Nuclear Secrets & Pakistan's Terror Trader

M Ali Khan

Please see above post of mine. Thanks
I have avoided quoting Tarek Fatah. Really hate that drama-baz lying cheat.

Instead I have quoted the more credible NTI report and the book quotes from Eating Grass by a senior SPD official as posted and analysed by Khaled Ahmed.

Please read the posts.

RustamShah

My PhD thesis on this issue is more than enough to counter all his arguments as allegations and deliberate maligning Pakistan's nuclear programme..................I am looking forward to publish it asap.........

Acha Ji ! Is your so called PhD thesis tell us that He sold Pakistani secret technologies to other countries as well ? I was reading above comments and thinking what on the earth is wrong with these people ? They are fixed on his stealing secrets from Holland but totally ignoring the fact that he sold this to other countries for Money ! and He had no right to do this !! It was Pakistani technology and he sold like a traitor, he should be hanged for treason, yet idiot Pakistanis think he is their hero... no wonder Pakistan is in trouble because of idiot ideology and blind faith.

RustamShah

@RustamShah

I am not among those who worship Dr Qadeer though I dont have a very bad opinion of him either.

But u know............u also have reputation for certain kind of posts on this forum and when I saw Tarek Fatah is picture in the videos u posted, it suddenly gave me a feeling of repulsion combined with your reputation and I did not bother to click play button of the videos.

Moral: if u want to counter DR Qadeer's influence on Pak public then present something with a little more credible face, not with the one who is thousand time less credible than the person whom u want to pull down.

If you are not among those who 'worship' Qadeer then it should not be a problem for you to see a 'BBC Documentary' ? Just because Tarek Fatah posted it, does not mean He was involved in making this Docu ? You understand this hopefully, though ... right ?

And you are right, I have been labled many times with many names, but my attitude is, who cares, instead I focus on things which I believe are true, even if they are bitter, you don't have to like them at all.

Qadeer is a liar and he is not even a normal person, watching and reading his latests 'statements' .. and if you can not make your mind after all the information you have then .. my dear friend its your problem, it will not change the reality about this monster Qadeer. He sold Pakistani state secret for money and he should be hanged for treason, but alas, we Pakistanis are ignorant and stupid, blind followers of fairy tales and fabricated stories.... No wonder .. Hasan Nisar ka Matam kisi waja se hi hay !

ZenoInTheZoo

If you are not among those who 'worship' Qadeer then it should not be a problem for you to see a 'BBC Documentary' ? Just because Tarek Fatah posted it, does not mean He was involved in making this Docu ? You understand this hopefully, though ... right ?

And you are right, I have been labled many times with many names, but my attitude is, who cares, instead I focus on things which I believe are true, even if they are bitter, you don't have to like them at all.

Qadeer is a liar and he is not even a normal person, watching and reading his latests 'statements' .. and if you can not make your mind after all the information you have then .. my dear friend its your problem, it will not change the reality about this monster Qadeer. He sold Pakistani state secret for money and he should be hanged for treason, but alas, we Pakistanis are ignorant and stupid, blind followers of fairy tales and fabricated stories.... No wonder .. Hasan Nisar ka Matam kisi waja se hi hay !

I explained it before your bringing it in.......and that is, it is not always the message but sometimes it is messenger and the context of the message as well. Messenger in this case is Tarek Fatah......so who would like to waste their time on this eternally disgruntled (and this word is euphemism!) scum who never had the Towfeeq to say a good word about his mom......I mean his motherland?

Qadeer to me was primarily driven by the love of motherland and then by a personal ambition and a name for himself (khud numai) which is human and not a very bad thing in itself until it became an incurable disease and his nemesis, and ruined everything for him. Corruption and personal freed entered much later.

This is just to tell you that a little bit literate, average Paki is not as ignorant about such issues/things as you have or would like to assume. Frankly they hardly need any schooling in this regard from people like u whom I have never seen posting anything positive about Pak or Islam. Pakis do not like this public laundering of their dirty linen on every available opportunity. It affects their national psyche, and seep and eat into their already low national confidence.

You have read a verdict on Qadeer but what about his handlers who even used to count the breaths he would take under their watch including that icon of progressiveness called daughter of the East whom people like u admire secretly?

