George Ka Khuda Hafiz I

Geek

By George Fulton
Published: March 1, 2011
George-New11111-640x480.jpg

For the past nine years, I have been in a dysfunctional relationship. My liaison started somewhat unexpectedly, quickly becoming an all-consuming passionate love affair. My partner reciprocated strongly, bestowing deep affection and adoration upon me. Blinded by love, I was naive to her failings. Yes, at times she was self-destructive, irrational and grossly irresponsible, but I hoped by appealing to her natures better angles she could change. Instead, as the years progressed, and, supported by her friends in the media, she corroded, simultaneously displaying signs of megalomania and paranoia. Once the relationship turned abusive and I feared for my life, I decide to call it quits. Today, the divorce comes through. Her name is Pakistan. And today, I am leaving her for good.

This was not a difficult decision to make. In fact, I didnt make the decision. It was made for me. You do not chart your own destiny in Pakistan; Pakistan charts it for you. Its emigration by a thousand news stories. I am aware that bemoaning the state of Pakistan as a final shot appears churlish and arrogant. After all, I have the luxury to leave many others do not. Nor do I want to discredit the tireless work of the thousands who remain to improve the lives of millions of Pakistanis. They are better men and women than I. Pakistan has also given me so much over the years. It was Pakistan who introduced me to the love of my life. And it was upon her manicured lawns that we married, and upon her reclaimed soil that we set up our first home. She brought the love of a new family and new friends into my life. And it was Pakistan that witnessed the birth of my son, Faiz named after one of her greatest sons.

She embraced me like no other gora post-9/11. I appeared in a documentary/reality series titled George Ka Pakistan. It allowed me to explore the country. I ploughed fields in the Punjab, built Kalashnikovs in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa (probably couldnt do that now), and mended fishing boats in Balochistan. The culmination of the series saw the then prime minister, Shaukat Aziz, confer Pakistani citizenship upon me, after the viewing public voted overwhelmingly to make me one of them. I was their George. Fame and affection followed.

But that love was conditional. Conditional upon me playing the role cast the nave gora. The moment I abandoned the Uncle Tom persona and questioned the defined establishment narratives whether through my television work or columns excommunication began. No longer a Pakistani in the eyes of others, my citizenship evidently was not equitable to others.

So, as I depart, I could go with my reputation tarnished, but still largely intact. Or I could leave you with some final words of honesty. Well, true love values honesty far more than a feel-good legacy. So here goes.

Pakistan, you are on a precipice. A wafer-thin sliver is all that stands between you and becoming a failed state. A state that was the culmination of a search for a Muslim space by the wealthy Muslims of Northern India has ended up, as MJ Akbar recently pointed out, becoming one of the most violent nations on earth, not because Hindus were killing Muslims but because Muslims were killings Muslims.

The assassination of Salmaan Taseer saw not only the death of a man but also represented for me the death of hope in Pakistan. I did not mourn Taseers death. I did not know the man. But I mourned what he represented the death of liberal Pakistan. The governors murder reminded us how far the extremist cancer has spread in our society. A cancer in which I saw colleagues and friends on Facebook celebrate his murder. A man murdered for standing up for the most vulnerable in our society a Christian woman accused of blasphemy. He committed no crime. Instead, he questioned the validity of a man-made law a law created by the British that was being used as a tool of repression.
In death, the governor was shunned, unlike his killer, who was praised, garlanded and lionised for shooting Taseer in the back. Mumtaz Qadri became a hero overnight. But Qadri is not just a man hes a mindset, as eloquently put by Fifi Haroon. Fascism with an Islamic face is no longer a political or an economic problem in Pakistan, its now become a cultural issue. Extremism permeates all strata and socio-economic groups within society. Violent extremists may still make up a minority but extremism now enjoys popular support. As for the dwindling moderates and liberals, they are scared.

Pakistan does not require a secret police, we are in the process of turning upon ourselves. But then what do you expect when your military/intelligence nexus and their jihadi proxies have used religious bigotry as a tool of both foreign and domestic policy. It is ironic that the one institution that was designed to protect the idea of Pakistan is the catalyst for its cannibalisation. Christians, Ahmadis, Shias and Barelvis have all been attacked in the past year. Who will be next? Groups once funded and supported by the state have carried out many of these attacks. And many jihadi groups still remain in cahoots with the agencies.

