Aapas Ki Baat Najam Sethi Ke Sath - 1st Feb 2011

Just_one

One debate with Imran Khan on live TV and this clown of an intellectual would be demolished.

If Imran Khan does not know the "agla pichla of inqalaab", I wonder who does in his eyes.

Imran Khan views are very clear and sharp. He wants change through the ballot box. Najam Sethi hasn't got a clue.

He has had a grudge with Imran Khan (I don't know why) from the latter's cricketing days. You will be amazed to know that just before the 1992 world cup, this "political" commentator was writing articles about Imran Khan's old age and lack of ability to lead the team any longer - not to mention his alleged authoritarian captaincy! He was questioning Imran's conviction going into the world cup!

[bSethi didn't learn the lesson did he?[/b]

AbidDF

In my Opinion Sethi sahib was right when he was talking about lack of vision about 'revolution' in Pakistan among our leaders including Imran Khan.
If we study the great revolutions from past history then we can observe that those were mostly resulted in anarchy for some time until the leadership organized themselves to lead the change. Only great organized revolutions that I can see in the history is of Iran. Imam Khmeni worked for 35 years sitting in France for that revolution so that if one day you bring a change then next day you shold be able to smoothly run the institutions. He had all the work done before pushing for the final burst. Tell me if Imran Khan even has a competent 'Financial Expert' who will took the ministry and continue its working. Tell me if he has any idea how to deal with this corrupt society (I mean not only politicians and generals involved in corruption bt people on small posts just like 'Patwari' earn millions with corruption).
I respect Imran Khan and his views. In My opinion he's the most honest or probably the lesser evil amongst our leaders bt he doesn't seems to be matured enough. His ideas are concrete on paper bt he might not be able to apply those ideas.

Great words by Najam Sethi on Egyptian change. These type of changes will lead to a better world. But again we shouldn't expect much from new governments of Tenussia and Egypt to deliever as the damage of infrastructure (I mean the buildings that's been put in to fire and banks etc.) will be a challege to restore. Bt nonetheless the change is great and will lead to a changed world.

Abid Hussain
National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences , Islamabad.

Arslan PTI

One debate with Imran Khan on live TV and this clown of an intellectual would be demolished.

If Imran Khan does not know the "agla pichla of inqalaab", I wonder who does in his eyes.

Imran Khan views are very clear and sharp. He wants change through the ballot box. Najam Sethi hasn't got a clue.

He has had a grudge with Imran Khan (I don't know why) from the latter's cricketing days. You will be amazed to know that just before the 1992 world cup, this "political" commentator was writing articles about Imran Khan's old age and lack of ability to lead the team any longer - not to mention his alleged authoritarian captaincy! He was questioning Imran's conviction going into the world cup!

[bSethi didn't learn the lesson did he?[/b]
he will soon learn the lesson and well said just one bro............

mjzafar

Akhri sawal (question mark) is baikaar. Army is sold out already.....how can they bring inqilaab? Agar Army nay inqilab lana hota tau 1977 mai aata 1999 mai aata. Army comes in whenever they are not needed and hides in barracks when it is not needed. Fauj is waterless.....yeh mujhe or tumhe (different people) kidnap kr k jootay maar sakti hai but cannot work in the interest of the country. Ek drone tau gira nahi sakti ARMY or bahanay karti hai k we are waiting for government orders....LOL....have they ever followed or waited for the orders?? Biggest joke.

LOL, in Sethi programs (previously at Duniya and now at GEO) Sethi comes up as a Jotshi.

Najam Sethi, a coward, is saying all generals are mohib-e-watan. What a big LIE.
MQM is an establishment party, who has always aided with Army so MQM's demands should be ignored completely all the time. Good stance on MQM Mr. Sethi.

BTW, PPP government started saying we are not making any change to Blasphemy law, only after the sad death of Salman Taseer. As long as Raymond Davis case is concerned, if he is innocent (i.e. did everything in self defence) he should be released in that case. However, there is another case against him, which needs to be registered i.e. entering Pakistan with a false name and working against the interests of Pakistan.

BTW, Saudi Arabia needs it before Pakistan. All the implanted governments should be removed and new faces should come up. Saudi so called Kings (biggest traitors) need to go too.....
Its so unfortunate to see an American government in our HOLY LAND. Its something not sad but something to be extremely sad and cry about.

Yes, our media is very irresponsible. They should be very careful about this inqilab thing. We are in a very dangerous situation. There is a fear of disintegration of country. A miracle needs to happen, which is a miracle in Army ranks where the soldiers realize what they have been doing....During the inqilab if Army is not responsibly protecting the country, the inqilab could be dangerous for Pakistan.

Imran Khan is totally different from other politicians. He is not associated with any status quo. We need to realize that whole nation needs to support him in this. Najam Sethi you don't know what Imran Khan knows. He doesn't have the right support right now just because we are a nation of illiterate people. Najam Sahib, please go and see videos of Imran Khan in which he has responded on foreign channels. Imran Khan is the only leader who is able to speak up in front of foreign media and answer about terrorism and gives solutions. He also gives economic solutions.

