"Power club" by Nazir Naji about #AzadiMarchPTI

Athra

بھائی اگر سیٹلائٹ ٹاؤن راولپنڈی ایک ایلیٹ علاقہ ہے تو وہ کیا بات ہے

میں ہمیشہ کہتا ہوں کہ میں پنڈی کی ایک مڈل کلاس ریگولر فیملی سے ہوں

میں بہت بہت لکی ہوں کہ مرے ماں باپ نے مجھے پڑھا لکھا دیا، ورنہ مجھے اندازہ ہے کہ کتنے لوگوں کے پاس یہ حق بھی نہیں ہے

میں نے صرف اتنا کہا ہے کہ عمران کو خیبر پختونخواہ میں فوکس کرنا چاہیے تا کہ لوگ اس کی بنیاد پر اسکو اگلی دفع ووٹ دیں

اس پر میں پٹواری کیسے ہو گیا؟

بھائی سٹلایٹ ٹاؤن کسی زمانے میں ایلیٹ کلاس کا ہی ایریا تھا اور اب بھی اتنا لوء ایریا نہیں ہے خیر سے جناب حنیف عباسی صاحب سٹلایٹ ٹاؤن میں ہی رہتے ہیں اور جناب اگر اپ خود کو مڈل کلاس سے کہتے ہیں تو کسر نفسی ہے جناب کی میں بھی راولپندی سے ہے ہوں اور نوں لیگی سابقه ام پی اے ضیاء الله شاہ کا کسی زمانے کا پڑوسی بھی آج سے دس سال پہلے جس ضیاء ک پاس ایک پٹھیچر موٹر سایکل تھی نون لیگ کا ام پی اے بننے ک بعد وہی ضیااللہ آج پراڈو میں گھومتا ہے اور چھٹیاں گزارنے یوروپ آسٹریلیا امریکا جاتا ہے تو جناب پھر ہم جیسوں کا دل جلتا ہے
پاکستان کی عوام ہر اس بندے کی پیچھے کھڑی ہوتی ہے جو اس گندے اور گھناونے سسٹم کو توڑنے کی بات کرتا ہے ذولفقار علی بھٹو ہو یا سابق چیپ جسٹس یا اب عمران خان پہلے بھی عوام نے دھوکہ کھایا ہے لیکن شائد عمران کو اس عوام کو دھوکہ نہ دے یہی امید ہے بس
اور اپ کو پٹواری تو میں نے نہیں کہا تھا اور کہنے سے بھی اپ ہو نہی جاؤ گی اگر اپ نہیں ہو تو

ali-raj

Zafar Hilali, a staunch hater of IK was the first one to fall for IK.
Ayza Ameer, Gave his thumbs up for IK.
Hasan Askari , Defence Analyst, Changed his stance, and priased IK after 19th August.
Nazir Naji, Kept calling Nawaz Sharif of over run, and praised what IK is and can do.

Dr. Shahid Masood, Stood by him. As a friend and as a critic.
Dr. Moeed Perzada, Neutral Analyst, but righteous, stood by IK.

Haroon Rasheed. Lost somewhere in transition. Become Obsolete and Irrelevant.
Mujeeb Shami . A PMLN supporter since day 1 is, still spitting venom.

Only these people matter to me, as far as Any News, Analysis or Criticism is concerned.

musafirhoonyaro

The purest soul you are after; you are not going to find in Pthis world unless, if you believe in RASOOLS, and one is sent which won't be. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR SEARCH. The level of morality this nation stands at, they are lucky to get a leader like IK. Until you get the ideal, go for the best available. That is how it should be and that is what the norm is.

Touch Zeno!

You have exposed me as the biggest hypocrite in the history of existence. Damnit, I always get caught out.

By the way, it hurts doesn't it? It really hurts that why is the leader who is imagined to daddy of all messiahs, and bitterly defended as one, how can he get caught out with such a lowly thing as human lust...

It used to hurt me a lot too, until I understood that IK is not the purest messiah of universe and a solution to all our problems. Since then I've been much at peace. So much so, that I am not for or against him. Just like I am not for or against Nawaz or Zardari. Also, I think that he should be given a try at running Pakistan, because every one has had a go anyway, so why not him. He clearly seems very desperate for it. I support all of that, but the only difference is that I have no messiah-istic delusions about him and I don't think that Imran Khan is the angelic 'it thing' missing from the unfortunate lives of the remaining unclean impure Pakistanis...

musafirhoonyaro

Come on sir aik swal does not seem to be patwari. The kind of brain he has showed us that he has cannot accept nooras thier leader. Please do not label people if they criticise IK. The question raised by him/her do carry weight. Give him some space please.
Don't call him anything but tout. He is here on duty, so let him earn his dough. Idiots is what an idiot does. He is doing what he is hired to do. This is the problem with PMLN supporters, they would never answer any questions on the corruption of Sharifs and how Pakistan's corrupt judiciary has protected them for decades. He lives in a Bubble. Bubble of lies and deception, a wool they have pulled over the eyes of uneducated Pakistanis for decades with the help of idiots like "aik sawal".

:doh: :doh: :doh: - whatever my religious views, IK pro-claims to be a strong Muslims, so he should be judged by that standards.

I think you've misunderstood Atheism. When someone doesn't subscribe to a religion, then it doesn't mean it stops applying to those who follow it. IK did zana, whether you want to admit it or not. There is a 23 year old evidence of it, living, breathing and very well alive "Mashallah", with Mommy Jemima. So, IK should be judged by that. Forget about punishment and evidence for the get out of jail card of 4-witnesses, IK has admitted in newpaper report in 2004 that he will welcome Tyrian to live with Jemima. I never forced anyone into any admission. I am just a no body - of all people you should be angry at your flawless leader for chosing to do zana at the age of 40.

Shareef's are scum. We both have already established that and we agree on it. I don't know what you get by beating the dead horse again and again. Lets keep focusing on what we disagree on: You think fathering a love-child is a mistake like slipping on the floor or not doing your homework. I say that in "YOUR" religion it is a haram activity called as zana.

It's alright if you want to twist your religion. Many people / nations have done that and many Muslims do it too. Also you have right to do anything you want. Don't ask me for approval - twist your religion as much as you like. You are a free individual. All I am saying is that be careful when you start justifying zana as merely a mistake. Muslim people don't like that and they are pretty strict about it. Rest, I understand your pain that the person you consider as the messiah to all our problems turns our to be a person who committed zana at the mature age of 40 and has left you defending that disgusting (according to Islam) activity.

First of all, how many times I have to tell you I am not an IK or PTI supporter?
If only you know my comments to my wife recently about IK. But that is something private. All I know is IK is human, exactly like you and I. Human make mistakes, he surely did, so did I. So why would I demonise IK? Similarly, you had been called a hypocrite to apply "religious" verdict on IK, when evidently you admit you are an "atheist". That is first hypocrisy by you. Secondly, you are applying religious verdict on IK, "according to his religion" if we accept your logic, without fulfilling the basic conditions set out by the "religion of IK". Who gave you that right, to level accusations according to a religion when you know you cannot fulfil the strict conditions set out by that religion?

