EXPORTS
exportsfeb2012.png

Source: http://www.pbs.gov.pk/sites/default/files/external_trade/14.6.pdf

IMPORTS
importsfeb2012.png

Source: http://www.pbs.gov.pk/sites/default/files/external_trade/14.7.pdf

Did you guys notice something?
Pakistan exports most to USA (15%) but imports most from UAE(19%).
Wonder why?

Its called Petro-Dollar for a reason my friend! So whats the fix? Here it is!

What I found ironic was the 2nd biggest Importer of Pakistani Exports is Afghanistan... That gives you a clue how much "black-money" is involved in the Export sector (which is actually subsidized!)

Temojin

Only if your proposed formula could come into existence and we start exporting our production in a proper manner.

m.irshad84

Great work Mr. Asif. you always come up with some thing interesting, informative and more importantly factual. keep it up :)

Vitamin_C

There is alot potential in Afghanistan from an Exporter point of view in Pakistan, theres contracts being given for everything, tiles, petrol, food stuffs and chemicals.

hans

Bhai Asif, Can you shed some light on Spain current 100 billion-euro ($125 billion) bailout for lenders... what is going on?

@AsifAmeer
Why the value of Afghani currency is double of what Rupee is?
1.00 USD =48.2200 AFN
US DollarAfghan Afghani
1 USD = 48.2200 AFN1 AFN = 0.0207383 USD

Link: http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert/?Amount=1&From=USD&To=AFN

Ahssan, he wouldn't answer that question. The old brain doesn't work that far.

The fact is Afghanistan was always a big importer of Pakistani products, some of the imports are also reexported to Afghanistan. They are imported to Pakistan with specific orders from Afghanistan. Many in Pakistan makes huge money in this trade.

There is smuggling involve. But fact is Afghanistan imports lots of food crops from Pakistan too.

The Afghani is stronger compare to Pakistani Rupees, because successive Pakistani Government have made this a practice to reduce the value of the Rupees to make the export cheaper in international markets, i.e. in dollars terms.

They couldn't compete with countries like Bangladesh because BD gets preferential treatment in the EU. The margins of the traders were wiped out by the advantage BD gets, therefore, they couldn't compete on price with BD. Pakistan Government found it easier to devalue Rupees, than to bring economics of scale or better working conditions in to Pakistani products.

In current Government over borrowing, quantitive easing and weak FDI combined have caused the weakening of the Rupees.

bhaibarood

ASIF BHAI LIKE ALWAYS BUSTING THE ECONOMY VERY CLEAR!!(clap)(clap)
GOOD WORK !BY THE WAY REASON FOR UAE IMPORTS ARE DUE TO HUGE MOBILE PHONE IMPORTS,WE PAKISTANI BOUGHT MILLION $ MOBILE EACH MONTH AND PAY THOSE IMPORT BILLS BY USD,FURTHER SCREWING THE IMPORT/EXPORT BALANCE
free advice to everyone,liquidate the stocks evry where you live as a further decline is coming and invest in gold or just keep it in bank! stocks are bound to plunge huge

bhaibarood

EXPORTS
IMPORTS
importsfeb2012.png

Source: http://www.pbs.gov.pk/sites/default/files/external_trade/14.7.pdf

Pakistan exports most to USA (15%) but imports most from UAE(19%).
Wonder why?

Its called Petro-Dollar for a reason my friend! So whats the fix? Here it is!

What I found ironic was the 2nd biggest Importer of Pakistani Exports is Afghanistan... That gives you a clue how much "black-money" is involved in the Export sector (which is actually subsidized!)

mashallah kia khubsoorat pie chart banaya hai!!!
maza agaya
:rule:

only_truths

Many might have noticed but just ignored to comment

1, China exports more than 3 times than they import from Pakistan ? Is that the cost of being an all-weather friend? More than that, it is slowly destroying local manufacturers except in the case off-the-shelf missiles and thunders. (97 vs 317 billion Rs)

2. Pakistan exports more than twice as much as it imports from USA. Most of the pakistani exports are supporting local small and medium manufacturers in textile, food sector, while the imports are mainly in defense supplies and tech sector which has no bearing in affecting the local manufacturers. (213 vs 93 billion Rs)

Still USA is regarded as Enemy no.1 , displacing India. (Maal be lo, khulke gali be do)

In contrast, it should be economics which should decide which country is a friend or enemy?

AsifAmeer

You know why I have solutions? because I dont have to think too hard who is going to shoot me in the bad or who is going to blow me up. Till I dont get a call from the State Department, I will continue to write. Contacts from the Minnesota Federal Reserve branch about the flaws in my Gold Standard article for Pakistan didnt let me down.

