From Z A Bhutto to My Kaptaan: By Dr. Arif Alvi

Zoaib

From Zulfikar Ali Bhutto to My Kaptaan

Dr Arif Alvi

The writer is secretary general of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf

The crowd was pulsating as Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (ZAB) continued to talk about Afro-Asian solidarity. Some of us raised anti-Ayub slogans. ZAB stopped us and said abhi naheen. He was into the third hour of his first public speech after ditching his mentor and the venue was Government College Lahore. The 60s were an era of healthy debate between the left and the right. My mother insisted that I stop reading comics and novels and she thrust upon a young mind The dialogues of Plato. I graduated to Maududi, Marx and Engels to understand socialism, religion and the exploitation of man by laissez faire capitalism. Iqbal fired up a passion and pride, and Bhuttos book The Myth of Independence gave me a nationalist perspective, though I disagreed with his political philosophy. People dislodged Ayub Khan and yours truly still carries a couple of bullets in his right arm as a memento of a peoples struggle gone awry, somewhat like Egypt of today with no real change. Our lot since then has gotten from worse to worst and beyond.

Forty years later I am travelling with Imran Khan from Lahore to Faisalabad for a jalsa. His recent upsurge started from the Peshawar dharna. Karachi was the watershed where people of all ethnicities joined in to make a statement that there is a breath of fresh air in this miserable political arena. Multan was a notch higher and we reached there in time from Lahore despite many receptions on the way.

We started at 2:30 pm, planning to reach the Dhobi Ghat ground in Faisalabad at 6 pm. But it was not to be despite Imran Khans urgings, as the crowd in every village on the way had come on the roads to welcome him. There was a sea of passionate people every mile of the road we travelled.

An old man almost got trampled making it to his side of the car and with tears in his eyes exhorted Imran Khan to save Pakistan. Women pushed through the crowd of men, shouted greetings, and those who could not reach the car would give the traditional blessing from a distance. Huge crowds would not allow us to move despite our portable speaker announcements that tens of thousands were waiting for us in Faisalabad.

Khan blamed me for the lack of organisation and discipline in the welcoming crowds. But it was evident that the paradigm shift and tsunami which he had been predicting had arrived. It was incredible to see the rising passion of the people which gives a leader strength, but also puts on his shoulders a great burden of responsibility.

For me, this was dj vu plus, from the Bhutto era. I welcomed Asghar Khan in Karachi in 67. Then I followed Bhutto, though I disagreed with his pseudo leftist philosophy. I never forgave him his role in the breakaway of East Pakistan, but I imbibed the hope of his we-will-make-a-new-Pakistan speech after the debacle. I admired him for his brilliant link to the people and the dignity which he gave to the common man. What has been done to his legacy is nothing short of political rape.

Mubashir Hasan and others like Rafi Raza have dissected Bhuttos contradictions in their books and have concluded that he had two personalities which struggled within him, that of a wadera and that of an awami leader. He loved the latter but frequently succumbed to the compromises of the former. Khan has no schism. What you see is what you get. Let me sound the bugle that the tides have turned and for those who have seen or read about the Bhutto sailab, this is an emerging tsunami, as the people have found a leader they can trust and who will deliver.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 3rd, 2011

http://tribune.com.pk/story/222699/from-zulfikar-ali-bhutto-to-my-kaptaan/

molson4u

Nice speech but he is not bhutto and secondly, we can not even will a counslor seat from Faislabad, let alone MNA seat. Wait for the election and see

jagga9

An old man almost got trampled making it to his side of the car and with tears in his eyes exhorted Imran Khan to “save Pakistan”.

This is what we are requesting him. Akhir main fatah haq aur sach ki hi hoti hai . zulm ka nizam khatam hony ko hai inshaAllah. Ya Allah IK ko aur himmat de k tu gawah hai k aaj paid anchors bhi us ko let down kerty hain . aye Allah gawah rehna k hamari niyat achi thi

madeeha62

Some parts of the article were well written.. Ya ALLAH apna raham kar aur Pakistan ki madad kar (ameen)

saeed khan

I heard many people praising ZAB. I also respect him as a brainy ex PM of Pakistan.
But what did he give us with his step of industrial nationalisation ?
Before nationalisation our industries were much better than now and businessmen were investing more and more.
Our economy was even better than India and after nationalisation we never developed again.
So Imran should be better than ZAB.