You ended ur post with the mention of the desi version of Tarek Fatah..........a person suffering from severe intellectual constipation and with the loudest and farthest distance between his practice and preaching.........still u want this forum to take ur posts seriously?

amber123

Acha Ji ! Is your so called PhD thesis tell us that He sold Pakistani secret technologies to other countries as well ? I was reading above comments and thinking what on the earth is wrong with these people ? They are fixed on his stealing secrets from Holland but totally ignoring the fact that he sold this to other countries for Money ! and He had no right to do this !! It was Pakistani technology and he sold like a traitor, he should be hanged for treason, yet idiot Pakistanis think he is their hero... no wonder Pakistan is in trouble because of idiot ideology and blind faith.
Pakistan is well safe due to hiscontributions........problems is with people like you not tolerating some kind of development for the country......

RustamShah

Pakistan is well safe due to hiscontributions........problems is with people like you not tolerating some kind of development for the country......

Pakistan is well safe because there are many other who worked with him, you are giving him all the credit for no valid reasons. And again, if he worked to make Pakistan safe, then by selling its state secrets for money made him a traitor and he should be hanged ! I hope your Ph.D thesis contains such details as well, if not then its not complete and useless !

RustamShah

I explained it before your bringing it in.......and that is, it is not always the message but sometimes it is messenger and the context of the message as well. Messenger in this case is Tarek Fatah......so who would like to waste their time on this eternally disgruntled (and this word is euphemism!) scum who never had the Towfeeq to say a good word about his mom......I mean his motherland?

Qadeer to me was primarily driven by the love of motherland and then by a personal ambition and a name for himself (khud numai) which is human and not a very bad thing in itself until it became an incurable disease and his nemesis, and ruined everything for him. Corruption and personal freed entered much later.

This is just to tell you that a little bit literate, average Paki is not as ignorant about such issues/things as you have or would like to assume. Frankly they hardly need any schooling in this regard from people like u whom I have never seen posting anything positive about Pak or Islam. Pakis do not like this public laundering of their dirty linen on every available opportunity. It affects their national psyche, and seep and eat into their already low national confidence.

You have read a verdict on Qadeer but what about his handlers who even used to count the breaths he would take under their watch including that icon of progressiveness called daughter of the East whom people like u admire secretly?

You ended ur post with the mention of the desi version of Tarek Fatah..........a person suffering from severe intellectual constipation and with the loudest and farthest distance between his practice and preaching.........still u want this forum to take ur posts seriously?

You are no different then the others who live in Pak Sarzameen, traped in in past and confused by fabircated stories and beliefs. Now either you or others understand or like what for example Tarek Fatah or Hassan Nisar says, it will not the change the reality which they speak. Its quite funny that you raised an objection about me, I never said anything positive about Pakistan... tell me anything which you think is positive and we all Pakistanis are agree on it and I will talk about it. In Quran we have many stories about past nations which were destroyed for some sins or 'Bad Habbits', you will be surprised today's Pakistanis are doing everything which in Past caused destruction of a civilization. Then you want to believe on the jokes like.. Pakistan Allah ke Razon main se aik Raaz hai ???? [hilar]. Come on man, what is wrong with you guys ?

ZenoInTheZoo

You are no different then the others who live in Pak Sarzameen, traped in in past and confused by fabircated stories and beliefs. Now either you or others understand or like what for example Tarek Fatah or Hassan Nisar says, it will not the change the reality which they speak. Its quite funny that you raised an objection about me, I never said anything positive about Pakistan... tell me anything which you think is positive and we all Pakistanis are agree on it and I will talk about it. In Quran we have many stories about past nations which were destroyed for some sins or 'Bad Habbits', you will be surprised today's Pakistanis are doing everything which in Past caused destruction of a civilization. Then you want to believe on the jokes like.. Pakistan Allah ke Razon main se aik Raaz hai ???? [hilar]. Come on man, what is wrong with you guys ?

From ur opening line I thought u r going to attack my person.......but credit to ur good senses that u did not take that route.

Now tell me how those who r sons of soil and r attached to the soil can be any different? You will always find them same!

Nobody can change the reality for the other. Can I change it for u with these few words while u may have an experience of 20-30 years behind yours? So, my friend it is always relative and incremental. Your reality is relative to the biases given to u by your experiences, knowledge, observations, upbringing and the environ u grew in and my reality is relative to mine. What always makes the difference is that which aspect/side/dimension of reality we choose to focus on.

