Indian Railways serving "Rat Biryani" to Gujrati Pilgrims - Halal Food Anyone ? بھارتی ریلوے گجراتی

modern.fakir

Indian Railways serves "rat biryani" to Gujarati pilgrims

Prashant Dayal, TNNJan 30, 2013, 12.33AM IST

بھارتی ریلوے گجراتی حجاج کرام "چوہا بریانی" کام کرتا ہے

images

AHMEDABAD: A family from Valsad was served a revolting dish of 'rat biryani' from the pantry of the Sarvodaya Express while returning home from a pilgrimage to the Vaishno Devi shrine in Jammu & Kashmir.

Teacher Nilesh Patel and his wife Veena had ordered three vegetarian biryanis one to be shared between their two sons. When their seven-year-old son Monik dug a spoon in the dish, something heavy obstructed him. When Patel tried to help him out, it was found that a rat had been cooked in the biryani.

pixel.gif

Half of the about 300 pilgrims from Ahmedabad on the train had ordered the biryani dish. "The experience was horrifying," Patel said. "We have pledged never to have food from the railway pantry again."

Angry passengers later confronted the train staff. A waiter tried to throw out the remaining biryani at the New Delhi railway station, but some passengers recorded his actions using their cellphone cameras. When the protests got angrier, the railway police intervened to contain the situation.

Patel was then able to make a formal complaint. "The pantry manager gave us a written apology and agreed to take responsibility if any passenger suffers from food poisoning," he said.

http://articles.timesofindia.indiat...29_1_biryani-gujarati-pilgrims-railway-police

modern.fakir

Re: Indian Railways serving "Rat Biryani" to Gujrati Pilgrims - Halal Food Anyone ? بھارتی ریلوے گجراتی حجاج &#170

Got lunch ?? :)

dildilpakistan

Re: Indian Railways serving "Rat Biryani" to Gujrati Pilgrims - Halal Food Anyone ? بھارتی ریلوے گجراتی حجاج &#170

Apne mulk ki fiker karo bhai. Pak mein kess kess janwar ki biryani milti hai... Search on google and u will find it.

alimohsan52

Re: Indian Railways serving "Rat Biryani" to Gujrati Pilgrims - Halal Food Anyone ? بھارتی ریلوے گجراتی حجاج &

Apne mulk ki fiker karo bhai. Pak mein kess kess janwar ki biryani milti hai... Search on google and u will find it.

DilDilIndia use your real ID

modern.fakir

Re: Indian Railways serving "Rat Biryani" to Gujrati Pilgrims - Halal Food Anyone ? بھارتی ریلوے گجراتی حجاج &

Aray bhai app narazz kiyoon hotay ho ...They have called for this ...Now no Pakistan minister has ever done this ..[hilar]

[TABLE="class: storycontent, width: 786"]
[TR]
[TD="colspan: 2"]India's poor urged to 'eat rats'

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: storybody"][TABLE="width: 466"]
[TR]
[TD]By Amarnath Tewary
BBC News, Patna[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
999999.gif

[TABLE="width: 203, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD]
_42840045_230rat.jpg
It's argued that rats are a good source of nutrition
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
An official in the Indian state of Bihar has come up with a new idea to encourage low caste poor people to cope with food shortages - rat meat.
The Principal Secretary of the state's Welfare Department, Vijay Prakash, said that he was advancing his proposal after "much survey and ground work".
Bihar's extremely poor Musahar community are rat-eaters by tradition.
The Musahar are on the bottom strata of the caste system with the lowest literacy rate and per capita income.
Less than one percent of their 2.3 million population in Bihar is literate and 98% are landless.
Delicacy
Mr Prakash says his proposals to popularise rat meat eating are intended to uplift their social-economic condition.
[TABLE="width: 231, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD="width: 5"]
o.gif
[/TD]
[TD="class: sibtbg, bgcolor: #F3F3F3"]
_44916722_vijay-prakash_body.jpg

start_quote_rb.gif
People now prefer to eat rat meat instead of chicken or goat as it comes cheaper and is more tasty and healthy
end_quote_rb.gif

Vijay Prakash
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
"There are twin advantages of this proposal. First, we can save about half of our food grain stocks by catching and eating rats and secondly we can improve the economic condition of the Musahar community," he told the BBC.
According to Mr Prakash, about 50% of total food grain stocks in the country are eaten away by rodents.
He argues that by promoting rat eating more grain will be preserved while hunger among the Musahar community will be reduced.
He said that rat meat is not only a delicacy but a protein-enriched food, widely popular in Thailand and France.
"Rats have almost no bones and are quite rich in nutrition. People at large don't know this cuisine fact but gradually they are catching up."
However he may find it difficult to popularise such a strategy in a conservative society like Bihar and other north Indian states.
Mr Prakash says that he has recipes to make rat eating a delicacy, which he now wants to distribute to all the hotels in Bihar.
He also wants to encourage rat farming in the same way that poultry is farmed.
While eating rat meat is still stigmatised in urban areas of the country, Mr Prakash says that his research has revealed that it is a popular food item in some parts of Bihar where it is known at roadside hotels by the name of "patal-bageri".
This is not the first time that the department secretary has come out with such an innovative idea.
Earlier, he proposed to recruit eunuchs as security guards to maternity wards in hospitals.
"Yes, that proposal is in its advance stage and we'll very soon engage them in various social activities of our department," he said.
And the welfare secretary's next plan?
"I'll make snake catching popular for the economic value of its venom," he said.[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

WatanDost

Abhay Unicorn kai Pakistani Avtaar, poora Hindustani ban kar aa
Adhay teetar aadhay Batair

alimohsan52

Aray bhai app narazz kiyoon hotay ho ...They have called for this ...Now no Pakistan minister has ever done this ..[hilar]