So as I leave Pakistan, I leave her with a sense of melancholy. Personally, for all my early wide-eyed excitement and love for the country and its people, Pakistan has made me cynical, disillusioned and bitter over time. I came here with high hopes, adopting the country, its people and the language. I did find redemption here but no longer.
Published in The Express Tribune, March 2nd, 2011.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/125853/george-ka-khuda-hafiz--i/

Assalam-o-alaikum
Is this Taseer, extremist, secret agencies nexus or RAYMOND DAVIS issue.. I dont want to link him as CIA asset because i have no knowledge, but many are leaving Pakistan in the light of SO CALLED REVOLUTION / ANARCHY / BLOODSHED episode. May ALLAH save all of us from these evil plans.
Recently Australian diplomats were called off from Karachi & lahore, now he is leaving..
ALLAH knows best..

Good bye Georgie boy!
Sorry the things did not work out for you but don't even think of Pakistan becoming of a failed state.
We know our weaknesses and are working hard to fix it sooner than you think, inshAllah.
And please take your ex-love and Faiz with you. Why leave them in a would-be failed state?

A.Ali.T

Good bye Georgie boy!
Sorry the things did not work out for you but don't even think of Pakistan becoming of a failed state.
We know our weaknesses and are working hard to fix it sooner than you think, inshAllah.
And please take your ex-love and Faiz with you. Why leave them in a would-be failed state?

MK Malik
Malik bhai, I respect your emotions, but could you please tell me who is working hard to fix our problems and what are they doing in this respect?

MTZ9211

Well this is a tragic news and probably sums up where we are taking our beloved country Pakistan. I watched a few of the "Kiran and George" shows a few years back and was pleased to see a positive aspect of our society that appeared to welcome the likes of George but as he has mentioned it was all a pipe dream and now he has woken up to the reality. I had very similar conclusions when Salman Taseer was murdered and the murderer Qadri adored by the majority. Earlier, they had threatened and succeeded in evicting the greatest scholar Pakistan has produced since Allama Iqbal--yes i am talking about Javed Ahmed Ghamdi. What a pity that he now has to hide in another (more tolerant)muslim country, Malaysia. Truly a sad state of affairs!

I feel your pain George and regret that it had to end this way..but you made the right decision to leave and live in peace someplace else.

MK Malik
Malik bhai, I respect your emotions, but could you please tell me who is working hard to fix our problems and what are they doing in this respect?

Bro Ali.T

In order to solve a problem, we have to diagnose it first. In my opinion, problms facing Pakistan are mainly three fold.
Terrorism
law and Order
Corruption.
Pakistani armed forces have done a tremendous job regarding terrorism, bringing Swat under control to South Waziristan and now to North
to bring the suicide attacks to an almost complete halt. If they some how succeed in stopping the drone attacks and eliminate this third hand
involved in the killings, they have this problem pretty much under control.
Law and Order situation in the country, worst as ever, is the main cause of killings, rape,looting and kidnaping for ransom. With an independent judiciary
under CJ Iftikhar Chaudhary, we are now seeing actions being taken against these elements regardless. A news appears in the paper and a suo moto the next day.
Our Supreme Court is full of cases of corruption and loot, be it haj scam, Punjab bank, Pakistan Steel, NICL, fake degrees and many others. though the corrupt elite governing class not co-operating, I see progress every day.
And the most important institution and I am proud of it, is our free media, digging and reporting, with out any fear, many cases of corruption and bad governance of the ruling elite as well as the opposition, day in and day out. No wonder these talk shows are so popular.
The biggest achievement of this free media, I think is the political awareness it has created among masses, of who is good and who is bad, who is honest and who is not. The fact that your vote has a value and the power to kick this parasite out, has made the ordinary folks yearning for a change. I am sure, in the next election
the bad and the ugly will be screened out and only the good ( like Ik ) will end up on the top. Believe me, one person, aik aadmi, honest and sincere, at the top is all that is required to fix the problem.
I thought you knew it already!

Baseer Khan

Hasta La Vista, baby (bye)

I am not familiar with George and his familiarity as I am living outside Pakistan for many years now but I can understand what mindset he has by reading his Farewell note, no matter how realistically he conveys the situation in his some paragraphs, he still tried his level best to tell us that Everything has finished while in fact the intellectuals have sensed and predicted a complete change in the society which off-course will have positive affects on us and our generations. George is blaming Pakistans situation for his failure of integration with our society or he's simply finding a reason to escape from here, we must not forget that its not about George or Salman Taseers type [elite class] people, its about the ordinary Pakistani, who is failing from decades to feed and educate his children, its about a tribal Pakistani who is paying the price of leaders corruption and weaknesses.