People adopt children, the take children in care all the time, so what is wrong if IK did when the mother of that girl passed away? Does it prove guilt of IK or his good heart? If we to take your logic, it would have been better for IK not to take care of girl, at least he wouldn't be accuse by dimwit like you. But he didn't, he had gone for an honourable route. These comments are made without any prejudice to IK, and are not in support of your allegations that he "father an illegitimate child". You simple have to prove your allegations. Whether the girl is IK child or not, his act to give a stable home and a good life should be applaud. But idiots like you don't understand it.

IK has never hidden his previous life. He openly said he spent his young age as a playboy. He says he is a refined man. So whatever he did is between him and Allah SWT. I don't know if he would be pardoned or not by Allah SWT.
I know one thing though, the Nooras, Zardari and Diesel, his accusers have even dirtier past and present if we go by the assertions you want to make.

My only concerns are that these thugs had been and still are looting Pakistani nation for decades. They have looted poor and destitute people, who die regularly due to hunger, diseases, bad sanitation. They suffer whole life because they have no education and employment opportunities.

These thugs have ruled over Pakistan for decades, why they don't accept their failures and bug off and leave the poor to the people who could make a difference?
Why they are still rigging the elections to loot Pakistan more?

Recently Nawaz got backing from the parliament from Character like Achakzai, Sherpao, Khursheed Shah, Diesel etc. Do I need to say more?

Asad Khan

@ Aik Sawal: The problem with your thinking, bro, is that you are thinking with your blinders on. Imran khan is a means not an end. If he breaks this duopoly of these two Families on Pakistani politics, it will open the way for the middle class Pakistanis to be part of Politics. How long do you think he will last ? And he is not naming in his WILL his future heir so that in itself is a great feat. And there is a very crude test of all these three personalities to get a glimpse of their integrity in the eyes of the neutrals, that is the non- Pakistanis as they have no incentive to take sides. Zardari lands in the UK and Cameron is warned to watch for his fingers. BBC has and it still exists a whole video about the corruption of the Shareefs, if I aint wrong its called from Lahore to London no sure but something on the lines. Imran is made VC of a university. This is the verdict of the world's oldest and truest democracy on our leaders. And like I said his personal stuff isn't my worry because you are arguing for a democracy not Sharia. Plus I am sure you like all of us has a few of your own skeletons in your closet, of personal nature ( don't get mad it was more on the lighter side). Cheers ( If you plan to import a few Norwegian politicians if you can't find a single right one in the Land of the Pure, I am all for it but even they would come with their personal baggages).

mrk123

I will, gladly and btw excellent use of red. Please read very patiently.

I will certainly read patiently. But I have to set the record straight in the very beginning here as I believe that you didn't read my post carefully enough. Your takeaway from my post that I consider IK as a messiah couldn't be further from the truth.

In fact I think that apart from being a cricket captain who achieved so much on the field, building a cancer hospital (a celebrity status as a cricketing hero had a lot to do with it) and being honest and sincere he has not much to show for himself. I rate him very low as a political leader and certainly NOT a messiah or a revolutionary of ANY kind.

Now, having got that out of the way and setting the context I will try to provide my opinion and hope that this time you will read it patiently and with a little more attention :-)

Just because I don't subscribe to Islam, doesn't mean that I can't raise voice against hypocrisy. Islam doesn't have an exclusivity on morality, ethics or hypocrisy.

Let me make my point: Morality of fathering a love-child is subjective to what culture the person belongs to. In some is it a matter and in others it is not. I have no problem personally with someone fathering a love-child. My problem is with hypocrisy. IK today takes 'taikaidari' of Islam. He can't stop talking about how his politics is inspired by it. He has elaborate photoshoots of praying Namaz. This is him now. We all know why he advertises Islam - it is for votes from an ultra-conservative populous. But this can't take away from the fact that he was 'putting it in' Sita at the age of 40. Try to understand what I'm saying here about owning up to ones actions.

I understand what you are saying and agree with some of it but I am ambivalent on this issue.

I still think that in this cesspool that is Pakistani politics this is worth fretting too much about.

We are talking about Pakistani politics and its based on hypocrisy. There are news that Sharifs have fathered love child (for sheer entertainment value I will refer you to Waseem Akhtar of MQM to learn about Sharifs' sexual exploits ;). Then you see Sharif in the holy land taking extra long time to try to wash away whatever....or maybe take some advice from the octogenarian on how to maintain your sexual prowess even at his age. Who knows. But, does it really matter in the larger context of messy Pakistani politics? I don't think so. I am just surprised that you are so passionate about it - thats all.

Another example: Junaid Jamshed all of a sudden thought of selling Naat CDs when he was past the age of pop-star's prime. And yet he sells clothing articles of 'Shahwat' for women in his boutiques. Again, try to understand what my gripe is. It is not about one's right to manufacture phallus shaped strap-ons or the morality of doing so - it is about the hypocrisy of taking 'taikaidari' of Islam and doing the things it says are immoral.

I only like his naats and thats all. I never liked his condescending and holier than thou attitude.

Yaar this world is going through this phenomenon of born again 'whatever' and people just love that story. It appeal more to people. There is a reason that Maulana Tariq Jameel has a cell working on cultivating celebrities ;-)

I just leave it up to them and their God. I just hate it when they try to encroach my space. But I have a choice to control and I choose to do that based on what I feel or think.

I know everyone does these things in a compromised society like Pakistan. But IK or JJ do this while standing at the highest moral pedestal of Islam. This hypocrisy is what is bothering me. I think you would very well see the fault in a prostitute who wants to be an Imam of a Masjid. In my opinion, a person is free to do both actions, but when the same person wants to do both the same things, it is very cringe-worthy.

Just so you know I don't like anyone wearing their religion on their sleeves. Whether its IK or Obama or Blair or Modi. I think that a leader should try his utmost to be private in this respect. But again, we are living in a world which loves this or some part of it does and these public figures try to court that segment of the society. I think that they are just being opportunists.

I still think that its a little different between JJ and IK. IK has said that he was not even an average muslim until his mother died or close to dying. Yet I think that as long as he sticks to others' financial corruption and not bringing up their personal and corrupt morals in the picture as some others do in Pakistan then he is okay.

Lastly, if you think that you and I don't have the right to judge the private life of a person who puts himself up for election to a public office - then you are gravely mistaken. I have every right to judge IK's private life and opinions but not yours. This is not my rule, rather something the whole world follows. I can give examples if you ask.

Again, you got me wrong. A public figure's (especially someone who puts his hand up for a public office) actions in private life are fair game. You and others have every right to bring them up but I am just surprised at you, of all the people, being so passionate about it :-)

Politics is a dirty game and IK should be prepared to answer questions if he has chosen this field and put himself up for scrutiny.

