3 Indians among 20 most-wanted fraudsters in UK : Times of India

modern.fakir

3 Indians among 20 most-wanted fraudsters in UK

Kounteya Sinha, TNN | Aug 10, 2013, 06.25 AM IST

tax.jpg

According to the list released by Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs, the three Indians
have together pulled off fraud and tax evasion worth nearly 10 million or Rs 90 crore.

LONDON: Three Indians are among Britain's 20 mostwanted fraudsters and tax evaders.

According to the list released by Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC), the three Indians have together pulled off fraud and tax evasion worth nearly 10 million or Rs 90 crore. Jointly, the 20 most wanted fraudsters have cost the British exchequer 27million.

Sumir Soni, also called Bhader Singh, is among those at the top of the list and is believed to be hiding in Europe or Kenya.

A British citizen of Indian origin, the 45-year-old is wanted for his alleged involvement in the import of counterfeit goods worth 2 million. Between January 1, 2007 and January 31, 2008, Soni was involved in the import and distribution of nine million counterfeit cigarettes in UK.

He is also wanted for alleged involvement in illegal distribution of alcohol. Soni was due to appear before the Manchester Crown Courtin May, 2010. However, he went into hiding. HMRC said Soni has cost the exchequer 3.6 million.

Another Indian, Anish Anand, is wanted for a 5 million fraud case relating to film production and distribution. This involves fraudulent claims for film tax relief and VAT.

After the 30-year-old fraudster failed to appear at Croydon Crown Court on April 30, 2013, he was convicted in absentia on June 17 and sentenced to seven years in July. His tax evasion has cost the exchequer 6 million. "Anand was director of a number of companies involved in the fraud," HMRC said.

A warrant has been issued by the Central Criminal Court (Old Bailey) against Sahil Jain for tax fraud worth 328,000. Jain was arrested in connection with VAT fraud but failed to appear in court.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...e-country-Hina-Khan/articleshow/22336908.cms?

modern.fakir

It seems like now the cheaters and fraudsters are being exported to other countries. This is just crazy ....this is sheer desperation.

Our message of peace and love as always :)

famamdani

thats complete list and guess how many muslims in it.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/hmrcgovuk/sets/72157631087785530/

Thanks.............freind............!!!!(bigsmile)(bigsmile)

CRIME IS NOT LEGITIMATE BY RELIGION BUT EXPLAIN THE CULTURE OF COUNTRY:-

9415434674_b705c67ee2_s.jpg
Sumir Soni, also called Bhader Singh, is among those at the top of the list and is believed to be hiding in Europe or Kenya.

7787498190_99e5413585_s.jpg
A warrant has been issued by the Central Criminal Court (Old Bailey) against Sahil Jain for tax fraud worth 328,000. Jain was arrested in connection with VAT fraud but failed to appear in court.

9412670007_c6a39815d6_s.jpg
Another Indian, Anish Anand, is wanted for a 5 million fraud case relating to film production and distribution. This involves fraudulent claims for film tax relief and VAT

lurker

@modern.fakir
Err.. Uncle Fakir, what about the 5 Pakistanis on the list? LOL

http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-Ne...anis-in-list-of-UKs-most-wanted-tax-fugitives

Remember I told you once that famous proverb? The one about People who live in Glass houses should not throw stones at others? Remember that one? Before even reading the list I knew the Pakistanis would have out numbered the Indians in this fraud thing. Lo and Behold. I was right.

GILL123

Five Pakistanis in list of UK’s most wanted tax fugitives

Murtaza Ali Shah
Monday, August 12, 2013
From Print Edition

check-big.png

LONDON: At least five Pakistanis feature in the top 20 list of British government’s ‘most wanted’ tax fugitives.

Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs (HMRC) department has issued an updated list of tax dodgers and at least two of the top 10 wanted are believed to be hiding in Pakistan. Azra Asghar, aged between 50 and 60, failed to appear in court but received a five-year jail sentence for Value Added Tax (VAT) offences in 2002. HMRC has not released the amount she owes but it has been confirmed that she is hiding in Pakistan.

Muhammad Tanwir Khan, aka Muhammad Tanwir Akhtar Khan, faces accusations of submitting false VAT repayment claims totalling more than 800,000. Khan, aged between 55 and 65 and who is of Pakistani origin, is thought to be in the UK after failing to appear at Manchester Crown Court in June.

