Cyril Almeida on what PTI should be doing to defeat PMLN in Punjab 2018

M Ali Khan

I find Cyril's advice a lot more effective than the bakwas "Nawaz Modi Ka Yaar" chooran being thrown around that does NOTHING.
A winning strategy?

ELECTIONS, elections, elections. Everyones talking about them, no one is expecting them; most of the smart money is on 2018. But savvier minds are turning to something else: can the PTI win and what would a winning strategy look like?

There is one, a mix of what Imran and PTI are already doing and a great deal of what they arent. But its wrapped in a puzzle: when his rivals can see a path to victory for him, why isnt Imran taking it?

Lets start with what Imran is doing right: battering the N-League and reminding Punjab that its been pretty much ruled non-stop for three decades by Sharifs who have grown their wealth immeasurably in the same period.

That has a twin potential electoral benefit. It stops Nawaz from becoming mythical, an untouchable colossus, and it elevates Imran because hes the one doing the attacking to Nawazs equal.

Imrans relentless attacks have kept Nawaz in electoral range. Oye Nawaz, indeed.

Then therere the bits Imran is doing semi-right. Key among them: hes gradually positioned the PTI as the default anti-PML-N option in Punjab. The demise of the PPP and the crumbling of the PML-Q have helped the process along Punjab is effectively a battle between the N-League and PTI.

What Imran has done right here, in an electoral sense anyway, is to adjust to the old way of politics instead of forcing the PPP and PML-Q candidate and voter into a PTI straitjacket of so-called clean politics. It is basically a strategy of electables and it is dangerous for the PML-N because of the way Punjab works.

The PTI has made no effort to pull together the strands of a potentially winning coalition of voters against the PML-N.

Nowhere, barring maybe a couple of seats in Lahore, does the PML-N face zero opposition in Punjab. Theres always a political family and non-PML-N vote bank in every constituency, even where the N-League has hefty leads.

Bringing all of that together under an anti-PML-N umbrella can boost its potency: where the PPP, PML-Q and anti-N-League candidates and voters have become individually hopeless, together they could be in a position to challenge the PML-N.

Battering the PML-N and positioning the PTI as the default anti-PML-N option make good electoral sense. The problem for the PTI is that pretty much is where the good news ends.

For some, as yet inexplicable reason, the PTI has made no effort to pull together the strands of a potentially winning coalition of voters against the PML-N. The voters exist, they can be seen by the PML-N itself and allies of the PTI too, but Imran has baulked at assembling them together.

It comes down to three basic constituencies. Three constituencies that are all to some degree or the other unhappy with the PML-N and may be looking to switch, each for reasons of their own: farmers, exporters and traders.

Start with the most talked about lot: farmers. Whether its because of depressed commodity prices, spiky input prices, plain old bad government policies or a combination of all three, farmers are unhappy.

And when farmers are unhappy, they tend to turn their ire on the government of the day either to pressure it into giving more handouts to agriculture or with the intention of punishing it electorally.

The bad thing for a government facing agrarian anger is that farmers tend to vote, are organised at the constituency level and react to a few, narrow set of factors factors working against the PML-N this term.

A smarter Imran would be out there campaigning in rural Punjab. But he isnt.

Next, the exporters. Behind those shrinking exports lie tales of real pain: small businesses shuttering; the big boys, with their capital-intensive production, consolidating; and jobs being lost.

Up and down central and northern Punjab, the stories are grim and economic toll real. As Imran concentrates on Lahore, Punjabs small big cities are hurting: Kasur, Faisalabad, Sheikhupura, Gujranwala, Sialkot.

Imran is wasting his time in Lahore and Islamabad. A smarter Imran would be out there campaigning in the export hubs, in industrial Punjab. But he isnt.

Finally, therere the traders and small businesses. To keep the deficit down while driving up spending, the government has had to resort to heavy taxation.

But instead of the hard, economically sound way the government has taken the easy, economically damaging way: relying on a spate of taxation measures that are linked to turnover and consumption, not actual incomes.

