How to make Pakistani women part of the work -force?

ح

حکایت جنوں

You are fond of telling people they don't know anything, aren't you? Your analysis is so divorced from reality that it is embarrassing to read it. Countries like Cuba were and continue to be sex tourism countries.

Furthermore, contrary to the popular belief, women or even men don't always pursue prostitution because of purely economic reasons. Your analysis stands true only in certain societies and regions where poverty is found at obscene levels and women are treated as inferiors (that is, they can't get a decent job). However, your analysis fails miserably in societies which support the poor and the weak. For example, in Canada there is an appropriate welfare system for the economically weak people to get by financially. Even the refugees (non-citizens) in Canada can get free housing and monthly cash support. A person pursues prostitution in Canada not to survive economically but to finance their expensive hobbies (drugs, expensive cars, expensive handbags, HD Tvs, SmartPhones, etc.). Needless to say, some people pursue prostitution because it is a very efficient way to make a lot of money. These people don't want to work the boring nine to five jobs and make only one-tenth of what they can make by only working three hours a day. Majority of them are not uneducated either.
In Pakistan as well, there are prostitutes who drive very expensive cars.
The bottom-line is that these people don't have the leaned skills to make as much money as they want and therefore they choose the profession of prostitution. It's not a survival battle. Hence, it is even more important that people should not stay at home after education. Instead they should contribute to the society by working and should continue the process of personal development.

Furthermore, it's a myth that only the poor immigrants are involved in prostitution. This image is portrayed by the racist media. Got to Las Vegas, you will find more american born and bred prostitutes than the immigrants. The immigrants are an easy target for criticism because they are easy to isolate visually. Also, the immigrants don't have that many acquaintances in the new country therefore they do it openly. Meanwhile, people who are born in a country do it in a more discreet way.

How the hell is woman a commodity if she is reducing a morality rate by helping a pregnant woman in a village? You know that a pregnant woman with complication can die if there is only a male doctor in the village, if her husband is a conservative guy? The problem with this argument between you and I is that you have forcibly involved capitalism in it. This is exactly why I asked you to start a new thread.

No, Hijab was never a product of economics. Yes, women were considered a property and were often abducted in the past. However, the issue was the same in the Mongol society but there was no significant Hijab there.
Hijab is a function of lack of trust. Lack of trust in women who are considered inferior, can't protect themselves and can't control their lust. Lack of trust in men who can't control their animal urges and instincts.
Lolzzz you have put all your efforts to prove my point. I said in my earlier comment that capitalism made prostitution a sex industry and this is how this social ill gets connected with economics. In fact you are fond of answering without reading carefully. By using this term I meant how you have just described modern day prostitution industry. But even if it is true that a significant amount of sex workers now adopt prostitution to gain easy money, still the majority of prostitutes come from lower strata of the societies.
You are right about recent Cuba. However, the point I was making was different. Communist regimes like USSR and Cuba tried to curb prostitution (because for them it was against the dignity of human being) as profession and were succeeded. After the fall of USSR and the strict economic sanction on Cuba made communist regime of Cuba to close their eyes on this social ill and accepted capitalist hegemony partially. And thus unfortunately, prostitution became a sex industry in Cuba illegally.
Last, it is your interpretation on Hijab but there could be other interpretations too. I am more interested in the interpretation of the women who practice Hijab. :) The great majority of these women consider it either their religious duty or a cultural function to take hijab. So there is an element of sacredness and cultural aesthetics in taking Hijab. So, I take your and their view points about Hijab as two interpretations showing two mind sets, one is religio-cultural and the other is extreme capitalist (I am saying it extreme capitalist because the utilitarianism which is one of the philosophical basis of capitalism has compelled the capitalists to accept Hijab and even appropriate it if it helps them to gain money. Your extreme view point is actually out dated)

sher_khan

Lolzzz you have put all your efforts to prove my point. I said in my earlier comment that capitalism made prostitution a sex industry and this is how this social ill gets connected with economics. In fact you are fond of answering without reading carefully. By using this term I meant how you have just described modern day prostitution industry. But even if it is true that a significant amount of sex workers now adopt prostitution to gain easy money, still the majority of prostitutes come from lower strata of the societies.
You are right about recent Cuba. However, the point I was making was different. Communist regimes like USSR and Cuba tried to curb prostitution (because for them it was against the dignity of human being) as profession and were succeeded. After the fall of USSR and the strict economic sanction on Cuba made communist regime of Cuba to close their eyes on this social ill and accepted capitalist hegemony partially. And thus unfortunately, prostitution became a sex industry in Cuba illegally.
Last, it is your interpretation on Hijab but there could be other interpretations too. I am more interested in the interpretation of the women who practice Hijab. :) The great majority of these women consider it either their religious duty or a cultural function to take hijab. So there is an element of sacredness and cultural aesthetics in taking Hijab. So, I take your and their view points about Hijab as two interpretations showing two mind sets, one is religio-cultural and the other is extreme capitalist (I am saying it extreme capitalist because the utilitarianism which is one of the philosophical basis of capitalism has compelled the capitalists to accept Hijab and even appropriate it if it helps them to gain money. Your extreme view point is actually out dated)

LOL do yourself a favour....take a break from this thread for a week or two. After the break read my comments again without trying to confirming/conforming them with what you already believe in. If you read my comments with an independent mind, you will notice that I am not writing what you are interpreting. You can apply the same rule of viewing things independently, in other aspects of your life....your life will change drastically.