Only if your proposed formula could come into existence and we start exporting our production in a proper manner.

bhaibarood

1, China exports more than 3 times than they import from Pakistan ? Is that the cost of being an all-weather friend? More than that, it is slowly destroying local manufacturers except in the case off-the-shelf missiles and thunders. (97 vs 317 billion Rs)

2. Pakistan exports more than twice as much as it imports from USA. Most of the pakistani exports are supporting local small and medium manufacturers in textile, food sector, while the imports are mainly in defense supplies and tech sector which has no bearing in affecting the local manufacturers. (213 vs 93 billion Rs)

Still USA is regarded as Enemy no.1 , displacing India. (Maal be lo, khulke gali be do)

In contrast, it should be economics which should decide which country is a friend or enemy?
by paki standard we dont do economics by friend or foe,its matter of $$$$ otherwise indian potatoes and onion are much cheaper to buy !!!!:lol: somethings are beyond money my friend!

AsifAmeer

Yaar Afghanistan went bankrupt in 2002. New currency was later introduced at a reverse split of 1000-1. The currency was "AFA" and the USDAFA was 48000 AFA / US $. Technically bankrupt. Then the US stepped in and set up the new banking structure. The Afghan central bank is in HORRIBLE HORRIBLE condition. Let me share a few figures..

afghanstatebank.png

See the "Revaluation Reserve" figures? This is basically the US infusing dollar in the afghan state bank to keep it running along. Acha do you see line 16? Thats all Western pledges and donations!

Now to your question as to why is USDAFN is 48.2 and why is USDPKR 94.4

• Afghan currency was given a clean slate just about 10 years ago.
  • Plus it has the full backing of the US.
  • Plus the size of the Afghan Govt Account deficit is much much much smaller (in nominal terms) than that of the Pakistan Act deficit.

Hope that helped.

Now to [MENTION=12943]crankthskunk[/MENTION] . You never stop puking over at yourself. Do you? How about you answer where you are actually addressed!
http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthre...ths-Buy-Dollar&p=874090&viewfull=1#post874090

@AsifAmeer
Why the value of Afghani currency is double of what Rupee is?
1.00 USD = 48.2200 AFN
US DollarAfghan Afghani
1 USD = 48.2200 AFN1 AFN = 0.0207383 USD

Link: http://www.xe.com/ucc/convert/?Amount=1&From=USD&To=AFN

AsifAmeer

Bro, no... stay away from the banks.

Yaar my understanding is that the huge import from UAE is due to the CRUDE OIL imports. Again, this is my assumption and I cant back my claims with figures.. YET. I'll get back to you on this issue. Lekin I feel pretty sure its crude and not phones because of the size of the trade, plus the inelasticity of trade trend.. Phone is discretionary. Crude Oil isnt... But let me find the figures for you. Will get back to you on this one

ASIF BHAI LIKE ALWAYS BUSTING THE ECONOMY VERY CLEAR!!(clap)(clap)
GOOD WORK !BY THE WAY REASON FOR UAE IMPORTS ARE DUE TO HUGE MOBILE PHONE IMPORTS,WE PAKISTANI BOUGHT MILLION $ MOBILE EACH MONTH AND PAY THOSE IMPORT BILLS BY USD,FURTHER SCREWING THE IMPORT/EXPORT BALANCE
free advice to everyone,liquidate the stocks evry where you live as a further decline is coming and invest in gold or just keep it in bank! stocks are bound to plunge huge

AsifAmeer

I couldnt agree more...

bhaibarood

Bro, no... stay away from the banks.

Yaar my understanding is that the huge import from UAE is due to the CRUDE OIL imports. Again, this is my assumption and I cant back my claims with figures.. YET. I'll get back to you on this issue. Lekin I feel pretty sure its crude and not phones because of the size of the trade, plus the inelasticity of trade trend.. Phone is discretionary. Crude Oil isnt... But let me find the figures for you. Will get back to you on this one[/QUOTE
WELL SIR JEE I THINK OIL TRADING IS DONE THRU SAUDI ARAB AND KUWAIT ,AS KSA GV US OIL FOR DIFFERED PAYMENTS(MONTHS LONG) WHICH NO ONE CAN GV AND ONLY SAUDIS CAN AFFORD!(courtesy my minstry of oil friend)
UAE IS OIL EXPORTER AND SUCH A BIG EXPORTER TO PAK?
PS.well if you find time please calculate the taxes on per liter of petrol being sold in pak ,its more than actual cost!