Key excerpts from (Shri)Jaswant Singh's book

sher_khan

contra said:
1. I believe that the country was divided because of the Two Nation Theory and Mr. Jinnah was the man responsible for partition.
Please listen to Singhs interview that I have already posted. He believes that Jinnah was against the politics of religion for the longest time. It is only when he was treated as a muslim instead of an Indian when he realized that he and his community will always been seen as a non-hindu minority.

2. Lets be very clear it was Jinnah who was asking for separate electorates for Hindus and Muslims, and when this was rejected by the Congress, thats when he really called for a separate state, Pakistan. .
See my comments above for the reasons.
3. I think what Mr. Jinnah wanted was a loose federation of Muslim majority and Hindu majority states.
He wanted only three subject to remain with the central government - Defence, Foreign Affairs & Communications. Could such a loose union have survived or existed for long?
The situation in the subcontinent was not comparable to any other model in the world. Unique situations require unique resolutions. There is a lot of autonomy of States US.
4. This is my personal opinion---
Mr. Jinnah was not a good administrator and was not visionary.
Just take an example - To annexe Kashmir in 1948, he made a deal with the Waziri and other tribes, promising them that the British Law in force at that time would continue and that they could have their autonomy, that the Pakistani governments writ in those region would be limited.
We all can see now what that has resulted in...
And as for the Tribals who attacked kashmir, they carried out mass looting, murder and rapes. .
This is not your opinion. It is more of a fairy tale. Function of Indian propaganda and schooling that demonizes Jinnah.

5. On the other hand Sardar Patel wanted a strong and unified India, he wanted the writ of the government of India to run on each and every part of India.
And we in India are benefiting from his far sightedness and boldness. .
Mr. Patel was an opportunist. That is why he and Nehru had conflicts at the end. He did not care about unified India. He wanted India with the Hindu dominance where Muslims cant have enough of the say or impact on any policies. He even held on Pakistans share of the Sub-continents treasure that the British left after the partition. He claimed that the Jihadis in Pakistan will use the funds (you see labeling Pakistan as a terrorist country is not a new propaganda) . A notion that was not backed by Gandhi.
If having a perpetual caste system, having two major political parties involved in communal massacres (Congress-Sikhs, BJP-Mulims), having more than 41% of the people below the international poverty line and manufacturing goods and providing services, which can only be used by foreign clients and not the Indians (because they cant afford it) is a measure of success than you are definitely benefiting from patels far sightedness.
6. Jaswant Singhji is giving his opinion about Mr. Jinnah. Which he is entitled to.
Dismissal from the party is their internal issue, but i don't think that was the right thing to do. .
I feel sorry for Singh. Among the two countries of Pakistan and India, he was the only one who had the guts to stand up and tell us the actual truth about the partition. Dont forget that his book also goes into deep criticism of Jinnah. The book cant really be categorized as a praising picture of Jinnah. Singh simply surfaced the fact that the Indian marketed demonization of Jinnah is not fair.
For a Pakistani, like myself, Singh helped me understand the thinking process of Nehru. What Nehru thought was right after his 1920s visits of social Europe. Nehru did what he thought was best for the sub-continent. He was not necessarily against any community. Singh also informed me that Nehru later on realized that he made a mistake. This way Singh made Nehru a human out of a demon for Pakistanis. We all try our best but make mistakes. You see, Singh is way ahead of his time. Sooner or later, the people of the sub-continent will learn that the mistakes were made by both the sides.
Unfortunately, instead of standing up for Jaswant Singh, Indians are persecuting him. His book has been banned in Gujrat. Soon or later, he will be called a traitor. If a book had been banned by a muslim government for some anti-islamic writing, you would have been rolling your eyes and would have been posting more material on this forum regarding the suppression of the freedom of speech in muslim countries. All you have to say to help Mr. Singh is, you dont agree with what is being done with him.
9. Your Army is about to enter Waziristan, and will without a doubt suffer heavy casualty. Who do you blame for this? America? Your present government? or Your Founder? .
For the same reason you blame Pakistan when a fly falls on the floor in India.
10. The facts are for everyone to see, but they are analysed differently by all and there are different opinions. .
I agree.
11. Jaswant Singhji is giving his opinion based on those facts. If the opinion happens to be similar to those of Pakistani scholars, it doesn't mean that the Pakistani's are right.
Please remember this. .
Doesnt mean that Indians are not wrong either.
12. Also, why don't you have separate electorates for Shia's? You know Semi Nation among muslims...
Separate electorates for Sunnis and Shias....????
Because we have more in common with each other than we have with Hindus. Our differences are not significant. We eat and drink the same. We dont subscribe to drinking cow urine. We dont practice the caste system vigorously.

