Lekin - 10th June 2012 - Hamid Mir, Najam Sethi, Iftikhar Ahmed, Saleem Safi & Muhammad Malick - Me

LivePakistan

Media is playing a role villain for Pakistan. This is media is not well-wisher of Pakistan at all. It is slowly poisoning Pakistan and Islamic roots and hell bent to destroy our Army and discrediting ISI.
This media wants to show chaos, lawlessness, sectarian issue and linguistic divide. This media has been launched to damage Pakistan and majority of anchors are paid workers from other side of border. Patriotic Pakistanis must boycott this disillusioned media which is Pakistani by name but working for someone. This media is like other sales product without any cause and objectives.

This media is money mongering only. You pay this media; it will dance for you as Malik Riaz showed us. The whole media for sale with few exceptions.

Danishkhan

Re: Lekin - 10th June 2012 - Hamid Mir, Najam Sethi, Iftekhar, Saleem Safi & Muhammad Malick - Media Role

[MENTION=26377]sobiya[/MENTION] I doubt on your gender seriously.

Muskerahat

SANA bucha jaisay anchor. she is not neutral. she from PML N and againts Just pti. Kamran khan graet mr Hamid mir also OK. Najim seethi not turst worthy. Iftikhar belong to PPPP and he hate pti. Saleem Safi Sahib honest man
but I would like say to Imran khan a true leader

QaiserMirza

thumb-1338987756sana1.jpg

166193_159542344093157_121101724603886_285151_8355386_n.jpg

sana2.jpg

AsifAmeer

I havent watched the show lekin I still hold the view that public doesnt have the right to ask the journalists to make public their assets. Whatever they make is b/w them and their media company. Haan agar hanky panky maamla ho raha hai to Department of Justice should subpoena the journalists and investigate them.

Innocent till proven guilty.

[MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION]

@mrk123 (@AsifAmeer):

Have you seen this show? You might note how all the anchors and journalists are agreeing on disclosing their assets and sources of income. This was something we were discussing on another thread and you were vehemently arguing against someone (can't recall whom exactly) - althought it was not the main point of discussion.

mrk123

@Aleph, sorry buddy I missed your post.

I second what Asif said below. One of the reasons that we are in this mess is that we always try to treat the symptoms and not the root cause.

I still believe that a private citizen's financial records are private unless a charge of impropriety is there and in that case we HAVE to follow due course of law instead of asking people to make their finances public unless of course they are public officials and people's money is involved.

I havent watched the show lekin I still hold the view that public doesnt have the right to ask the journalists to make public their assets. Whatever they make is b/w them and their media company. Haan agar hanky panky maamla ho raha hai to Department of Justice should subpoena the journalists and investigate them.

Innocent till proven guilty.

@mrk123

AsifAmeer

Human mind has a common tendency to mess 3 things up.
  • assuming symptop as the root cause
  • mixing up correlation with causation
  • estimating exponential relations

[MENTION=28031]Aleph[/MENTION]
[MENTION=23319]Temojin[/MENTION]

I second what Asif said below. One of the reasons that we are in this mess is that we always try to treat the symptoms and not the root cause.

I still believe that a private citizen's financial records are also private unless a charge of impropriety is there and then we HAVE to follow due course of law instead of asking people to make their finances public unless of course they are public officials and people's money is involved.

Temojin

Human mind has a common tendency to mess 3 things up.
  • assuming symptop as the root cause
  • mixing up correlation with causation
  • estimating exponential relations

@Aleph
@Temojin

Asif sahab kuch din thehr jao bass.

You see at the very beginning of this thread, the kind of language used by a seemingly female members and then the members who have commended her by thanking/liking as well as quoting her and telling that her comment was manly (the definition of manly from now onward is vulgar, abusive and foul-mouthed), you can easily identify what kind of discussion is actually encouraged and liked at this forum. I deem it time-wasting now a days to discuss issues in detail unless I am really bored and want to write about it on a forum. If you have a look at this forum when we joined and till now, you'll see a majority comes here to actually get its frustration out and show their hero-worship. If you monitor how people have been commenting on various forums, they show the exact pattern through which people are steered towards a particular thought process which then makes a pathway for general perception. The very example of them liking a dirty comment by a "girl" must indicate the extent to which many blokes are frustrated. This has become a place for mental mast..bation if you know what I mean.

[MENTION=28031]Aleph[/MENTION] [MENTION=24375]AsifAmeer[/MENTION] [MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION] [MENTION=12754]cefspan[/MENTION] and some others like you are sooner or later either going to quit this forum, start reciprocating in the same manner or not reply people generally while only giving their opinion once and then keeping quiet upon replies :)

For others who might read and want to kill me with internet superguns, mates, I have access to Hamid, Najam, Sana and Iftikhar (nahi inke number bilkul nahi doonga so don't PM as some who had a very good conversation while others got numbers just to abuse) and things aren't generally as they are told on tv or the internet so wait and watch till your analyses go down but you sit on the podiums thinking that it were you who didn't flinch from Haqq.

cefspan

You see at the very beginning of this thread, the kind of language used by a seemingly female members and then the members who have commended her by thanking/liking as well as quoting her and telling that her comment was manly (the definition of manly from now onward is vulgar, abusive and foul-mouthed), you can easily identify what kind of discussion is actually encouraged and liked at this forum. I deem it time-wasting now a days to discuss issues in detail unless I am really bored and want to write about it on a forum. If you have a look at this forum when we joined and till now, you'll see a majority comes here to actually get its frustration out and show their hero-worship. If you monitor how people have been commenting on various forums, they show the exact pattern through which people are steered towards a particular thought process which then makes a pathway for general perception. The very example of them liking a dirty comment by a "girl" must indicate the extent to which many blokes are frustrated. This has become a place for mental mast..bation if you know what I mean.