The problem with people like TF, HN and u is that u ridicule and abuse the nation.........the common Paki who has nothing do with what Pak has become to be known with, except perhaps for lately an indifference towards the state of affairs, even that is the result of great deception played on it by its ruling classes which inlude army generals, politicians of every color perhaps with the exception of ZAB, clergy, feudals, greedy industrialists and bureaucracy with some honorable exceptions. In this regard the biggest damage was done by ISI/agencies shaped and led propaganda/history born out of their own insecurity complex being neighbor to an imaginary enemy showing a complete lack of vision and fed to generation after generation thru state controlled media and other organs. A nation of cocoons were raised!

We were not always like this. We were still good even after the loss of half of the country. Then it started to go all wrong.....extremely wrong.........with the curse called Zia. Mainly this indifference is the direct result of denied participation in the affairs of the state during last two prolonged military rules and reckless policy of our generals to fight others' wars at the cost of their own country. When ordinary people saw its ruling classes reveling in loot and plunder......an indication of lack of trust in the future of country, that indifference turned into moral degeneration at micro level.

For TF, it is easy to ridicule and abuse from the coziness of Canada and same is it for HN from this privileged position of a pseudo-intellectual sitting in his mansion and farmhouse. Not including u in this bcoz not sure of ur position and status. If they have to do life like an ordinary Paki is doing in Pak, all of u would become a little more empathetic towards them.

I am sorry I have not added to ur or anyone else's knowledge with the above paras but it was just to make a larger point that this is another perspective to see at things....to see the larger picture.......a sort of diagnostic and solution-oriented attitude.....instead of scolding the common people all the time. So, try to change ur PERSPECTIVE of looking at the REALITY along the lines I have tried to portray it for u and u will find, my friend, what is wrong with us guys!

I also intended to write the positives about us including u but the post is already quite long and if u r able to change the perspective then hopefully u will immediately notice many positives. Just think why u and me r engaged in all this, is there a reason? I will end this copying one line from the above:

".....a sort of diagnostic and solution-oriented attitude.....instead of scolding the common people all the time"

ZenoInTheZoo

My PhD thesis on this issue is more than enough to counter all his arguments as allegations and deliberate maligning Pakistan's nuclear programme..................I am looking forward to publish it asap.........

What specific topic ur thesis is/would be on and is it being written in pak or uk?

zhohaq

I have avoided quoting Tarek Fatah. Really hate that drama-baz lying cheat.

Instead I have quoted the more credible NTI report and the book quotes from Eating Grass by a senior SPD official as posted and analysed by Khaled Ahmed.

Please read the posts.

lol Khaled Ahmed

A question for For the uploader of this video.....Can you please tell that the nations like France and other nuclear powers with this technology never transferred it for the political & strategic reasons?

Khud karo tou Aqal mandi, Ham karain tou Chori......Wah re tera insaf......

And by the way Dr Qadeer transferred it with the full consent of army because that looks completely illogical that he acted all alone. Later they made him a scapegoat.....

Excellent post.

Yes AQ Khan "stole" Uranium Gas Centrifuge technology from Uranco.
Yes he traded this to gain Nuclear weapon blueprints from China, Missile technology from N Korea, Uranium from Libya, Finances to run KRL programmes from Libya and Iran.
Yes he had a word wide network of contacts of suppliers to arrange for precision parts that Pakistan could never have acquired in any other way.

Yes the Military knew all about it but allowed it as it was the only way.

In my eyes this makes him a even bigger hero. One man who changed this country history.

And only driven by patriotism and his religion with zero selfish motives.

Because it was abundantly clear incompetent clowns working at PAEC Samar "Coal gasification "mand, Munir Khan etc would never have delivered . They wasted 4 yr before AQ kHan showed up on a Plutonium Design. Till this day all our Nuclear warheads are Uranium based.

Pakistanis who needlessly criticise AQ Khan and dont acknowledge the debt of gratitude to me are traitors who are not sincere with this country.Sorry buts in this case its pretty black and white.