I dont know when the Indians will reconcile to the fact that the sub-continent has gone through a divorce. Blaming Jinnah is like blaming the in-laws for the separation.

Bret Hawk

Na Tu Zameen Ke Liye Hai Na Aasmaan kay Liye
Jahan hai Tere Liye Tu Nahi Jahan ke Liye..

Above mentioned poetic lines are from none other than the great intellectual and social reformer of last century Dr Muhammad Iqbal and needless to express further emphasis on the subject matter and theme of those lines. When I see a typical Indian (Whatever his affiliations are with religion, creed or atheistic ideology) responding to the demerits of the creation of Pakistan on any forum I dont mind much of his / her rhetoric as its understandable to me the innate hatred and wrath that type of person have for multiple of reasons. But one thing which boils my veins is that when the so called Muslim Indians join the bandwagon of cursing or blaming Pakistan for all the ills of this world and hence criticising the very concept of the creation.

For that genre of Indian Muslims all I have to say this age old point that when you surrender your will to Allah Subhaana Wataalah and testify His greatness and immortality than you have to think above the lines of nationalism, creed, sects and other associations. Muslims have to think about the consummate religious community the Ummah first then any other affiliations and tags they can free to choose. There are countless accounts in the golden era of Muslim societies which relates to their history, social epoch and dogmatic ideologies which vividly negates this myopic concept of revering land or nationalism and creed at the expense of Muslim Ummah.

But alas maybe the inborn germs of defection, hypocrisy and nihilism is too much for common people to negate these superficial concepts and may be they found that idea of unification on the basis of faith and religious ideology too much idealistic and unreal. Maybe thats what matters to them after all, all of these babblings of so called sages, scholars and Prophet PBUH and the teachings of Holy Quran (Nauzubillah) have little worth and credence and what the modern world decides in this new world order setup backed by some of the most fascinating mind control techniques matters the most. After all this fad to associate with some land and race has its connotations with the Darwinian concepts of best suited creatures thrived to sustained themselves on the behest of their weak counterparts apparently seems to be more attractive and malleable for these so called nationalist minded hypocrites who tends to forget one of the most strong lines of Holy Quran that When you enter in the realm of Islam then enter in entirety or just remain outside of that realm. Theres no in between state in that state of affairs of Allah, He likes to offer package deals to mankind with this condition either to accept it or leave it for good. That kind of choice these hypocrites cant make it in their entire life and engage in this age old futile struggle to appease the Satan and Allah at same time. Afreen on these type of deplorable scum of this world.

Bret Hawk

Pakistan would not came in existence

If Indian National Congress has one Muhammad Ali Jinnah and Muslim League has one hundred Ghandi, Pakistan would not came in existence

contra

sher khan bhai,
sher_khan said:
Please listen to Singhs interview that I have already posted. He believes that Jinnah was against the politics of religion for the longest time. It is only when he was treated as a muslim instead of an Indian when he realized that he and his community will always been seen as a non-hindu minority.

1. Jaswant Singhji is entitled to his "opinion". I don't agree with your statement that he was treated as a "muslim" by the Congress party.
Mr. Jinnah was in favour of a legislative struggle against the British, whereas, Mahatma Gandhi wanted a peoples struggle, and wanted to use civil disobedience and non cooperation as the main weapon.
This is a major reason for Mr. Jinnah parting ways with the Congress. Mr. Jinnah thought that civil disobedience will not work.

