Gilani takes army head on !

canadian

Gilani takes army head on

By: Javaid-ur-rahman And Imran Mukhtar | Published: December 23, 2011
ISLAMABAD_PM_Gilani_calls_38390.jpg

ISLAMABAD A panicked prime minister Thursday said plots were being drawn to send his government packing as he delivered an unprecedented tirade against the army, vowing not to bow to forces at work behind the scenes and denying the government was subservient to the military command.

Confirmation form beleaguered Yousuf Raza Gilani of fears about his government stood in stark contrast to his recent assertions that government and the armed forces were on same page on all the issues, including the memo scandal that is at the centre of the current political storm.

I want to make it clear today that conspiracies are being hatched here to pack up the elected government, Gilani told a gathering at the National Arts Gallery, without naming anyone. But we will continue to fight for the rights of people of Pakistan whether or not we remain in the government, Gilani said, declaring himself the countrys longest serving premier, with 45 months on the job.

But heading off questions in parliament, he took aim at the army after the defence ministry told the Supreme Court it does not exercise any operational control over the armed forces or ISI intelligence agency.

If they say that they are not under the ministry of defence, then we should get out of this slavery, then this parliament has no importance, this system has no importance, then you are not sovereign, he told lawmakers. Nobody is above the law, all the institutions are subservient to the parliament, Gilani insisted.

All the members of the parliament are elected representatives thats why every institution is answerable to the parliament If we can not protect the rights of the people then what business we have here (parliament)... If any institution says I am a state within state, it is not acceptable, he said. We remained under Indian rule in the past... If we have to live as slaves, then there is no importance of this house. It would be wrong to say that these institutions (army and ISI) do not come under the ministry of defence, he said.

Appearing to lose patience, he said the government had stood by the security services over a storm of American pressure over the Osama bin Laden killing, the November 26 Nato attack and the 2008 attacks on Mumbai. In OBL case, we also stood by the establishment. Though we had some differences but we supported them. After Mumbai attacks, we also supported them and even fired General (Mahmud) Durrani, he said and added the nature of issues had changed from the tenure of General Musharraf and now the challenges were different.

In the worst circumstances we doubled their salaries. They (army) have to be accountable to parliament We are being asked by the judicial commission (examining the May 2 US raid that killed bin Laden raid and how the al-Qaeda leader lived in Pakistan undetected) about issuance of visas (to Americans). But I want to ask how was someone (bin Laden) living here for the past six years? On what type of visa was he living here? Why was security not taken care of, if he entered Pakistan without a visa?

This fiery speech by the prime minister at the assembly and his talking of conspiracies against his government clearly indicate that the government is in direct confrontation with the military establishment over the key issue of memogate scandal. It also shows that the impression which the government tried to create of Gen Kayanis meeting with the PM and his phone call to President Zardari that all the differences have been largely removed was incorrect.(http://nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-...olitics/23-Dec-2011/Gilani-takes-army-head-on)

canadian

[h=1]New fight at wrong time[/h]By: Ashraf Mumtaz | Published: December 23, 2011
Newfightatwrongtime_38386.jpg

LAHORE – Already confronted with many a crisis and facing severest criticism on account of its failure to solve people’s problems, the government on Thursday declared almost a war against the Pakistan army and the intelligence agencies to establish what he called Parliament’s supremacy over all other institutions. The new front was opened by none else but the prime minister, who otherwise is proud that he is the longest serving chief executive of the country, his tenure longer than even that of Benazir Bhutto.

He alleged that conspiracies were hatched to dislodge his government. “There can’t be a state within the state; they (establishment) would always be answerable to the parliament. All institutions of the country are answerable to the parliament,” he said while addressing the National Assembly.

He did not name any institution but left no doubt that he was referring to the army and the intelligence agencies.

The prime minister spoke a day after Defence Ministry conceded to the Supreme Court that it had no operational control over the armed forces or the ISI, the two institutions whose heads have submitted in the apex court affidavits in the memo scandal which are completely in conflict with the viewpoint of the government.

“If they say that they are not under the ministry of defence, then we should get out of this slavery, then this parliament has no importance, this system has no importance, then you are not sovereign,” he said.

Apparently referring to the allegations that Pakistan’s embassy in Washington has been issuing visas to Americans bypassing the mandatory security checks, a furious Gilani said he should be told who had issued visas to Osama Bin Laden, the al-Qaeda chief who secretly lived in a compound in Abbottabad for about six years before being found and killed by US commandos.

There are no two opinions about the need for the supremacy of parliament. But it is lunatic to say that some institution other than the government is responsible for undermining it. The government gave no importance to various resolutions adopted by the bicameral legislature, and threw into the dustbin almost all judgments of the Supreme Court that called for action. Unfortunately, the parliament failed to play any role to have the apex court verdicts implemented.

