Key excerpts from (Shri)Jaswant Singh's book

contra

Source: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/news ... 911874.cms
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOTE: His latest book, 'Jinnah -- India, Independence, Partition', released on Monday, Shri Jaswant Singh lauds the founder of Pakistan and holds India's first prime minister Jawaharlal Nehru and its first home minister Vallabhbhai Patel responsible for the country's partition in 1947. :o :oops: :oops: :oops:
I strongly disagree with the former minister. :geek:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NEW DELHI
: Excerpts from "Jinnah: India-Partition-Independence" by Jaswant Singh, the veteran Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader whose views on the Pakistan founder led to his expulsion from the party Wednesday:

1. "The basic and structural fault in Jinnah's notion remains a rejection of his origins; of being an Indian :twisted: , having been shaped by the soil of India, tempered in the heat of Indian experience. Muslims in India were no doubt subscribers to a different faith but that is all; they were not any different stock or of alien origin :geek: ."

2. "It is in this, a false 'minority syndrome' that the dry rot of partition first set in :x , and then unstoppably it afflicted the entire structure, the magnificent edifice of an united India. The answer (cure?), Jinnah asserted, lay only in parting :cry: , and Nehru and Patel and others of the Congress also finally agreed. Thus was born Pakistan". :x :x :x

3. "His opposition was not against the Hindus or Hinduism :roll: , it was the Congress that he considered as the true political rival of the Muslim League, and the League he considered as being just an 'extension of himself' :shock: :x . He, of course, made much of the Hindu-Muslim riots (1946; Bengal, Bihar, etc.) to 'prove the incapacity of Congress Governments to protect Muslims; and also expressed fear of "Hindu raj" to frighten Muslims into joining the League :evil: , but during innumerable conversations with him I can rarely recall him attacking Hindus or Hinduism as such :| . His opposition, which later developed into almost hatred, remained focused upon the Congress leadership' (M.R.A. Baig, Jinnah's secretary)."

4. "Religion in all this was entirely incidental :o ; Pakistan alone gave him all that his personality and character demanded. If Mr. Jinnah was necessary for achieving Pakistan, Pakistan, too was necessary for the fulfillment of Mr. Jinnah." :evil:

5. "However, it has to be said, and with great sadness, that despite some early indications to the contrary, the leaders of the Indian National Congress, in the period between the outbreak of war in 1939 and the country's partition in 1947, showed in general, a sad lack of realism, of foresight, of purpose and of will." :evil: :x
=========================================================================================
6. "As (Maulana Azad) wrote in his memoirs, he had come to the conclusion that Indian federation should deal with just three subjects: defence, foreign affairs and communications; thus granting the maximum possible autonomy to the provinces. According to the Maulana, Gandhi accepted this suggestion, while Sardar Patel did not." :P :P :P
[This point is very very important]
=========================================================================================
7. "For, along with several other there is one central difficulty that India, Pakistan, Bangladesh face: our 'past' has, in reality never gone into the 'past', it continues to reinvent itself, constantly becoming our 'present', thus preventing us from escaping the imprisonment of memories. To this we have to find an answer, who else can or will?" :geek:

peace

Jaswant forgot before writing his book that the country he lives in does not care about freedom of speech. :lol:

taul

contra said:
7. "For, along with several other there is one central difficulty that India, Pakistan, Bangladesh face: our 'past' has, in reality never gone into the 'past', it continues to reinvent itself, constantly becoming our 'present', thus preventing us from escaping the imprisonment of memories. To this we have to find an answer, who else can or will?" :geek:

----Never ever Crossed my mind Until came to this site and met some of indians :lol: :lol: ,,that this was even a thing to be frustrated upon and bothered by :roll: :shock: :geek: :P

-------Ahhhhh!! :mrgreen: :arrow: :arrow: that was a brief burst of Fresh (Free) :P :ugeek: air i just gasped ;) ,,and it feels soooooo good to be Home,our Own Home Pakistan 8-) 8-) [pk flag]

Indianguy

peace said:
Jaswant forgot before writing his book that the country he lives in does not care about freedom of speech. :lol:

what does it has to do with freedom of speech? you seem to be a naive person who does not know the difference between a country and party ideology.

taul

IndianMuslim said:
what does it has to do with freedom of speech? you seem to be a naive person who does not know the difference between a country and party ideology.

