پاک میڈیا بمقابلہ عالمی میڈیا

unique

628x471.jpg

امریکہ میں آج کل سپر سٹارم سینڈی طوفان آیا ہوا ہے جو تمام دنیا کے میڈیا کی اہم ترین خبر ہے - اگر آپ نے اس کی کوریج دیکھی ہو تو آپ کو ہمارے میڈیا اور ترقی یافتہ دنیا کے میڈیا میں واضح فرق محسوس ہوگا -
اب تک ٥٠ افراد ہلاک ہو چکے ہیں لیکن نہ کوئی لاش دکھائی گیی ہے نہ اقارب سے اس بارے میں ان کے تاثرات پوچھے گیۓ ہیں -
کوئی پریس رپورٹر چیخ چیخ کر یہ نہیں کہ رہا کہ ٹرینیں جلد چلا دینی چاہییں -
کوئی حکومتی نمایندہ ابھی تک نہیں پہنچا -
بل کلنٹن آج اباما کے لئے مہم میں کیوں مصروف ہیں ؟
لوگ اپنے تباہ حال گھروں کے سامنے کھڑے یہ نہیں کہ رہی کہ انھیں خیمے اور راشن کے علاوہ کچھ نہیں ملا -
ہمارا میڈیا ہر موقع پر خود بھی ہذیان کا شکر ہوتا ہے بلکہ اب اس نے سادہ لوح لوگوں کو بھی اس لائن پر لگا دیا ہے کہ وہ ہر چیز میں کیڑے نکلنا اور تلخ الفاظ کہنا لازمی سمجھنے لگے ہیں -
میڈیا کا کام لوگوں میں مایوسی اور ڈپریشن پھیلانا نہیں بلکہ انھیں معلومات فراہم کرنا اور انھیں تعلیم دینا ہے -
کب سمجھو گے ؟

tariisb

جب ریاست ، قیادت اور انتظام سب کچھ ہی ناکام ہوجاۓ تو ، چیخ و پکار ہی سنائی دیتی ہے ،
میڈیا اگر اصل چہرہ دکھا دے تو ، یہ وقت کی ضرورت ہوتی ہے ، یہی حقیقت ہوتی ہے ،

میڈیا کی چند غلطیاں اپنی جگہ ، جیسے ، کراچی فیکٹری میں آگ لگنے کے بعد ،ایک نوجوان جن بحق ہوگیا ، اور اسی شام ، خاتوں رپورٹر اسکی روتی بین کرتی ماں ، کے (omg)سامنے مائیک کر کے پوچھتی ہے ، آپ کیا کہتی ہیں اس حادثے کے بارے میں

mrk123

@unique

You are comparing apples and oranges. US is considered to be the most advanced country in the world - the so called super power. You can't compare US media coverage to Pakistani media coverage. Their media has been around doing this kind of work for over 150 years (if you include press and radio journalism) and they have come a long way and learned a lot. Our media is new and immature to say the least - they are still trying to find its walking feet and the craziness in attitudes and immaturity of people found in our society is reflected in our media coverage too. If you look at the coverage the same is true for India's electronic media

I agree that Pakistani media shows the gory details and content which is not considered appropriate for the viewers but again its a reflection of the behaviors and attitudes prevalent in our society. We don't really care much about sensibilities of people. Most of the time the media does get overzealous in their effort to sensationalize stories and improve their ratings - which should be condemned.

However, as @tariisb pointed out above its media's responsibility to point out government failures and act as the voice of the people. Most of the times we know that our government comes up short when it comes to people's just expectations. This is not to say that sometime the people in our country have unrealistic expectations of their government.

Coming back to the coverage of disasters in the US - their coverage sometime does border on ludicrous but thats a good problem to have compared to what we see on our media. Another point is that most of the time in the US they are well prepared and ready for natural disasters (as well prepared as one can be) and they spend a lot of money on drills to test out their systems and procedures. Most of the deaths that happened were unavoidable - majority of them are caused by falling trees - which can't be predicted accurately. Otherwise they did a pretty decent job of controlling avoidable casualties.
This is not to say that sometime they come way short of discharging their responsibilities - case in point is Hurricane Katrina - almost 1300 people perished in that disaster and in that case the media was all over the government and IT DID SHOW PEOPLE screaming for help and cursing out their government and the media in some cases went far beyond their duties to report governments failures and calling out the administration's incompetence. I would refer you to widespread coverage of Hurricane Katrina which basically showed what you said in your post that the western media never shows. In the aftermath of hurricane Katrina the media ripped apart the government's response or rather the lack of response and showed people suffering and sometime it was not a pretty sight (at least by western standards).

decent123

Apki thread bilkul beekar hai
Ap 1 advanced or well mature country kay media kay muqabla pakistani media se nahi karsakaty...Pakistan koi Advanced country nahi yahan bht problems hain

unique

@unique

You are comparing apples and oranges. US is considered to be the most advanced country in the world - the so called super power. You can't compare US media coverage to Pakistani media coverage. Their media has been around doing this kind of work for over 150 years (if you include press and radio journalism) and they have come a long way and learned a lot. Our media is new and immature to say the least - they are still trying to find its walking feet and the craziness in attitudes and immaturity of people is reflected in our media coverage too. Same is true for India.

I agree that Pakistani media shows the gory details and content which is not appropriate but again its a reflection of the behaviors and attitudes prevalent in our society. We don't really care much about sensibilities of people. Most of the time the media does get overzealous in their effort to sensationalize stories and improve their ratings - which should be condemned.

