India's Biggest Nationwide Student Protest in a Quarter Century spread across University Campuses :

Status
Not open for further replies.

modern.fakir

Demonstrations spread over arrest of JNU student who questioned execution of Kashmiri militant

628285085.jpg

2005075102.jpg

New Delhi: Indias biggest nationwide student protests in a quarter of a century spread across campuses on Monday after the arrest of a student accused of sedition, in the latest battle with Prime Minister Narendra Modis government over freedom of expression.

Outrage over the arrest of the left-wing student leader, who had organised a rally to mark the anniversary of the execution of a Kashmiri separatist, has led to demonstrations in at least 18 universities.

In the largest protest, thousands of students and academics at New Delhis prestigious Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) boycotted classes and erected barricades for a fourth day in an escalating conflict with the authorities.

The government does not want students to have a say, said Rahila Parween, vice-president of the Delhi unit of the All India Students Federation, a left-wing student union. It wants to dictate what students think, understand and say. The incident marks another flare-up in an ideological confrontation between Modis nationalist government and left-wing and liberal groups that is prompting critics to compare it with Indira Gandhis imposition of a state of emergency in the 1970s to crush dissent.

Members of Modis ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) accused the student leader, Kanhaiya Kumar, of anti-India sentiment. One BJP lawmaker said the university, which has a tradition of left-wing politics, should be shut down.
I can assure you that every action we take is to protect our country. Any anti-India activity will not be tolerated, BJP President Amit Shah, one of Modis closest allies, said at party headquarters.

Protests spread when Kumar was arrested last week for sedition, after giving a speech questioning the hanging in 2013 of Mohammad Afzal Guru over his role in the 2001 attack on parliament.

Activists have long questioned Gurus conviction, and Indias Supreme Court has described the evidence against him as circumstantial.

Scuffles erupted outside a New Delhi courthouse between lawyers and students where Kumar, 28, was to appear before a judge on Monday.

A leader of the student group that is aligned with the BJP said freedom of expression should not be misused to justify acts that could harm the country.

You cannot be an Indian if you celebrate the death anniversary of a terrorist, said Saurabh Sharma, joint secretary of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (All India Student Council).

Home Minister Rajnath Singh has, meanwhile, faced ridicule for citing a fake tweet to say that the JNU demonstration had been backed by Hafiz Saeed, a Pakistani militant accused by India of being behind the 2008 attack on Mumbai in which 166 people died.

Delhi police circulated the fake tweet at the weekend in a warning to students not to get carried away by such seditious and antinational rhetoric. A spokesman did not answer calls to his mobile phone on Monday seeking comment.

The crackdown signals an utter lack of judgement in the government, where ministers manage to manufacture a national crisis out of what were always, at best, minor affectations in student politics, Pratap Bhanu Mehta, a leading political commentator, wrote in the Indian Express newspaper.

Since Modi rose to power in May 2014, people in India have been attacked by Hindus enraged at reports of cows sacred in their religion being slaughtered, smuggled or consumed.

There has been a series of attacks on churches, while writers have returned awards in protest over the governments silence over a series of murders of secular scholars.

At least 18 university campuses witnessed protests on Monday. Students in the eastern city of Kolkata burnt an effigy of Modi and left-wing groups in the neighbouring state of Odisha planned statewide demonstrations.

Analysts said the student protests were the most widespread in India since the self-immolation of a young Indian in 1990 after the government ruled in favour of providing affirmative action to the lower castes in higher education.

We are witnessing liberal India, particularly young people who are usually more idealistic, fighting back, said Satish Misra, a political analyst at the Observer Research Foundation.

Indias biggest nationwide student protests erupt as government cracks down on dissent | GulfNews.com

http://gulfnews.com/news/asia/india/india-s-biggest-nationwide-student-protests-erupt-as-government-cracks-down-on-dissent-1.1672935

modern.fakir

The people of india thought that times will change with the coming of MOdi Sarkar BUT hardly a few years into the government the people are more divided than anything else...tolerance is rising at astronomical rates because of "ghar wapsis", ban on eating beef, leading to frustrated people as they cant enjoy beef ......and demonizing of Muslim artists like Shahrukh, aamir and salman khan.

Thats why everybody is asking kay ache din kahan hain ???

issay achay to puranay din hi thay .....mager aglu baar phir modi sarkar!!:biggthumpup:

jimpack

Nobody needs your idiotic opinion. You don't know how democracy functions and what it means. There are enough people to take care of it. Keep your happiness close to your chest, because it won't last long.

jimpack

The people of india thought that times will change with the coming of MOdi Sarkar BUT hardly a few years into the government the people are more divided than anything else...tolerance is rising at astronomical rates because of "ghar wapsis", ban on eating beef, leading to frustrated people as they cant enjoy beef ......and demonizing of Muslim artists like Shahrukh, aamir and salman khan.

issay achay to puranay din hi thay .....mager aglu baar phir modi sarkar!!:biggthumpup:

Chal bey chawal joker. What f"*' you know that what is the issue. Keep your sadistic pleasure with you and worry about your backyard.