The question is if the parliament doesn’t give importance to its own resolutions, and also makes a mockery of the other institutions, how it can expect others to respect them.

The PPP has been in power for almost four years now. During this period, though briefly, the PPP and the PML-N also remained coalition partners. With cooperation from other parties, the ruling coalition also adopted the 18th constitutional amendment which overhauled the basic law.

Had the government not provided other parties pretext to part ways, it could have done anything it wanted. The establishment could have been ‘tamed’ – as in brotherly Turkey – through the collective wisdom of the parliamentarians.

PML-N President Nawaz Sharif repeatedly said that his party would not let anyone derail democratic system and would offer the strongest possible resistance to any such move. This was exactly what the prime minister said on Thursday.

But the president, in his attempt to outsmart all others, lost a golden opportunity to get cooperation from other parties. The more people called him a clever leader, the more he schemed to outmanoeuvre others, even at the cost of his credibility. As a result, the opposition parties are not willing to trust him on any account.

Interestingly, before launching a new attack on the army and the intelligence agencies, the prime minister did not take the political leadership on board. It is not clear whether the PPP’s coalition partners are ready to face the ‘consequences’ of the prime minister’s newfound love for parliament’s sovereignty, or they would bid farewell to the setup when the chips are down.

In such a situation how he will ‘discipline’ the country’s strongest institution is unclear.

Ostensibly, the prime minister’s speech will only worsen the crisis.

The contradictions in the government’s words and deeds are many. For example, after the 18th amendment, it was the prime minister who was supposed to be calling the shots. But practically all powers remained with the president. What he could not do as president, he did as the PPP co-chairperson. Can there be a more serious joke with the essence of the parliamentary system?

Drone attacks continued until recently. WikiLeaks alleged that these attacks were carried out after government’s consent. In fact, once it was pointed out that it was the prime minister who had given the Americans a go-ahead and told them that his ‘mock protest’ in parliament on this account should not be taken seriously.

The military leadership repeatedly said that Pakistan has the capability to shoot down the intruding drones provided the government takes such a decision. No such decision has so far been taken.

All this shows that it is the parliament which is undermining its own sovereignty and supremacy. Nobody can be held responsible for the situation.

rehman1978

this is the only thing i support of this PPP government. civilians must assert themselves (clap)

This not the way to assert. Leadership and performance is the only way to assert. Do you want Gillani to assert himself on Army the way he has asserted himself on PIA , railways, NICL, and steel mill?

Nathookhan

Gaoon ka ik baba kal keh raha tha," Lghda hai Master Laal" aan wala hai.................Theek hi kenda hosi!

freshnkool

This not the way to assert. Leadership and performance is the only way to assert. Do you want Gillani to assert himself on Army the way he has asserted himself on PIA , railways, NICL, and steel mill?

brother then why army is assetring itself the way they assetred on precious land of nation on name of DHAS, business empires, corruption , giving foji ady to other nations , unki jang lena dollers lee kar or apny he logon koo marwana

in corruption army and civilians are not much different than eachother.

canadian

First he should do something about corruption in his party.Everybody from The top man,Gilani himself and almost entire top hierarchy is involved in massive corruption.Thus morally he stands nowhere and unable to govern.So he should stop this ranting.

MR_Khan

PPP ki Siyasi Shaheed bannay ki nakaam koshish, 4 saloon main kuch nahi kya to ab excuse dhond rahay hain bhagnay ki, takay kal phir awam kay samnay vote lenay k liyay ran*** rona karsakain.

InsafianPTI

ok civilian like zardari, who was 10% when came in power, what is his civilian power now, -100% probably.
a curse to this nation.
We need to understand that we are living in an extremely abnormal situation, this democratic and civilian government is a shame,

why do you think they did thi, raymond davis case, ABL, mehran base, nato attacks. I don't think gov supported army properly in these issues (they made a show that they did,) they were more sincere with america.

this is the only thing i support of this PPP government. civilians must assert themselves (clap)

InsafianPTI

I agree 100% there is no doubt in that, this is the plan. and sidhis would be the biggest trap.

PPP ki Siyasi Shaheed bannay ki nakaam koshish, 4 saloon main kuch nahi kya to ab excuse dhond rahay hain bhagnay ki, takay kal phir awam kay samnay vote lenay k liyay ran*** rona karsakain.

rehman1978

brother then why army is assetring itself the way they assetred on precious land of nation on name of DHAS, business empires, corruption , giving foji ady to other nations , unki jang lena dollers lee kar or apny he logon koo marwana

in corruption army and civilians are not much different than eachother.[/QUOTE
Haha now you are diverting the topic: ran out ofevidenc. What’s wrong with DHA? They buyland same way as other people do. DHA ispopular and successful because it is managed professionally, not the waydouchebag gillani is managing PIA, railways, and steel mill. Moreover, allother fuji foundations play a big role in providing jobs to people and unlikeother government run organization they are profitable.

rehman1978

in corruption army and civilians are not much different than eachother.