[Tell me one thing, is there reservation for minorities in government jobs in Pakistan? Especially for the Ahmadi's? I accept that you have separate electorates for them(non Ahmadi's), but then again with negligible numbers what difference can they make?]

2. Once you have separate electorates, and there are separate Hindu majority and Muslim majority states, then they are de facto different countries, and could declare independence any time.

The situation in the subcontinent was not comparable to any other model in the world. Unique situations require unique resolutions. There is a lot of autonomy of States US.

3. Not of the kind that Mr. Jinnah was asking. You can say it was comparable to the European Union.

This is not your opinion. It is more of a fairy tale. Function of Indian propaganda and schooling that demonizes Jinnah.
4. This is my opinion, and in school Mr. Jinnah is not demonised. By the way, in your school books Hindus and Jews are demonised...and I am sure you are aware of this.

Mr. Patel was an opportunist. That is why he and Nehru had conflicts at the end. He did not care about unified India. He wanted India with the Hindu dominance where Muslims cant have enough of the say or impact on any policies. He even held on Pakistans share of the Sub-continents treasure that the British left after the partition. He claimed that the Jihadis in Pakistan will use the funds (you see labeling Pakistan as a terrorist country is not a new propaganda) . A notion that was not backed by Gandhi.
If having a perpetual caste system, having two major political parties involved in communal massacres (Congress-Sikhs, BJP-Mulims), having more than 41% of the people below the international poverty line and manufacturing goods and providing services, which can only be used by foreign clients and not the Indians (because they cant afford it) is a measure of success than you are definitely benefiting from patels far sightedness.
5. An opportunist? He never became the Prime Minister, the differences with Nehru were over the internal structure of Indian polity. How various states(Kingdoms) were to be assimilated in India. I think the Nawab of Hyderabad wanted to go with Pakistan, it was Sardar Patel who stopped this, otherwise we would have had many mini Pakistans in India today.

a) If you read about Lashkar e Toiba, they clearly state their aim is to "liberate" Kashmir, Junagarh and Hyderabad among others.

b) As i had written earlier, your founder was entering into deals with the Tribesmen to help liberate Kashmir, though I am not aware of this issue of withholding of funds, so don't want to comment on it.

c) Friend in a democracy people with different religions etc. are equal, their right of vote makes them equal, for you to say that muslims would be under Hindu domination is outright false.
Parties need a majority to govern. And they need support from all quarters. So different communities get together and negotiate...

Because we have more in common with each other than we have with Hindus. Our differences are not significant. We eat and drink the same. We dont subscribe to drinking cow urine. We dont practice the caste system vigorously.

I dont know when the Indians will reconcile to the fact that the sub-continent has gone through a divorce. Blaming Jinnah is like blaming the in-laws for the separation.

6. Yeah right, heard of the "Genocide in Kurram"?
Friend, if today it is Hindus, then tomorrow it will be Shia's.

butshikan

Re: Pakistan would not came in existence

contra said:
Bla bla bla .........Mr.Jinnah was wrong ...........Bla bla bla .........Father of Pakistan was wrong ...........Bla bla bla .........Mr. Jinnah was wrong ...........Bla bla bla .........Father of Pakistan ...........bla bla bla ..........sardar patel is wrong
Hmmm........
Rx
Take a good night sleep....
It only because of extra stress ..........

Therapy:
Repeat 100 times daily "Jaswant Singh is a Pakistani/ISI agent"

Precaution:
Keep away from neutral historians, it will make these symptoms more severe

Alergies:
Take extra care to remain away from any positivity by/to/of Pakistan and Pakistani people by any one
:ugeek:

sher_khan

@Contra:

1. Jaswant Singhji is entitled to his "opinion". I don't agree with your statement that he was treated as a "muslim" by the Congress party.
Mr. Jinnah was in favour of a legislative struggle against the British, whereas, Mahatma Gandhi wanted a peoples struggle, and wanted to use civil disobedience and non cooperation as the main weapon.
This is a major reason for Mr. Jinnah parting ways with the Congress. Mr. Jinnah thought that civil disobedience will not work.