-I Believe you aren't aware of the news he was kicked off of BJP coz of his comments :oops: Atleast that's the news :!: ..Needless to defend a party founded on Fundamental Hindu agenda :geek:

Indianguy

taul said:
IndianMuslim said:

-I Believe you aren't aware of the news he was kicked off of BJP coz of his comments :oops: Atleast that's the news :!: ..Needless to defend a party founded on Fundamental Hindu agenda :geek:

I am aware of that, but freedom of speech does not work at party level, you can not speak against party ideology, if you are not familiar what party means than let me tell you "A political party is defined as an organised group of people with at least roughly similar political aims and opinions" .

taul

IndianMuslim said:
I am aware of that, but freedom of speech does not work at party level, you can not speak against party ideology, if you are not familiar what party means than let me tell you "A political party is defined as an organised group of people with at least roughly similar political aims and opinions" .

--Effort wasted :roll: ,,you failed to read BJP "Fundamental Hindu Party " with an umbrella of Secular tones :oops: :oops: :lol: 8-)

Indianguy

taul said:
IndianMuslim said:

--Effort wasted :roll: ,,you failed to read BJP "Fundamental Hindu Party " with an umbrella of Secular tones :oops: :oops: :lol: 8-)

sorry buddy, never mind.

I know light has no meaning for blinds.

sher_khan

IndianMuslim said:
taul said:
IndianMuslim said:

sorry buddy, never mind.

@Indian Muslim:
As usual you are full of crap.
Jaswant's book has been banned in Gujrat now.
Who te hell is Modi to impose his BJP views on the people of Gujrat.
It's OK to expell a party member if he goes against the party policy, however banning the book in the province which has people from all the parties,
has everyting to to do with suppression of freedom of speech.

Speaking of suppression did you ever read the Suchar Commission's report ?

taul

IndianMuslim said:
sorry buddy, never mind.

--It's all fine...Need A brain to understand and Process sorry if you lack one 8-) 8-) as in India is your Religion :shock: :oops: :oops: 8-)

Indianguy

sher_khan said:
@Indian Muslim:
HAve you read the Suchar Commission's report yet?

yes and thats compiled by the Indian government.

We are aware of our weaknesses and flaws so we can fix them. India is country where we don't hide our problems but we pinpoint and amplify them so they can be fixed.

sher_khan

I am little confused with the role of RSS and its influence on India and implications.

Gandhi is called father in India.
RSS killed Gandhi.
Sadar Patel had few disagrements with Gandhi, yet respected him.
RSS can't hear a thing against Patel.

If RSS is against Gandhi and Pro Patel and has a huge influence over BJP vote bank, then

either BJP is anti-India or Gandhi was anti-india.

If RSS brings BJP to governance through its votes, wouldn't it be anti-gandhi government?
Yet the Indian government offices have photoes of Gandhi in them.

Would the India be anti-Gandhi's India if BJP is the government?
Can one be an anti-gandhi but yet be an indian?

Indianguy

sher_khan said:
I am little confused with the role of RSS and its influence on India and implications.

Gandhi is called father in India.
RSS killed Gandhi.
Sadar Patel had few disagrements with Gandhi, yet respected him.
RSS can't hear a thing against Patel.

If RSS is against Gandhi and Pro Patel and has a huge influence over BJP vote bank, then

either BJP is anti-India or Gandhi was anti-india.

If RSS brings BJP to governance through its votes, wouldn't it be anti-gandhi government?
Yet the Indian government offices have photoes of Gandhi in them.

Would the India be anti-Gandhi's India if BJP is the government?
Can one be an anti-gandhi but yet be an indian?