Haha now you are diverting the topic: ran out ofevidenc. What’s wrong with DHA? They buyland same way as other people do. DHA ispopular and successful because it is managed professionally, not the waydouchebag gillani is managing PIA, railways, and steel mill. Moreover, allother fuji foundations play a big role in providing jobs to people and unlikeother government run organization they are profitable.

freshnkool

ok civilian like zardari, who was 10% when came in power, what is his civilian power now, -100% probably.
a curse to this nation.
We need to understand that we are living in an extremely abnormal situation, this democratic and civilian government is a shame,

why do you think they did thi, raymond davis case, ABL, mehran base, nato attacks. I don't think gov supported army properly in these issues (they made a show that they did,) they were more sincere with america.

brother even the most independed sources in pak media say that it was ISI who played the biggest role in rymond davis release even paid the deeyat

2. if OBL is killed then i am happy a but if its darama and fake ( as many people belive) then who stops ISI to expose that drama and come out clean and tell nation that it was a lie and there was no OBL even his wives are under dention of army

3. and who gave america bases? even allowed trops on ground, from ayub khan till mushraf all these were genearls who did all that. even took money and fought their war and killed own people from zia to mushraf so kindly be honest and see things in impartial way

4. on corruption though generals are hell corrupt as well but yes zardari is hell down in corruption as well . its all matter of discussion that who have been more corrupt generals or civilian politicians

four possibilities here:

1. some enemy instigators are putting wrong ideas in Gilani's head to start fight between Kyani and Gilani

2. Gilani knows his govt, mostly because of Shaitan Malik and Altaf Hussein, has failed miserably in living up to his promises

3. American are creating this fasad to remove Pasha. Gilani is following His Masters Voice (UK/US) and inadvertently causing himself to be removed.

4. Gilani deliberately trying to cause army to remove and call fresh elections. Gilani knows that the if new dual nationality law is passed, Zardari will never want to give up his UK passport resulting in Zardari inability to run for office again. So might as well do it now and be done with it.

Which ever of the above closely resembles the current situation, one thing for sure. Americans have successfully used their slaves to create rift between army and civilian govt. And all the pressure is on PASHA - an American dream to remove him.

I suggest to the army that get consent form the SC and use relevant constitutional article to sack the govt and be done with it. But dont stay in power, install a caretaker govt.

These PPP SOB's do not deserve to be in power. All are chor, uchakkey, luterey.

freshnkool

1. they buy it with public money on a low price then spend public money to develop it and keep the profit in their own pockets
2. no army in world runs business empires its the easiset way to corrupt an army dear army officers are involved even in bank robberies if you dont belive read hamod ur rehman commission report where army officers admited it thats why it was not allowed to publish

i did not deviate from topic all i said gernerals stay in their contituational role if they IK blame others for corruption becuase he himself is clean but when generals blame civilans for corruption or doing favors to usa then its exactly same like nawaz shrif blame zardari for corruption when nawaz himself is drown in corruption head to toe.

if a government does not deliver or is corrupt only public can change them in contituational way just as IK says, generals have no right to assert themseleves on civilian goverment and thats what has destroyed paksitan because the hunger for power of generals does not statisfy ever.

M_mian

1. they buy it with public money on a low price then spend public money to develop it and keep the profit in their own pockets
2. no army in world runs business empires its the easiset way to corrupt an army dear army officers are involved even in bank robberies if you dont belive read hamod ur rehman commission report where army officers admited it thats why it was not allowed to publish

i did not deviate from topic all i said gernerals stay in their contituational role if they IK blame others for corruption becuase he himself is clean but when generals blame civilans for corruption or doing favors to usa then its exactly same like nawaz shrif blame zardari for corruption when nawaz himself is drown in corruption head to toe.

if a government does not deliver or is corrupt only public can change them in contituational way just as IK says, generals have no right to assert themseleves on civilian goverment and thats what has destroyed paksitan because the hunger for power of generals does not statisfy ever.

Correct the information. As far as my knowledge is concerned, everyone has to pay to buy a plot in DHA and through that money it is bought (the land). The beneficiaries are civilians as well. I got my plot in a ballot, even being a civilian.
Can you justify that money out of your tax is being spent on keeping the idiot like Haqqani as a 'guest' in PM house???
Are the parliamentarians including PM not being paid out of the revenue collected from us???? Where the hell this jingoistic PM is justified, who has multiplied his assets for 300% in these four years?

canadian

Naa sirf kuch nahin kiaa balkey mulk kou mukammal tor per tabah o barbaad ker diaa hai !