Mr.Restless

i agree imran is not like buttoo..bhutoo was a faudalist leaving behind the traitor like benazir and zardari to ruin the country

Xohaib

wow Great read,Imran will make Institution which will change pakistan forever.

shaheer

Nice speech but he is not bhutto and secondly, we can not even will a counslor seat from Faislabad, let alone MNA seat. Wait for the election and see
aray bhai election jeetna he kamyabi nhe ha,election to gilani,nawaz,benazeer,fazlurahman,shujaat ne bhi jeetay hy.kya yeh sab kamyab huay hyn???laa-nat aisi kamyabi pe jo na mulk klye na qaum klye achi ha.yeh to qaum k muqdar ki baat ha.agar qaum apna muqadar badlna he nhe chahti to theek ha.aur jitao zardari,altaf,nawaz,chaudharies ko....& enjoy at fullest

nauman

if he is like buhtoo we never like to waist our time with pti

1-Man-Army

From Zulfikar Ali Bhutto to My Kaptaan

[FONT=&amp]From Zulfikar Ali Bhutto to My Kaptaan [/FONT]

[FONT=&amp]By [/FONT][FONT=&amp]Dr Arif Alvi[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]Published: August 2, 2011[/FONT]

[FONT=&amp]The writer is secretary general of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf [/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]The crowd was pulsating as Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (ZAB) continued to talk about Afro-Asian solidarity. Some of us raised anti-Ayub slogans. ZAB stopped us and said abhi naheen. He was into the third hour of his first public speech after ditching his mentor and the venue was Government College Lahore. The 60s were an era of healthy debate between the left and the right. My mother insisted that I stop reading comics and novels and she thrust upon a young mind The dialogues of Plato. I graduated to Maududi, Marx and Engels to understand socialism, religion and the exploitation of man by laissez faire capitalism. Iqbal fired up a passion and pride, and Bhuttos book [/FONT][FONT=&amp]The Myth of Independence[/FONT][FONT=&amp] gave me a nationalist perspective, though I disagreed with his political philosophy. People dislodged Ayub Khan and yours truly still carries a couple of bullets in his right arm as a memento of a peoples struggle gone awry, somewhat like Egypt of today with no real change. Our lot since then has gotten from worse to worst and beyond.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]Forty years later I am [/FONT][FONT=&amp]travelling with Imran Khan from Lahore to Faisalabad for a PTI jalsa[/FONT][FONT=&amp]. His recent upsurge started from the Peshawar dharna. Karachi was the watershed where people of all ethnicities joined in to make a statement that there is a breath of fresh air in this miserable political arena. Multan was a notch higher and we reached there in time from Lahore despite many receptions on the way.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]We started at 2:30 pm, planning to reach the Dhobi Ghat ground in Faisalabad at 6 pm. But it was not to be despite Imran Khans urgings, as the crowd in every village on the way had come on the roads to welcome him. There was a sea of passionate people every mile of the road we travelled.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]An old man almost got trampled making it to his side of the car and with tears in his eyes exhorted Imran Khan to save Pakistan. Women pushed through the crowd of men, shouted greetings, and those who could not reach the car would give the traditional blessing from a distance. Huge crowds would not allow us to move despite our portable speaker announcements that tens of thousands were waiting for us in Faisalabad.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]Khan blamed me for the lack of organisation and discipline in the welcoming crowds. But it was evident that the paradigm shift and tsunami which he had been predicting had arrived. It was incredible to see the rising passion of the people which gives a leader strength, but also puts on his shoulders a great burden of responsibility.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]For me, this was dj vu plus, from the Bhutto era. I welcomed Asghar Khan in Karachi in 67. Then I followed Bhutto, though I disagreed with his pseudo leftist philosophy. I never forgave him his role in the breakaway of East Pakistan, but I imbibed the hope of his we-will-make-a-new-Pakistan speech after the debacle. I admired him for his brilliant link to the people and the dignity which he gave to the common man. What has been done to his legacy is nothing short of political rape.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]Mubashir Hasan and others like Rafi Raza have dissected Bhuttos contradictions in their books and have concluded that he had two personalities which struggled within him, that of a wadera and that of an awami leader. He loved the latter but frequently succumbed to the compromises of the former. Khan has no schism. What you see is what you get. Let me sound the bugle that the tides have turned and for those who have seen or read about the Bhutto sailab, this is an emerging tsunami, as the people have found a leader they can trust and who will deliver.[/FONT]
[FONT=&amp]Published in The Express Tribune, August 3[SUP]rd[/SUP], 2011.[/FONT]

