Time to praise Imran Khan and his Economic vision

No substance, usual rhetoric, and as always, stupid laughing faces.

Dude, I have said in other post that IK is the best among lot.

By saying that we will turn PIA into a Corporation is the same as saying that we will put a horse saddle on a Donkey and expect him to produce like a horse. You tell me how it is possible?

Every politician in the in the world says that we will balance the budget during elections and when they get elected they don't, not because they can't.

So, lets discuss the airline i.e. PIA in this case.
DO you know the real problem PIA is facing ? PIA has a problem of what many other government corporations have i.e. "nokri to karni ha LAKIN kaam nahi karna" and its goes from TOP to the BOTTOM. Now, how would it change once they are not under any ministry ? Answer is simple, the top management would be forced to show profit or else they will be fired i.e. they have to balance their budget. Secondly, they will be out of political influence hence they will make decision that serves PIA the best, not their commissions. The same applies to railways.
BTW, since your are being such a smart@$$, why don't you present a solution to this ? DO you have any or are you the "hawai firing" here like many NOONers ?

IK has an agenda of social welfare state. Weather a PIA is under a ministry or a state owned corporation will not much of a difference it will be always influenced by politics and we shall see.

Yes I do have a solution its called privatization/s. You be lucky if you can get the politicians to run the country properly let alone the enterprise.

you can hire well educated consultants, policy makers, visionary scholars to establish long run policies and road maps. BUT you need an honest leader on top of them to implement what is proposed. Do you have any clue what you wrote?
Lack of courage to implement policies was missing in whole GAME until Khan came into picture.

No, you need entrepreneurs to run corporations not scholars.

jeaybhutto

I think the issue with khan sahib is that his econ policy is being run by MBAs, that is why he has come up with this "corporations" which is not a lot different than privatization which has been going on in Pak for years...and is easier said than done

"illegal to accept foreign aid and balance out budgets" that is just political rhetoric

Pakistan econ problems are not in corruption or foreign aid...the biggest issue is power crises and War on Terror...

On atleast one of these khan sahib is clueless, i have no idea what his energy policy is if any!

Bilal Haider

I think the issue with khan sahib is that his econ policy is being run by MBAs, that is why he has come up with this "corporations" which is not a lot different than privatization which has been going on in Pak for years...and is easier said than done

"illegal to accept foreign aid and balance out budgets" that is just political rhetoric

Pakistan econ problems are not in corruption or foreign aid...the biggest issue is power crises and War on Terror...

On atleast one of these khan sahib is clueless, i have no idea what his energy policy is if any!

oo bhai kuch khuda ka khauf kar, tumhara baap (rohani) jo sadar bana hua hai 5 saal se, us se kabhi poocha k uski kia policy hai energy per, war on terror per??? ya kabhi yeh tumhari aqal shareef mein aya k PPP has failed miserably to deliver in every aspect of governance, so I shouldn't vote for PPP this time??

kia logic hai janab.. ek banda jis ne jis field mein bhi qadam rakha, perform kia.. usko is doubt pe k u dont understand his policy, vote nahi dena.. lakin woh khan-zeer jo is mulk ko bech k kha gia ha, unko bar bar vote dena kuin k us khan-zeer ki biwi ka nam Bhutto tha.. tum bus garhi khuda bakhsh mein qabar pe sajdey karo or BISF k aoz dharti maa ka soda karo.. salute to u bro!

Eloquent

@Eloquent

You may be partially right. However, we have numerous counter examples. Look at countries with large populations (per area) - Like Japan, South Korea, and even India. Yes all these countries, especially India have pervasive corruption. However, the difference is that these countries have developed systems and institutions to counter the impulse for corruption. Unfortunately, our establishment, and "democratic" parties have systematically destroyed institutions. Now compare N. Korea, and former E. Germany. These countries are/were dictatorial and see the stark difference btw their sister countries. We need a leader who is honest and believe in system/institution building. We have seen how the countries have turned themselves around withing half a generation and pakistan will probably bounce back even faster if given a chance by an honest/competent leadership.

Guys, my comment was addressed to Unicorn who was being a douche. My views are similar to yours here.

Eloquent

Dude, I have said in other post that IK is the best among lot.

By saying that we will turn PIA into a Corporation is the same as saying that we will put a horse saddle on a Donkey and expect him to produce like a horse. You tell me how it is possible?

Every politician in the in the world says that we will balance the budget during elections and when they get elected they don't, not because they can't.

Once again, a useless post. Irrelevant horse and donkey examples are not good arguments.

