Pashtunwali : Non-written ethical code lifestyle

Khan_Jee

Pashtunwali or Pakhtunwali is a non-written ethical code and traditional lifestyle which the indigenous Pashtun people from Afghanistan and Pakistan follow.

There are nine main principles of Pashtunwali. Although Pashtunwali is believed to date back to the pre-Islamic period, its usage or practice does not contravene basic Islamic principles.

Melmastia (hospitality) -

Showing hospitality and profound respect to all visitors, regardless of distinctions of race, religion, national affiliation as well as economic status and doing so without any hope of remuneration or favour. Pashtuns will go to great extents to show their hospitality.

Nanawatai (asylum) -

Derived from the verb meaning to go in, this is used for protection given to a person who requests protection against his/her enemies. The people are protected at all costs, in many cases even people running from the law must be given refuge until the situation is clarified.

Badal (justice) -

To seek justice against the wrongdoer. This applies to injustices committed yesterday or 1000 years ago if the wrongdoer still exists.

Tureh (bravery) -

A Pashtun must defend his land/property, family and women from incursions wherever he or she might reside. A Pashtun should always stand brave against tyranny and he should always be able to defend his property, family, women and the honour of his name.

Sabat (loyalty) -

Loyalty must be paid to ones family, friends, and tribe members. Loyalty is a must and a Pashtun can never become disloyal as this would be utterly shameful towards themselves and their families.

Imandari (righteousness) -

A Pashtun must always strive towards thinking good thoughts, speaking good words and doing other good deeds. Pashtuns must behave respectfully towards all creations including people, animals and the environment around them. Pollution of the environment or its destruction is against the Pashtunwali.

Isteqamat -

Trust in God. The notion of trusting in the one Creator generally comports to Islamic idea of belief in only one God.

Ghayrat (self honour or dignity) -

Pashtuns must maintain their human dignity. Honour has great importance in Pashtun society and most other codes of life are aimed towards the preservation of ones honour or pride. They must respect themselves and others in order to be able to do so, especially those they do not know. Respect begins at home, among family members and relatives.

Namus (Honor of women) -

A Pashtun must defend the honor of Pashtun women at all costs and must protect them from vocal and physical harm.

3093406805_f36a31473f.jpg

tariisb

For learning , kindly tell , is it applicable in all Pashtun tribes ?

Or

values are different according to region , casts , and tribes ?

Thanks...........

sadia_gul

For learning , kindly tell , is it applicable in all Pashtun tribes ?

Or

values are different according to region , casts , and tribes ?

Thanks...........

Don't take this rubbish seriously. Bahoot se pathan achay bhi hotay hein, lekin Tribal pathans (saray nahn lekin bahot bari aksreeyat) nihayat rustic sooch rakhtay hein, kamzoor auratoon ko izzat k naam per qatal keray hein.....just like beasts.

AliYousafzai

Don't take this rubbish seriously. Bahoot se pathan achay bhi hotay hein, lekin Tribal pathans (saray nahn lekin bahot bari aksreeyat) nihayat rustic sooch rakhtay hein, kamzoor auratoon ko izzat k naam per qatal keray hein.....just like beasts.

yeah, they eat women in their breakfast, lunch and dinner

Azizan

Nanawatai Ki maani sahih nahi hai. Asal mai Nanawatai uss waqt karte hai jab koi shakhs ya Group kisi dusre shakhs ya group par koi Be-bunyad Ilzam lagaye ya Nuqsaan pahunchaye to uss ka izala karne keliye ilzam lagane wala ya nuqsan pahunchane wala Nanawatai ke tor pe dusre shakhs ya group keliye 1,2,3..... Dunbey ya Bakrey zibbah karte hai take Sulah ho sake....

KhanHaripur

[h=5]Rasoolullah Sallallahu alayhi wa sallam (صلى الله عليه و سلم) said :
"He is not of us if he calls to asabiyyah(nationalism ), and he is not one of us if he fights for the sake of asabiyyah, and not one of us if he dies on asabiyyah." [Sunan Abu Dawood][/h]

sadia_gul

yeah, they eat women in their breakfast, lunch and dinner

Don't take it personal but believe me, what I write here is nothing...My university friend was from Wana, and she used to tell a lot more stories, which I can't share here, because it will be taken as ethnic specific remarks.....Thank god, she got married to a class fellow who was from seraiki background... She got her two younger sisters married in the same family, she is having a very lovely life and by god, she used to call Wana 'a living hell'. I have respect and regard for every community but not for those who treat women either as a commodity (as many do in Western society) or as their slaves (as many do in tribal Baloch, tribal Pathan and some other prts of Pakistan; but unfortunately these two communities are notorious).