ealtaf

From Zulfikar Ali Bhutto to My Kaptaan: by Dr. Arif Alvi

The writer is secretary general of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf

The crowd was pulsating as Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (ZAB) continued to talk about Afro-Asian solidarity. Some of us raised anti-Ayub slogans. ZAB stopped us and said abhi naheen. He was into the third hour of his first public speech after ditching his mentor and the venue was Government College Lahore. The 60s were an era of healthy debate between the left and the right. My mother insisted that I stop reading comics and novels and she thrust upon a young mind The dialogues of Plato. I graduated to Maududi, Marx and Engels to understand socialism, religion and the exploitation of man by laissez faire capitalism. Iqbal fired up a passion and pride, and Bhuttos book The Myth of Independence gave me a nationalist perspective, though I disagreed with his political philosophy. People dislodged Ayub Khan and yours truly still carries a couple of bullets in his right arm as a memento of a peoples struggle gone awry, somewhat like Egypt of today with no real change. Our lot since then has gotten from worse to worst and beyond.
Forty years later I am travelling with Imran Khan from Lahore to Faisalabad for a PTI jalsa. His recent upsurge started from the Peshawar dharna. Karachi was the watershed where people of all ethnicities joined in to make a statement that there is a breath of fresh air in this miserable political arena. Multan was a notch higher and we reached there in time from Lahore despite many receptions on the way.
We started at 2:30 pm, planning to reach the Dhobi Ghat ground in Faisalabad at 6 pm. But it was not to be despite Imran Khans urgings, as the crowd in every village on the way had come on the roads to welcome him. There was a sea of passionate people every mile of the road we travelled.
An old man almost got trampled making it to his side of the car and with tears in his eyes exhorted Imran Khan to save Pakistan. Women pushed through the crowd of men, shouted greetings, and those who could not reach the car would give the traditional blessing from a distance. Huge crowds would not allow us to move despite our portable speaker announcements that tens of thousands were waiting for us in Faisalabad.
Khan blamed me for the lack of organisation and discipline in the welcoming crowds. But it was evident that the paradigm shift and tsunami which he had been predicting had arrived. It was incredible to see the rising passion of the people which gives a leader strength, but also puts on his shoulders a great burden of responsibility.
For me, this was dj vu plus, from the Bhutto era. I welcomed Asghar Khan in Karachi in 67. Then I followed Bhutto, though I disagreed with his pseudo leftist philosophy. I never forgave him his role in the breakaway of East Pakistan, but I imbibed the hope of his we-will-make-a-new-Pakistan speech after the debacle. I admired him for his brilliant link to the people and the dignity which he gave to the common man. What has been done to his legacy is nothing short of political rape.
Mubashir Hasan and others like Rafi Raza have dissected Bhuttos contradictions in their books and have concluded that he had two personalities which struggled within him, that of a wadera and that of an awami leader. He loved the latter but frequently succumbed to the compromises of the former. Khan has no schism. What you see is what you get. Let me sound the bugle that the tides have turned and for those who have seen or read about the Bhutto sailab, this is an emerging tsunami, as the people have found a leader they can trust and who will deliver.

[FONT=Georgia, Times, 'Times New Roman', times-roman, serif]
[/FONT]
Published in The Express Tribune, August 3[SUP]rd[/SUP], 2011.

[FONT=Georgia, Times, 'Times New Roman', times-roman, serif]
[/FONT]

Re: From Zulfikar Ali Bhutto to My Kaptaan: by Dr. Arif Alvi

how many times you want us to read this article ???