CNN Breaking News: Osama bin Laden is dead!!

IndiaGuy

Osama bin laden dead

c1main.binladen.afp.gi.jpg

t1larg.bin.laden.gi.jpg

(CNN) -- DNA matching is under way on samples from the body of slain terrorist leader Osama Bin Laden, a U.S. government official told CNN on Monday.
There are photographs of the body with a gunshot wound to the side of the head that shows an individual who is not unrecognizable as bin Laden, the official said.
No decision has yet been made on whether to release the photographs and if so, when and how.
The mastermind of the worst terrorist attacks on American soil was killed by U.S. forces Monday in a mansion in Abbottabad, about 50 kilometers (31 miles) north of the Pakistani capital of Islamabad, U.S. officials said.
Four others in the compound also were killed. One of them was bin Laden's adult son, and another was a woman being used as a shield by a male combatant, the officials said.
Bin Laden's body was later buried at sea, an official said. Many Muslims adhere to the belief that bodies should be buried within one day.

The official did not release additional details about the burial, but said it was handled in keeping with Muslim customs.
The death of the founder and leader of al Qaeda comes almost 10 years after the September 11, 2001, attacks that killed about 3,000 people.
In an address to the nation Sunday night, U.S. President Barack Obama called bin Laden's death "the most significant achievement to date in our nation's effort to defeat al Qaeda." Washington is nine hours behind Pakistan.
"Today, at my direction, the United States launched a targeted operation against that compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan," Obama said. "A small team of Americans carried out the operation with extraordinary courage and capability. No Americans were harmed. They took care to avoid civilian casualties. After a firefight, they killed Osama bin Laden and took custody of his body."
A congressional source familiar with the operation said bin Laden was shot in the head.

The killing of bin Laden was the culmination of years of intelligence work and months of following a specific lead, senior U.S. administration officials said.
The key break involved one of the few couriers trusted by bin Laden, according to the officials. About two years ago, intelligence work identified where the courier and his brother lived and operated in Pakistan, and it took until August to find the compound in Abbottabad that was raided, they said.
According to the senior administration officials, intelligence work determined at the beginning of 2011 that bin Laden might be located at the compound.
Obama chaired five National Security Council meetings from mid-March until late April, with the last two on April 19 and April 28 -- last Thursday.
On Friday morning -- even as he visited Alabama's tornado-ravaged areas -- Obama gave the order for the mission, the officials said.
Senior Obama administration officials believe the compound was built five years ago for the specific purpose of hiding bin Laden. U.S. forces carried out several so-called "practice runs" in order to minimize casualties.
Footage that aired Monday on CNN affiliate GEO TV showed fire and smoke spewing from the compound where bin Laden was killed.

One resident in the city of Lahore said Monday she was stunned to hear bin Laden was in the country.
"But was it really him?" the woman said.
A senior national security official told CNN that officials had multiple confirmations that the body was bin Laden's, saying they had the "ability to run images of the body and the face."
A resident in Abbottabad, who did not want to be fully identified, said he was wary of making any personal statements or giving his reaction to the news. But he said the house where bin Laden allegedly was killed has been occupied by many people for the past five years.
Half a world away, the scene outside the White House was one of pure jubilation.
Hundreds reveled through the night, chanting "USA! USA!" Others chanted "Hey, hey, hey, goodbye!" in reference to the demise of bin Laden. Many also spontaneously sang the national anthem.
In New York, a cheering crowd gathered at ground zero -- the site where the twin towers of the World Trade Center stood before bin Laden's terrorist group flew two planes into the buildings on September 11, 2001. Strains of "God Bless America" could be heard intermittently trickling through the crowd.

