News Beat 13th April 2012 - Imran Khan

Dewan

Re: News Beat 13th April 2012 - Imran Khan Special Interview

who is pakistani personalty ,which is the most papullar ,sucsussfull , trustable and brave in the world for last 4 decade ? (clap)

mohibbewatan

One thing i can't understand is why do these hosts ask same questions over and over again? (I am sure they watch other talk shows and know Imran's stance on it)

Corruption 90 din main kaisay khatam hogi?
Tsunami ruk kyun gayi hai?
Party main larayi tou nahi chal rahi?
Pasha k janay k baad kya hoga?
Party main kyun baray naam nahi hain??
Jab naye aa gaye tou poochtay hain Wohi puranay chehray kyun aa rahay hain?

Some of these questions may not have been asked in this program but they are usually asked multiple times in dozens of programs.
Come up with something better and challenging for God's sake.

Zoaib

check and balance awaam hoti hai :S:S:S:S again over simplistic imran khan adressing his immature jumping youth....

If you don't understand something, don't blame it on Imran. :)

Zoaib

yes its a simplistic answer in itself, but the governing bodies keep checks and balances,
I have thought about this too, that how come no saperate institute for checks and balances for them but even in UK i don't see any, do you????
I think people will have to get involved in first place, than govt who is giving money and then Nab, and ofcourse opposiition is always there to keep check.
By the way what system did musharraf had to keep checks on Nazims apparently that was a flop too!

IK was simply saying that de-centralization in itself puts limits on corruption. You concentrate all funds in one person's hands, he can eat about 50% of it (which will be HUGE at that level). If you give that same amount of money to 50 people at a lower level there will be less chances of leakage (less chances of ALL of those 50 being corrupt and even if some of them do try, it will be of lesser magnitude). Plus, the people will keep a check on the funds. E.g. if a village council gets funds, the people in the village have access to them readily (Village Council head will be in the same village) and can ensure accountability of the funds as it also affects them directly in their areas.

So this is an inherent benefit in de-centralization. But even then, the proposed PTI plan adds in regular funds audit and Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) to ensure that funds get utilized for the right purposes and there is transparency. And in addition to that, the courts and NAB are always available to anyone who wants to hold any village council accountable.

judiciary in UK keeps checks and balances... institutions like financial obdusman, ofcom, employment tribunal etc and then when they cant resolve comes judicary.. imrans original naara of equal insaaf is the check and balance.. but his naara linkng it with IFFIs restoration was a false one.. judiciary needs a shakeup in pakistan.. iffis restoration is only symbolic..
yes its a simplistic answer in itself, but the governing bodies keep checks and balances,
I have thought about this too, that how come no saperate institute for checks and balances for them but even in UK i don't see any, do you????
I think people will have to get involved in first place, than govt who is giving money and then Nab, and ofcourse opposiition is always there to keep check.
By the way what system did musharraf had to keep checks on Nazims apparently that was a flop too!

decetralization is the answer..... but this rhetoric to eradicate corruption is stupid and over simplistic... yahan per 100 loag ko paise do to 110 loag corruption kaeringey....
IK was simply saying that de-centralization in itself puts limits on corruption. You concentrate all funds in one person's hands, he can eat about 50% of it (which will be HUGE at that level). If you give that same amount of money to 50 people at a lower level there will be less chances of leakage (less chances of ALL of those 50 being corrupt and even if some of them do try, it will be of lesser magnitude). Plus, the people will keep a check on the funds. E.g. if a village council gets funds, the people in the village have access to them readily (Village Council head will be in the same village) and can ensure accountability of the funds as it also affects them directly in their areas.

So this is an inherent benefit in de-centralization. But even then, the proposed PTI plan adds in regular funds audit and Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) to ensure that funds get utilized for the right purposes and there is transparency. And in addition to that, the courts and NAB are always available to anyone who wants to hold any village council accountable.

Zoaib

decetralization is the answer..... but this rhetoric to eradicate corruption is stupid and over simplistic... yahan per 100 loag ko paise do to 110 loag corruption kaeringey....