[TABLE="class: storycontent, width: 786"]
[TR]
[TD="colspan: 2"]India's poor urged to 'eat rats'
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: storybody"][TABLE="width: 466"]
[TR]
[TD]By Amarnath Tewary
BBC News, Patna[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
999999.gif

[TABLE="width: 203, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD]
_42840045_230rat.jpg
It's argued that rats are a good source of nutrition[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
An official in the Indian state of Bihar has come up with a new idea to encourage low caste poor people to cope with food shortages - rat meat.
The Principal Secretary of the state's Welfare Department, Vijay Prakash, said that he was advancing his proposal after "much survey and ground work".
Bihar's extremely poor Musahar community are rat-eaters by tradition.
The Musahar are on the bottom strata of the caste system with the lowest literacy rate and per capita income.
Less than one percent of their 2.3 million population in Bihar is literate and 98% are landless.
Delicacy
Mr Prakash says his proposals to popularise rat meat eating are intended to uplift their social-economic condition.
[TABLE="width: 231, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD="width: 5"]
o.gif
[/TD]
[TD="class: sibtbg, bgcolor: #F3F3F3"]
_44916722_vijay-prakash_body.jpg

start_quote_rb.gif
People now prefer to eat rat meat instead of chicken or goat as it comes cheaper and is more tasty and healthy
end_quote_rb.gif

Vijay Prakash[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
"There are twin advantages of this proposal. First, we can save about half of our food grain stocks by catching and eating rats and secondly we can improve the economic condition of the Musahar community," he told the BBC.
According to Mr Prakash, about 50% of total food grain stocks in the country are eaten away by rodents.
He argues that by promoting rat eating more grain will be preserved while hunger among the Musahar community will be reduced.
He said that rat meat is not only a delicacy but a protein-enriched food, widely popular in Thailand and France.
"Rats have almost no bones and are quite rich in nutrition. People at large don't know this cuisine fact but gradually they are catching up."
However he may find it difficult to popularise such a strategy in a conservative society like Bihar and other north Indian states.
Mr Prakash says that he has recipes to make rat eating a delicacy, which he now wants to distribute to all the hotels in Bihar.
He also wants to encourage rat farming in the same way that poultry is farmed.
While eating rat meat is still stigmatised in urban areas of the country, Mr Prakash says that his research has revealed that it is a popular food item in some parts of Bihar where it is known at roadside hotels by the name of "patal-bageri".
This is not the first time that the department secretary has come out with such an innovative idea.
Earlier, he proposed to recruit eunuchs as security guards to maternity wards in hospitals.
"Yes, that proposal is in its advance stage and we'll very soon engage them in various social activities of our department," he said.
And the welfare secretary's next plan?
"I'll make snake catching popular for the economic value of its venom," he said.[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

Abhay Unicorn kai Pakistani Avtaar, poora Hindustani ban kar aa
Adhay teetar aadhay Batair

I guarantee you this guy is Indian using a Pakistani ID, read his previous posts.

alimohsan52

Ali ....do you fancy Delta having some of this delicacy ?? [hilar][hilar][hilar]

Well lets test it, in the next couple of days I have some excellent articles lined up.

Modern Fakir bhai Jindabad !

Alias

Pilgrims k to mazay agaye, Veg Biryani Ki Qeemat mein Meat Biryani.

Vijay Prakash himself looks like Rat.....

0.jpg

If any one remember this scene of Kawa Biryani from Indian film RUN...

کوا بریانی کے بعد عظیم انڈیا کی فخریا پیشکش چوہا بریانی۔۔:P;)

After Crow Biryani Great India proudly presents Rat Biryani.....:P ;)

dildilpakistan

Just read your reply on my comments. India ko galian dene se pakistan mahaan nai ho jaye ga ... use your brain. :D tum bhale kesse ko ghaddar kaho, ya kuch bhi...doesn't matter. What matter is .... Where are we standing as a nation ?

modern.fakir

Man where you taking this ??..:).The article is about corruption in India ...so focus on it. If you have something constructive to add then do so .otherwise..if not, go open another thread and talk about Pakistan ....this is the deal !!...

Just read your reply on my comments. India ko galian dene se pakistan mahaan nai ho jaye ga ... use your brain. :D tum bhale kesse ko ghaddar kaho, ya kuch bhi...doesn't matter. What matter is .... Where are we standing as a nation ?

alimohsan52

Why don't you be a man and come out and admit that you are Indian? Rather than act like pussy and hide behind by your fake ID

nuzhatghazali

انڈیا میں اگر بریانی میں چوہے پایے گے تو کوئی حیرت کی بات نہیں ہے ... وہاں تو چوہوں کی مذھبی افزایش ہوتی ہے ... دوسرے مذہب کے لوگ تو پیار اور نیاز مندی سے کھا ہی لیتے .... ڈرنا تو جب چاہیے جب پاکستنان میں ایسا واقعہ سر عام
آ جایے

IndiaGuy

Nahi yar.. India ki Buria me jo maza hai wo Pakistan me kanha ?. Keep it up.. Aur karo India ki Burai...Find out more news..

modern.fakir

If reporting a news is "India ki Burai" then all the newspapers in the world must be Banned ...Have a heart dude...we take your criticism against pakistan here too, so when your turn comes around ...dont start crying out loud :lol::lol:

Nahi yar.. India ki Buria me jo maza hai wo Pakistan me kanha ?. Keep it up.. Aur karo India ki Burai...Find out more news..

Humi

that is just sick! (serious)