One former New York firefighter -- forced to retire due to lung ailments suffered as a result of the dust from ground zero -- said he was there to let the 343 firefighters who died in the attacks know "they didn't die in vain."
"It's a war that I feel we just won," he said. "I'm down here to let them know that justice has been served."
Bob Gibson, a retired New York police officer, said the news of bin Laden's death gave him a sense of "closure."
"I never thought this night would come, that we would capture or kill bin Laden," he said. "And thank the Lord he has been eliminated."
The news also brought some relief to family members of those killed on 9/11.
"This is important news for us, and for the world," said Gordon Felt, president of Families of Flight 93, which crashed in a field in Shanksville, Pennsylvania, on 9/11. "It cannot ease our pain, or bring back our loved ones. It does bring a measure of comfort that the mastermind of the September 11th tragedy and the face of global terror can no longer spread his evil."
Bin Laden eluded capture for years, once reportedly slipping out of a training camp in Afghanistan just hours before a barrage of U.S. cruise missiles destroyed it.
He had been implicated in a series of deadly, high-profile attacks that had grown in their intensity and success during the 1990s. They included a deadly firefight with U.S. soldiers in Somalia in October 1993, the bombings of two U.S. embassies in East Africa that killed 224 in August 1998, and an attack on the USS Cole that killed 17 sailors in October 2000.

In his speech, Obama reiterated that the United States is not fighting Islam.
"I've made clear, just as President Bush did shortly after 9/11, that our war is not against Islam. Bin Laden was not a Muslim leader; he was a mass murderer of Muslims," Obama said.
The Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR), a Muslim civil rights and advocacy organization, welcomed the death of bin Laden.
"As we have stated repeatedly since the 9/11 terror attacks, bin Laden never represented Muslims or Islam. In fact, in addition to the killing of thousands of Americans, he and al Qaeda caused the deaths of countless Muslims worldwide," the statement said.
While the death of bin Laden "is a significant victory," the war on terrorism is not over, said Frances Fragos Townsend, former Homeland Security adviser to President George W. Bush.
"We've been fighting these fractured cells. We've seen the U.S. government, military and intelligence officials deployed around the world," Townsend said. "By no means are these other cells nearly as dangerous as he is, but we will continue to have to fight in chaotic places."
U.S. diplomatic facilities around the world were placed on high alert following the announcement of bin Laden's death, a senior U.S. official said, and the U.S. State Department issued a "worldwide caution" for Americans.
The travel alert warned of the "enhanced potential for anti-American violence given recent counter-terrorism activity in Pakistan." Some fear al Qaeda supporters may try to retaliate against U.S. citizens or U.S. institutions.
But for now, many Americans were soaking up the historic moment.

"It's what the world needed," said Dustin Swensson, a military veteran Iraq and joined the revelers outside the White House. "(I'll) always remember where I was when the towers went down, and I'm always going to remember where I am now."

Source: http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/asiapcf/05/02/bin.laden.dead/index.html?hpt=T1&iref=BN1

dukelondon

Shame on the ISI and MI. It has just been confirmed that the Americans conducted the operation and our army came only after it was over. Where is our sovereignty. Can you imagine the depth of CIA's network in Pakistan. Unbelievable man!!!!!

IndiaGuy

How U.S. forces killed Osama bin Laden

t1larg.osama.obit.one.afp.gi.jpg

(CNN) -- In the dark of night, U.S. helicopters approached a high-walled compound in Pakistan on a mission to capture or kill one of the world's most notorious terrorist leaders.
Less than 40 minutes later -- early Monday morning in Pakistan -- Osama bin Laden was dead, along with four others inside the complex, and the U.S. forces departed with the slain al Qaeda leader's body to fulfill a vow that originated shortly after the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks on the United States.
Speaking from the White House Sunday night, U.S. President Barack Obama announced the successful raid. Senior administration officials provided further details on the assault on the compound they believe was built five years ago for the specific purpose of hiding bin Laden.
The compound is in Abbottabad, about 50 kilometers (31 miles) north of the Pakistani capital of Islamabad. The city sits in a mountainous region of Pakistan and is not heavily populated. Many of the residents are army personnel.

While senior administration officials would not offer a breakdown of the U.S. mission's composition, a senior defense official said U.S. Navy SEALs were involved.
After years of intelligence work and months of following a specific lead, they traced a courier linked to bin Laden to the compound in Abbottabad.
When first built, the compound was secluded and reachable by only a dirt road, the officials said. In recent years, more residences built up around it, but it remained by far the largest and most heavily secured property in the area, they said.
The mission ordered Friday by Obama encountered outer walls up to 18 feet tall topped with barbed wire, with two security gates and a series of internal walls that sectioned off different portions of the compound, the senior administration officials said. The main structure was a three-story building with few windows facing the outside of the compound, and a third-floor terrace had a seven-foot privacy wall, they said.