Yes, Pakistan is changing and people living here are knowing the root causes of their problems and they have the best diagnosing tool of revolution with them so they are preparing themselves for the system and society treatments and despite of the fact that it will make Millions Happy, it will also hurt hundreds of thousands who have ever dreamed to see Enlightened Moderate Pakistan which completely contradicts the vision of Iqbal's Pakistan.

So bye bye Mr. George, the change was inevitable and it had to come, InshaAllah Pakistan will survive and emerge according to Allama Mohammed Iqbals vision for this Nation, your views are nothing and we can stamp it as Not Applicable at this moment but we still thank you for your Love with this soil.

Long Live Pakistan, Pakistan Zindabad

P.S: (I am not going into the debate of Salman Taseers murder and murderer)

pakiace

after reading all this foremost i lament the tragic travesty of their divorce - and pray to Allah for a better future for their son as i know how it is like to live without a fathers shadow above your head, secondly personally i think george's integration in pakistan and his reason to be here had a meaning - a meaning a reason which vehemently coherent's george's trip to pakistan and what only and all can i think of at the moment is raymond davis
just like gray comes from black and white you never know if the world proclaims us black what is the white element in us
long live pakistan - and george before calling us a failed state, you are a failed military state - a decade and still fighting in afghanistan :)
wish u all the best of luck for another decade

Assalam-o-alaikum
Is this Taseer, extremist, secret agencies nexus or RAYMOND DAVIS issue.. I dont want to link him as CIA asset because i have no knowledge, but many are leaving Pakistan in the light of SO CALLED REVOLUTION / ANARCHY / BLOODSHED episode. May ALLAH save all of us from these evil plans.
Recently Australian diplomats were called off from Karachi & lahore, now he is leaving..
ALLAH knows best..

These Liberals would always talk about the Death of Salman Taseer but wouldn't mention killings of Three By Davis
(and his other colleagues ) and the Death of Innocents in Bombings and Drone Attacks..

Only the Blood of Liberals is Valuable but the Blood of Innocents is just like the blood of Hens...

What a hypocrisy of these Liberal Extremists...?

swing

o jaa paee George we dont need George.

YAHA KAYEE George AYEE AUR KAYEE GAYEE.

M

mimran301

Hello George,

If sarcastic nature of our politics was not helping you to move on, here is one more anecdote for your help. Now add '' Minority minister Shahbaz Bhatti''s death for more lamenting. Founding fathers of this country used to say proudly, ''we will make Pakistan, a laboratory of Islam, where people of Pakistan will make experiments to make Pakistan a Leader of Islamic world''. Now Islamists are trying hard in that laboratory to make it totally pure country, where only they will live. They are killing almost every significant person on their way. I tell you their is no chance that they will ever stop.
Somebody said,'' only good Muslim are those, who do not practice Islam at all''. Soon perhaps we have to agree with this quote. As Islamists will not leave any Christian or Hindu alive. Christians are being killed brutally and Hindus are fleeing to India. Death Angels are roaming in every street of Pakistan. Only in 2011 so for, 22 case of blasphemy has been registered. We will see all that Puritans will terminate them to make country total Pak-istan.So my message to Georgie boy '' Pakistan sey zinda baagh'' and I tell you, soon you will consider yourself lucky one.

Initially I thought it was funny that people started calling him a CIA agent but now that I think about it, it is just sad.

Going by this logic these guys shouldn't call out the West when they label every Muslim living among them as a terrorist.

(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap)(clap) aap ki analytic skills and analogies ka khuda hi hafz

These Liberals would always talk about the Death of Salman Taseer but wouldn't mention killings of Three By Davis
(and his other colleagues ) and the Death of Innocents in Bombings and Drone Attacks..

Only the Blood of Liberals is Valuable but the Blood of Innocents is just like the blood of Hens...

What a hypocrisy of these Liberal Extremists...?

Just_one

George admitted he was not a better man to stay and fight the situation and he left. He sincerely tried to integrate into Pakistani society and I believe he was a good man. But don't expect too much.

