PTCL upgrades All 1 and 2 Mbps broadband connections to 4Mpbs.

UsmanSial

PTCL is now offering minimum 4Mbps broadband connections. As a part of this promotion, all existing 1 & 2 Mbps broadband connections (with feasible lines) will also be upgraded to 4Mbps without any additional cost to their existing charges. However, it will only be for a limited promotional period.
PTCL hasn't announced the end date of this promotional period yet.

To make it simple,

• Existing users will be charged according to their existing plans while enjoying 4Mbps during the promotion period.
  • This offer is free for a limited time (promotion period). After that users will be charged Rs 2100/month.
  • You have the choice to revert to your previous package by calling 1236.
  • If you choose to revert, please make sure you do it before the end of the promotion period.
  • Check your next bill as it might have the end date of the promotion period.

WelcometoPTCL_zps11a59d70.png

Source: http://ptcl.com.pk/related_pages.php?pd_id=111&rp_id=241

Justice.Yes

Re: PTCL upgrades All 1 & 2 Mbps broadband connections to 4Mpbs.

AOA
I had 2MB pkg and I'm using now 4MB pkg. And plz believe when I say that the difference between the two packages is next to 'nothing'. Like always in Pakistan this is a promotion only to 'scam' people out of more 'money'. And there's a 'deadline' I was told April 30 is the last date. People who have upgraded their packages after this date will be paying for the upgrade. But if you ask me I'll be going back to my 2MB pkg.

What about those who are already paying for 4mb connection? do we get upgraded as well to something more?

jadoon437

aoa
i had 2mb pkg and i'm using now 4mb pkg. And plz believe when i say that the difference between the two packages is next to 'nothing'. Like always in pakistan this is a promotion only to 'scam' people out of more 'money'. And there's a 'deadline' i was told april 30 is the last date. People who have upgraded their packages after this date will be paying for the upgrade. But if you ask me i'll be going back to my 2mb pkg.

did u try on speedtest.net

Justice.Yes

AOA
Yes! I sure did the test...that's why in my 'post' I said 'next to nothing' meaning the change in speed should be 'doubled' if the 'upgrade' is from 2MB to 4MB but the change was 'negligible'. And if you call PTCL to 'complain' their staff give some 'cock & bull' story. I've cousins in the US do you know what kind of internet speed they get in their house 25MB/sec...yup! you heard it right...can you imagine that. Anyways I guess what we have is still better than "dial-up" internet connection.

did u try on speedtest.net

sayjimy

mere sath hua aisa main nai 1236 pe fone kar ke band karwaya phir bi 1700 rs daal diye ke app nai use kiya hai kuch din us ke pese hain wese 1549 hai 2mb ke

Politcs

Internet speed can only improve if telephone lines are also in good state outside and inside your house and nearest exchange is not far from you home.

Even UK has this issue where service provide charge for 30MBPs but average customer gets around 15mbps. Before subscribing and paying more you make sure you will actually get more speed.

Wajdan

AOA
Yes! I sure did the test...that's why in my 'post' I said 'next to nothing' meaning the change in speed should be 'doubled' if the 'upgrade' is from 2MB to 4MB but the change was 'negligible'. And if you call PTCL to 'complain' their staff give some 'cock & bull' story. I've cousins in the US do you know what kind of internet speed they get in their house 25MB/sec...yup! you heard it right...can you imagine that. Anyways I guess what we have is still better than "dial-up" internet connection.

In UK I get 37MB/s when I go to check on speed test. Internet should be a lot better in Pakistan now.

UsmanSial

AOA
I had 2MB pkg and I'm using now 4MB pkg. And plz believe when I say that the difference between the two packages is next to 'nothing'. Like always in Pakistan this is a promotion only to 'scam' people out of more 'money'. And there's a 'deadline' I was told April 30 is the last date. People who have upgraded their packages after this date will be paying for the upgrade. But if you ask me I'll be going back to my 2MB pkg.

Your downloading speed would be a little higher with 4MB. You're right this is more of a scam than promotion. My concern is as the connection gets automatically upgraded to 4Mbps, it should also revert back automatically. Otherwise a lot of people will be shocked to see their next bill.

UsmanSial

mere sath hua aisa main nai 1236 pe fone kar ke band karwaya phir bi 1700 rs daal diye ke app nai use kiya hai kuch din us ke pese hain wese 1549 hai 2mb ke

Line rent or Tax ke sath bill kitna ho jata he.
Rs 1549 + Line Rent + Tax = ???

pakMunda

Here in hong kong we are using 1Gb (1000Mb) brodband for just pk Rs:3000
Because they have optical fiber connection from main server to home user.
I don't know why in pakistan ptcl charges are too high with poor link materials and service.

pakMunda

In hong kong home broadband speed is 1000Mbps
Only for pak Rs 3000/month
its the fastest in the world for home broadband users.
can you imagine it.

ts_rana

The PTCL is actually showing that these are DSL lines, actually these are ISDN lines and they use only DSL router which convert ISDN to DSL. Which is cheating. Most of the people dont know the difference between DSL and ISDN. Even now DSL is old technique in most of Europe and developed countries. They are now using latest tech. of advanced Fiber Optic for home user. Thats why 1GB speed is available but in Pakistan they make people fool.

Admiral

Here in hong kong we are using 1Gb (1000Mb) brodband for just pk Rs:3000
Because they have optical fiber connection from main server to home user.
I don't know why in pakistan ptcl charges are too high with poor link materials and service.

In hong kong home broadband speed is 1000Mbps
Only for pak Rs 3000/month
its the fastest in the world for home broadband users.
can you imagine it.

Bhai log, Client end par 1000Mbps ka kia faida jab Servers bandwidth hee 100-200Mbps ho ...

peace

Guys I need your help.

I had sent my dad Nettalk (VOIP device). It was working fine with PTCL since December 2013. Recently it stopped working and I believe it started when this upgrade occurred. PTCL may have started blocking ports. Did anyone experience this? Does anyone have any suggestions?
We tried port forwarding (5060) but it didnt work.

Rizwan2009

سب دھوکہ بازي کررہے ہيں پي ٹي سي ايل والے پاکستان کے سب سے بڑے چور اور ڈکيت ہيں