Early Marriages in Different religions.

foqia khan

How well people know history, particularly their own? This is a reminder of how ignorant they are towards their grandparents and (?) faith.

1). Major (seemingly oldest) religion of the east, Hinduism, finds it's roots in early marriages of the girls. Child marriage of daughters 5-6 years old was common due to the custom of dowry and to avoid scandals [Nand 17] [Basham 167-8] [Yadav 70] [Altekar 16] [Banerjee 70]. Hindu Law books prescribe that the best partner for a man in one-third his age. Thus a man 18 year old should marry a girl 6 years old!
"A man, aged thirty years, shall marry a maiden of twelve who pleases him, or a man of twenty-four a girl of eight years of age; if (the performance of) his duties would otherwise be impeded, he must marry sooner." [Manu IX.94]

This was meant to prevent any scandals. Narada states that some of the defects to be avoided in brides are if they already had a relationship with another man or have their minds set on another, they should not be selected [Sheth 67].

So, what we have to keep in mind is, not only was it a custom in the Arab society as well, to Engage/Marry a young girl it was also common in the other olden world societies.

2). Mary the Mother of Jesus (pbuh) was married to Joseph who was 93 years old when she was only 12 years. ( it is biblical view that Mary was married to Joseph,which Islam totally rejected. )

3). The Age of Consent was changed in the U.S during 1885 through 1914. In fact the state of Delaware, the Age of Consent was as young as 7 years old.
http://womhist.alexanderstreet.com/teacher/aoc.htm

3) Historically as well as Scientifically girls and boys who reach puberty are considered ADULTS.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Age_of_consent

4) The normal age when a girl reaches puberty is between the age of 8-to-13.
http://medfusion.net/ihealth/

http://kidshealth.org/kid/grow/body_stuff/puberty.html

http://pediatrics.about.com/cs/polls/l/blpoll_puberty.htm

http://www.keepkidshealthy.com/welcome/conditions/delayed_puberty.html

http://www.healthsystem.virginia.edu/uvahealth/peds_diabetes/prcopbty.cfm

5) The youngest mother to be ever recorded was a 5 year old Peruvian girl.

http://scienceroll.com/2006/12/09/the-youngest-mother-ever/

http://www.snopes.com/pregnant/medina.asp

6) The West youngest mother's ranging from as young as 10, 11, 12, ect years old.

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/content/abstract/50/4/637

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-385968/Girl-11-Britains-youngest-mother.html

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/4572219.stm

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1644344/?tool=pmcentrez&page=1

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/cgi/content/abstract/50/4/637

http://www.pubmedcentral.nih.gov/pagerender.f...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/low/talking_point/3153634.stm

7) Teen pregnancy is becoming an epidemic in the West and girls are reaching puberty at age 7 now.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/4530743.stm

This issue deals with ETHICS and MORAL values in a given period. So the question still remains, do you consider your grandparents to be "pedophiles" for marrying your grandmothers at a young age?

Lastly ,request u all to read this Best article to answer the hypocrites on the related subject.
http://www.islamic-awareness.org/Polemics/aishah.html
(plz no negative comments).

contra

Re: Some Historical and scientific facts of marriages in past

foqia bhai,
1. "Hindu Law" is not followed in India. We follow the British Common Law.

2. There is a consensus that the "Hindu Law" is outdated, to a certain extent impractical and against children's and women rights.

3. Nobody says that Hinduism is perfect or without faults.

4. Hinduism doesn't claim Superiority or Finality.

Whatever Hindu law states about child marriage etc. is wrong and outdated and should not be followed, and is not being followed, as i said earlier, we follow the Common Law.
And any Indian trying to support his wrongdoing by giving reference to ancient Hindu Law is condemned and criticised.

niazi

JazakAllah foqia for sharing important information.

taul

---Jazak-Allah khair...Very informative for all.

nation1857

foqia bhai
can u please give the source of Hindu marrige law i want research more

Admin

nation1857 said:
foqia bhai

Foqia sounds like a girl name?

admin said:
nation1857 said:
foqia bhai

[pk flag] LOL

Yes she is a very decent lady to deal with. very informative, highly educated, well behave, I regard her as my sister.

contra

abbasiali said:
admin said:
nation1857 said:
foqia bhai

[pk flag] LOL

Yes she is a very decent lady to deal with. very informative, highly educated, well behave, I regard her as my sister.

:mrgreen: Sorry, didn't know that "foqia" is a female name.
And she never corrected me either...

abduttawwab

very informative post!

foqia said:
2). Mary the Mother of Jesus (pbuh) was married to Joseph who was 93 years old when she was only 12 years.

Is this correct?
Wasn't she a virgin?

[Quran 19:18-20]
She said, .I seek refuge with the All-Merciful (Allah) against you, if you are God-fearing..
He said, .I am but a message-bearer of your Lord (sent) to give you a boy, purified..
She said, .How shall I have a boy while no human has ever touched me, nor have I ever been unchaste?.

abduttawwab said:
very informative post!

foqia said:
2). Mary the Mother of Jesus (pbuh) was married to Joseph who was 93 years old when she was only 12 years.

Is this correct?
Wasn't she a virgin?