Hussain Asad Chohan, 44, is believed to be in Dubai or Pakistan. He was convicted at Birmingham Crown Court in his absence and sentenced to 11 years for his part in fraud worth around 200 million, which included importing 2.25 tonnes of tobacco worth 750,000 in duty. Chohan has also been served with a 33 million confiscation order.

Nasser Ahmed, 40, was convicted at Bristol Crown Court in 2005 of his role in VAT fraud worth around GBP156 million. He fled before verdicts were given and was convicted and sentenced to six years in prison in his absence. HMRC says that it has received “further intelligence” this year that that re-confirms he is in Pakistan.

Zafar Baidar Chisthi, 33, was found guilty at Kingston Crown Court of his part in VAT fraud worth around 150 million. He was sentenced to 11 years for conspiracy to defraud the public purse and one year for perverting the course of justice. He is thought to be in Pakistan.

In the top 20 list of fugitives, several cheats are believed to be hiding abroad. Adam Umerji, aka Shafiq Patel, 34, thought to be in Dubai, was jailed at Liverpool Crown Court for 12 years for VAT fraud and money laundering. The cost to the taxpayer was around 64 million.HMRC said that nearly 20 tax fugitives on the Most Wanted list are wanted for a range of crimes including VAT fraud, evasion and money laundering and have a cost to the taxpayer of between 100,000 and 10 million.

Anthony Judge, who was wanted for his role in over 350,000 of tax fraud and has been on the run for 10 years, was detained at Heathrow Airport last month as he attempted to enter UK on a forged passport. He is the second of HMRC’s ‘Most Wanted’ to be captured since the rogues’ gallery, which contains images and information on 30 tax fugitives, was first published.

Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne said: “Our message is clear; tax fraud and evasion is illegal and absolutely unacceptable. The Government has invested hundreds of millions of pounds in HMRC’s enforcement activities to enable them to pursue tax cheats like these relentlessly. “We hope that the publication of HMRC’s ‘Most Wanted’ list will help get them caught and ensure they are brought to justice.”

It seems like now the cheaters and fraudsters are being exported to other countries. This is just crazy ....this is sheer desperation.

Our message of peace and love as always :)

7 Pakistanis on the list and 3 Indians. What does Modern Fakir math says??[hilar][hilar][hilar][hilar]

janijoker

koi bhi aise kaamon mein peeche nahin...They are individuals.Tadaad se kia farq parrta hai...BUT more shame for SHINING,RICH and DEVELOPED INDIA...hum Pakistani tau waise bhi ziada badnaam hain(bigsmile)

modern.fakir

We have no issues ...what is wrong is wrong and if someone does any crime then they should be exposed, be it Indian or Pakistani..This is Proof against those who say that Modern Fakir is biased (bigsmile)...YOU HAVE JUST PROVEN YOURSELF WRONG !:lol::lol:

Who says that I dont condemn Pakistani crimes ?? ...Here's your proof guys ...Enjoy now ![hilar][hilar][hilar]

Modern Fakir Maths : Perfect as Always (bigsmile)

We have no issues ...what is wrong is wrong and if someone does any crime then they should be exposed, be it Indian or Pakistani..This is Proof against those who say that Modern Fakir is biased (bigsmile)...YOU HAVE JUST PROVEN YOURSELF WRONG !:lol::lol:

Who says that I dont condemn Pakistani crimes ?? ...Here's your proof guys ...Enjoy now ![hilar][hilar][hilar]

Modern Fakir Maths : Perfect as Always (bigsmile)

We never said Modern Fakir is biased we say that Modern Fakir is:crazy::crazy::crazy:. In this case he picked up the news becase of his inability to put any thought into it[hilar] and as usual back fired on him[hilar][hilar].

BTW you guys have very bad stats on rapes in UK as pointed out by Jack Straw(bigsmile)

modern.fakir

If Idiots like you are coming up here to read my every post then their must definitely be something remarkable about them [hilar][hilar][hilar]. But like i said the Laugh is on the YOU and the rest of the Indians who say that Modern Fakir doesnt criticise his own. Well here you go ...this is your chance and I provided it (bigsmile)

if Your going to deny this ...go ahead :biggthumpup:...Am i the least bothered by what you think - Absolutely NOT :lol::lol::lol:

We never said Modern Fakir is biased we say that Modern Fakir is:crazy::crazy::crazy:. In this case he picked up the news becase of his inability to put any thought into it[hilar] and as usual back fired on him[hilar][hilar].