Furthermore, the likes of Karl Marx did make an attempt to abolish prostitution but failed miserably. Actually, prostitution was being used as a service during communism wars. On a different note a lot of European communists were also against the institution of marriage because they also saw the marriage of convenience as a form of prostitution. They failed in abolishing marriage too.

In other words, the prostitution is widespread in the countries regardless whether the country follows capitalism or communism. Whether it's illegal or legal. The only difference is that the countries which have legislation against prostitution, make the prostitutes go underground. The same applies to marriages. They exist and are widespread in all the countries, regardless if they are capitalist or communist/socialist countries.

ح

حکایت جنوں

LOL do yourself a favour....take a break from this thread for a week or two. After the break read my comments again without trying to confirming/conforming them with what you already believe in. If you read my comments with an independent mind, you will notice that I am not writing what you are interpreting. You can apply the same rule of viewing things independently, in other aspects of your life....your life will change drastically.

Furthermore, the likes of Karl Marx did make an attempt to abolish prostitution but failed miserably. Actually, prostitution was being used as a service during communism wars. On a different note a lot of European communists were also against the institution of marriage because they also saw the marriage of convenience as a form of prostitution. They failed in abolishing marriage too.

In other words, the prostitution is widespread in the countries regardless whether the country follows capitalism or communism. Whether it's illegal or legal. The only difference is that the countries which have legislation against prostitution, make the prostitutes go underground. The same applies to marriages. They exist and are widespread in all the countries, regardless if they are capitalist or communist/socialist countries.
Nothing new in your argument.. I have already told you that why prostitution appeared again in communist countries. It was due to in consistency of policies in communist regimes and the over whelming sway of capitalism in the world. However, the basic point was that the reason of becoming prostitution a sex industry is economic and it is even clear from your comments. Don't move away from main discussion Munney:). This time you even failed to produce any argument. I feel pity on you

sher_khan

LOL I say it again...a break of a week or two should do you good. Go to a hill station like Pakistani actors do in Pak movies. Don't build high hopes if you see some1 good looking there. Something tells me that no one will find you of interest there either. You will start telling them that cold weather is also a product of economic model.

ح

حکایت جنوں

LOL I say it again...a break of a week or two should do you good. Go to a hill station like Pakistani actors do in Pak movies. Don't build high hopes if you see some1 good looking there. Something tells me that no one will find you of interest there either. You will start telling them that cold weather is also a product of economic model.
Ohoo!!! Munney discussion mei argument na mile to rote nahi. Itni himmat to dikhate keh mujhe apne comment se tag ker deite....Chalo ab nikalo patli gali sey aur apni asliyyat na dikhao(bigsmile).

ejunooni

Thats a really tough question to answer. Pakistani society has so many complications and issues that its hard to pin point how you can get the women to embrace working. I think one of the issues is that in Pakistan everyone likes to be a champion of morality and somehow a woman working in an equal space doesn't sit will with these morality champions. It is the work of a closed mind to think that working of a woman is somehow morally wrong.

sher_khan

Ohoo!!! Munney discussion mei argument na mile to rote nahi. Itni himmat to dikhate keh mujhe apne comment se tag ker deite....Chalo ab nikalo patli gali sey aur apni asliyyat na dikhao(bigsmile).

LOLz, you still think that you are right , don't you? The red herrings that you have been throwing in your replies are nothing but intellectual diarrhea . They are only called argument in the world that exists between your two ears.

I apologize, I was wrong. A break of week or two won't b enough. You need a longer break from this thread.

sher_khan

Here is the the list of countries by the participation of females in the work force. Congratulations to all the Muslim countries and their females. The females of the Muslim countries contribute the least to the economic development of their countries. Lesser economic development means lesser funds available for education which means lesser educated people. Lesser educated people means, people more susceptible to social and political exploitations. No wonder the ethnic and religious conflicts are more popular in Muslim countries than the other ones. But don't worry, the Pakistani women by sitting at home and educating their children will get rid of poverty, ethnic exploitation, gender discrimination and other vices of Pakistan.

Enjoy the list:

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator...api_data_value+wbapi_data_value-last&sort=asc

ح

حکایت جنوں

LOLz, you still think that you are right , don't you? The red herrings that you have been throwing in your replies are nothing but intellectual diarrhea . They are only called argument in the world that exists between your two ears.

I apologize, I was wrong. A break of week or two won't b enough. You need a longer break from this thread.
You miserably failed to answer any of my critiques whether on prostitution or Hijab or the inhuman capitalist conditions in which men and women are treated as commodities. If you are an honest man read again the comments above. You kept quite over my comments on economic basis of prostitution and how prostitution was changed into sex industry due to capitalism. You did the same over the issues of Hijab and women work force in capitalist settings. Rather you chose to show your absolute immaturity by only reducing the whole discussion to mere mockery. Now you are again spinning the issue. In none of my comments, I supported the view that women should stay at home. Rather my point was that if Muslim countries want to develop and prosper and change their women into work force, they have to invent creative methods and do principle modifications in capitalism otherwise like in west, their basic institution of family will be destroyed and thus their basic moral values. Colonialism has already done a great damage to our cultures and we can't afford more damage. We need a separate discussion on the list that you pasted about the participation of women in the work force. I completely agree with you that women should be educated like men. And they should also work and play an important role in the development of the country. The point of difference is how should they work and here you, despite my insistence, never accepted to continue the discussion.

So here is my point Munney. GO and read the discussion once more and tell me the reason why didn't you answer my critiques. Without those answers, we can't move forward.

And Lastly, you are getting more and more frustrated in your comments which is also an indication that you have now shortage of arguments. So, for the first time, I will advice you to take a break for at least a month and think why were you so naive during the discussion????