The withholding tax on banking transactions exemplifies the problem. Instead of a documentation measure, its become a revenue-generation measure. Hence, even if youre a filer you still pay withholding tax and God help you if you try to recover it at year-end from the taxman.

Elsewhere, stories abound about an FBR run amok in fantastical cases, about money being directly siphoned off from private bank accounts. The holders remain quiet because they dont want further trouble.

All of that adds up to real drama and simmering anger. The pro-business PML-N has assembled a record of an anti-business, tax-and-spend party this term.

A smarter Imran would be out there, gathering up the trader/small business vote bank, preaching the PTIs business philosophy and policy blueprint, and promising to do better. But he isnt.

Can the PTI win? Yes. What would a winning strategy look like? Its in plain sight:

Batter the Sharifs; position the PTI as the default anti-PML-N option; and woo the three major constituencies farmers, exporters and traders/small businesses that have reason to look beyond the PML-N.

But it isnt happening. And no one really knows why. Maybe not even Imran.

The writer is a member of staff.

[email protected]
Twitter: @cyalm
Published in Dawn September 11th, 2016

http://www.dawn.com/news/1283371/a-winning-strategy

Hate_Nooras

Cyril is a talented writer but as far as i know, he has shied away from writing about the Panama scandal in any depth. He sees the "boys" everywhere but never the corruption of the Nooras. I wonder why?

mrk123

PTI should ignore the analysis of drawing room journos like this christian bhangi and instead focus on finding 120 electables for punjab based on surveys done in each constituency. Also need to find 250 electables for provincial assembly in punjab. Keep in mind that federal govt without having provincial govt in punjab is useless in punjabi dominated civil and military bureaucracy.

Why start with a derogatory epithet? You may disagree with his analysis but just dismissing it based on his faith seems bigoted.

When the drawing room analysts write in favor of PTI and praise IK non-stop then you wouldn't have an issue or you would call that analysis flawed and deserving to be thrown in the dustbin?

IK is doing what he has done almost for the last 20 years. And, its not working. Its all about winning elections and he doesn't seem to have figured out how he can do it. He claims that people are with him and that he knows how to win elections but the sad fact is that he has no clue. Bhutto, being a Sindhi, won Punjab but IK has not been able to make significant inroads in Punjab.

Politically, IK is not very smart, as in being sharp in electoral politics. Trust me if he didn't have the charisma and was not a celebrity then he would have faded away a long time ago.

I think he wasted too much of his time on dharnas and rallies etc. He couldn't read the situation very well. You didn't have to take a PhD to figure out that if a PPP government led by Zardari and his corrupt gang and hated by the establishment could complete a 5 year term then there is no chance in hell to make Sharifs' government to go home early.

Now coming back to electoral politics. The drawing room analyst is right that IK should be focusing on 2018 and should be doing something different because his continuation of the same strategy is bound to fail. Trust me, he may even lose seats in Punjab if stays on the same path.

There is evidence that he has not spent anytime on organizing his party. Heck he was not even able to sort out the claims of election fraud in the intra party election. I never hear him talk about democracy within the party anymore as he has realized that its not an easy thing to handle and has given up on it. Not exactly sure if he can't make things work in his own party then how can he be expected to fix anything in the country.

I think that he should have concentrated on KPK. Made it a model that would be envy of people of other provinces. Tried to expand his base. The writer is right that unless you are able to give a tough fight and win in rural Punjab then you shouldn't expect to win. Plus he abandoned Karachi and urban Sindh altogether.
He let the gains made in the last elections in Karachi by not being present and letting the organization of the party in Karachi be in shambles.

The problem that has dogged him is that he thinks that he can lead like he did in his playing days when he was the captain. That only he understood the intricacies of the game among the team (which was true in that context) and only he can guide those 10 other players to victory. Well, you could do that with in a cricket pitch with 2-3 exceptional players at your disposal and with a lot of luck but you can't do that with in electoral politics of a place as messy as Pakistan.