[Tell me one thing, is there reservation for minorities in government jobs in Pakistan? Especially for the Ahmadi's? I accept that you have separate electorates for them(non Ahmadi's), but then again with negligible numbers what difference can they make?]

Well, it is your prerogative, whether you want to learn the truth from Mr. Singhs five years of research or continue to stick with the notions that have been fed to you since your childhood. As I have already mentioned to you Mr. Singh has made Nehru a man out of demon for at least one Pakistani. I agree that Jinnah did not agree with Gandhi on civil disobedience. Personally, I think that Gandhis civil obedience is over rated. British did not leave the subcontinent because of Gandhis civil disobedience. A lot of countries became independent in the 1940s. It was the time the British were put on pressure by US to leave their colonies. Believe it. The sub-continent would have become independent with or without Gandhis disobedience. Also, not everything Gandhi said was followed upon by Indians themselves. The examples will be Gandhis recommendations for making Jinnah the prime minster, division and distribution of treasury at the time of the partition etc.
Nehru and Patel just marketed Gandhi to gain support for themselves. Didnt follow his notions.

There are reserved seats for the minorities in Pakistans legislative assemblies and senate. There is even a ministry of minorities. I dont know about the private sector.

Comparing Ahmedis with muslims position in India at the time of partition, is like comparing apples with oranges. Ahmedis never ruled over the rest of the muslims for centuries. No muslim ideology (like Hinduvta of Indian Hindus) is seeking revenge from the Ahmedis. BTW, do you know that Musharafs wife is Ahmedi?
Also, I live in Canada. There is no quota for the minority for any jobs. But I see minorities everywhere.

2. Once you have separate electorates, and there are separate Hindu majority and Muslim majority states, then they are de facto different countries, and could declare independence any time.

Actually in Jinnahs model, the sates cant declare independence because security will be controlled by the federal government. No country can last without the assurance of security.
In any event Nehrus and Patels notion of India is not working either. Are not there like 30 independence related movements in India, currently? I know one such movement was eliminated by butchering a community; Khalistan.

3. Not of the kind that Mr. Jinnah was asking. You can say it was comparable to the European Union.

European Union Actually your opinion is totally wrong. European union is going more and more towards Jinnahs model. Note, the Europeans also realized that they are different cultures/nations. That is why they have so many countries in Europe.

4. This is my opinion, and in school Mr. Jinnah is not demonised. By the way, in your school books Hindus and Jews are demonised...and I am sure you are aware of this.

Demonization of Hindus and jews in schools of Pakistan This is an absolute lie. I have been schooled in Pakistan. I have not read a single chapter against hindus or jews. Ill go as far as saying that while I was in Pakistan I did not even see anything against the hindus or the jews on the Pakistan television. All this started when satellite dishes and cable tv became a common thing in Pakistan and the people of Pakistan got access to foreign channels which did and continue to demonize the muslims of the world, including Pakistanis. If you play with mud then be prepared to get dirty.

Jinnahs demonization in India - Lets face the truth. Even Indian TV anchors are saying the same. You while writing your thoughts on this form are demonizing Jinnah. Demonization of Jinnah in India is no fiction. Its a reality.

5. An opportunist? He never became the Prime Minister, the differences with Nehru were over the internal structure of Indian polity. How various states(Kingdoms) were to be assimilated in India. I think the Nawab of Hyderabad wanted to go with Pakistan, it was Sardar Patel who stopped this, otherwise we would have had many mini Pakistans in India today.

a) If you read about Lashkar e Toiba, they clearly state their aim is to "liberate" Kashmir, Junagarh and Hyderabad among others.

b) As i had written earlier, your founder was entering into deals with the Tribesmen to help liberate Kashmir, though I am not aware of this issue of withholding of funds, so don't want to comment on it.

c) Friend in a democracy people with different religions etc. are equal, their right of vote makes them equal, for you to say that muslims would be under Hindu domination is outright false.
Parties need a majority to govern. And they need support from all quarters. So different communities get together and negotiate...

