NEWSNIGHT: Paxman shows Coca Cola boss how much sugar is in a supersize cup Coke

Romeo

Re: NEWSNIGHT: Paxman shows Coca Cola boss how much sugar is in a supersize cup

What if Jeremy finds out that we in Pakistan mix water in the Blood bottles....let alone extra sugar in a coke...even Coke is not the real in Pak anymore...Thanks to the Patwaris 30 odd years government in Punjab

Annie

Honestly!!! 24 sachets of sugar in one big drink. Uff Uff (omg) This is a slow death or may be quick death for some. There is also big thing has been heard about coke that its formula is never been revealed. Is it true???

Rocky Khurasani

Ab samaj aya keh apne Pakistan main itna diabetes kiyon hai, Hamari taraf tou sugar ka patient bhi kehta hai keh nahin yaar sweets (mithai) na do sirf coke he pe lon ga, mujhe "sugar" hai....

Humi

lagta hain coca cola ko sugar muft mein milti hai :P

Humi

Honestly!!! 24 sachets of sugar in one big drink. Uff Uff (omg) This is a slow death or may be quick death for some. There is also big thing has been heard about coke that its formula is never been revealed. Is it true???

but list of ingredients is printed on the bottle so what formula?

Annie

but list of ingredients is printed on the bottle so what formula?
NOt sure, but heard that it has some kind of ingredient to addict people, people drink more and more. Not sure if its true or not.

Humi

NOt sure, but heard that it has some kind of ingredient to addict people, people drink more and more. Not sure if its true or not.

hmm...i suppose that would be the coca extract they use..this extract comes from the same plant from which cocaine is made...coca extract doesnt really make you high like cocaine does but I suppose it has similar addictive qualities...

Annie

hmm...i suppose that would be the coca extract they use..this extract comes from the same plant from which cocaine is made...coca extract doesnt really make you high like cocaine does but I suppose it has similar addictive qualities...
Hey Huma, I just found out that it is true there was a secret formula. There was a myth about keeping its formula secret. That means the myth I heard did exist. They used 9mg cocaine in one glass of cola however it has been removed now but they are still using cocaine free coca leaf.(hmm) It is mysterious as I noticed some people seem addicted to cola. Here I am pasting some information from Coca cola Wikipedia: (which I discovered now)

Secret of Coca-Cola:
The exact formula of Coca-Cola's natural flavorings (but not its other ingredients, which are listed on the side of the bottle or can) is atrade secret. The original copy of the formula was held in SunTrust Bank's main vault in Atlanta for 86 years. Its predecessor, the Trust Company, was the underwriter for the Coca-Cola Company's initial public offering in 1919. On December 8, 2011, the original secret formula was moved from the vault at SunTrust Banks to a new vault containing the formula which will be on display for visitors to its World of Coca-Cola museum in downtown Atlanta.[SUP][49][/SUP]
A popular myth states that only two executives have access to the formula, with each executive having only half the formula.[SUP][50][/SUP] The truth is that while Coca-Cola does have a rule restricting access to only two executives, each knows the entire formula and others, in addition to the prescribed duo, have known the formulation process.[SUP][51][/SUP]
On February 11, 2011, Ira Glass revealed on his PRI radio show, This American Life, that the secret formula to Coca-Cola had been uncovered in a 1979 newspaper. The formula found basically matched the formula found in Pemberton's diary.[SUP][52][/SUP][SUP][53][/SUP][SUP][54][/SUP][SUP][55][/SUP]

Coca – cocaine

Pemberton called for five ounces of coca leaf per gallon of syrup, a significant dose; in 1891, Candler claimed his formula (altered extensively from Pemberton's original) contained only a tenth of this amount. Coca-Cola once contained an estimated nine milligrams of cocaine per glass. In 1903, it was removed.[SUP][58][/SUP]
After 1904, instead of using fresh leaves, Coca-Cola started using "spent" leaves – the leftovers of the cocaine-extraction process with trace levels of cocaine.[SUP][59][/SUP] Coca-Cola now uses a cocaine-free coca leaf extract prepared at aStepan Company plant in Maywood, New Jersey.[SUP][60][/SUP]
In the United States, the Stepan Company is the only manufacturing plant authorized by the Federal Government to import and process the coca plant,[SUP][61][/SUP] which it obtains mainly from Peru and, to a lesser extent, Bolivia. Besides producing the coca flavoring agent for Coca-Cola, the Stepan Company extracts cocaine from the coca leaves, which it sells to Mallinckrodt, a St. Louis, Missouri, pharmaceutical manufacturer that is the only company in the United States licensed to purify cocaine for medicinal use.[SUP][62]

Weblink: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coca-Cola

[/SUP]

Humi

Hey Huma, I just found out that it is true there was a secret formula. There was a myth about keeping its formula secret. That means the myth I heard did exist. They used 9mg cocaine in one glass of cola however it has been removed now but they are still using cocaine free coca leaf.(hmm) It is mysterious as I noticed some people seem addicted to cola. Here I am pasting some information from Coca cola Wikipedia: (which I discovered now)

Secret of Coca-Cola:
The exact formula of Coca-Cola's natural flavorings (but not its other ingredients, which are listed on the side of the bottle or can) is atrade secret. The original copy of the formula was held in SunTrust Bank's main vault in Atlanta for 86 years. Its predecessor, the Trust Company, was the underwriter for the Coca-Cola Company's initial public offering in 1919. On December 8, 2011, the original secret formula was moved from the vault at SunTrust Banks to a new vault containing the formula which will be on display for visitors to its World of Coca-Cola museum in downtown Atlanta.[SUP][49][/SUP]
A popular myth states that only two executives have access to the formula, with each executive having only half the formula.[SUP][50][/SUP] The truth is that while Coca-Cola does have a rule restricting access to only two executives, each knows the entire formula and others, in addition to the prescribed duo, have known the formulation process.[SUP][51][/SUP]
On February 11, 2011, Ira Glass revealed on his PRI radio show, This American Life, that the secret formula to Coca-Cola had been uncovered in a 1979 newspaper. The formula found basically matched the formula found in Pemberton's diary.[SUP][52][/SUP][SUP][53][/SUP][SUP][54][/SUP][SUP][55][/SUP]

Coca – cocaine

Pemberton called for five ounces of coca leaf per gallon of syrup, a significant dose; in 1891, Candler claimed his formula (altered extensively from Pemberton's original) contained only a tenth of this amount. Coca-Cola once contained an estimated nine milligrams of cocaine per glass. In 1903, it was removed.[SUP][58][/SUP]
After 1904, instead of using fresh leaves, Coca-Cola started using "spent" leaves – the leftovers of the cocaine-extraction process with trace levels of cocaine.[SUP][59][/SUP] Coca-Cola now uses a cocaine-free coca leaf extract prepared at aStepan Company plant in Maywood, New Jersey.[SUP][60][/SUP]
In the United States, the Stepan Company is the only manufacturing plant authorized by the Federal Government to import and process the coca plant,[SUP][61][/SUP] which it obtains mainly from Peru and, to a lesser extent, Bolivia. Besides producing the coca flavoring agent for Coca-Cola, the Stepan Company extracts cocaine from the coca leaves, which it sells to Mallinckrodt, a St. Louis, Missouri, pharmaceutical manufacturer that is the only company in the United States licensed to purify cocaine for medicinal use.[SUP][62]

Weblink: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coca-Cola

[/SUP]

Oh yeah I have seen people addicted to coke...I bet its not as much fun as being addicted to chocolate though...(bigsmile)

naqshbandi

Sugar gives you a bit of a 'kick'....... Energy drinks have large quantities of sugar too.