Pakistan Rupee and Reserves in Free Fall

RiazHaq

http://www.riazhaq.com/2013/12/pakistan-rupee-in-sharp-decline-as.html

Pakistani rupee has sharply declined to 109.50 rupees to a US dollar, a loss of nearly 10% of its value in just a few months since Mr. Nawaz Sharif was sworn in as Prime Minister in June, 2013. At the same time, the foreign exchange reserves have plunged to $3.463 billion, a 12-year low since November 2001 when country had foreign reserves of $3.5 billion.

The drop in rupee and foreign exchange reserves is happening in spite of the fact that remittances from overseas Pakistanis are setting new record highs and IMF bailout funds are also being disbursed.

Overseas Pakistanis Remittances:

Overseas Pakistanis have sent home over $55 billion since 2008-9. Last fiscal year alone, expatriates remitted about $14 billion. Additional $ 5.3 billion in remittances have flowed in the first four months (July-October) of the current fiscal year 2013-14, a increase of 6.27 percent over the same period last year.

Foreign Direct Investment:

Net foreign direct investment (FDI) has surged 13.3 percent to $424.9 million in the first four months (July- October) of the fiscal year 2013-14 versus $375.1 million received in the same period of last fiscal year, according to the State Bank of Pakistan as reported in the media.

IMF Bailout:

Pakistan has received $550 million from $6.6 billion bailout package agreed in September this year.

Policy Inaction:

Economist Sayem Ali was quoted as saying by Pakistani newspaper Express Tribune that sharp decline in foreign exchange reserves resulted from large oil import payments and external debt repayments. “Aggressive monetary tightening, higher import duties and cash margins on imports would have eased the pressure on foreign exchange reserves. However, the government has so far not shown any urgency to arrest the decline in reserves,” he said.

Another Lost Decade?

Economic mismanagement by Nawaz Sharif's economic team brings back memories of the lost decade of 1990s when economic growth plummeted to between 3% and 4%, poverty rose to 33%, inflation was in double digits and the foreign debt mounted to nearly the entire GDP of Pakistan as the governments of Benazir Bhutto (PPP) and Nawaz Sharif (PML) played musical chairs. Before Sharif was ousted in 1999, the two parties had presided over a decade of corruption and mismanagement. In 1999 Pakistan’s total public debt as percentage of GDP was the highest in South Asia – 99.3 percent of its GDP and 629 percent of its revenue receipts, compared to Sri Lanka (91.1% & 528.3% respectively in 1998) and India (47.2% & 384.9% respectively in 1998). Internal Debt of Pakistan in 1999 was 45.6 per cent of GDP and 289.1 per cent of its revenue receipts, as compared to Sri Lanka (45.7% and 264.8% respectively in 1998) and India (44.0% and 358.4% respectively in 1998).

After a relatively peaceful but economically stagnant decade of the 1990s, the year 1999 brought a bloodless coup led by General Pervez Musharraf, ushering in an era ofaccelerated economic growth that led to more than doubling of the national GDP, and dramatic expansion in Pakistan's urban middle class.

The best one can hope for is that Nawaz Sharif and his finance minister Ishaq Dar have learned from their past mistakes and they will try and do better this time around. I expect it'll be a lot tougher now because of other major issues such as terrorism and energy which also require a lot more attention.

http://www.riazhaq.com/2013/12/pakistan-rupee-in-sharp-decline-as.html

hans

We R better than India.

LOL !!!!

AS we rot from within, I would not be suprized to see UN Forces, including Indian Army martching on Pakistani streets, saving us from what we have become.

DOnt get pissed, think what I am saying.

modern.fakir

Another gift of the wonderfull Democratic system ! (bigsmile) ....They democracy lovers should kiss their leaders now.. and where are those idiots who say that martial laws have pushed the country back ?

Can they come up here and support their arguments ???

shassan655

I have started to hate the word " Democracy". Reason being, you cannot have democracy in a country where you have mostly illiterates. Otherwise the corrupt would rule us in the name of " Sham democracy". Look around you and tell me, don't you think Zardari and Nawaz Sharif are working hard to get their kids into Politics. You will see, Current ruler's children will rule on us again in the name of democracy in the near future.

People curse the Army rule. But can someone please put forth the table which I can't seem to find was posted on siasat.pk the prices of commidities during Musharaf, Zardari and Nawaz. The only way to get rid of these clowns is through French Revolution type of revolution.