This is not rhetoric. Doesn't it make sense to you that if you provide funds to the lowest level, the people of that area will themselves ensure that there is transparency in funds utilization (to a certain extent)? IK cites an example where in Mianwali (while he was MNA during Musharraf's time) he himself noticed how the people of a UC would go personally to their councillor (whenever there was word that he has received funds for the area) and ask him of everything about the funds utilization etc. and this acted as a pressure on the councillor to spend it wisely (and transparently).

But of course, there will be other ways to check corruption in village councils as well and you can refer to the PTI plan available on the net. They include SOPs to guide the village councils on how to use funds in a transparent way along with regular third party audits of village funds.

InsafianPTI

Its not his stupidity but other people's who expect him to eradicate corruption over night from the whole nation, even you mahaan Musharraf can't do that, even with the help of the whole worl.
Yes decentralisation is the answer (which failed in Musharraf's case because he tried to do it by strengthening the status quo, i think he has learned his lesson now).
All the other institutes need to come on later stage, for now he needs to bring in the new system, People will eventually have to bring that in.

judiciary in UK keeps checks and balances... institutions like financial obdusman, ofcom, employment tribunal etc and then when they cant resolve comes judicary.. imrans original naara of equal insaaf is the check and balance.. but his naara linkng it with IFFIs restoration was a false one.. judiciary needs a shakeup in pakistan.. iffis restoration is only symbolic..

InsafianPTI

Thanks and you have just given us more informtion here, IK should have mentioned this when she was asking.
Yes i agree more than other institutes people themselves would be the check, e.g. if a school is getting funds and parents of children are governors, they will ensure that their kids are getting the best education possible from the given funds,
I mean why would people not want that for their kids.

Its highly unlikely that these people will accumulate these funds in swiss banks ;),

It is very obious that there won't be many chances of corruption, lowest the level of distribution of funds and more people involved the better it is.
Totally agree, I hope our people agree this, forget about common people even nthese bloody highly educated media people e.g Kashif abbasi couldn't get this idea.

Why our people are so dumb.

i agree to his views on decentralizatrion.. but when he says things like AWAAAAM check and balance rakheygi in response to how wud u tackle corruption.. then it makes me laugh....
Its not his stupidity but other people's who expect him to eradicate corruption over night from the whole nation, even you mahaan Musharraf can't do that, even with the help of the whole worl.
Yes decentralisation is the answer (which failed in Musharraf's case because he tried to do it by strengthening the status quo, i think he has learned his lesson now).
All the other institutes need to come on later stage, for now he needs to bring in the new system, People will eventually have to bring that in.

dil ke khush rukhney ko imi ke supportrs.. ye khayal acha hia.....

keep living in yr self rightoes thinking and follow yr godly man whose every word is divine to u guys...

IT DOESNT MAKE ANY SENSE THAT PPL MAKE CHECK AND BALANCE...

judiciary and otehr watchdogs make check and balance.. NOT THE PEOPLE
This is not rhetoric. Doesn't it make sense to you that if you provide funds to the lowest level, the people of that area will themselves ensure that there is transparency in funds utilization (to a certain extent)? IK cites an example where in Mianwali (while he was MNA during Musharraf's time) he himself noticed how the people of a UC would go personally to their councillor (whenever there was word that he has received funds for the area) and ask him of everything about the funds utilization etc. and this acted as a pressure on the councillor to spend it wisely (and transparently).

But of course, there will be other ways to check corruption in village councils as well and you can refer to the PTI plan available on the net. They include SOPs to guide the village councils on how to use funds in a transparent way along with regular third party audits of village funds.

Zoaib

Thanks and you have just given us more informtion here, IK should have mentioned this when she was asking.
Yes i agree more than other institutes people themselves would be the check, e.g. if a school is getting funds and parents of children are governors, they will ensure that their kids are getting the best education possible from the given funds,
I mean why would people not want that for their kids.