She said, .I seek refuge with the All-Merciful (Allah) against you, if you are God-fearing..
He said, .I am but a message-bearer of your Lord (sent) to give you a boy, purified..
She said, .How shall I have a boy while no human has ever touched me, nor have I ever been unchaste?.
Brother Abduttawab,
AOA
Seeing you after a while, hope you have been doing great,
My apology, you are very right, pointing out an error, I am sure Foqia must have explanation for this, will edit as soon she will reply, in what context she had written point no 2.
AH

foqia khan

abduttawwab said:
very informative post!

foqia said:

Is this correct?
Wasn't she a virgin?

Thanks for pointing this thing coz I forgot to mention that this is only biblical view which was totally rejected by Islam.
there are many christain websities according to which Mary was married to Joseph after dilivering Jesus (pbuh).you can check the following links

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_(mother_of_Jesus)
http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/08504a.htm
I 'm very busy so sending only two links,hope that will be enough.

foqia said:
abduttawwab said:
very informative post!

foqia said:

Is this correct?
Wasn't she a virgin?

Thanks for pointing this thing coz I forgot to mention that this is only biblical view which was totally rejected by Islam.
there are many christain websities according to which Mary was married to Joseph after dilivering Jesus (pbuh).you can check the following links

Dear Sister Foqia,
Thanks for being with us for this clarification from your most precious and busy time,

Brother Abduttawab,

Would you please verify and confirm your satisfaction with this clarification.

Regards.

foqia khan

nation1857 said:
foqia bhai

A breif history of Dharmasastra by sures Chandra Banerji google books

http://books.google.com/books?id=Urakx- ... 94&f=false

http://www.fact-archive.com/encyclopedi ... :Hindu_law

Women in Indo-Aryan Societies:
http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Ithaca/ ... html#alone

detailed history about Aryan
http://www.geocities.com/Athens/Ithaca/ ... l_ind.html

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Rizzw ... n_Hinduism

Genocide of Women in Hinhuism by Sita Agarwal
http://us.geocities.com/realitywithbite/hindu.htm#1

Bret Hawk

Although I do believe on this scientific fact that puberty is the main factor of determining the adulthood of a boy and girl rather than the superficial concept of tying the sexual matureness of an individual with age. But still I want to mention few of things which relates to this post that the age factor among different religions and states of the world in the past (And still in present era as well) relating to the girls is nothing but an absurd method to defend the age old controversy of respectful mother of Maumineen Ayesha Razi Allah Hu Anhu.

Many scholars of Islam in the Sunni world and also a big majority of Ulema of Shia sect including the historians contest vehemently and categorically the baseless Hadith of Sahih Bukhari which asserts that the age of Ayesha RA’s at the time of her marriage with our beloved Prophet Salal Lahu Alihi Wasalam was not 9. In fact some Shia scholars believe that prior to Ayesha RA’s marriage with Prophet PBUH she was a divorcee of another Sahabi Rasul PBUH. But most of the historians believe that Hazrat Ayesha RA was a full fledged adult at the time of her marriage to our Holy Prophet PBUH. The prime example they quote was that in Mauwatta of Imam Malik (The famous and the earliest collection of Hadith collection of Islamic history) there was not even a hint of Ayesha RA’s age in that famous collection. Many of the works of earliest scholars of Islam when they used to inquire about the age of Ayesha RA with the people of Madina after that famous Hadith circulation which pertains to that controversy in Sahih Bukhari, the residents of Medina by and large used to refute that Hadith categorically and always maintained that Prophet PBUH and Ayesha RA used to stay in Madina even after the conquest of Makkah in 8 AH. So which people are more authentic about the lives and events of our Nabi SAW the inhabitants of Medina or the people of other regions who happened to spread that baseless Hadith related to the tender age of honourable mother of the Muslims Ayesha RA?

It is to be noted that Imam Bukhari was of Persian origin and lived most of his life in Bukhara, Nishapur and other regions of Iraq, and that regions of Iraq later became the centre of many dissident and deviant Najdi tribes of Banu Tamim and Banu Hanifah. The same tribes, which revolted against the Muslim Caliphate of Ali Ibn Abi Talib Razi Allah Anhu and Ummayiad dynasty throughout in their reigns. Many schools of theology and jurisprudence were emerged in those regions of Iraq and history has proved that though many good things happened in that regions but many fabricated Hadiths and ideologies were also emerged in order to malign and slander different Sahaba Kiraam in order to propagate the veracity and piousness of their own sects and their affiliated Sahabis. In short I don’t believe that Sahih Bukhari is that authentic as many Sunni Muslims believe and springboard it to the level of that authentic collection which claim to be only below to the Mushaf of Holy Quran. We should shatter these concepts of deification of some personalities and upholders of main religious school of thoughts without giving proper critical attention on their works and the immanent defects in it with impartial mindset. In short we don’t have to contend with non Muslims that our Prophet PBUH married a 9 year old girl although she might have gained the age of puberty at that age. Simply we can state that Hadith seems to be fabricated and baseless according to some deep analysis of historical facts and the related social and political environment of that era.

Bret Hawk

abduttawwab

foqia said:
abduttawwab said:
very informative post!

foqia said:

Is this correct?
Wasn't she a virgin?

Thank you sister for the clarification!

abduttawwab

abbasiali said:
Dear Sister Foqia,
Thanks for being with us for this clarification from your most precious and busy time,

Brother Abduttawab,

Would you please verify and confirm your satisfaction with this clarification.

Regards.

Dear Brother AbbasAli,

Really appreciate the way you are looking after this forum as a moderator. Keep up the good work!

Regards