All PIA needs is good administration and governance with a focus on efficiency, cutting unnecessary costs (read "siasi bhartiaan") and improving service with a view to becoming profitable again. PIA has been profitable in the past. It is no secret how it has been destroyed by the current politicians who have no stake in its success and are using it to satisfy their own political designs and please their friends and followers by appointing them in positions in PIA and other state owned enterprises. State owned enterprises can be well run if there is will and aptitude to do it. PIA has been an example of this in the past. Dare I make you aware, Emirates is also a state owned airline.

In response to balancing budgets, once again it is not an issue of whether it can or can't be done. The actual issue is lack of will to do it. It is no secret that the current politicians have not and will not make the necessary tax reforms to balance the budget, nor will they cut the unnecessary expenditures at the expense of the taxpayer. It would be foolish to ask to elaborate on what unnecessary expenditures I am talking about. You would know unless you have been hiding under a rock for the last 20 years.

salaudin

IK has an agenda of social welfare state. Weather a PIA is under a ministry or a state owned corporation will not much of a difference it will be always influenced by politics and we shall see.

Yes I do have a solution its called privatization/s. You be lucky if you can get the politicians to run the country properly let alone the enterprise.

What are you arguing for ?

Government corporation can still be out of political influence.

You are completely missing the point here. He does NOT want politicians to run the airline.

What are you arguing for ?

Government corporation can still be out of political influence.

You are completely missing the point here. He does NOT want politicians to run the airline.

Ok, if he does not want the politicians to run than who else. The only other viable option is entrepreneur who have finical steak it the corporation.

Pracha

I agree about the corruption even if the corruption is not there you still need competent policies.

Your are right. Honesty is necessary but not a sufficient condition for our country. Unfortunately, we have very few choices when we look around for this rare entity. Also, in a country where you have well established systems/institutions - you could potentially get away with a dishonest or incompetent person. This is the whole premise of separation of powers as you know you will have dishonest or incompetent (like bush) people running the country at one time or another.

Building of systems and institutions is not in the interests of our family parties. They are quite happy with the status quo they have.

hans

Tell me how do you treat a terminally ill cancer patient?????

How will Jalsa Khan Free this nation of its huge National Loan?????

give me one good example... No body seem to read the headline.... Post headline ends with the word.... VISION!!!!

"I have a Dream (vision)" remember who said this .....Martin Luther King.

what happened to him ????
He was assassinated.

Pracha

No, you need entrepreneurs to run corporations not scholars.

You need leaders not businessmen to run the country. A good leader need not be a scholar. Among the choices we have - Imran is probably be the best leader and he has already shown his leadership.

Pracha

give me one good example... No body seem to read the headline.... Post headline ends with the word.... VISION!!!!

He was assassinated.

My friend, you are misguided in your anger. Job of a good leader is delegation of duties to the right people. He has to select right person for the right job - i.e., merit. Now look around yourself. We have 2 big ruling parties and see what leadership they are showing.

CM: Accumulating all the ministries. Giving all important posts to their relatives and cronies.

Zardari: Need not to say anything. (That is the reason we always target PML-N, because Zardari has no shame and he does not hide it)

salaudin

He was assassinated.
1- National Loan question
- Like anyone else would get rid of it i.e. paying it back (or asking it to be reduced since we helped the lenders in their war)

Pracha

There is no cure for the ignorance of the masses. The stupidity of the crowd is exponentially related to its size. I feel that even if IK comes into Power, he wont be able to change the way mothers in Pakistan bring up their kids.

There's a whole set of other issues too.
1. The Global Financial issues.
2. The Global human growth rate.
3. The depletion of global non-renewable natural resources
4. The exponential increase of noise in this age of info-technology
5. The intellectual dishonesty of the Academia

The world is truly in a very very sad state. To be blunt, a major world war is the only outcome scenario.

Change can come over night, but the effects may take some time. At least with PTI, we will have the correction direction. Currently, we are in reverse gear.

Pracha

I would only disagree with whats in bold. In agreement with the rest.

Yes, change can come over night. What is change??

Change in policy (from being a puppet of foreign powers to master of you own destiny)
Change in direction (from reverse to forward)
Change in leadership (from dynastic parties to parties who wants to build institutions)
Change in vision (from gimmicks to actual policies)
Change in cabinet (from cronies to expert in their respective fields)

All these changes do not take much time. Yes, the effect of these changes will take some time. When you go to a medical school - you know that it will take a long time before you become a doctor. But, when you get accepted in the medical - you know you are going in the right direction to become a doctor.