RAW AGENT

dalit:lol: freedom khush hua ..............................:lol::lol::lol::lol: HAFIJ SAYID KI KIRPA HAI [hilar][hilar][hilar][hilar][hilar]

abey petrol sasta hai , economy growth kar rahi hai ,ab tere ko kya chahiye ?

tashrif par ek hajar chabuk chahiye ? to phir se soudi arab ja .

agli bar phir modi sarkar ..............[hilar][hilar][hilar]

hqdefault.jpg
images

RAW AGENT

Why ur aaass is burning. We appreciate Students protesting against Govt. they should to Kick Modi Killlller out of Govt.

democracy full hai !

growth rate congress govt se behtar hai , pakistan se dosti chal rahi hai aur kya chahiye ?(bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile)

images
index.php
Prime-Minister-of-Canada-Stephen-Harper-and-Narendra-Modi-Prime-Minister-of-India-shake-hands-following-a-joint-press.jpg
Modi-Angele-Markel-PTI.jpg
narendra-modi-in-bangladesh-023.jpg
IndiaTv7da8cf_HafizSaeed_KashmirFloods.jpg

jimpack

Why ur aaass is burning. We appreciate Students protesting against Govt. they should to Kick Modi Killlller out of Govt.

what the hell do you know that you are commenting. Just keep your paranormal views for your Pakistanis. Cowva chal hans ki chaal.

RAW AGENT

Nobody needs your idiotic opinion. You don't know how democracy functions and what it means. There are enough people to take care of it. Keep your happiness close to your chest, because it won't last long.

Chal bey chawal joker. What f"*' you know that what is the issue. Keep your sadistic pleasure with you and worry about your backyard.

what the hell do you know that you are commenting. Just keep your paranormal views for your Pakistanis. Cowva chal hans ki chaal.

thamo bapu thamo !(bigsmile)

constructive criticism is ok, try to face criticism with positive spirit . what is wrong here ?

students politics is factory of future leaders , leftist universities have given very good leaders who are in parliament today , modi is also from student unrest of 1974 in gujrat and bihar.

Wake Up Pakistan

constructive criticism is ok, try to face criticism with positive spirit . what is wrong here ?

students politics is factory of future leaders , leftist universities have given very good leaders who are in parliament today , modi is also from student unrest of 1974 in gujrat and bihar.

yeah Indiaaans kee phatee kuo hui hai. Pahlay Pakistan say Hockey haar gaya. Phir west Indies say U19 Final haar gaya.

Wake Up Pakistan

Ok Kalay Kaway Mai Bhoul gaya thaa.

Indiaaans kee aaj kal phatee hui hai. Pahlay Pakistan say Hockey haar gayai. Phir U19 World cup haar gayai.

RAW AGENT

yeah Indiaaans kee phatee kuo hui hai. Pahlay Pakistan say Hockey haar gaya. Phir west Indies say U19 Final haar gaya.

Indiaaans kee aaj kal phatee hui hai. Pahlay Pakistan say Hockey haar gayai. Phir U19 World cup haar gayai.

padosi mulk jit gaya to khushi ki baat hai beta , hum khush hua hai .(bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile)

jimpack

what a low level of thinking and argument you gave. Give something relevant for your rant.

fannekhan

what a low level of thinking and argument you gave. Give something relevant for your rant.

low level arey nahi yar ,

asali low level to @modern.fakir bhai jaan hai (bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile)

kitna khayal rakhte hai hamara aur hamare muluk ka.

ye banda kafi hud tak thik hai .

modern.fakir

Kidher gaye 1000 koray ?? Apnay hi mu per kalak mal rahahai ??? [hilar][hilar][hilar]

[h=1]Rape fear keeps US students out of India: Nancy Powell[/h][h=1][/h][h=1][/h]

Nancy-Powell.jpg

[COLOR=#0000FF !important]The students at XISS agreed in [COLOR=#0000FF !important]the presence of Powell
that they too face sexual harassment on[COLOR=#0000FF !important]the streets
.[/COLOR]

RANCHI: The frequent incidence of rape in India has created [COLOR=#0000FF !important]an adverse image of India[/COLOR]abroad. US ambassador to India, Nancy Powell, on her maiden visit to Jharkhand, on Tuesday highlighted this saying how this was possibly a factor in American students not coming to India.

She said: "The concern for personal security and perceived increased danger to women as a result of [COLOR=#0000FF !important]the rape cases[/COLOR] was perhaps a factor in US students' decision regarding study in India." Powell said this in response to a question - "Why aren't American students coming to India for studies?" - asked in the course of a chat with students' at the Xavier Institute of Social Science (XISS) in Ranchi.

[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]
abey petrol sasta hai , economy growth kar rahi hai ,ab tere ko kya chahiye ?

tashrif par ek hajar chabuk chahiye ? to phir se soudi arab ja .

agli bar phir modi sarkar ..............[hilar][hilar][hilar]

modern.fakir

Che che che manoj....itna ghatiy@ harkat ....che che che ....tu aesay kaam bhi kerta hai ??

Sex for promotion: Indian Man forces wife to be gang-raped for 12 years

TNN | Sep 7, 2013, 11.48 AM IST

BHOPAL: This is a sordid tale of sexual exploitation of a woman by her husband, who forced her to be repeatedly gang-raped by his bosses for a promotion at the workplace.

Her monster husband, Bhupendra Nimade, put her on the torture wrack for 12 years, snuffing out all vestige of resistance by forcing her to swallow sleeping pills that turned her into a veritable vegetable. The woman, [COLOR=#0000FF !important]a resident of Khargone
, finally picked up the courage to lodge a case with [COLOR=#0000FF !important]the Habibganj police station
. The FIR was lodged on Friday.

[/COLOR]
[/COLOR]

Status
Not open for further replies.