@Aleph @AsifAmeer @mrk123 @cefspan and some others like you are sooner or later either going to quit this forum, start reciprocating in the same manner or not reply people generally while only giving their opinion once and then keeping quiet upon replies :)

For others who might read and want to kill me with internet superguns, mates, I have access to Hamid, Najam, Sana and Iftikhar (nahi inke number bilkul nahi doonga so don't PM as some who had a very good conversation while others got numbers just to abuse) and things aren't generally as they are told on tv or the internet so wait and watch till your analyses go down but you sit on the podiums thinking that it were you who didn't flinch from Haqq.
u are right and it happens , unfortunately.
http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?57607-I-am-fed-up-now

AsifAmeer

[MENTION=10205]Waseem[/MENTION] [MENTION=4936]Adeel[/MENTION]

Guys, your forum is great for exchanging great ideas. I have learnt alot of stuff which I wouldnt have bothered or cared to know otherwise. Lekin Temojin is absolutely right about consistent inferior quality of comments from a specific growing numbers of users. I am not sure what you Admins can do about it. But it would be nice to have something like where there would be some sort of a warning system for flagged users by senior members/admins.

Something to the lines of Wikipedia/Crowdsource-filtered content on the site.

[MENTION=23319]Temojin[/MENTION] agar Nazia hassan ka number ho to baat kero!

@Aleph @AsifAmeer @mrk123 @cefspan and some others like you are sooner or later either going to quit this forum, start reciprocating in the same manner or not reply people generally while only giving their opinion once and then keeping quiet upon replies :)

InsafianPTI

In this particular issue I agree with you, the very first post in this thread, I read it too, but you believe it or not I had not really understood it, and that 'thank' click by me was by mistake, there was no way for me to undo it.
It was a shameful post and should be deleted.
I also think like [MENTION=20055]Danishkhan[/MENTION] above that this can't be by a woman, very unlikely.

AsifAmeer

i take complete responsibility for these blunt remarks against the human race

However 1/3 of it was borrowed from [MENTION=14890]mrk123[/MENTION] 's previous comment

Great Quote! Where did you get this from? A source would help and never have such truer words been spoken!

Aleph

No worries. The point I was coming at was that the person you were arguing against may have been suggesting something that although sounds wrong from a libertarian perspective, but it is actually finding practical feasibility in circles that matter.

So while the person (whose name I can't recall) was perhaps wrong in suggesting that he felt that he had a right to demand journalists to disclose their wealth and sources of income, I was appealing to you and others to ignore the fact that he was missing the point that you were making, but rather appreciate that journalists themselves are looking to disclose their assets and sources of income. What I was trying to suggest was that the journalist community is increasingly coming to a consensus on this matter and although no individual would have the right to demand such a thing, but it hardly matters if you are either a libertarian or conservative in this debate. So in terms of boolean algebra it would be like this:

Libertarian (A) believes that no individual has the right to demand journalists (Y) to disclose their assets.
Conservative (B) believes that individual has the right to demand journalists (Y) to disclose their assets.
However, Journalists (Y) themselves are increasingly agreeing amongst themselves to disclose their assets.

So it doesn't matter what A and B think because the decision has to be made by Y!

On another note, I was hearing someone who was making a very compelling case as to why TV anchors ought to disclose their assets and that they should not be treated as private citizens. They argue that: (i) Media is increasingly becoming a 4th pillar of governance (Judiciary, Legislature and Executive being the other 3) ; (ii) Any person/organization who is playing the role of opinion-maker and influencing a society or community needs to come clean on their source of funding and ideology.

While the above points can be debated till the cows come home, I feel that there is some substance to the above arguments. This is perhaps why conspiracy theories are becoming such a farce in western societies to the extent that now we have organized groups being led by such opinion-makers that are now becoming a threat to society at large. For instance, the anti-vaccination groups in the West is a serious challenge to governments of the West (episodes like UBL and Shakil Afridi dont help the cause though).

In a more local context, people like Zaid Hamid are operating because of the freedom that they are allowed to spew all kinds of nonsensical rhetoric without being answerable to anyone. Zaid Hamid was just that big an idiot that he was involved in the Yusuf Kadhdhab issue and got exposed by the Anjuman-e-Khatm-e-Nubuwwat folks. Otherwise this guy was just having a field day with his nonsense!

Tags: [MENTION=24375]AsifAmeer[/MENTION], [MENTION=23319]Temojin[/MENTION]

I still believe that a private citizen's financial records are also private unless a charge of impropriety is there and then we HAVE to follow due course of law instead of asking people to make their finances public unless of course they are public officials and people's money is involved.

mrk123

Seems that you guys are clairvoyants. I am seriously contemplating cutting down or completely giving up on forum participation.

I guess we are humans and no matter how hard we try we tend to get pulled into responding to childish, pointless and personal discussions.

I know the feeling and echo what Asif, Temojin and Cefspan mentioned below. I must say that as Asif mentioned below, I have also learned a lot on this forum from friends and would probably be a silent observer to keep enriching myself. Its just hard to deal with the noise on here now.

@Tutor @Aleph

@Waseem @Adeel

Guys, your forum is great for exchanging great ideas. I have learnt alot of stuff which I wouldnt have bothered or cared to know otherwise. Lekin Temojin is absolutely right about consistent inferior quality of comments from a specific growing numbers of users. I am not sure what you Admins can do about it. But it would be nice to have something like where there would be some sort of a warning system for flagged users by senior members/admins.

Something to the lines of Wikipedia/Crowdsource-filtered content on the site.

@Temojin agar Nazia hassan ka number ho to baat kero!