We don't need to ridicule him.

When a ship is in troubled waters it's the mice like George Fulton who escape first only to see a few days later that nothing bad happened!. I was never keen on this man who seems to be a bit of a freak show in the first place so he won't be missed however we should be certain that he is never allowed in Pakistan ever again!

The term "failed state" can never be defined, i will say that many nations over the decades have become greatly important from also ran's so even if Pakistan is a "failed state" at present the condition need not be permenant!. So Georgy boy don't hit the door on your way out because Pakistan needs people who are bold and brave not cowards like you!

Salik

George Ka Khuda Hafiz... Aftershocks...

fulton-pakhater-1.jpg

An Englishmans Anti-Pakistan Rant
An anti-Pakistan racist, George Fulton and his Pakistani wife were turned into highly-paid and high-flying celebrities by Pakistani television networks. A previous government naturalized him as a goodwill gesture. Now he pays back the favor by calling Pakistanis degenerates and pooping on the country.
GHALIB SULTAN | Thursday | 3 March 2011 | ZoneAsia-Pk.com
WWW.PAKNATIONALISTS.COM
ISLAMABAD, PakistanGeorge Fulton, a.k.a. George the foreigner, who became a Pakistani citizen thanks to a dictators Prime Minister, has been true to form. After nine years, he has written two columns (Pakistani newspaper Express Tribune March 2 and 3) to say Khuda-Hafiz in our words, and Good-bye in his, to Pakistan.
In these columns, he has castigated Pakistans military and intelligence services and the mullahs, implying a nexus between the three that, in his opinion, is harming Pakistan. This is what most westerners say, and they say so when their designs are thwarted and they come up against the bulwark that defends Pakistan, and in doing so, earns their wrath. What Pakistanis consider as their assets are made out to be liabilities and attacked relentlessly. Small wonder that our larger eastern neighbor, and the Western-backed segments on our western border, join the chorus; even adding new twists and insinuations. George the ex-Pakistani is no exception.
To be fair to the Pakistani George (assuming that he has not turned in his citizenship) he has some good things to say about Pakistanat least about those with whom he could relate and interact. He does not say anything about the brutal massacres of Muslims and Christians in India by crazed fanatic Hindu mobs, which thank God has no parallels in Pakistan.
Nor does he talk about the brutality of the Hindu-dominated military and para-military forces in Kashmirthe rapes, the tortures and the killings. These do shape opinions and reactions in Pakistan even if the naked aggression by India that broke Pakistan in two 1971 is forgottennot that it is or ever will be.
He is critical of our nuclear weapons but says nothing about what drove Pakistan to get them. He writes about Pakistani society but this society is no different from societies elsewhere in the worldall have warts, injustices, corruption, vice, drugs, violence, exploitation, haves and have-nots; the good, the bad and the ugly. And like many other societies, Pakistan is going through a transitional phase.
This does not say that there are no problems in Pakistan. There are serious problems that the state is addressing against great odds. The average Pakistani, like the average person in all other countries, wants peace, security, health care, education and the opportunity to work and play without fear for the security of his loved ones. It is the resilience of this average Pakistani that has enabled the state of Pakistan to survive and make progress.
Fulton, while fulminating, did not have much to say on this. He also seems to have forgotten that the destabilization and radicalization of Pakistan is in direct proportion to the US/NATO aggression in Iraq and Afghanistan without any reasonin fact, on the basis of distorted facts and often outright lies. Small wonder then, that the US and NATO stock is so low in the Muslim countriesand falling.
Khuda-Hafiz George, and may you be safe from dangers wherever you go to find what you did not find in Pakistan.
Pakistanis will not miss you.
Extracted from the original post published by ZoneAsia-Pk.com

Re: George Ka Khuda Hafiz... Aftershocks...

Thousands of Pakistani are leaving or trying to leave the country for similar reasons yet this guy who of all the places CAME to live here, adopted the land, married a local , assimilated into the society quite well is being taken apart now for leaving becasue he doesnt feel safe here!
How does that make him a bad person?
Why should he talk about problems in India?
He is living in Pakistan as a PAKISTANI and does not have the same delusions of grandeur or paranoia that we have so we should listen to his concerns instead of berating him.
He came here of his free will and he is free to leave as he pleases just like the rest of the born-and-bred-here Pakistanis are.