Yes, in the end of program, what he says is right. We need to avoid anarchy in view of bringing inqilaab. We need the inqilaab to be very well planned.

mjzafar

In my Opinion Sethi sahib was right when he was talking about lack of vision about 'revolution' in Pakistan among our leaders including Imran Khan.
If we study the great revolutions from past history then we can observe that those were mostly resulted in anarchy for some time until the leadership organized themselves to lead the change. Only great organized revolutions that I can see in the history is of Iran. Imam Khmeni worked for 35 years sitting in France for that revolution so that if one day you bring a change then next day you shold be able to smoothly run the institutions. He had all the work done before pushing for the final burst. Tell me if Imran Khan even has a competent 'Financial Expert' who will took the ministry and continue its working. Tell me if he has any idea how to deal with this corrupt society (I mean not only politicians and generals involved in corruption bt people on small posts just like 'Patwari' earn millions with corruption).
I respect Imran Khan and his views. In My opinion he's the most honest or probably the lesser evil amongst our leaders bt he doesn't seems to be matured enough. His ideas are concrete on paper bt he might not be able to apply those ideas.

Great words by Najam Sethi on Egyptian change. These type of changes will lead to a better world. But again we shouldn't expect much from new governments of Tenussia and Egypt to deliever as the damage of infrastructure (I mean the buildings that's been put in to fire and banks etc.) will be a challege to restore. Bt nonetheless the change is great and will lead to a changed world.

Abid Hussain
National University of Computer and Emerging Sciences , Islamabad.

Dear Abid,
You have raised some very valid points and I fully appreciate your opinion. I believe Imran Khan has more than any other politician has in this time, so he is our best choice. Pakistan is in deep trouble. When nations face such situations and want to come out of it, some emergency measures need to be taken. It will be a hard job for anyone to mend the country. Right now if you think Imran Khan is not the guy, then who else is? Please nominate someone you think is right for the situation. Imran Khan has a vision and is honest guy. He has a vision how to eliminate corruption as well as how to bring financial stability to the country. We are a very rich country in terms of wealth under our land, it just needs to be taken out and traded with China, Iran, Turkey and some other countries. We can improve our financial situaion in 2 years by a great extent and then keep on improving it. In ten years we can be at a point we have not imagined.

If we keep on saying inquilab inquilab but don't have a leader, our country will face anarchy. If we wait for the right leader, our country becomes bankrupt and disintegrated (Baluchistan and FATA will be separated). So what is the best choice we have?

Please comment. I will look forward to getting your well thought out comments. Please consider the whole situation in mind and then come up with a solution.

Thanks

tiger54

great program Najam Sethi!! i am sure every literate person with any wisdom would view your analysis with open mind and agree with you !!!

Winnige

Last caller spoke the reality, considering his views from the last caller, i would conclude that Musharraf has huge chance to win the next elections, because poor considers basics of life the top element to judge the performance of any government and bottom line is that Musharraf's era was far better then now for poor or middle class. PERIOD, traitor, traitor, traitor, ab daalo word traitor ghareeb ke mun me

Just_one

Abid,

You are right that it is easy to talk about Inqalaab than to bring about one successfully. And Sethi might have a valid point on this.

However, this applies to leaders like Altaf Hussain who are talking about hanging fuedals on the next lamp post while sitting in London.

It does not apply on Imran Khan. Imran Khan has explicitly said that he does not want a bloody revolution nor he is hoping for one. In a recent interview, he said that he wants revolution through the ballot box and that the talk of bloody revolution is immature because it hardly brings any good.

So my point is that Sethi doesn't have a clue as to what Imran Khan's position is, in the light of what Imran Khan has said on the issue. Rather, due to his personal grudge of which there is evidence, he attacks a person who is probably the only real alternative to the current corrupt lot.

Imran Khan's views are very wise and practical in this regard, as already said, and he doesn't deserve Sethi's onslaught.

The irony is that Sethi's views are very close to Khan's views on the issue of inqalaab!

And I dare say you are also not fully aware of Imran Khan's views or have a firm grasp of his political ideology as you said he is not mature.

Moreover, I do not find the mentioning of a genuinely honest and accomplished person as the "lesser evil".

No my friend, he is not "evil", not even "lesser" one.

mjzafar

Last caller spoke the reality, considering his views from the last caller, i would conclude that Musharraf has huge chance to win the next elections, because poor considers basics of life the top element to judge the performance of any government and bottom line is that Musharraf's era was far better then now for poor or middle class. PERIOD, traitor, traitor, traitor, ab daalo word traitor ghareeb ke mun me

Pakistanis don't need just the better. Even if you think Musharaf was better, he is a ghaddar, not just coz he suspended the constitution but coz he sold out the country. Whatever you are seeing now is repurcusion of Musharraf's acts. Yes PPP is one of the worst to rule Pakistan. No disagreement with that. However, you need to know that Zardari has always been a money-maker. If the nation brings PPP into government, we deserve such thing. But Musharaf was powerful, with whose Army and ISI behind him. ISI is a secret government in Pakistan. When a general comes into power (Unfortunately), he is very powerful coz he has both apparent and secret government under his command. In such circumstances, Musharaf totally worked for US and Israel, totally forgetting that he was an armyman who had promised to defend his motherland. We do not need such S--s of b-----s to rule us again.

Please realize and make others realize that we should not act like beggers. Its these governments who have made us look like that. We should not just say keh ghaddar musharaf bahtar tha tau us ko lai aao. Rather we should look out for the right person. We don't have much time to keep on trying these old faces again and again. I think we have a great guy i.e. Imran Khan. People should instead of criticizing him, support him. Instead of saying he doesn't have a team, try to find out who is in his team. He has declared his team many times. Plus, do we like Zardari's team i.e. Rehman Malik, Qaira and Babar Awan?? And who is in Musharaf's team? You look at the leader and decide.