Gallery: Osama bin Laden
Where bin Laden was killed
While senior administration officials would not offer a breakdown of the U.S. mission's composition, a senior defense official said U.S. Navy SEALs were involved.
After years of intelligence work and months of following a specific lead, they traced a courier linked to bin Laden to the compound in Abbottabad.
When first built, the compound was secluded and reachable by only a dirt road, the officials said. In recent years, more residences built up around it, but it remained by far the largest and most heavily secured property in the area, they said.
The mission ordered Friday by Obama encountered outer walls up to 18 feet tall topped with barbed wire, with two security gates and a series of internal walls that sectioned off different portions of the compound, the senior administration officials said. The main structure was a three-story building with few windows facing the outside of the compound, and a third-floor terrace had a seven-foot privacy wall, they said.
Months of intelligence work determined that the compound was custom-built to hide a high-value terrorism suspect, almost certainly bin Laden. The officials noted there was no telephone or Internet service at the dwelling, which was valued at more than $1 million, and its occupants burned their trash, rather than leave it out for collection like other area residents.
Calling the U.S. operation a surgical raid, officials said it was conducted by a small team and designed to minimize collateral damage. Upon landing, the team encountered resistance from bin Laden and three other men that resulted in a firefight.
In the end, all four of the combatants in the compound were dead, along with a woman whom one of the men used as a human shield, the officials said. Sources said bin Laden was shot in the head.
At some point, one of the assaulting helicopters crashed due to a mechanical failure, according to the officials. It was destroyed as the U.S. team flew away, they said.
Obama and the senior administration officials said no U.S. forces were harmed in the operation, which took place very early Monday morning Pakistan time.

U.S. officials said they used a number of methods to identify the body as bin Laden.
One official said it was clear to the assault force that the body matched bin Laden's description, but they used "facial recognition work, amongst other things, to confirm the identity."
A senior national security official told CNN that they had multiple confirmations that the body was bin Laden, saying they had the "ability to run images of the body and the face."
Another U.S. official told CNN that bin Laden has already been buried at sea. The official said his body was handled in the Islamic tradition, but did not elaborate.
A senior administration official also said bin Laden's body would be "handled in accordance with Islamic practice and tradition. This is something that we take very seriously, and so therefore this is being handled in an appropriate manner."
According to the senior administration officials, intelligence work determined at the beginning of 2011 that bin Laden might be located at the compound in Pakistan. By mid-February, the intelligence was considered strong enough to begin considering action pledged by Obama when bin Laden's whereabouts had been determined.

To discuss that intelligence and develop a plan, Obama chaired five National Security Council meetings from mid-March until late April, with the last two on April 19 and April 28 -- last Thursday. The next day, on Friday, Obama gave the order for the mission, the officials said.
The key break involved one of the few couriers trusted by bin Laden, according to the officials. About two years ago, intelligence work identified where the courier and his brother lived and operated in Pakistan, and it took until August of last year to find the compound in Abbottabad raided Sunday, they said.
"When we saw the compound where the brothers lived, we were shocked by what we saw -- an extraordinarily unique compound," one senior administration official said. "The compound sits on a large plot of land in an area that was relatively secluded when it was built. It is roughly eight times larger than the other homes in the area."
Noting that the courier and his brother had no discernible source of wealth to live at such a property, intelligence analysts concluded the compound was "custom-built to hide someone of extraordinary significance," the official said, adding: "Everything was consistent with what experts thought Osama bin Laden's compound would look like."
Another senior administration official told reporters that Obama's administration did not share intelligence gathered beforehand with any other country -- including Pakistan -- for security reasons. The official said that only a small group of people inside the U.S government knew about this operation in advance.
However, a senior Pakistani intelligence official said members of Pakistan's intelligence service, the ISI, were on site in Abbottabad during the operation. There was no way to immediately resolve the apparent discrepancy.