BTW you guys have very bad stats on rapes in UK as pointed out by Jack Straw(bigsmile)

If Idiots like you are coming up here to read my every post then their must definitely be something remarkable about them [hilar][hilar][hilar]. But like i said the Laugh is on the YOU and the rest of the Indians who say that Modern Fakir doesnt criticise his own. Well here you go ...this is your chance and I provided it (bigsmile)

if Your going to deny this ...go ahead :biggthumpup:...Am i the least bothered by what you think - Absolutely NOT :lol::lol::lol:

[hilar][hilar][hilar] This thread was started for criticizing Indians but it fell on your face [hilar][hilar] taking your ability of going to denials away[hilar][hilar].

Please start a thread about Indians rapeing in UK, I am begging you[hilar][hilar][hilar]:please::please::please:

VoteME

Stop this abuse at once. Every one knows that Uk is the one of the country where Pakistani population is really high, the list was bound to have more Pakistani's than indians. But I assure all of you if the same list was to be made for whole world, Indians would be at top most wanted frauds.

Here comes Modern Fakir Junior [hilar][hilar][hilar] With very similar problems like in math[hilar][hilar].

There are more Indian in UK like over 1.5 Million than Pakistanis. Statistically there should be more Indians on the list than Pakistanis but its not. O while we are at it, its the same situation with rapes with Pak on top and India at almost nil[hilar][hilar][hilar]

lurker

There is No place on Earth, other than Pakistan itself where there are More Pakistanis than Indians. I assure, Indians are everywhere. And because there are over 1 Billion indians on the planet; this means sooner or later they will bang you. lol. I am a Pakistani, but I find that statistic pretty funny and can laugh about it. Other Pakistanis have a hard time.

VoteME

Here comes [HI]Modern Fakir Junior[/HI] [hilar][hilar][hilar] With very similar problems like in math[hilar][hilar].

There are more Indian in UK like over 1.5 Million than Pakistanis. Statistically there should be more Indians on the list than Pakistanis but its not. O while we are at it, its the same situation with rapes with Pak on top and India at almost nil[hilar][hilar][hilar]

Sorry, I forgot you don't know how to read otherwise you would have written my name instead of 3 words which have nothing to do with me. I meant with respect to illiterate mass immigration to Uk between the 1950s and 1980s, fyi people from villages immigrated to uk and those people are dumb, lazy, leech-type people same as indians. They invite more and more of their kind to uk. So they are bound to have been in that list. And Uk is one of the country that has majority of that kind of Pakistani population. So try to read again and again, open minded-ly and try to understand what I am trying to tell you.

PS: this has nothing to do with rapes, don't drag that here.

VoteME

There is No place on Earth, other than Pakistan itself where there are More Pakistanis than Indians. I assure, Indians are everywhere. And because there are over 1 Billion indians on the planet; this means sooner or later they will bang you. lol. I am a Pakistani, but I find that statistic pretty funny and can laugh about it. Other Pakistanis have a hard time.

No I was talking about the f*cked up kind of people. They are in huge numbers only in Uk or may be in Spain. But rest I haven't noticed them, I was trying to tell him about those ones.

Sorry, I forgot you don't know how to read otherwise you would have written my name instead of 3 words which have nothing to do with me. I meant with respect to illiterate mass immigration to Uk between the 1950s and 1980s, fyi people from villages immigrated to uk and those people are dumb, lazy, leech-type people same as indians. They invite more and more of their kind to uk. So they are bound to have been in that list. And Uk is one of the country that has majority of that kind of Pakistani population. So try to read again and again, open minded-ly and try to understand what I am trying to tell you.

PS: this has nothing to do with rapes, don't drag that here.

You and Modern Fakir are cut from the same cloth. First you said something else now you are clarifying with something totally different.

You said now that lazy, leach, villagers migrated between 1950s n 1980s both from INDIA AND PAKISTAN. If the situation is same for both that why such a huge difference.

Let me educate you like I educate Modern Fakir maybe you can sit in the same class. Those early villagers, leaches who came to Brittan build that country with there hard work and sweat. Those generations were never like the generations now.

modern.fakir

[hilar][hilar]...I will start a thread when they do something horrible. I am a well wisher for India and i will always criticise the wrong things they do so that they get corrected :lol::lol:. You can Hate us but we will always Love everyone .

Our message of Peace and Love as ALWAYS :lol::lol:

This thread was started for criticizing Indians but it fell on your face [hilar][hilar] taking your ability of going to denials away[hilar][hilar].

Please start a thread about Indians rapeing in UK, I am begging you