Rice Condemns Pakistan-Based Militant Attacks in Afghanistan; US warns that it will block $300mn mil

Cheeko

BN-KB616_USPAKj_J_20150830135649.jpg

In this photograph released Sunday by Pakistan's Press Information Department, Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif meets U.S. National Security Adviser Susan Rice at Prime Minister House in Islamabad.
Aug. 30, 2015 2:10 p.m. ET

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan—U.S. national security adviser Susan Rice on Sunday told top civilian and military leaders in Islamabad that attacks in neighboring Afghanistan by Pakistan-based militants were “absolutely unacceptable,” according to a senior American official.

During a one-day stop in Pakistan after a visit to China, Ms. Rice also delivered an invitation for Pakistani Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif to meet U.S. President Barack Obama in Washington in October.

Ms. Rice pressed Pakistan to do more to prevent terrorists from using its territory as a base for attacks on its neighboring states and to improve ties with India and Afghanistan. Islamabad accuses both countries of sponsoring anti-Pakistan militants.

“In Islamabad today, discussed how to deepen coop. to tackle shared priorities. Encouraged Pakistan to advance regional peace & stability,” a post on Ms. Rice’s Twitter TWTR 1.40 % account said on Sunday. She met Mr. Sharif and the country’s army chief, Gen. Raheel Sharif.

Washington has warned Pakistan that it stands to lose $300 million in U.S. military aid if it doesn’t crack down harder on the Haqqani network, American officials said. U.S. officials have described the Haqqani network as closely tied to Pakistan’s military intelligence agency.

A statement from Mr. Sharif’s office said: “The United States is an important partner of Pakistan in all areas especially the economy, defense and counterterrorism.”

The Afghan government has lashed out at Pakistan over a series of deadly bombings in Kabul in recent weeks that have killed dozens of people—including three Americans—and which the Afghan government blames on the Haqqani network, a jihadist group it says is based in Pakistan.

“We share the concern of the Afghan government. This is absolutely unacceptable,” said the American official. Ms. Rice told Pakistani leaders that “terrorist and militant attacks have developed into a key point of regional friction. Addressing this challenge will be imperative for Pakistan’s relations with its neighbors and with Washington,” the official said, though she said U.S.-Pakistani relations were “very good.”

Analysts believe the U.S. wants Islamabad to go after the leadership of the Haqqani network, which Washington says operates freely in Pakistan. The head of the Haqqani network was made deputy leader of the Taliban at a meeting late last month in the western Pakistani city of Quetta, after confirmation of the death of Taliban founder Mullah Mohammad Omar, according to the Taliban.

Pakistan denies that leaders of the Taliban or Haqqani network are based in the country, though Islamabad admits they may visit the country. Critics allege Pakistan uses these groups as its proxies in Afghanistan.

A tweet from the official Twitter account of a Pakistan military spokesman said that during the meeting between Ms. Rice and Gen. Raheel, “Both dignitaries also recognized the continued need for close coordination for ensuring peace & stability in [Afghanistan] and the region.”

Source

Cheeko

Re: Rice Condemns Pakistan-Based Militant Attacks in Afghanistan; US warns that it will block $300mn military aid [Admin can this be a separate thread please]

Ms Rice does not seem to be in a good mood. Hope she did not scare Raheel Shareef.

Pathfinder

Re: Rice Condemns Pakistan-Based Militant Attacks in Afghanistan; US warns that it will block $300mn military aid [Admin can this be a separate thread please]

Hmmn it atlest it is clear about your agenda!

Restoring peace in Afghanistan a shared responsibility: military
THE NEWSPAPER'S STAFF REPORTER— UPDATED ABOUT 4 HOURS AGO

ISLAMABAD: Hitting back at the US allegations that Pakistan was not doing enough to tackle the Haqqani network, the military said on Sunday that Pakistan was not alone to blame and that restoring peace in Afghanistan was a shared responsibility.

“It is the responsibility of all sides and stakeholders to work towards peace in Afghanistan,” a security official told Dawn hours after the US side at a briefing said that National Security Adviser Susan Rice had during her Islamabad trip conveyed a list of steps that it required Pakistan to take to eliminate threat posed by the Haqqani network.