Transfer documents have been made public and IK has never denied them. In them, Jemima has said under oath that it was IK's property all along but purchased in her name as a 'baynami transaction'. I know that IK doesn't need to be corrupt. But to think that he doesn't need to be corrupt and so he isn't is like saying that IK doesn't need to father a love-child and he hasn't (when you know the truth that he has). Baynami transaction is solely and solely used in Pakistan & India to avoid taxes, hide assets or whiten black money. I am not claiming that IK's motives were all or one of these, frankly I don't know. What I am bothered about is that everyone in Pakistan knows what 'baynami' is used for and then why would he get involved with it? And do date, there is no official written explanation from IK - just fleeting illogics like yours in TV interviews like 'I don't need to be corrupt because god has given me a lot'. Again, try to understand what my problem is.

I am not trying to defend him. I am just trying to find a motive for the crime. Of course you and I don't know all the facts. What I am saying is that what is the motivation.

My contention is that IK's opponents are doing what he does and that is to throw allegations without solid proofs. Its not clear either way but creates enough doubts.

I consider myself pretty aware of things. I have been out of Pakistan for a while and have not bought a lot of property. I am sure that if I am trying to buy property
I would contact people in Pakistan if I need to do a land transaction and if they write it down as a baynami transaction then I may not exactly know what does that mean. I may even sign it (my wife has serious problem with me not reading 100 page document before I sign it ;).

Again, I would be all for putting IK in jail or punished or fined for lying or breaching whatever law or regulation if its proven that a crime was committed. I just think that its a non-issue given the mitigating factors. I would have cared more if they found out that he owns land in his sister's name or his sons' name or has shares in a sugar mill or has flats in Dubai or London. A baynami transaction for your primary residence doesn't make sense and not much of a case for me.

Lastly on this, tax returns of elected public office holders is a public document as well. IK has held public office since 2002 and he is legally obliged to declare his and spouses' properties in that return. Which he hasn't. Just like the rest of the corrupt scum. To this date, no Pootian, IK or anyone else representing them has every given an answer as to why. And I bet my life on this that you will avoid and divert this killer question, shamelessly.

Then he should be taken to task for it. Simple as that. I am with you in questioning and demanding that!

Aik_Sawal said:
would attribute their failure to implement the local body system to their sheer incompetence, unorganized party and inexperience rather than political corruption. This inability to
deliver local body system on time as they claimed with come back to haunt them and more than that it shows how bad the situation is in Pakistan irrespective of province and political party in power.

Ridiculous excuse -

How does my observation(in red) pointing out PTI's leadership's incompetence and lack of organization turns out to be a excuse? :)

and you can give countless here, you have every right to. Please understand my point: In Pakistan, no party leader wants to dilute his power by giving it to local bodies. IK claims to be politically pure but he has acted in typical manner as the other scum. I don't care for whatever reasons he hasn't been able to - as long as the outcome is the same as the other scum politicians. Please understand that I am not evaluating causes of why it hasn't been done - but rather why a pure politician like IK who claimed he would do them, has not.

Again, you got it all wrong. I am not a PTI supporter. I am not trying to defend them. I am just trying to understand how a smart person like you is not an equal opportunity critic of all Pakistani politicians and political parties. Thats all. I personally think that given their claims before the elections PTI has failed in KPK by the standards set by themselves.

I personally think that IK is not the right guy to take us out of this morass that we find ourselves in. I just want these family limited companies' cycle to power corridors be broken. Thats all I want. It could be PTI or DTI or ZTI - I don't care if its IK or DK or ZK who breaks that cycle. I don't have much more hope. I strongly believe that we need to get the democracy moving along with a few election cycles. At the same time I also want these political mafias that have latched onto our system like leeches to go away.

So then you can ask what is my take away from all of this? It is as follows:

I fully support IK's right to do what he is doing. At the most he is inconveniencing people in Islamabad, but he has every right to do what he is doing. Sure, it is looking very stupid and embarrassing but still I will defend his right to do what he is doing.

I have many issues with his strategy and what he is doing but I fully support people's right to peaceful protest.

He has every right to make dirty alliances with SMQ, Hashmi, Tareen, Sheikh Rashid. I won't even question why he has taken u-turns because in life you keep changing positions.

Pakistani politics by its inherent nature is dirty. It may take a while for the system to flush itself out. If he takes u-turns and changes his positions then he will have to face the consequences.

I am also even in favour of his right to become Prime Minister, but any means necessary, because Pakistan is a compromised system and here everyone has had a legal / illegal go at things like parachuting Shaukat Aziz, or Military Coups etc. so IK has every right to make his way by any means he thinks are necessary...

I strongly object to that premise. I think that NO ONE, IK or anyone else has any right to take the short cut. He has no right to be catapulted to that position using a short circuit.

...but my problem is with the educated people like you thinking of him as the Messiah. (I can't care about the unfortunate non-lettered masses as they are stuck in a different rut) but it boils my blood when I see lucky educated people like you calling him the cleanest man in the universe when he is like everyone else in his track record. Again, please understand what my point of contention is. I am in favour of IK getting a go at the helm of power. What I am against is educated people calling him a Messiah knowing fully well his personal, financial, social and political compromises.

This is where you go completely off track. And, I have not been able to put my finger on why you do that :-)

I have addressed this before but I will list it again in no uncertain terms. IK IS NO MESSIAH. IN MY BOOKS HE IS NOT EVEN A GOOD POLITICAL LEADER. He is also not an intellectual heavyweight that he is made out to be by his supporters.

I see beyond personalities and IK certainly don't mean much to me as he does to some of his core supporters. I have said it so many times here before and I don't expect you to have read what I wrote so I am trying to reiterate here. Personality worship will not get us anywhere.

All we know is that given what we know he is not financially corrupt and also not have inferiority or personality complexes that most of our leaders suffer from.He has a lot of issues and weaknesses. As I feared and what was proven in KPK is that he doesn't have magic wand to fix serious issues that we face and he doesn't have the team or capacity to fix those problems quickly. As I said before all I see in PTI is a way to break the cycle of corrupt mafias taking turns.

I already have formed the conclusion that in a country where Jinnah (until he died) and the Liaqat then for four years could not form a constitution, where Ayub's "greatness" ended up in half the country being lost, where Bhutto met a sad end, Zia took us decades back just in one, Oxford + Harvad grad BB had to rely on corruption to survive, Oxford grad Mir Murtaza turns into a plane hi-jacker, 3-time luckiest ba$t@rd Nawaz can't manage a turn-around recovery, Musharraf left the country in a ditch a ran away - IMRAN KHAN IS JUST TOO SMALL A PAWN IN THIS GAME.

Are you heading to Islamabad to lead a revolution? ;)

Sometime the solution to huge and complex problems are very simple. Kidding aside it doesn't have to be a revolution to fix the problems that we face.

Pakistan's problem is not 'why IK is not in power' - not matter how much brain-ache educated people like you get over it. It is a problem of our foundations, our denial from reality as a nation, and our split-personality-misplaced-aims of dominating India and then the rest of the world for no reason whatsoever. What else would befall the people who are stuck in the ironic, dissonant situation where a man who founded the biggest 'thaikaidar' jamat in the name of Islam was against carving a smaller mess in the name of Islam.