I think that the message should be that doing more of the same will not get him better or different results.

He is running out of time and this will be the last chance for him. If he doesn't get his act together then get ready for more of the same for another 5 years starting in 2018.

mrk123

Cyril is a talented writer but as far as i know, he has shied away from writing about the Panama scandal in any depth. He sees the "boys" everywhere but never the corruption of the Nooras. I wonder why?

Well, he is the big picture guy.

He concentrate on the boys because they are the ones who really matter in the bigger scheme of things.

If he is advising IK on how to win the elections then that should be a giveaway that he doesn't really love the Sharifs.

arafay

Why start with a derogatory epithet? You may disagree with his analysis but just dismissing it based on his faith seems bigoted.

When the drawing room analysts write in favor of PTI and praise IK non-stop then you wouldn't have an issue or you would call that analysis flawed and deserving to be thrown in the dustbin?

IK is doing what he has done almost for the last 20 years. And, its not working. Its all about winning elections and he doesn't seem to have figured out how he can do it. He claims that people are with him and that he knows how to win elections but the sad fact is that he has no clue. Bhutto, being a Sindhi, won Punjab but IK has not been able to make significant inroads in Punjab.

Politically, IK is not very smart, as in being sharp in electoral politics. Trust me if he didn't have the charisma and was not a celebrity then he would have faded away a long time ago.

I think he wasted too much of his time on dharnas and rallies etc. He couldn't read the situation very well. You didn't have to take a PhD to figure out that if a PPP government led by Zardari and his corrupt gang and hated by the establishment could complete a 5 year term then there is no chance in hell to make Sharifs' government to go home early.

Now coming back to electoral politics. The drawing room analyst is right that IK should be focusing on 2018 and should be doing something different because his continuation of the same strategy is bound to fail. Trust me, he may even lose seats in Punjab if stays on the same path.

There is evidence that he has not spent anytime on organizing his party. Heck he was not even able to sort out the claims of election fraud in the intra party election. I never hear him talk about democracy within the party anymore as he has realized that its not an easy thing to handle and has given up on it. Not exactly sure if he can't make things work in his own party then how can he be expected to fix anything in the country.

I think that he should have concentrated on KPK. Made it a model that would be envy of people of other provinces. Tried to expand his base. The writer is right that unless you are able to give a tough fight and win in rural Punjab then you shouldn't expect to win. Plus he abandoned Karachi and urban Sindh altogether.
He let the gains made in the last elections in Karachi by not being present and letting the organization of the party in Karachi be in shambles.

The problem that has dogged him is that he thinks that he can lead like he did in his playing days when he was the captain. That only he understood the intricacies of the game among the team (which was true in that context) and only he can guide those 10 other players to victory. Well, you could do that with in a cricket pitch with 2-3 exceptional players at your disposal and with a lot of luck but you can't do that with in electoral politics of a place as messy as Pakistan.

I think that the message should be that doing more of the same will not get him better or different results.

He is running out of time and this will be the last chance for him. If he doesn't get his act together then get ready for more of the same for another 5 years starting in 2018.

you are another drawing room analyst with nothing to add to the discussion except some hotch potch theories. Pakistanis dont vote based on performance. if they did, pakistan wouldnt be a failed state. besides why would a guy in layyah, dg khan be concerned with kpk performance?

The key to forming federal govt is to win at least 70 seats from punjab. In order to win in punjab you need strong candidates much like rest of sindh and balochistan. Party vote exists only in karachi/hyderabad and cities of kpk.

In addition to forming federal govt, you also have to form provincial govt in punjab otherwise punjab can handicap the federal govt very easily. This is what ctbt did to PPP.

mrk123

you are another drawing room analyst with nothing to add to the discussion except some hotch potch theories. Pakistanis dont vote based on performance. if they did, pakistan wouldnt be a failed state. besides why would a guy in layyah, dg khan be concerned with kpk performance?