Dude, how could have Patel become the PM of India while Nehru was there? Hence the conflict.

5A. Kashmir should be liberated whether the Lashker wants it or not. Its high time that the Kashmiri people have the referendum that they were promised long time ago. I am no expert in Lashkers ideology or Junagarh. However, I do notice that India and Indians have the tendencies to occupy the territories of people who dont want to be a part of India.

5B. Kashmir- I dont know about any deals but I know one fact. At the time of partition of the subcontinent, the armed forces of the sub-continent were divided between the India and Pakistan. These forces were led by the British officers. When things started to get worse in Kashmir, Jinnah ordered General Gracey (a British), the Chief of General Staff of the Pakistan Army, to send the troops to Kashmir to defend the Indian advances. Gracey refused to obey the order. The reason he gave was that he was British and cant fight the other British. Do you know who led the Indians? Mountbatten. You see this was all a British and Congress conspiracy. If Gracey was not going to defend the Pakistani cause, someone had to. It turned out to be the tribesmen.

5C. Democracy is a western concept and perfect for the western kind of model. We the people of the sub-continent have to come up with our own form of democracy. The current model of democracy suits the best for the western countries. Majority of the western countries are either secular or mono-racial. The problem with the democracy starts when the minorities are in large numbers like in India. This is when the politicians start to work with the vote banks. In order to keep their vote banks happy they start to ignore their non-voters (minorities). Since in the west the minorities are not in large numbers and most of the minorities have the same cultural values as the majorities therefore democracy works perfectly. We have already seen the weaknesses of western model of democracy in India. Didnt you see Indra Gandhis actions against the Sikhs to keep her vote bank happy? We all know about Modi in Gujarat? People of India will have to work hard on their model of democracy. They have to be more creative, like Jinnah, to keep check on the manipulations of the politicians. The western model may work in Pakistan because the percentage of minorities is so small as compared to the masses. We will see the setbacks of the western democracy within our lifetimes as the numbers of immigrants continue to increase in Britain and France. The check and balances in India do not have to be rule of law. For example, in Canada, one cannot imagine a prime minister who is not bilingual (French and English). There is no law, but each political party has learned that it has to appeal to both the anglophones and the francophones parts of the population. This is unlike India, where a party can make a government, although it alienates the minorities (BJP-Hinduvta).

6. Yeah right, heard of the "Genocide in Kurram"?
Friend, if today it is Hindus, then tomorrow it will be Shia's.

Kurram Please kindly do your research. The killings in Kurram agency was performed by the Talibans. The same Talibans have also killed muslims of Pakistan. Our army is engaged in a war against them.

Shia Sunni Pakistan has been in existence for last 62 years. There has been no genocide against the shias. Yes there have been sect based violence in Pakistan among the shias and sunnis but none were state sponsored. The government had always been able to take control of the situation. Hence in any of the conflicts no sect had the advantage over the other, except for the numbers may be, because there are more Sunnis than Shias in Pakistan. Of course there must have been personal biases of the individual peace officers but no collective bias of the government. Unlike Indras and Modis actions which placed the minorities in an unfavorable position because the state was against the minorities.
There are lots of shia in all the political parties and legislative assembly of Pakistan. Actually, I wont be surprised if the Bhutto family is Shia because they are half Iranian.
On a personal note I am a sunni but received ten years of education in a school which is/was a well known shia school. Sunni parents tried their best to have their children enrolled in that school because of its high educational standard. The Islamic studies in the school were structured in such a way that neither sect got offended.
Hence majority of the people in Pakistan dont see each other as enemies. Its a very tiny number of people who are blowing up shias and sunnis. These people will find some other reason to blow up themselves, even if the whole Pakistan becomes either Sunni or Shia tomorrow. As long there is poverty and illiteracy in Pakistan the enemies of Pakistan will continue to use the less blessed.