You are as confused as the masses on the streets of Islamabad :)

You are obsessed with IK and PTI. You try to be pragmatist yet you want idealistic solutions. You tend to generalize and stereotype and use your above average intellect to look down upon people as they are not good enough for you :) These are complex problems and I believe that it will take some simple solutions but it will take time.

I say again, that the problems you listed above are real and IK or anyone else on the political arena have solutions to these problems.

IK didn't create these issues and he is a product of this mess as you and I are. Sometime we don't realize it but you and I suffer from the same maladies as we are a product of that very system. We, as a society, have to come up with the solution to the issues you pointed out. What will fix those issues is social reformation which is beyond any political leader.

All we need now is some political and financial stability so that people can live a little better.

Hardly anyone is willing to talk about it openly here. Handful do exist in Pakistan but they chose not to voice their opinion on this crisis. This is the problem. Why is IK in power or not is merely a soap opera-esque distraction.

You say that its a mess and point out the players who are responsible yet you want to see a different drama played out on the streets. Garbage in garbage out my friend.

Not sure what your expectations are.

Aik_Sawal

I will certainly read patiently. But I have to set the record straight in the very beginning here as I believe that you didn't read my post carefully enough. Your takeaway from my post that I consider IK as a messiah couldn't be further from the truth.

In fact I think that apart from being a cricket captain who achieved so much on the field, building a cancer hospital (a celebrity status as a cricketing hero had a lot to do with it) and being honest and sincere he has not much to show for himself. I rate him very low as a political leader and certainly NOT a messiah or a revolutionary of ANY kind.

Now, having got that out of the way and setting the context I will try to provide my opinion and hope that this time you will read it patiently and with a little more attention :-)

I understand what you are saying and agree with some of it but I am ambivalent on this issue.

I still think that in this cesspool that is Pakistani politics this is worth fretting too much about.

We are talking about Pakistani politics and its based on hypocrisy. There are news that Sharifs have fathered love child (for sheer entertainment value I will refer you to Waseem Akhtar of MQM to learn about Sharifs' sexual exploits ;). Then you see Sharif in the holy land taking extra long time to try to wash away whatever....or maybe take some advice from the octogenarian on how to maintain your sexual prowess even at his age. Who knows. But, does it really matter in the larger context of messy Pakistani politics? I don't think so. I am just surprised that you are so passionate about it - thats all.

I only like his naats and thats all. I never liked his condescending and holier than thou attitude.

Yaar this world is going through this phenomenon of born again 'whatever' and people just love that story. It appeal more to people. There is a reason that Maulana Tariq Jameel has a cell working on cultivating celebrities ;-)

I just leave it up to them and their God. I just hate it when they try to encroach my space. But I have a choice to control and I choose to do that based on what I feel or think.

Just so you know I don't like anyone wearing their religion on their sleeves. Whether its IK or Obama or Blair or Modi. I think that a leader should try his utmost to be private in this respect. But again, we are living in a world which loves this or some part of it does and these public figures try to court that segment of the society. I think that they are just being opportunists.

I still think that its a little different between JJ and IK. IK has said that he was not even an average muslim until his mother died or close to dying. Yet I think that as long as he sticks to others' financial corruption and not bringing up their personal and corrupt morals in the picture as some others do in Pakistan then he is okay.

Again, you got me wrong. A public figure's (especially someone who puts his hand up for a public office) actions in private life are fair game. You and others have every right to bring them up but I am just surprised at you, of all the people, being so passionate about it :-)

Politics is a dirty game and IK should be prepared to answer questions if he has chosen this field and put himself up for scrutiny.

I am not trying to defend him. I am just trying to find a motive for the crime. Of course you and I don't know all the facts. What I am saying is that what is the motivation.

My contention is that IK's opponents are doing what he does and that is to throw allegations without solid proofs. Its not clear either way but creates enough doubts.

I consider myself pretty aware of things. I have been out of Pakistan for a while and have not bought a lot of property. I am sure that if I am trying to buy property
I would contact people in Pakistan if I need to do a land transaction and if they write it down as a baynami transaction then I may not exactly know what does that mean. I may even sign it (my wife has serious problem with me not reading 100 page document before I sign it ;).

Again, I would be all for putting IK in jail or punished or fined for lying or breaching whatever law or regulation if its proven that a crime was committed. I just think that its a non-issue given the mitigating factors. I would have cared more if they found out that he owns land in his sister's name or his sons' name or has shares in a sugar mill or has flats in Dubai or London. A baynami transaction for your primary residence doesn't make sense and not much of a case for me.

Then he should be taken to task for it. Simple as that. I am with you in questioning and demanding that!

How does my observation(in red) pointing out PTI's leadership's incompetence and lack of organization turns out to be a excuse? :)

Again, you got it all wrong. I am not a PTI supporter. I am not trying to defend them. I am just trying to understand how a smart person like you is not an equal opportunity critic of all Pakistani politicians and political parties. Thats all. I personally think that given their claims before the elections PTI has failed in KPK by the standards set by themselves.

I personally think that IK is not the right guy to take us out of this morass that we find ourselves in. I just want these family limited companies' cycle to power corridors be broken. Thats all I want. It could be PTI or DTI or ZTI - I don't care if its IK or DK or ZK who breaks that cycle. I don't have much more hope. I strongly believe that we need to get the democracy moving along with a few election cycles. At the same time I also want these political mafias that have latched onto our system like leeches to go away.

I have many issues with his strategy and what he is doing but I fully support people's right to peaceful protest.

Pakistani politics by its inherent nature is dirty. It may take a while for the system to flush itself out. If he takes u-turns and changes his positions then he will have to face the consequences.

I strongly object to that premise. I think that NO ONE, IK or anyone else has any right to take the short cut. He has no right to be catapulted to that position using a short circuit.

This is where you go completely off track. And, I have not been able to put my finger on why you do that :-)

I have addressed this before but I will list it again in no uncertain terms. IK IS NO MESSIAH. IN MY BOOKS HE IS NOT EVEN A GOOD POLITICAL LEADER. He is also not an intellectual heavyweight that he is made out to be by his supporters.

I see beyond personalities and IK certainly don't mean much to me as he does to some of his core supporters. I have said it so many times here before and I don't expect you to have read what I wrote so I am trying to reiterate here. Personality worship will not get us anywhere.

All we know is that given what we know he is not financially corrupt and also not have inferiority or personality complexes that most of our leaders suffer from.He has a lot of issues and weaknesses. As I feared and what was proven in KPK is that he doesn't have magic wand to fix serious issues that we face and he doesn't have the team or capacity to fix those problems quickly. As I said before all I see in PTI is a way to break the cycle of corrupt mafias taking turns.

Are you heading to Islamabad to lead a revolution? ;)

Sometime the solution to huge and complex problems are very simple. Kidding aside it doesn't have to be a revolution to fix the problems that we face.