Source : http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/asiapcf/05/02/bin.laden.raid/index.html?hpt=T1

samar

It is shameful that some people are supporting this terrorist, the killer of 30,000 innocent pakistani civilians, the killer of 5000 of our police ad armed forces.

Be happy that he is dead. I heard on the news he was using his wife as a shield to protect himself during the attack. Shameful

Hadd ho gaee ye poorey pakistan ki izzat uchal rahee he tumhain usamey ki bivi ki paree he...............kuch khuda ka khaof karo ..........bhaar me gaya usama agar abtabad jesey secure area me aisa operation ho sakta he to kahoota b nhi bach sakta...........

apney zati nafrat ko choro mulk ka socho ..............Allah rehm krey

samar

Shame on the ISI and MI. It has just been confirmed that the Americans conducted the operation and our army came only after it was over. Where is our sovereignty. Can you imagine the depth of CIA's network in Pakistan. Unbelievable man!!!!!

Its rubbish the reality is army was there on ground stopped police who went there after the blasts..............

Ye kisi general ne apni maan ka sauda kia he vrna its imossible k abbottabad me aisey sarr e aam 1 ghantey tk ye kaam hota rahey.

concern_paki

Well, that is a milestone that they have shown to the world which they have achieved in their whole project, it will also help in bringing Obama back to the power, now the pressure on Pakistan would be enormous as they have shown the whole world that Osama was hiding in the base of Pakistan Armed city, and if do not have have full powers in their bases so how they can simply protect their nuclear weapon from terrorists ...... Of-course they want Pakistan to cease all the nuclear power plants and also to halt all nuclear related activities ........ an they will pressurize Pakistan much more like Iran ... however, Iran did take all the pressure.... do you think guys are our politicians or armed forces are capable to enough to take that pressure from USA and from all other G8 and western countries...... and then they will start to put bans on you ...... ultimately a decision of war can be taken as well against Pakistan..... it is simple as they do not want to vacate this important region ..... they just like to stay here with all their forces... and Pakistan said no to drone attacks and it is just to put a new pressure on Pakistan and I do not think they would like to stay in Afghanistan as well... as they have already lost a lot in that war......and they are sure if they stay in Pakistan .... they will not get such opposition ....as they know it very well and also they have verified it again by Raymond Davis case .... that in Pakistan har cheez ki qeemat hai .... aur cheez kahridi ja sakti hai ..... bus paisa hona chhaiye ... paisa phenko tamasha dekho .... phir woh izzat ho ...... naam ho .... shohrat hooo... kisi ki jaan ho .... kisi aur ki izzat ho ........ we sell everything out there in the market ..... and everyone knows that very well worldwide .......

faqira786

did any body see a body of OBL???????

Who is going to accept his boyd and take to graveyard?

Who is going to confirmed that OBL is dead just week ago?

dukelondon

It has been reported that after Saudi Arabia refused to accept his body, he was buried at the sea instead of in a grave on land. The reason given is that if was buried anywhere on earth, maniacs would make a tomb out of his grave and use it as source of inspiration. All these are reports but Allah(SWT) knows best.

jagbani

yes you are right.if laden is dead then why didnt they show his body...?
i dont think he is dead yet
Breaking News - Osama bin Laden Killed in American missile strike - CNN

American can make the whole WORLD fool and everyone will accept this specially in western world.

riverblue

The fight against terror goes on, but tonight America has sent an unmistakable message: No matter how long it takes, justice will be done," Mr Bush said in a statement

loolll!!! justice it is huh!!! now more justice will be done to the people of pakistan when the so called al qaeda launches its "revenge" attacks

Dear Pappu,
Pakistan will further live and live long. We are very strong nation. We have proved this many times. Only if you see our Unity during earthquake or floods you will also get worry. Inshallah this matter we will defend.

I have few reports that Talibans planing entering India. You must be worried now.
Amen brotha
People like gazoo and wanderer have appreciated and liked this post.
I seriously wonder if taliban enters India, who should be worried more pakistan or India.....just think. :)

Obama did mention '....in coperation with intelligence counterpart of Pakistan.....'