Its highly unlikely that these people will accumulate these funds in swiss banks ;),

It is very obious that there won't be many chances of corruption, lowest the level of distribution of funds and more people involved the better it is.
Totally agree, I hope our people agree this, forget about common people even nthese bloody highly educated media people e.g Kashif abbasi couldn't get this idea.

Why our people are so dumb.

I think more awareness is needed about this in common people as our major parties (except PTI and MQM) don't really give any importance to how local government systems are so important to good governance and to the common man's life (for obvious reasons) and so we don't really see any debate on this in the media. It's mostly high profile political stuff which doesn't really have any immediate effect on the common man. But I hope this changes...and I think PTI will focus on this in the elections (especially in rural areas).

imyrathore

By looking at these anchors it seems to me that anybody can become an anchor in Pakistan, and what suprises me the most is that this woman keeps telling people that she graduated from Middlesex university in London and yet she has got no sense of what sort of questions she needs to ask, she has absoloutly no information whatsoever about the things she want to ask about and has no knowledge of the outside world. Imran Khan is modelling his village councils on the UK local body system, where each council looks after education, policing, health and infrastructure development. And this will be the best system ever, because I know the benefits of it.

So Imran Khan has brought the following three revolutions in Pakistan;

Assets declaration
Party membership campaign
In party elections
local government system.

Imran Khan you are great and we pray for your success.
Mate u just summed up things for me. I have been working as a local govt officer for the last 14 years so have a good idea on how the system works. If it is implemented properly and we get sincere and dedicated officers managing the system it could have a massive impact on the wellbeing of the masses.

Zoaib

keep living in yr self rightoes thinking and follow yr godly man whose every word is divine to u guys...

I'm talking all logic but you seem not to understand. I said corruption will lessen and transparency increase if you empower people at the lowest level and provide funds directly to the institutions there. Who said that you don't need third party and other "watchdogs" to check on corruption, they will still be there and will be available to everyone and nobody's saying you don't strengthen that. In fact, you'll see all of that when PTI unveils their reforms in the judicial process. But as a principle, decentralization makes it easier for the local residents to ensure transparency and accountability in the utilization of funds as they have easy access and can put pressure at the local level (because they also have stakes in the utilization of funds for their areas).

I hope you understand this simple concept as I really don't know what to say. :)

Zoaib

Maybe this will help you understand what I am trying to say.

http://www.yespakistan.com/articles/howpeopledealwithcorruption.asp

InsafianPTI

yes he gave a very simplest answer, and i had been thinking about it too since this issue had been discussed in media.
So I could think of few things:
first, to an extant his answer is right, on lower leverl, councils etc where local people will get involved there is no chance of this scale of corruption what we see today.

secondly for this plan party has done survay and research etc to estimate cost etc, which is already very high, i don't think they want to scare people with building more institutes on the very beginning (although police and judiciary is part of the plan, but on later stage this should be done and it will be inevitable), another problem is if all these people on local level would be new in thisn 'business' they will need guidance on how to and wherer to spend money (their training etc, and again this will take time and there needs to be a system for this too, now media hasn't picked it up I have just thought of it). We need to work all these things out, I think once the system starts these things including accountability will become the requirement anyway sooner or later. By the way what accountability institutes did Musharraf built(or he plans to built in case he gets any sort of power, i don't think anyone knows about any of his plans)??? I know the Raja guy (whose family thinks they are super family in our area) sent his women around to ask for vote but then we never saw any of them after he became Nazim (and that was Musharraf's time) ;).
The third problem why he didn't go in much detail is that he is trying to convince Qabaili and conservative people that this system is same as their Jirga system, I think this way it will be easily emposed on all over the pakistan including Fata etc. I don't think they will like it if he imposes and accountability bureau on them, I think in this case its clever of him not to start this at this stage to make it equally popular every where.

and the last bthing, pti has said this wasn't the final version of it anyway, press conference was meant to start a debate on it.

i agree to his views on decentralizatrion.. but when he says things like AWAAAAM check and balance rakheygi in response to how wud u tackle corruption.. then it makes me laugh....