You are as confused as the masses on the streets of Islamabad :)

You are obsessed with IK and PTI. You try to be pragmatist yet you want idealistic solutions. You tend to generalize and stereotype and use your above average intellect to look down upon people as they are not good enough for you :) These are complex problems and I believe that it will take some simple solutions but it will take time.

I say again, that the problems you listed above are real and IK or anyone else on the political arena have solutions to these problems.

IK didn't create these issues and he is a product of this mess as you and I are. Sometime we don't realize it but you and I suffer from the same maladies as we are a product of that very system. We, as a society, have to come up with the solution to the issues you pointed out. What will fix those issues is social reformation which is beyond any political leader.

All we need now is some political and financial stability so that people can live a little better.

You say that its a mess and point out the players who are responsible yet you want to see a different drama played out on the streets. Garbage in garbage out my friend.

Not sure what your expectations are.

Thank you for your time. I've utmost respect for you for this. I already added you as a friend a while ago knowing you're pretty fair in your arguments. I just felt that you're also die-hard supporter which you've clarified that you're not and I believe it from what you wrote.

The discussion has gotten so spread out that it's better served done verbally than descriptively. But again, I laud you effort, man.

I have to say I agree with almost all of your things. Only on one thing I have a different personal opinion: Where you think inexperience, disorganization and incompetence is responsible for not have LB elections, I think Imran Khan personally doesn't want to do it because in Pak dirty politics that is like suicide, and hence IK is doing what everyone else does. This is my point all along that IK is exactly the same like others. There are many financially clean people who controlled Pak's fate and ran us more into the ground and he is in that category.

Another thing that I felt needs clarifying is a question you asked about my passion for the issue of love-child. I feel that it defines IK; Not the act of fathering itself, but the way he has dealt with the controversy. For example, ex-CJP did a lot of things that defined him. To most people, his resistance to a dictator is what defines him. However, I have had an opinion since 2007 that, ex-CJP is such a sneaky person that when a PCO (in 1999) is issued that promoted him, it is acceptable to him and when a PCO (2007) was issued to dispose him, it was not acceptable to him. PCO 1999 & 2007 were exactly the same, the only difference was one promoted him and another removed him - and so this hypocrisy is what defines ex-CJP for me.

So, just like that, IK would prefer extra marital affairs (at the mature age of 40) when it would get him tabloid headings and would denounce them in the name of Islam when it gets him votes. I don't care about Tyrian or any other personal things. I care deeply about this hypocrisy. I wish IK maintained his 1980s lifestyle today, OR I wish he was a staunch Muslim in 1980s just like he portrays to be today. This thing of inter-switching between 'zana' and 'namaz photoshoots' as and when fit, shows me that he is a playboy-esque narcissist who doesn't care about what is right, he only cares about what gets him fame.

Just like ex-CJP cared nothing about what was right or wrong, he only cared about holding on to the CJP post (which we now know he used for his personal political agenda e.g. Suo sponte on Atiqa Odhu's bottles because Atiqa was one person of the 3 in Musharraf's APML).

I don't know whether you can pick it up or not but I have a personal hurt from this. I grew up worshiping Imran Khan. I still remember I was in 1st grade and I gave Rs. 50 for his SKMH donation drive. I still remember carrying that 'huge amount' of money (it was for a 5 year old) to school where he came for fund-raising. I got a certificate with red sticker on it. Kids who gave Rs. 200 got a golden sticker. I remember I cried that recess break that why god had made us so poor that I could not get a golden sticker from IK. My worship for him came from such emotional depth (and still there is a lot of it for his sporting legacy and philanthropy).

I voted for him in 2013 even though I had started to become disgruntled with him for SMQ, Sheikh Rashid, Hashmi, Tareen, Khattak reasons and other ticket mess. Even then I still had hope from him when he got KPK that he might turn it around. But, what he's done so far has left me with no hope. I used to consider him a Messiah (of sorts) maybe that crash and burn is affecting me.

Now I've resorted to 'even god can't help us because we don't want to help ourselves'. I've a solution that my (silly) brain keeps poking at me of being workable for Pakistan. It's laughable at this point but might make sense after 50 years or so. If you're interested, let me know I'd open a new thread of explaining it.

But, lastly lastly, thanks for the much detailed response. Engaging someone sincerely is highest respect you can give to them and I thank you for it.

Aik_Sawal

@ Aik Sawal: The problem with your thinking, bro, is that you are thinking with your blinders on. Imran khan is a means not an end. If he breaks this duopoly of these two Families on Pakistani politics, it will open the way for the middle class Pakistanis to be part of Politics. How long do you think he will last ? And he is not naming in his WILL his future heir so that in itself is a great feat. And there is a very crude test of all these three personalities to get a glimpse of their integrity in the eyes of the neutrals, that is the non- Pakistanis as they have no incentive to take sides. Zardari lands in the UK and Cameron is warned to watch for his fingers. BBC has and it still exists a whole video about the corruption of the Shareefs, if I aint wrong its called from Lahore to London no sure but something on the lines. Imran is made VC of a university. This is the verdict of the world's oldest and truest democracy on our leaders. And like I said his personal stuff isn't my worry because you are arguing for a democracy not Sharia. Plus I am sure you like all of us has a few of your own skeletons in your closet(1), of personal nature ( don't get mad it was more on the lighter side). Cheers ( If you plan to import a few Norwegian politicians if you can't find a single right one in the Land of the Pure(2), I am all for it but even they would come with their personal baggages).

1. Oh yeah loads. My closet is full of (metaphorically speaking) japanese tentacle pr0n. Who's isn't.

2. Hahaha, the best one-liner ironic statement I've read in a long time.

mrk123

Thank you for your time. I've utmost respect for you for this. I already added you as a friend a while ago knowing you're pretty fair in your arguments. I just felt that you're also die-hard supporter which you've clarified that you're not and I believe it from what you wrote.

The discussion has gotten so spread out that it's better served done verbally than descriptively. But again, I laud you effort, man.

Thank you! I am a sucker for a decent and fruitful discussion and don't particularly like people shouting over each other as is the norm with us. We tend to believe that we can drown out the dissenting voices. It does nothing but hurt us more.

I am glad that I was able to clarify that I am not even a supporter let alone a die hard supporter of IK. I just want positive change in the country or any kind of change. I want a different movie. I just want things to be shaken up. Even though I used to be an idealist in my younger days but now I am a realist and pragmatic enough to know that things will not improve much in Pakistan unless something major happens which turn peoples' attitude for the better. Still I would like the current cycle to be broken.
Its about people awakening a little more. One thing that has happened is that people who were never part of politics are now involved with the process. I see some good and fresh faces who may eventually gain enough critical mass to deliver some kind of positive change. NOT A REVOLUTION or REFORMATION just a little change for the better. I believe that the problems that we are facing are humongous and even if IK comes into power he is destined to fail because no one can fix these issues in a short span of 5 years and he certainly doesn't have the capacity or capability. I think that the people would have woken up enough and the broken cycle of political family mafias in power would create a little opening for some sane elements to enter the political landscape.