I can see that you are confused.

taul

IndianMuslim said:

--See,you lack the basic understanding of any topic,Literally :geek: :geek: Inability to grasp the logic of any topic for that matter even a statement :lol: :lol: :lol: ..Get to terms with Reality and stop blabbing :oops: :roll: :lol:

Indianguy

taul said:
IndianMuslim said:

--See,you lack the basic understanding of any topic,Literally :geek: :geek: Inability to grasp the logic of any topic for that matter even a statement :lol: :lol: :lol: ..Get to terms with Reality and stop blabbing :oops: :roll: :lol:

Buddy I do no charity work, if some body is confused, insane, crazy or eccentric for that mater. I just laugh and move on, as i have no intention and time to treat them.

sher_khan

IndianMuslim said:
sher_khan said:
@Indian Muslim:

We are aware of our weaknesses and flaws so we can fix them. India is country where we don't hide our problems but we pinpoint and amplify them so they can be fixed.

Do the problems get fixed after the 6th or 7th incranation?
Or do tey get fixed by eliminating the minority?

You are always ull of crapp. In any event, that's a change in your stance. Previuosly, you said the following:

@Sher_Khan

I disagree

I myself a minorities, is well to do in india, india is a free land you can do anything and achieve any thing, only thing is that you have to work hard, Modi, APJ Abdul Kalam, Manmohan Singh are just few prominent examples all of them came from normal families. but if you just keep crying no body will do anything for you.

contra

sher khan bhai,
sher_khan said:
@Indian Muslim:
It's OK to expell a party member if he goes against the party policy, however banning the book in the province which has people from all the parties,

1. Sardar Patel was a Gujarati and is respected, loved and held in high regard by all Indian, and especially Gujarati's.

2. The reason for banning the book in Gujarat is that Jaswant Singhji is blaming Sardar Patel for partition, and he is praising Mr. Jinnah. Lakhs of people died during the partition, and we in India believe that Mr. Jinnah was responsible for it.
[I think the book should not be banned. I am against it. :geek: ]

Sacchar Committee report---
indianmuslim has already replied to this, i just want to add to his comments...
One thing we all know is that we will never see a Sacchar report in Pakistan. You will never try and find out the condition of your minorities...You want to maintain this faade that everything is fine in Pakistan.

As Zaid Hamid says in his programs...Minorities pyar se rehate hain yahan, unhe koi problems nahi hain...

Indianguy

sher_khan said:
IndianMuslim said:
[quote="sher_khan":131u9pd1]

@Indian Muslim:

You are always ull of crapp. In any event, that's a change in your stance. Previuosly, you said the following:

@Sher_Khan

I disagree

I myself a minorities, is well to do in india, india is a free land you can do anything and achieve any thing, only thing is that you have to work hard, Modi, APJ Abdul Kalam, Manmohan Singh are just few prominent examples all of them came from normal families. but if you just keep crying no body will do anything for you.[/quote:131u9pd1]

I am still of the same point of view.

Indianguy

contra said:
sher khan bhai,
sher_khan said:
@Indian Muslim:

1. Sardar Patel was a Gujarati and is respected, loved and held in high regard by all Indian, and especially Gujarati's.

2. The reason for banning the book in Gujarat is that Jaswant Singhji is blaming Sardar Patel for partition, and he is praising Mr. Jinnah. Lakhs of people died during the partition, and we in India believe that Mr. Jinnah was responsible for it.
[I think the book should not be banned. I am against it. :geek: ]

Sacchar Committee report---
indianmuslim has already replied to this, i just want to add to his comments...
One thing we all know is that we will never see a Sacchar report in Pakistan. You will never try and find out the condition of your minorities...You want to maintain this faade that everything is fine in Pakistan.

As Zaid Hamid says in his programs...Minorities pyar se rehate hain yahan, unhe koi problems nahi hain...

I am also against banning the book, Modi is nobody to decide what people should be reading.

sher_khan

@ Indian Muslim:

Sher Khan wrote:

@Sher_Khan

I disagree

I myself a minorities, is well to do in india, india is a free land you can do anything and achieve any thing, only thing is that you have to work hard, Modi, APJ Abdul Kalam, Manmohan Singh are just few prominent examples all of them came from normal families. but if you just keep crying no body will do anything for you.

IndianMuslim wrote:
I am still of the same point of view.

In other words you are a hypocrite. No where in Suchar report, it is concluded that the sorry state of Muslims in india is of their own doing. Apparently mulims in India also do other things besides crying. Yet their situation continues to decline.