بارے میں اپ بات کر رہے ہیں میرے خیال میں

Temojin

Eak kaam kero.. Ask me in roman urdu.. and change the angle of your question..

chalo theek hai. Where does the lead end ka seedha sadha tarjumah hai keh is sab ke peechey koun hai. aur doosra sawal yeh tha keh state bank aakhir aisa ker kion raha hai.

AsifAmeer

Ok.. so far so good. I see no disagreement there.

There's is this quote from Ali Ibn Talib RAA that
  • information obtained via listening is Ilm-ul-Yakeen
  • information obtained via SEEING is Ain-ul-Yakeen
  • information obtained via touching and confirming is Haq-ul-Yakeen

A fire with rising smoke was the subject in this quote.

Information collected via the senses humans have been blessed by Allah, that information has "some" validity. As time goes by, this pool of information expands for humans. Its like God has set a time for the information to be unveiled. You didnt have cars 200 years ago. The time hadnt come. Today we dont have time machines. The time hasnt come. If God wills, it may never come. So whatever information we get, we get that with Allah's permission. And Allah DOES NOT PLAY Favoritism. Information is for Humans, which includes Muslims. 100 Believers WILL GET wet in the rain just like the 100 non-believers. Haan, once in a thousand years, if Allah wills, the SUN may shine on 1 believer while the rest are soaked in rain water. We call that a miracle. This is God's way of telling us that He is in control. The miracle of 1 Man.. just 1 MAN... changing half of the world's geography starting from Arabia... Thats God's way of telling us - "You are not in a position to argue with me humans. I am your creator and Muhammed (SW) is my messenger". The persians, the romans, the indians, turks, the arabs.. all these empires crumbled.. This is God. and thats his way of showing us without any doubt who is in control. Acha phir dekho.. After Prophet SAW spread his msg, and then His Companions (His students), everything started breaking down. The way I see it as that the fall of the Muslims after the Sahaba RA was part of the proof the humans got from Allah that the Prophet Muhammed, blessed his name, is the messenger of our Creator.

There's another thing that I have noticed. Remember Musa AS was given a shaft which turned into a snake. Musa AS splitted the River Nile. Prophet Muhammed SAW splitted the moon and all these Physical science miracles. Modern science does not say all this can NEVER happen. Science says the chances of these things happening are very low, or almost none. These miracles can happened if its probability is increased. Science does just that. Whether be it medicine, machinery, botany, .. science is a study of probability. This is what God does. He changes probability at WILL.

What humans try to do is understand HOW probability is changed into their favor.

Mein nahi keh raha I understand everything out there. This is an evolving thought in my mind that I have been struggling with.
@mrk123 @Temojin @Aleph

موا جزا جس کو انگلش میں ڈسکووری کہتے ہیں وہ انسانوں کے لئے مواجزا ہے. قدرت کا قانون جب اپ جان لیتے ہیں- قدرت کے قانون کو آپکی زبان میں فزیکس کا قانون بھی کہتے ہیں مٹیریل دنیا میں لیکن یہ ایک چھوٹا سا حصہ ہے قدرت کے قانون کا جس کے بارے میں اپ بات کر رہے ہیں میرے خیال میں