I have to say I agree with almost all of your things. Only on one thing I have a different personal opinion: Where you think inexperience, disorganization and incompetence is responsible for not have LB elections, I think Imran Khan personally doesn't want to do it because in Pak dirty politics that is like suicide, and hence IK is doing what everyone else does. This is my point all along that IK is exactly the same like others. There are many financially clean people who controlled Pak's fate and ran us more into the ground and he is in that category.

That is just my opinion and I may be wrong on this one. You do have a valid point and since we don't know for sure we will have to see what consequences PTI will face. I already said that it will hurt them big time in the long run - no matter what the reasons are.

Another thing that I felt needs clarifying is a question you asked about my passion for the issue of love-child. I feel that it defines IK; Not the act of fathering itself, but the way he has dealt with the controversy. For example, ex-CJP did a lot of things that defined him. To most people, his resistance to a dictator is what defines him. However, I have had an opinion since 2007 that, ex-CJP is such a sneaky person that when a PCO (in 1999) is issued that promoted him, it is acceptable to him and when a PCO (2007) was issued to dispose him, it was not acceptable to him. PCO 1999 & 2007 were exactly the same, the only difference was one promoted him and another removed him - and so this hypocrisy is what defines ex-CJP for me.

So, just like that, IK would prefer extra marital affairs (at the mature age of 40) when it would get him tabloid headings and would denounce them in the name of Islam when it gets him votes. I don't care about Tyrian or any other personal things. I care deeply about this hypocrisy. I wish IK maintained his 1980s lifestyle today, OR I wish he was a staunch Muslim in 1980s just like he portrays to be today. This thing of inter-switching between 'zana' and 'namaz photoshoots' as and when fit, shows me that he is a playboy-esque narcissist who doesn't care about what is right, he only cares about what gets him fame.

Just like ex-CJP cared nothing about what was right or wrong, he only cared about holding on to the CJP post (which we now know he used for his personal political agenda e.g. Suo sponte on Atiqa Odhu's bottles because Atiqa was one person of the 3 in Musharraf's APML).

I think I understand your point a little better now but still I am not totally convinced. In my opinion I would want IK to be barred from politics for financial corruption rather than moral corruption. But if it irks you more then you have all the right to feel that way. I was just confused given your positions and your stated beliefs here.

I don't know whether you can pick it up or not but I have a personal hurt from this. I grew up worshiping Imran Khan. I still remember I was in 1st grade and I gave Rs. 50 for his SKMH donation drive. I still remember carrying that 'huge amount' of money (it was for a 5 year old) to school where he came for fund-raising. I got a certificate with red sticker on it. Kids who gave Rs. 200 got a golden sticker. I remember I cried that recess break that why god had made us so poor that I could not get a golden sticker from IK. My worship for him came from such emotional depth (and still there is a lot of it for his sporting legacy and philanthropy).

I take your word for it buddy. I knew and someone pointed this out yesterday in one of the posts that your beef with IK seems personal.

I voted for him in 2013 even though I had started to become disgruntled with him for SMQ, Sheikh Rashid, Hashmi, Tareen, Khattak reasons and other ticket mess. Even then I still had hope from him when he got KPK that he might turn it around. But, what he's done so far has left me with no hope. I used to consider him a Messiah (of sorts) maybe that crash and burn is affecting me.

I think that people who expected miracles in KPK don't really know the reality and overall decline in our country. No one can fix the bigger problems. They can use the funds doled out to us by international financial institutions to build roads, overpasses and bus service. Can you imagine that the biggest project in Pakistan in the 21st century is introducing a bus service??? Mind boggling if you ask me!

Now I've resorted to 'even god can't help us because we don't want to help ourselves'. I've a solution that my (silly) brain keeps poking at me of being workable for Pakistan. It's laughable at this point but might make sense after 50 years or so. If you're interested, let me know I'd open a new thread of explaining it.

Lets hear it. Go for it. Ideas never hurt.

But, lastly lastly, thanks for the much detailed response. Engaging someone sincerely is highest respect you can give to them and I thank you for it.

Feeling is mutual. At least I tend to learn things from these discussions. I respect people's opinions and try my best to put myself in their shoes to understand their points of view.

Thanks!

Aik_Sawal

...I take your word for it buddy. I knew and someone pointed this out yesterday in one of the posts that your beef with IK seems personal...
[hilar] - Damnit, if only IK had given me the golden sticker that day... This all hate-mongering by me would have never transpired... I am so shallow...

...Can you imagine that the biggest project in Pakistan in the 21st century is introducing a bus service??? Mind boggling if you ask me!...
Nope, its Damier Bhasha Dam, for which work started in Musharraf era and Zardari and Nawaz have kept it going (will cost USD 15 billion at least). And the second one is Dasu Dam, which is Nawaz's project (will cost around USD 7.5 billion at least).

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On Your Criticism of BRT :

Here is a list of BRT systems (which we smart Pakistanis love to call Jangla buses, because we hate everything good for one reason or another). Even UK has dedicated, guided, BRT systems at some places (I used to :doh: when people used to say that because London has painted lanes, so should ISB-RWP too.)

- 16.8 miles of Lahore BRT was built for US$ 300 million i.e. @ $17.85 million / mile.

- 15 miles of ISB-RWP BRT will be built for US$ 250 million i.e. @ $16.67 million / mile.

- Go here on page 17 to read that in the year 2000, according to US GAO (govt. audit office) cost per mile of a BRT should be US$ 13.5 million.

- Go here at inflation calculator to convert year 2000 US$ to year 2014 US$ and you will see that $13.5 (in 2000) = $18.5 (in 2014).​

By that standard, Lahore and ISB-RWP BRTs seems alright.

However, we can go into conspiracy theories:

- that actually they spent 83.2 gazillion-trillian US$ in reality, or,

- things were built for free by Jinn and Nawaz put all that money in his pocket, or,

- that Nawaz is a bad man so lets kill him -

or whatever the level of crazy we want to get to... but the fact remains that we need BRTs. Whether you like it or not, cities of 21st centuries need BRTs. Period. Whether we build them today, tomorrow, or by Nawaz or IK, or after Martial Law, we need modern inter-city transport systems. And they are not mutually exclusive events with food, education or housing.