Hamid Mahmood

Btw pashtun is never cruel to womans..Pashtoon gives full rights to womans, although there may be some people who are exceptional, and you cant blame whole pashtoon community for this. cz you can see exceptional cases in every community, but if you notice, moral crimes are very less in pashtoons, they gives such a respect to woman that no one could imagine. Freedom for woman doesnt mean that they cross the limits. Parda aor sharam o Haya be koye cheez hoti hy, aurat parda mai reh k b apne jaiz kaam kar skti hy, thats why pashtoon never ever accept volgurity.

Mehran.co

pa daw kare che de har dawar qanoon yem zama loya guna da da che pakhtun yem ,im proud that im muslim pakistani and pashtun:alhamd:

sahiL

One of my friend from university told me how her friend got pregnant n committed suicide when the guy left him ......OTE=sadia_gul;1126995]Don't take it personal but believe me, what I write here is nothing...My university friend was from Wana, and she used to tell a lot more stories, which I can't share here, because it will be taken as ethnic specific remarks.....Thank god, she got married to a class fellow who was from seraiki background... She got her two younger sisters married in the same family, she is having a very lovely life and by god, she used to call Wana 'a living hell'. I have respect and regard for every community but not for those who treat women either as a commodity (as many do in Western society) or as their slaves (as many do in tribal Baloch, tribal Pathan and some other prts of Pakistan; but unfortunately these two communities are notorious).[/QUOTE]

Tribal

Sadia.. Take two newspaper atleast of today.. u vl see women r killed in the name of honor more in Sindh and Punjab.. even they through acid on them.. on the other hand Pushtun dnt have such barbaric minds.. daily u vl see in news and in media news reported from Punjab regarding honor killing.. bt u vl nt find sch stroies from KPK and FATA.... now u can better compare that where we stand and where other stand in killing Women.. app log azadi detay hu.. pechay nehi dekatay k sister and wife baher ja ker kiya gool kilati hy.. jab k hum ny women ko ezzat di hy.. ghar may raka hy.. sirf libas ka parda nahee hota... hum ny safety hy.. app logo ny showpiece banaya hy... so many other things.. u can better think.......

Tribal

Don't take it personal but believe me, what I write here is nothing...My university friend was from Wana, and she used to tell a lot more stories, which I can't share here, because it will be taken as ethnic specific remarks.....Thank god, she got married to a class fellow who was from seraiki background... She got her two younger sisters married in the same family, she is having a very lovely life and by god, she used to call Wana 'a living hell'. I have respect and regard for every community but not for those who treat women either as a commodity (as many do in Western society) or as their slaves (as many do in tribal Baloch, tribal Pathan and some other prts of Pakistan; but unfortunately these two communities are notorious).

Have u ever seen ratioog ilegel abortion or ilegel born babies in other part of Pakistan vth KP and FATA..ur eyes vl b open.. in punjab they throw them in waste dumps...wat a cruel ppl they r.... if u take single case then its nt fair... look at general comparison...I talking about the general aspect of ur society....

Omrkhan

[h=5]Rasoolullah Sallallahu alayhi wa sallam (صلى الله عليه و سلم) said :
"He is not of us if he calls to asabiyyah(nationalism ), and he is not one of us if he fights for the sake of asabiyyah, and not one of us if he dies on asabiyyah." [Sunan Abu Dawood][/h]

And I was thinking of this Hadith. Jazak Allah.

AliYousafzai

Its not personal, Wana may be a hell for many reasons, and that is for both men and women. So a girl from Wana can go to a University, marry a person of her own liking, and that too from a more backward background, can decide where her sisters should be married, and nobody from her area with a rustic mindset harms her for their honour. I didn't know women in tribal areas are that powerful. Quite a paradox!