Also read: Afghan forces regain control of a symbolic district in Helmand

The security official conceded that Ms Rice had in her meeting with Army Chief Gen Raheel Sharif at the General Headquarters talked about the US concerns over the Haqqani network. “There was a frank, candid and intense discussion…. Both sides were open,” the official said, adding that while they raised the issue of Haqqani network, Pakistan too put forward its share of complaints.

Instead of the meeting getting bogged down in a blame game, the official clarified that the focus of the talks was on the way forward.

Indirectly blaming the Afghan government for its role in the suspension of peace talks with Taliban, the official said Ms Rice was reminded that the reconciliation process started in Murree on July 7 was now stuck.

The peace process was suspended a day before the second round of talks was to be held in Pakistan on July 31 because of the disclosure by Afghan intelligence about Taliban chief Mullah Omar’s death. During the development that followed Mullah Akhtar Mansour became the new chief and Haqqani leader Sirajuddin became one of his deputies.

The security official said the US needed to realise that when the strategic direction had been identified it was imperative to move forward on that.

He said Ms Rice had appreciated Pakistan Army’s counter-terrorism operations and acknowledged their impact. There was a consensus at the meeting on closer coordination for peace in Afghanistan, he added.

Published in Dawn, August 31st, 2015

kaka4u

i m waiting when cheeko ke cheekhay niklay gee tum jaisay log kahi ja kar garq q nahi ho jatay

GreenMaple

Utter failure of Bonga Sharif's foreign policy!

aimless

LOL what a bullshi*t article ...

JuanM67

This colored women has the gaul, to tell Pakistan about terrorism, while we are catching RAW, terrorist daily from Karachi, Endians attacking in kashmir, sialkot, killing Pakistanis daily, we have ruined our economy for this Jew controlled empire of Christian terrorist? The bittch is on drugs.

55,000 thousand dead Pakistanis killed, and this two bit pimp of Obamer says we are attacking Afghanistan? Here is the answer from Pakistan, F U and your tribe nigglett.

Liberal.Punjabi

did it hurt

ramses2x1

did it hurt

not sure since nawaz in the picture looks alright , but it definitely hurt indians and their puppies , hope you ok master puppy :)

ramses2x1

ainj kareen tay g@nj@y maza lainday ne.. kehnday ne horr karo ji maza aa reya ay..

(my punjabi is not good, but I like the language and try to write in it)

she did exactly same to MQM and ANP group when they visited washington to discuss the master plan few years ago ! i am pretty sure you know what I'm talking about ;) if not ask farrow sattar and altaf , your daddies de facto :)

Galaxy

I think this the utter failure of ***** bros.They know they are not speaking for the majority of Pakistanis since they are not elected by them.So they will listen to all kind of bullshit without saying a single world.

ramses2x1

look at this picture :) and let me tell you what exactly she said that put smile on nawaz sharifs face :)

" modi and altaf ki bohat khoob bajai aap ney " well done :)

reported in wall street journal : 30 August 2015

ramses2x1

good night cheeko , hope you will have a lovely sleep :)

Zainsha

she did exactly same to MQM and ANP group when they visited washington to discuss the master plan few years ago ! i am pretty sure you know what I'm talking about ;) if not ask farrow sattar and altaf , your daddies de facto :)

Laughing Out Loud.. who told you I am MQM supporter?? uss kalay saand h@r@@m khorr ko to main apnay haath say goli maar doon agar kabhi bas chalay to.. raha farooq sattar.. woh bechara kiya karay.. apni jaan aur apni family ki jaan bacha raha hai.. kisi din khilaaf ho gaya to kala saand ussay bhi marwa day ga...

karachi ki dash dash kar kay rakh di kalay saand ne.. karachi main jo bhi support hai woh sirf aur sirf darr ki waja say hai..

JuanM67

Ram Lal Haramee, We will put a long finger of Ghauri in Modi daal infested colon, shortly. Mother effing Ahole Endian.