For those who cry about the current system of random " ویگنیں " is the most superior technology humans have ever conjured and that actually NASA will use the same " ویگنیں " as transport system to Mars, then I ask them why do you not see any of these " ویگنیں " in the list of cities I provided up there? Surely there must be a reason. And why do we have to do everything in the compromised desi way with a blind hope that this will make us dominate the rest of the world?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

go kill nawaz go kill :

Look dude, I hate Nawaz. Trust me I do. I want to kill him for:
- splitting Pakistan in 71',

- giving TB to Quaid-e-Azam so he dies early so that he can make his Steel Mills quickly,

- orchestrating the whole failed adventure of Kargil in secret without telling a single Army officer,

- prostituting Pakistan in Cold War for US$ and then fight a losing battle from India, all single-handedly,

- starting Kashmir jihad and then closing it down in 2004,

- making Musharraf saying things to accept Israel here,​

Really man, I want to just kill Nawaz. That's it. The one person who is the wrongest in the universe is Nawaz alone. That's it. In fact, the last 800 years or so where Muslim world has gone to the dogs, it is because of, you guessed it, Nawaz. Infact, after 632 AD, when two of the four Caliphs were assassinated, you know who had a hand in those 'fitnas'. Also, this whole plan of sending Mohammad bin Qasim was just a ploy by Nawaz so later he can build Hudaibiya Paper Mill in this region.

I'm telling you man, Nawaz must die and IK be made PM and then in 3-7 days after that, Pakistan and Ummah will dominate the world.

here you go........
GoldenStickerWinner.png
...........ok go slow now........(bigsmile)
[hilar] - Damnit, if only IK had given me the golden sticker that day... This all hate-mongering by me would have never transpired... I am so shallow...

-------------------------------------------------------------

- giving TB to Quaid-e-Azam so he dies early so that he can make his Steel Mills quickly,

- orchestrating the whole failed adventure of Kargil in secret without telling a single Army officer,

- prostituting Pakistan in Cold War for US$ and then fight a losing battle from India, all single-handedly,

Really man, I want to just kill Nawaz. That's it. The one person who is the wrongest in the universe is Nawaz alone. That's it. In fact, the last 800 years or so where Muslim world has gone to the dogs, it is because of, you guessed it, Nawaz. Infact, after 632 AD, when two of the four Caliphs were assassinated, you know who had a hand in those 'fitnas'. Also, this whole plan of sending Mohammad bin Qasim was just a ploy by Nawaz so later he can build Hudaibiya Paper Mill in this region.

I'm telling you man, Nawaz must die and IK be made PM and then in 3-7 days after that, Pakistan and Ummah will dominate the world.

Humi

Nope, its Damier Bhasha Dam, for which work started in Musharraf era and Zardari and Nawaz have kept it going (will cost USD 15 billion at least). And the second one is Dasu Dam, which is Nawaz's project (will cost around USD 7.5 billion at least).

Here is a list of BRT systems (which we smart Pakistanis love to call Jangla buses, because we hate everything good for one reason or another). Even UK has dedicated, guided, BRT systems at some places (I used to :doh: when people used to say that because London has painted lanes, so should ISB-RWP too.)

- 16.8 miles of Lahore BRT was built for US$ 300 million i.e. @ $17.85 million / mile.

- 15 miles of ISB-RWP BRT will be built for US$ 250 million i.e. @ $16.67 million / mile.

- Go here on page 17 to read that in the year 2000, according to US GAO (govt. audit office) cost per mile of a BRT should be US$ 13.5 million.

- Go here at inflation calculator to convert year 2000 US$ to year 2014 US$ and you will see that $13.5 (in 2000) = $18.5 (in 2014).​

- things were built for free by Jinn and Nawaz put all that money in his pocket, or,

or whatever the level of crazy we want to get to... but the fact remains that we need BRTs. Whether you like it or not, cities of 21st centuries need BRTs. Period. Whether we build them today, tomorrow, or by Nawaz or IK, or after Martial Law, we need modern inter-city transport systems. And they are not mutually exclusive events with food, education or housing.

For those who cry about the current system of random " ویگنیں " is the most superior technology humans have ever conjured and that actually NASA will use the same " ویگنیں " as transport system to Mars, then I ask them why do you not see any of these " ویگنیں " in the list of cities I provided up there? Surely there must be a reason. And why do we have to do everything in the compromised desi way with a blind hope that this will make us dominate the rest of the world?

go kill nawaz go kill :

You have a very, I guess the word is "unique" style of sarcasm :/

mrk123

Yeah, I thought that it was a classic case of betrayal and it turned out to be about a golden sticker in the end :)

I give you that. I should have qualified my statement with quick impact projects that you see in Pakistanis cities. PMLn should be commended for getting and keeping these projects going and securing funding for them. I don't think that either of these are a brainchild of Nawaz.

http://wapda.gov.pk/vision2025/

http://www.wapda.gov.pk/pdf/diamerbashdam.pdf

Man! I didn't know that you were so passionate about the metro bus projects :-) I would have steered clear of this topic.

All I am going to say is that I have probably been to 30 american states and despite the low capital cost/mile I have never seen a metro bus type project.
The other thing is that you are using the capital cost estimates for the US to justify costs of the project in Pakistan?
Check out the stats from this report http://www.soderbom.net/13_05_02_Unit cost paper.pdf check page 11 for average cost of asphalt roadway. Note that its
in KM but still compare it with $16.6/miles.

I have been paying attention to transportation problems in Karachi for a long time. There are simple solutions to the complex transportation problems that I think can alleviate problems.

My objection to these projects is my own and I don't pay any attention to what Sharifs' political rivals say. IK has a tendency to shoot from the hip and most of the times he lacks hard facts. My issue is not with the money spent rather with the way we try to solve these problems without fully understanding the consequences. We should leave that discussion for another day.

My comment and reference to bus project was in a different context and was in response to what you had said. I didn't realize that it was a touchy topic given the time you took to come up with a lengthy retort :-)

I still maintain that this project is not suited for Pakistan. I respect your opinion even if I disagree with it. May be some other time we can discuss it in detail.

We are dabbling in assumptions here, aren't we?

NO! I have serious reservations about this bus project irrespective of who came up with it. It could have been Musharraf, or IK or MQM or PMLn or PPP. I would still think that it is not feasible and not a good solution to our problems.

As I can tell it touches a raw nerve given the diatribe I see about this topic :)

I guess you are trying to humor me based on assumptions :)

I guess it will be more beneficial if you continue on this topic with someone who reveres the random wagons.

go kill nawaz go kill :

Whatever man!

You go kill nawaz and whoever else who comes in your way and rally the ummah blah blah.....I would be watching :)

If you are again in a mood for a good discussion then you know where to find me.

Have a good day!

Aik_Sawal

Yeah, I thought that it was a classic case of betrayal and it turned out to be about a golden sticker in the end :)

I give you that. I should have qualified my statement with quick impact projects that you see in Pakistanis cities. PMLn should be commended for getting and keeping these projects going and securing funding for them. I don't think that either of these are a brainchild of Nawaz.

http://wapda.gov.pk/vision2025/

http://www.wapda.gov.pk/pdf/diamerbashdam.pdf

Man! I didn't know that you were so passionate about the metro bus projects :-) I would have steered clear of this topic.

All I am going to say is that I have probably been to 30 american states and despite the low capital cost/mile I have never seen a metro bus type project.
The other thing is that you are using the capital cost estimates for the US to justify costs of the project in Pakistan?
Check out the stats from this report http://www.soderbom.net/13_05_02_Unit cost paper.pdf check page 11 for average cost of asphalt roadway. Note that its
in KM but still compare it with $16.6/miles.