The key to forming federal govt is to win at least 70 seats from punjab. In order to win in punjab you need strong candidates much like rest of sindh and balochistan. Party vote exists only in karachi/hyderabad and cities of kpk.

In addition to forming federal govt, you also have to form provincial govt in punjab otherwise punjab can handicap the federal govt very easily. This is what ctbt did to PPP.

Hodge podge may be?

if cyril is a christian bhangi to you then i would not even register while you walk the beat on the streets of layyah.

learn to engage in a decent discussion instead of getting personal.

if you think about it, pti formed the government in kpk because the people there voted based on the performance of their previous government.

keep doing more of the same but call it change then we will talk in 2018.

hopefully by that time you will grow up a little and stop getting personal.

arafay

Hodge podge may be?

if cyril is a christian bhangi to you then i would not even register while you walk the beat on the streets layyah.

learn to engage in decent discussion instead of getting personal.

if you think about it, pti formed government kpk because the people there voted based on their previous government.

keep doing more of the same but call it change and we will talk in 2018.

hopefully by that time you will grow up a little and stop getting personal.

im sorry if your are a christian or bhangi but most bhangis are christian. cyril guy is christian and his analysis that of a bhangi.

Based on the reverse migration trend of pathans leaving karachi for their villages (3 chokidars in my building have gone back to kpk in the last 3 years) and the movement of electables (influentials are joining PTI when at this stage they would be leaving incumbent govt for their next destination), I am sure PTI will again form government in KPK unless something extraordinary happens.

Hate_Nooras

Well, he is the big picture guy.

He concentrate on the boys because they are the ones who really matter in the bigger scheme of things.

If he is advising IK on how to win the elections then that should be a giveaway that he doesn't really love the Sharifs.

How many of his articles are evenly moderately critical of the Nooras? I don't accept that this guy has great wisdom, if the boys were in charge, where are the charges for Modal Town?

uturninqlab

مانو نیازی کو الیکشن جیتنے کے لئے تگڑے امیدوار میدان میں اتارنے ہوں گے جو نہ صرف اپنے حلقہ انتخاب میں باثر ہوں بلکہ مالی لحاظ سے بھی مضبوط ہوں ،،،ا وفاقی اور پنجاب حکومت کی مجموعی کارکردگی الیکشن کے نتائج پہ بہت اثر انداز ہوں گے ، اس کے لئے ضروری ہے کہ مانو عوام کو قائل کر لے کہ نواز اور شہباز زرداری سے ہزار درجہ برے ہیں اور زرداری کا دور نواز دور سے ہر لحاظ سے بہتر تھا ،،،پانامہ ، ملکی اور غیر ملکی قرضوں کا شور مچانے کی بجائے ایسی سٹریٹجی اپنائی جانی چاہیئے جس میں کشش ہو ،،،کرپشن کرپشن کے بارے اتنا ڈھول پیٹا جا چکا ہے کہ اس پہ اب لوگ اتنا زیادہ ری ایکٹ نہیں کرتے۔

mrk123

How many of his articles are evenly moderately critical of the Nooras? I don't accept that this guy has great wisdom, if the boys were in charge, where are the charges for Modal Town?

If you are a big picture guy why would you want to write about the corruption of political elite in Pakistan?

Its a well known fact! Everyone in the media is talking about it. Just tune in to any Pakistani news show.

No one is saying that what he is prescribing is what will definitely help PTI win elections but that tells you that he is doing what he is paid to do that is provide
his analysis and in this case he is supposedly doing PTI a favor.

Its not that IK has ever listened to any sane advice previously.

As for the boys, they are predisposed to failing due to their lack of understanding and incompetence when it comes to anything that doesn't require brute force.
If the boys were that bright then Pakistan would have made real good progress when they were solely in charge of the affairs of the country.

I didn't say that the boys were in charge right now rather that they are the ones who really matter in the big picture.

mrk123

im sorry if your are a christian or bhangi but most bhangis are christian. cyril guy is christian and his analysis that of a bhangi.