So therefore Pak fully cooperated in the raid to catch a fake Bin Laden

Narcissist

Ashes of his body is throwing in ocean...so terrorists cannot abduct or attack somebody to claim his body back. Simple explanation comes to my mind.

simple_and_peacefull

if in your view all are mardood then what you about their two masters I mean US & UK.
Pehlay Zia mardood
Phir Sadaam mardood aur us ki napaak auladein
Phir Qaddafi mardood ki gandi aulaad. Qaddafi abhi baqi hai laiken InshaAllah bohat jald wo bhi ****** ki tarah maara jaiy ga
Phir Osama mardood aur us ki napaak aulaad
Who's next ? The mardood rule of Yemen? Khalifa mardood of Bahrain?? Shayateen Aal-e-Saud?

Fawad Digital Outreach Team US State Department

جو راۓ دہندگان فورمز پر اسامہ بن لادن کی موت کو پاکستان پر امريکی دباؤ بڑھانے کی سازش سے تعبير کر رہے ہيں، وہ يہ بھول رہے ہيں کہ دہشت گرد سرغنہ کو کيفر کردار تک پہنچانا کئ برسوں سے ہمارا واضح کردہ مشترکہ مقصد رہا ہے۔ اس تناظر ميں اسامہ بن لادن کی موت پاکستان کی اپنے ہدف کے حصول ميں کاميابی بھی ہے۔

صدر اوبامہ نے امريکی عوام سے اپنے خطاب ميں پاکستانی افسران کے کردار کو بھی اجاگر کيا

"پاکستانی حکام اس امر سے متفق ہيں کہ يہ دونوں اقوام کے لیے ايک اچھا اور تاريخی دن ہے۔ مستقبل ميں يہ اشد ضروری ہے کہ پاکستان القائدہ اور اس سے منسلک گروہوں کے خلاف ہماری لڑائ ميں ہمارا ساتھ دے۔"

سيکرٹری کلنٹن نے بھی اپنے بيان میں پاکستانی حکومت اور فوج کی کاوشوں اور سپورٹ کو خراج تحسين پيش کيا

"ہماری شراکت دارياں بالخصوص پاکستان کے ساتھ ہمارے مضبوط تعلقات کی بدولت القائدہ اور اس کی قيادت پر شديد دباؤ بڑھانے میں مدد ملی"۔

امريکی حکومت نے ہميشہ پاکستان فوج کے سپاہيوں کی جانب سے دہشت گردی کے عفريت کے خاتمے کے ضمن میں دی جانے والی عظيم قربانيوں کو تسليم کيا ہے۔ اسامہ بن لادن کی موت پاکستان سميت پوری عالمی برادری کے ليے اہم فتح ہے کيونکہ ان کی مجرمانہ سرگرمیوں کے سبب گزشتہ کئ برسوں کے دوران ہزاروں کی تعداد میں پاکستانی شہری لقمہ اجل بن چکے ہيں۔

فواد ڈيجيٹل آؤٹ ريچ ٹيم يو ايس اسٹيٹ ڈيپارٹمينٹ

Re: Questions asked: BBC says Pakistanis were not informed about the operation

Where does go your sovereignty when Taliban beheaded innocent people and flog innocent women.
Where does go your sovereignty when Taliban destroyed 300 girl schools.
Where does go your sovereignty when when Taliban hung their flag in the air of Swat Vally.
American entered and end result....Osma bin Laden is dead.
end justify the means....simple.

United States killed more innocent people than Al qaida or Osama. Osama was a terrorist who killed also innocents. But how you favour US that they are doing right?

Taliban and Tehrike Talibans are 2 totally different Groups. Tehrike Talibans are led by Israel, India and United States. For short time Russian Spy were also involved.

* Tehrike Talibans bombed Schools in Pakistan.
* Tehrike Taliban were behind Swat Anarchy and they are still behind destabilising efforts of Pakistan. Mosques bombing is also their way of killing.

If you see in past Talibans in Afghanistan always denied bombings in Mosques and having any kind of contacts with Tehrike Taliban.

Raymond Davis was also one who was leading Tehrike taliban.

Things are much complexer than you read in newspaper or hear in western Media.