I have been paying attention to transportation problems in Karachi for a long time. There are simple solutions to the complex transportation problems that I think can alleviate problems.

My objection to these projects is my own and I don't pay any attention to what Sharifs' political rivals say. IK has a tendency to shoot from the hip and most of the times he lacks hard facts. My issue is not with the money spent rather with the way we try to solve these problems without fully understanding the consequences. We should leave that discussion for another day.

My comment and reference to bus project was in a different context and was in response to what you had said. I didn't realize that it was a touchy topic given the time you took to come up with a lengthy retort :-)

I still maintain that this project is not suited for Pakistan. I respect your opinion even if I disagree with it. May be some other time we can discuss it in detail.

We are dabbling in assumptions here, aren't we?

NO! I have serious reservations about this bus project irrespective of who came up with it. It could have been Musharraf, or IK or MQM or PMLn or PPP. I would still think that it is not feasible and not a good solution to our problems.

As I can tell it touches a raw nerve given the diatribe I see about this topic :)

I guess you are trying to humor me based on assumptions :)

I guess it will be more beneficial if you continue on this topic with someone who reveres the random wagons.

Whatever man!

You go kill nawaz and whoever else who comes in your way and rally the ummah blah blah.....I would be watching :)

If you are again in a mood for a good discussion then you know where to find me.

Have a good day!

I was meaning to reply to you but felt bad at the direction I had led the conversation to. Another thing was that I was also getting confused by multiple off shoots that this conversation was leading to, i.e. What is the cost of building infrastructure in a non-technically skilled country, or priorities of constitutional legalities vs. existential emergencies of terrorism or education etc. and I frankly even had forgotten where we started the conversation from - so I just didn't reply in that worry (it is disrespectful to walk away like that, I know).

Anyway, I totally agree with you that transport is not an emergency that we are facing as a nation. There are many other, Education, Terrorism or Nation Building to name just a few. So I agree with you there. I know metros are a poster-child project for Shareefs. But that's the world we live in and what can you do.

I would much rather that everyone except the farmers, industrialists and the Army drop everything what they are doing and start an education and then technical skills revolution in Pakistan. But both of us know that is never going to happen. We are far too much stuck in existential threats which are tunneling our vision to not have a foresight of education and nation building as a priority.

US is a different world altogether. There, even certain infrastructures like the railroads were built by privatized contracts. I really have a respect for how they do things - even when many of them go astray - still the overall manner of doing things is commendable. They are a whole lot different nation. We (including the developed Europeans) can't live by their standards. Where else in developed world do you find completely privatized healthcare, increasingly privatized military, lobbyists more in numbers than there are ants in this world, a military might that even god envies, and a nation who'd wipe off another completely (hiroshima & nagasaki) for just attacking a fleet of ships in a random parking lot in Hawaii. They are so different that they reject cricket and make their own baseball. They reject football and make their own (stupid) version of it. They reject how racetracks are designed in the rest of the world and theirs either only go in an oval (nascar) or just in a straight-line quarter-mile (drag strip)... who does that! But except of course the great nation of USA.

...no wonder you didn't find a turkish-UK-ish-Lahore-esque metro bus service anywhere :P

Strange how I had the same conversation with my Dad few days ago when we were talking about US Marshals and how no such enforcement agency exists in UK, which is considered to have the oldest (and most trusted) justice system in the modern world. I was (on the same reasons as above) explaining to him that why a US Marshal service can only exist in America and no where else.

But anyway, I agree with most of what you've said in principle and I apologize at the 'wagons' joke. It was not directly at you personally.

mrk123

I was meaning to reply to you but felt bad at the direction I had led the conversation to. Another thing was that I was also getting confused by multiple off shoots that this conversation was leading to, i.e. What is the cost of building infrastructure in a non-technically skilled country, or priorities of constitutional legalities vs. existential emergencies of terrorism or education etc. and I frankly even had forgotten where we started the conversation from - so I just didn't reply in that worry (it is disrespectful to walk away like that, I know).

Now that I have replied to you on the other thread it would be hard for me to keep a serious discussion going but I will try :)

You are right. After a while these long discussion don't have much value as its hard to keep track of what are we talking about and keep it withing the context and meaningful. I will be brief and briefly respond so as not to come across as rude.

Anyway, I totally agree with you that transport is not an emergency that we are facing as a nation. There are many other, Education, Terrorism or Nation Building to name just a few. So I agree with you there. I know metros are a poster-child project for Shareefs. But that's the world we live in and what can you do.

No, I think that solving transport issues is urgent but the only point I am trying to make is that they don't need all our attention and in my opinion they need simple solutions instead of grand projects.

I would much rather that everyone except the farmers, industrialists and the Army drop everything what they are doing and start an education and then technical skills revolution in Pakistan. But both of us know that is never going to happen. We are far too much stuck in existential threats which are tunneling our vision to not have a foresight of education and nation building as a priority.

Agreed. I think that we can do two, three or four things at the same time. We can't afford to just focus on one thing.

US is a different world altogether. There, even certain infrastructures like the railroads were built by privatized contracts. I really have a respect for how they do things - even when many of them go astray - still the overall manner of doing things is commendable. They are a whole lot different nation. We (including the developed Europeans) can't live by their standards. Where else in developed world do you find completely privatized healthcare, increasingly privatized military, lobbyists more in numbers than there are ants in this world, a military might that even god envies, and a nation who'd wipe off another completely (hiroshima & nagasaki) for just attacking a fleet of ships in a random parking lot in Hawaii. They are so different that they reject cricket and make their own baseball. They reject football and make their own (stupid) version of it. They reject how racetracks are designed in the rest of the world and theirs either only go in an oval (nascar) or just in a straight-line quarter-mile (drag strip)... who does that! But except of course the great nation of USA.

...no wonder you didn't find a turkish-UK-ish-Lahore-esque metro bus service anywhere :P

The reason I brought up USA was that you had listed a study done in US about the dedicated bus tracks and you used their numbers to compare the cost of metro bus projects in Pakistan. I was exactly making the same point that we can't use a feasibility study done in US for US cities to justify any project in Pakistan or anywhere else in the world. US is a completely different beast. For good or worse they like to do differently.

I have see the dedicated bus lanes/service in London or Istanbul but they are again a different scenario altogether compared to us. But lets just leave this topic.
Beaten a dead horse enough already :)

Strange how I had the same conversation with my Dad few days ago when we were talking about US Marshals and how no such enforcement agency exists in UK, which is considered to have the oldest (and most trusted) justice system in the modern world. I was (on the same reasons as above) explaining to him that why a US Marshal service can only exist in America and no where else.

But anyway, I agree with most of what you've said in principle and I apologize at the 'wagons' joke. It was not directly at you personally.

No apology was required. Its all good I realized later what you were coming from. Its just hard to keep these long discussions from devolving into meaningless
writing essays :)