Based on the reverse migration trend of pathans leaving karachi for their villages (3 chokidars in my building have gone back to kpk in the last 3 years) and the movement of electables (influentials are joining PTI when at this stage they would be leaving incumbent govt for their next destination), I am sure PTI will again form government in KPK unless something extraordinary happens.

What exactly are you sorry for?

You lose the argument as soon as you start calling people names or insulting them.

As for KPK, you are contradicting yourself. So people in Pakistan don't vote based on performance unless its the people of KPK?

Porus

You lose the argument as soon as you start calling people names or insulting them.

As for KPK, you are contradicting yourself. So people in Pakistan don't vote based on performance unless its the people of KPK?

Admire your perseverance.

What you are doing is akin to teaching kindergarten kids. Good luck.

Kamboz

Performance in KPK will matter a lot, as you have something to show for. His opponents have always called on him to cencentrate on KPK and show progress. Here he has a chance to show that if he can change a province he can certainly deliver for the country.
Inter-party elections were a disaster since two three splinter groups appeared in every major city all claiming to be the real PTI and became enemies, hence Party suffered.
There is so much going on besides Panama Leaks, those facts should be brought forward in front of the common man.

mrk123

Admire your perseverance.

What you are doing is akin to teaching kindergarten kids. Good luck.

When I have a little down time I "waste" my time like this :)

Sometime I feel that our compatriots have a circuit breaker that controls the flow of common sense and decency.
What trips that switch is anything resembling even close to the criticism of their favorite political personality that they worship blindly.

Haristotle

When I have a little down time I "waste" my time like this :)

Sometime I feel that our compatriots have a circuit breaker that controls the flow of common sense and decency.
What trips that switch is anything resembling even close to the criticism of their favorite political personality that they worship blindly.

If you are looking for common sense and decency you should run from this web site as fast as you can and never look back. People don't come here to make an argument, they come to insult anyone who dares to go against their bread maker.

With that I must admit that you defended the writer of the article in a manner he might have not done himself, I wonder if mrk123 is Nom De Plume for Mr. Ameida.

Ahmad Rameen Alizai

ن لیگی کارکنوں کا خیبرپختونخوا اسمبلی پر دھاوا۔۔۔ خیبرپختونخوا اسمبلی کی دیواروں " پر چڑھ کر ن لیگ کے جھنڈے لگادئیے " jahan pr democratic institutions hijacked hutay hon - jahn pr supremecourt pr hamlay karna koi maanay nahi rakhta ho - jahan key sab say baray province ki police duniya ki courrupt tareen forces maen apna naam likha chuki ho - jis mulk kay primeminister or uskay khandaan ka naam duniya key naami garami corrupt logon maen shamil hu -- jo khandan panama jesay corruption key addon maen barh charh kr hissa daalta ho -- jis mulk ka finance minister corruption pr affidavit jaari krta ho or money laundering jesi corruption or chori ko likh kr kabol kr chukka ho - jis mulk ka finance minister jaali number assembly maen bataa ho or us per koi action tu door kii baat bulkay wo badastoor wahi beta ho -- jis mulk pr election commission marit pr nahi sifarish pr hu -- aesi kom ki kismat maen fascism ki saza hai -- wo qom apni saza kaatay or uski hi moot maray MR. ' MAROOF SAHAFI ' FASCISM MAY KISI TABKEY KEE NAHI SONNI JAATI. UNDEMOCRATIC EUROPE MEAN FASCISM KI MOT HAMESHA AWAAM KAY STREET PR NIKALNAY SAY WAQIYE HOI HAI . FASCISM KI ULAT DEMOCRACY (JAMBHORIYAT) HAI. DEMOCRACY KE OXYGEN 'JAMBHOOR - AWAM" HAI.. JAB TAK AWAAM - JAMBHORIAT OR APNA HAQ NAHI CHAHTI - AESI KOM KI KISMAT FASCISM HAI