Loyal_Expat

We R better than India.

LOL !!!!

AS we rot from within, I would not be suprized to see UN Forces, including Indian Army martching on Pakistani streets, saving us from what we have become.

Oye tu kithay pakistani mama............

hans

yaar kitna bak bak karte ho ?

What language r u using?

If you are Pure Pakistani read and write in Urdu.

As Per Pakistani Canadian, all Pakistani write there mother language as Urdu. They never say they speak Punjabi.

Oye tu kithay pakistani mama............

jason

Another gift of the wonderfull Democratic system ! (bigsmile) ....They democracy lovers should kiss their leaders now.. and where are those idiots who say that martial laws have pushed the country back ?

Can they come up here and support their arguments ???
They are the gift of the same system you are advocating Sharifs and Bhuttos even in Election 2013 establishment interfered and brought one of the cronies to do what for continuity

We R better than India.

LOL !!!!

Do not compare us with cow piss drinkers.

I have started to hate the word " Democracy". Reason being, you cannot have democracy in a country where you have mostly illiterates. Otherwise the corrupt would rule us in the name of " Sham democracy". Look around you and tell me, don't you think Zardari and Nawaz Sharif are working hard to get their kids into Politics. You will see, Current ruler's children will rule on us again in the name of democracy in the near future.

People curse the Army rule. But can someone please put forth the table which I can't seem to find was posted on siasat.pk the prices of commidities during Musharaf, Zardari and Nawaz. The only way to get rid of these clowns is through French Revolution type of revolution.

Long time i was believing that democratic system is the right choice, but i am changing my mind.

I hate military rulers, as they are paid to serve on borders and help where Govt. need assistance. So they should keep away from Govt.

VoteME

yaar kitna bak bak karte ho ?

What language r u using?

If you are Pure Pakistani read and write in Urdu.

As Per Pakistani Canadian, all Pakistani write there mother language as Urdu. They never say they speak Punjabi.

Bakwass bund karoo gaanjoon k pujari. u must be cow/dog piss drinker to compare us with indians. Itnay achay lagtay hain tumhain tou dafa ho jaoo india. aur Indian forum pe ja k Pakistan ki buraiyaan karoo.

shassan655

Long time i was believing that democratic system is the right choice, but i am changing my mind.

I hate military rulers, as they are paid to serve on borders and help where Govt. need assistance. So they should keep away from Govt.

Bhai..I totally agree with you. But the problem is how can we rely on the democratic govt. Reason being, we are not qualified for a democracy. Look at Sindhi Landlord's, people working on their lands are in hundred's. All they have to do is get those Hari's and Laborer's to Vote for them. Punjab situation is no different. In Punjab you have these Sharif brothers. Now sincerely, you think these Sharif brother's have qualified people working under them. These Sharif's are really Paindo's. In Punjab you can find highly educated and qualified people, but problem is who can run in elections you need Millions of Rs. to stand in elections. If we don't have money we can't run and lead our people. These Political Mafia's will keep the so called democracy within their own families.

Now as per Army intervention is concerned, I do agree that their job is to safe guard the country border's. But what other choice you think we have. What is the other solution. If no democracy or Army..then who else. We can beg and cry infront of Allah. But at the same token we see our nation's people going to bed empty stomach's. I will support the Army because atleast during Musharraf era we were having a good economy. Yes, I agree Drones were the big problem, which we should have rectified and stood against. I was in support of Drones too thinking wrongly that we are targeting the Terrorist, but the ground realities were horrible and we were loosing 90% civilian population. I am out of options. I am very disheartened with Imran Khan, how can you shake hands and talk to Taliban..when they have killed thousands of Innocent civilians due to Suicide attacks. Would Taliban, ask for forgiveness for all those killings or the families who lost their loved ones would forgive them. But I say hope for the best and ask Allah to help us otherwise are doomed.

modern.fakir

Sharifs and bhuttos deserve what they get when they dont select on merit. Regardless, now that they have been selected WHAT HAVE THEY DONE FOR THE COUNTRY ?? ...The question is NOTHING ! (bigsmile)

They are the gift of the same system you are advocating Sharifs and Bhuttos even in Election 2013 establishment interfered and brought one of the cronies to do what for continuity