Re: George Ka Khuda Hafiz... Aftershocks...

Thousands of Pakistani are leaving or trying to leave the country for similar reasons yet this guy who of all the places CAME to live here, adopted the land, married a local , assimilated into the society quite well is being taken apart now for leaving becasue he doesnt feel safe here!
How does that make him a bad person?
Why should he talk about problems in India?
He is living in Pakistan as a PAKISTANI and does not have the same delusions of grandeur or paranoia that we have so we should listen to his concerns instead of berating him.
He came here of his free will and he is free to leave as he pleases just like the rest of the born-and-bred-here Pakistanis are.
I agree with you. We should not curse him on speaking truth. Millions of Pakistani criticise on Pakistan and its people. Many leave Pakistan also for good. It is all OK. We should keep our hearts big.

canadian

You arent the only one, George !! By: Seema Raza Bukhari !!

You arent the only one, George

By Seema Raza Bokhari
Published: March 8, 2011

Seema-Raza-Bokhari-New-640x480.jpg

The writer works in the ministry of commerce and holds a masters in public administration from Harvard Universitys Kennedy School of Government

George Fulton bade farewell to Pakistan. He is not the only one. But his departure will be explained away as a naive gora fleeing in panic, suffering from the security syndrome endemic in all the foreigners in this country, or a seriously paranoid soul eager to take flight lest he is mistaken for Raymond Davis or confused with someone that might have supported Taseer or Bhatti when the two were alive, that is. All other reasons are meaningless ravings of a man who never belonged here.
It may be unusual for George to part with a sense of melancholy, having spent only nine years here, but for many Pakistanis who mull over this route, fearful it might be their final fate after having spent a lifetime here, it is not just melancholic; it is heart-ripping. And more so when a majority of them are educated, liberal, forward-looking and honest Pakistanis. As George leaves now, it may not be surprising that many like him have already left silently or are quietly flexing their tired wings for the final flight.
The rising trend in a growing number of educated and harmless Pakistanis, to acquire foreign nationality, no matter how infinitesimal a percentage they make up of the 170 million, is a glaring sign that the water has reached dangerous levels and, if not checked, will be over the bridge soon. These are perfectly sane people, clear-headed and not led by any self-styled misconceptions. Among many other disadvantages of education is one that it induces rational thinking. And this is where all the arguments for this country run into a mesh of failed indicators; not all economic in nature by the way. While fiscal problems can be fixed no matter how dire, how does one deal with mental deviation, rational absurdity and straw-thin parochial perspectives trapped in diminutive minds simply incapable of harbouring a broader, all-encompassing vision?
As an increasing number of thinking, scared Pakistanis seem to be working on an exit strategy with the same seriousness as they plan their monthly budgets, it is common to observe daily conversations turn invariably to this subject. How a foreign passport can be a backup guarantee a lifesaver when the going gets tough is the oft repeated concern of people trying to think and decide rationally. One wonders at all this confusion sprouting from the best of minds having razor sharp views about integrity, honesty and a deep seriousness of purpose. These characteristics may be the precursors of a reasonably good and successful life in any civilised society but not in ours. Or so it appears.
What makes the situation even more alarming is the fact that people who have literally pushed the country to the precipice (as George observes), also have an escape strategy up their sleeve. There are, therefore, two distinct categories looking for a safe exit. Those, who feel intellectually suffocated, emotionally repressed and hounded by the consequences of saying and doing what is right, and those who have so much ill-gotten wealth piled up on their platters that they can conveniently stash away a part of it in foreign and offshore bank accounts, either investing in foreign citizenship or shoring up for a trouble-free life in a safe haven away from the turbulence when the rocking boat finally capsizes. It is even more upsetting to see that a large number of these dual nationality seekers belong to none other than the political and bureaucratic circles, in charge of and under oath of allegiance to the country, planning to abandon ship at the first sign of danger.
So, all the heaviness of heart is for George to bear; nothing to grieve for those who are glad to get rid of anyone and everyone who dares differ with their views and beliefs. As for those awaiting a lifetime of luxury in foreign lands once the heap of gold is big enough, they are least confused about identities. Money, as is said, knows no boundaries, no nationalities. So, dont take it to heart George. You are not the only one!
Published in The Express Tribune, March 9th, 2011.(http://tribune.com.pk/story/129571/you-arent-the-only-one-george/)