Ahmad Rameen Alizai

[FONT=&amp]corruption fascist gang and undemocratic mindset has hijacked democratic institutions in Pakistan that is the major issue - Pakistani establishment and its institutions are totally corrupt, including GHQ - rest is bullsh*t. Your analysis may be true and valid for societies where working democracy and working institution exist. Ground reality is that Pakistan is NOT a democratic society. Since time of Gen Zia Pakistani system has been hijacked already by corrupt regime in power where almost non functional democratic institutions exist[/FONT][FONT=&amp]. It is fascism ! Your theory could be valid and accepted as true when you had functional institutions in functional democracy when all contestants would have been given equal ground. There is trust deficit among voters - majority of voters do not vote - Voters, vote do not count in fascism and undemocratic system. [/FONT][FONT=&amp]Your theory would be [/FONT][FONT=&amp]totally failed since it negates the ground reality.

[/FONT]
14233240_10153904697278061_3613776224383272742_n.jpg

Haristotle

ن لیگی کارکنوں کا خیبرپختونخوا اسمبلی پر دھاوا۔۔۔ خیبرپختونخوا اسمبلی کی دیواروں " پر چڑھ کر ن لیگ کے جھنڈے لگادئیے " jahan pr democratic institutions hijacked hutay hon - jahn pr supremecourt pr hamlay karna koi maanay nahi rakhta ho - jahan key sab say baray province ki police duniya ki courrupt tareen forces maen apna naam likha chuki ho - jis mulk kay primeminister or uskay khandaan ka naam duniya key naami garami corrupt logon maen shamil hu -- jo khandan panama jesay corruption key addon maen barh charh kr hissa daalta ho -- jis mulk ka finance minister corruption pr affidavit jaari krta ho or money laundering jesi corruption or chori ko likh kr kabol kr chukka ho - jis mulk ka finance minister jaali number assembly maen bataa ho or us per koi action tu door kii baat bulkay wo badastoor wahi beta ho -- jis mulk pr election commission marit pr nahi sifarish pr hu -- aesi kom ki kismat maen fascism ki saza hai -- wo qom apni saza kaatay or uski hi moot maray MR. ' MAROOF SAHAFI ' FASCISM MAY KISI TABKEY KEE NAHI SONNI JAATI. UNDEMOCRATIC EUROPE MEAN FASCISM KI MOT HAMESHA AWAAM KAY STREET PR NIKALNAY SAY WAQIYE HOI HAI . FASCISM KI ULAT DEMOCRACY (JAMBHORIYAT) HAI. DEMOCRACY KE OXYGEN 'JAMBHOOR - AWAM" HAI.. JAB TAK AWAAM - JAMBHORIAT OR APNA HAQ NAHI CHAHTI - AESI KOM KI KISMAT FASCISM HAI

خدا معلوم لوگوں کو کب سمجھ اے گی کے تقدس صرف قومی اسمبلی کا ہوتا ہے وہ بھی جب نواز شریف کی حکومت ہو، ورنہ تو سپریم کورٹ بھی کچرے کا ڈھیر ہوتی ہے

arafay

yes history teaches that KPK has been ruthless with all parties who havent performed,.

However, what drawing room analysts fail to realize is that kpk has only 34 NA seats. Punjab has 148 NA seats + 2 from Islamabad.

Even if you make kpk dubai, you cannot make federal govt because kpk has only 34 NA seats. you would rather fail in kpk badly and win punjab handsomly and this is exactly what pmln does.

this is what bhangi cryril and you dont seem to understand. You drawing room analysts keep blaberin about dharna when in fact dharna made it possible for PTI to even compete in rural punjab where PTI wasnt an unknown phenomena in 2013. Without dharna PTI cant expect more than 30 seats in punjab in 2018 but with dharna they can now score 80 with survey based candidates. No all punjabis know there is a party called PTI and its symbol is bat.

in short your argument is wrong and you are trying to side track the discussion. cyrla almed and his type of bhangis know nothing outside karachi/lahore.