However, as @tariisb pointed out above its media's responsibility to point out government failures and act as the voice of the people. Most of the times we know that our government comes up short when it comes to people's just expectations. This is not to say that sometime the people in our country have unrealistic expectations of their government.

Coming back to the coverage of disasters in the US - their coverage sometime does border on ludicrous but thats a good problem to have compared to what we see on our media. Another point is that most of the time in the US they are well prepared and ready for natural disasters (as well prepared as one can be) and they spend a lot of money on drills to test out their systems and procedures. Most of the deaths that happened are unavoidable - majority of them are caused by falling trees - which can't be predicted accurately. Otherwise they control avoidable casualties.
This is not to say that sometime they come way short of discharging their responsibilities - case in point is Hurricane Katrina - alomost 1300 people perished in that disaster and in that case the media was all over the government and IT DID SHOW PEOPLE screaming for help and cursing out their government and the media in some cases went far beyond their duties to report governments failures and calling out their incompetence. I would refer to widespread coverage of Hurricane Katrina which basically showed what you said in your post that the western media never shows. In the aftermath of hurricane Katrina the media ripped apart the government's response or rather the lack of response and showed people suffering and sometime it was not a pretty sight (at least by western standards).
your analysis is quite fair and deep but why cant our media learn from the world media ..
what I dont understand about our own media is that their over all picture is depressing and it ruins your day if you watch it for an hour or so.I personally can not go to sleep sometimes.its only a matter of content selection and presentation. you dont need any modern equipment for that.At least 100 people commit suicide "everyday" in Japan and you will only know at the end of year in a single news item that 35000 people have taken their lives. a lot of crimes are committed in UK but it only finds place in local news.

unique

Ap 1 advanced or well mature country kay media kay muqabla pakistani media se nahi karsakaty...Pakistan koi Advanced country nahi yahan bht problems hain
is k liye konsa maal dolat ya mehngay equipment chahiyen? sirf presentation r selection ki bat hy..un ka andaz hi seekh lain.

unique

[/QUOTE] Tari isb
aesa nahin hy...
baqi media houses ne geo k andaz ko follow kia hy aur geo ki policy k apny kuchh maqasid hain...

mrk123

your analysis is quite fair and deep but why cant our media learn from the world media ..
what I dont understand about our own media is that their over all picture is depressing and it ruins your day if you watch it for an hour or so.I personally can not go to sleep sometimes.its only a matter of content selection and presentation. you dont need any modern equipment for that.At least 100 people commit suicide "everyday" and you will only know at the end of year in a single news item that 35000 people have taken their lives. a lot of crimes are committed in UK but it only finds place in local news.

Very good observations. The problem is what I mentioned in my post - the attitudes, behaviors, psyche, norms in the society - media is also a reflection of that.

You rightly pointed out that the right place for crime reporting is on the local news and not on national news. I think that our electronic media is struggling big time to come to terms with the concept of 24x7 news cycle. They basically should have editorial boards which should consider a time slot as a precious commodity, not in terms of generating revenues - that should be a consideration but...more of how best to use this precious time slot of opportunity and what is the best piece of information that they could provide to the consumers. In the US you do see some bizarre stories on national media like CNN but they label is as such - but on a serious news organization like BBC you don't see any of this weird reporting. We need at least two of three serious news organizations which would take news seriously and view it as a great responsibility. Hopefully some sense would prevail and we will see some maturity in our news coverage - though I am not very hopeful ;-)

unique

Very good observations. The problem is what I mentioned in my post - the attitudes, behaviors, psyche, norms in the society - media is also a reflection of that.
I dont think masses like our news channels and their content anymore . they are only addicted to it and this present policy may harm these channels in the long run as people may turn away from them..
Than news channels hate social media for showing mirror to them..and they refuse to mend their ways.
even present coverage of CNN was criticized for every reporter standing in water and being blown away by the wind.they even reported some places under water but had to retract...
problem is our media is that they are self righteous and arrogant as most of the senior journos have come from news papers where they were not paid any salaries but had to use newspapers to extort money out of people.

A.Ali.T

کیوں مقابلہ نہیں کرسکتے - اس معمولی سے کام کیلیے کونسے ہاتھی گھوڑے لگتے ہیں

No one is asking for donations or help for the effecty .

But our Molana Saeed is ready to send help for America with our fake medicines and doctors ....

They dont want to create panic.... and they know how to work for their own people.

frenes

بھائی موازنہ اور مقابلہ دو مختلف چیزیں ہیں. اور یہ دونو کام وہاں پائے جاتے ہیں جہاں تھوڑی بہت کمی بیشی اور مقابلے کا روجھان ہو. اگر یہ دونو چیزیں اپنے ہاں نظر آتی ہیں تو امریکی طوفان سے ٹکرانے میں کوئی حرج نہیں مگر آپ بحوبی جانتے ہیں ہمارے ہاں کیسا معامله ہے.

unique

بھائی موازنہ اور مقابلہ دو مختلف چیزیں ہیں. اور یہ دونو کام وہاں پائے جاتے ہیں جہاں تھوڑی بہت کمی بیشی اور مقابلے کا روجھان ہو. اگر یہ دونو چیزیں اپنے ہاں نظر آتی ہیں تو امریکی طوفان سے ٹکرانے میں کوئی حرج نہیں مگر آپ بحوبی جانتے ہیں ہمارے ہاں کیسا معامله ہے.

چیزوں کو مقابل لا کر ہی ان کا موازنہ ہوتا ہے جناب -
طوفان سے ٹکرانے کو نہیں کہ رہا - صرف عقل سلیم استعمال کرنے کی درخوست ہے -
کیوں یہ لوگ ہمارے دل و دماغ سے کھیلتے ہیں ؟