Recent attacks on Siasat.pk website

Status
Not open for further replies.

AsifAmeer

And Adeel what makes you believe its some NON-PTI party who is doing a DOS attack on your machine? Has your IT staff informed you what country the range of attacking IPs belong to? Is it China or Russia? Maybe its just an info-steal attack.

Has your IT staff blocked the range of those IPs on the firewall?

For $600 to $800 a day, your website would never see daylight. Your IT staff is playin bluff!

-Ur welcome.

Our site has been constantly under attack recently because someone thinks we are supporting PTI. We are a public run discussion forum. Hows is it our fault if majority of the members are PTI supporters.
100s of Dollars are being spent DAILY to keep our site down(according to our server guys it costs around 600-800 dollar per day to create such an attack)

Seriously who has such a budget to keep just one site down?

If you have an issue why not talk to us directly? Instead of taking the cheap route.

e17c25dcf07cc7d25d281c50ddc77ff4.jpg

And Adeel what makes you believe its some NON-PTI party who is doing a DOS attack on your machine? Has your IT staff informed you what country the range of attacking IPs belong to? Is it China or Russia? Maybe its just an info-steal attack.

For $600 to $800 a day, your website would never see daylight. Your IT staff is playin bluff!

-Ur welcome.

hahahha I gotta hear response to this one.

Adeel bhai!!!! Please answer the question (bigsmile)

Siasat.pk is not working properly after changing server...

Since yesterday siasat.pk is not working properly in UK.. whenever i try to login my account it shows server is busy and some times it shows database error.. i think the new server is not fully funnctional or the trafic is more then capacity.... Moderator please fix this problem...

Re: Siasat.pk is not working properly after changing server...

Since yesterday siasat.pk is not working properly in UK.. whenever i try to login my account it shows server is busy and some times it shows database error.. i think the new server is not fully funnctional or the trafic is more then capacity.... Moderator please fix this problem...

Brother Malik, we are aware of the issue and working on it.

Thanks everyone else for your suggestions.
All your queries or questions will be answered by our webmaster Faisal in a bit.

KhanHaripur

[hilar] This guy realy thinks this web site is going to make or break Imran Khan. What a looser.

I suspect [MENTION=10641]wadaich[/MENTION] [MENTION=13572]modern fakir[/MENTION] [MENTION=10337]KhanHaripur[/MENTION] and couple of other guys.
Oonth jad vi bolay ga,zeera hi keray ga:)):))

KhanHaripur

[hilar] This guy realy thinks this web site is going to make or break Imran Khan. What a looser.

I suspect [MENTION=10641]wadaich[/MENTION] [MENTION=13572]modern fakir[/MENTION] [MENTION=10337]KhanHaripur[/MENTION] and couple of other guys.
Oonth jad vi bolay ga,zeera hi keray ga:lol::lol:

A.Ali.T

MQM
ky ilawa najaiz kamo ky ly aur kisi ky pass itny $$$$ nahi hai.
Bhata money spend on siasat as well siasat.pk.(bigsmile)

Totally uncalled for remark, without any foundation or basis. Name of the poster says it all Grouchy, Grumpy, Insane Angryrooldman.

SaadKnight

Do U expect a web presence with such a huge traffic is being run without "load balancer"? If it is so... .... it is a breaking news for me(serious)

@Adeel Please check the "Server Busy Error" below:

I think that if there was a load balancer in place, we should not be having this busy server problem.
[MENTION=4936]Adeel[/MENTION] , does siasat.pk run on a cluster?

arnold_mic

Admin: Can you share some site's stats?

Admin,

I wanna know that how many new users registered on siasat.pk after 30th Oct? I am just curious.

sahiL

Re: Admin: Can you share some site's stats?

are you the one who kept this site down for few days?...lolz.....

Re: Admin: Can you share some site's stats?

its basiclaly after the lahore jalsa people have posted many threads against imran khan... he pulled up a big surpirse to many ... so even im curious whetehr the people were already their writing off imran kkhan and woke up after the lahore jalsa or joined in afterwards... i knw nawz sharif hired a team some tme back to do manage his facebook accounts and respond to ppl.....
I think its going to be complected some where along the lines of elections.

webmaster

Hi guys,

Thanks for your time and suggestions. I really appreciate your inputs for this issue. I would like to answer few questions in this post.

Why not we block IP or IP range to prevent attack?
First of all this is not as simple as it seems to be. Hackers are not using specific IP's for attack as our system got good security and firewall which can block IP's automatically after certain number of connections from same ip. This attack is really organized and they are using big range of proxies for this attack. Of course we are blocking those proxy ranges but then they started to use new IP's.

This attack is not creating 2000 connections from single IP but they are created 2000 connections with 2000 IP's just like normal users. IP's are not related to any specific range or country.

Why somebody is spending 100s of $$$ to attack on siasat.pk?
We are not sure if somebody is paying to hackers for this attack or this is kind just a part of series attack from any group. The estimate of $600 to $800 is just an figure in which we can replicate the same nature of attack. May be somebody is also using hacked servers to originate these attacks.

Why we are not using load balancing to prevent such attacks?
Siasat.pk is already hosted on heavy servers and we got more then enough resources to run this board. We are working to resolve this issue permanently and hope this site will be stable very soon.

You guys are doing this for ratings or your IT guys are playing bluff with Adeel:
We really respect your view guys please think practically.

If site admins are doing this for rating then we are loosing a lot of members and visitors everyday. This is more serious issue for us then rating. We may get few new users by this trick but what about the hundreds of visitors that we are losing everyday.

IT guys are spending much more extra time on server then normal day and also this is not what we are saying it is our server providers.

Hope I have answered most of the questions and queries. Thanks for your posts and support.

Traffic can be monitored easily with backtracking, but it will definitely cost a lot
You can try moving yourself from HTTP protocol to a better more encrypted secured protocol HTTPS, there are few techniques that are automatically handled by HTTPS (use SSL)

-Ur welcome.

hahahha I gotta hear response to this one.

Adeel bhai!!!! Please answer the question (bigsmile)

Please read the above post. Thanks

Status
Not open for further replies.