Next to US every other country "stole" the know how needed for the Nuclear programmes.
China, France,UK,India,USSR all of them
Google Rosenburgs, Charles Fuschs etc.
Even US programme was run by mostly European scientists.
Later for their ICBM and Space Programmes they even used Nazi scientists. (Operation Paperclip)

ZenoInTheZoo

lol Khaled Ahmed

Excellent post.

Yes he traded this to gain Nuclear weapon blueprints from China, Missile technology from N Korea, Uranium from Libya, Finances to run KRL programmes from Libya and Iran.
Yes he had a word wide network of contacts of suppliers to arrange for precision parts that Pakistan could never have acquired in any other way.

In my eyes this makes him a even bigger hero. One man who changed this country history.

Because it was abundantly clear incompetent clowns working at PAEC Samar "Coal gasification "mand, Munir Khan etc would never have delivered . They wasted 4 yr before AQ kHan showed up on a Plutonium Design. Till this day all our Nuclear warheads are Uranium based.

Pakistanis who needlessly criticise AQ Khan and dont acknowledge the debt of gratitude to me are traitors who are not sincere with this country.Sorry buts in this case its pretty black and white.

Next to US every other country "stole" the know how needed for the Nuclear programmes.
Later for their ICBM and Space Programmes they even used Nazi scientists. (Operation Paperclip)

In agreement to all else except two points:

If someone does something for the motherland out of patriotism, they are doing a natural duty.........the commitment with which someone does that deserves recognition proportionately by the state.........this in no case should be taken as some kind of Ehsan on the fellow citizens.

Gratitude demanded is not the same as the gratitude paid.

On balance, I still remain positive about Dr Qadeer......but his no more a god he used to be. He was found wanting when he needed to show character!

M Ali Khan

lol Khaled Ahmed
All he did was quote Eating Grass written by a very senior former SPD officer.

I wouldn't "lol" too much if I were you.... :D

sure he was ruthless, sure he was dedicated, sure he was selfless.... but you left out one important bit

HE GOT CAUGHT!

not only did he got caught, he BOASTED about his stuff in public through newspapers and interviews his entire life (esp during his actual years working)! When working in such a sensitive project, its wise to shut up and do your job rather than attract attention.

India stole nuclear technology from civil projects to go nuclear by 1974....THEN they started to boast! Same with the US, USSR, China etc. All of them first secretly acquired nuclear weapons capability and THEN they started boasting about it.

We started boasting BEFORE we even could learn to make fissile material. That's not dedication, that's stupidity!

his ego got the better of him, his vanity screwed him up and caused perhaps the BIGGEST embarrassment to Pakistan.

CIA, Mossad, Europol had known of his activities since the 1980s. They wanted to arrest him, but Regan's compulsions in tackling Soviets with the Afghan "Jihad" (lol) of 1980s with Pakistan's help meant he decided to REPEATEDLY ignore desperate cries from his intelligence staff and Senators in imposing sanctions on Pakistan.

So you can also thank Amreeka Bahadur in allowing us to achieve that nuclear capability :) Oh and dont forget to say JEAY BHUTTO for starting it :P

do whatever you must, but dont get caught. and if you do get caught, dont complain about facing the stick ;)

zhohaq

In agreement to all else except two points:

If someone does something for the motherland out of patriotism, they are doing a natural duty.........the commitment with which someone does that deserves recognition proportionately by the state.........this in no case should be taken as some kind of Ehsan on the fellow citizens.

Gratitude demanded is not the same as the gratitude paid.

On balance, I still remain positive about Dr Qadeer......but his no more a god he used to be. He was found wanting when he needed to show character!

I agree with your principle (in principle ha!).

But would just add that till Musharraf sudden capitulation and onslaught of Pr Mush media voices , AQ Khan was given highest honors by the state. He was treated by public at large as hero.(Still is by vast majority)

The revocation of the status was not a spontaneous. Rather done explicitly to justify Musharaf action against AQ khan.
Which included a spurious forced admission of "guilt" in national media, years of house arrest and media black out.

If he demands gratitude now its only because he was so unfairly treated by a dictator and his goons.
In fact most of Mush lies are faithfully reproduced by a certain segment of the self flagellating English speaking press.

Also overall he has grown disillusioned with Pakistan and how it has turned out (after 2001 WoT period).
I can t blame him

All he did was quote Eating Grass written by a very senior former SPD officer.

I wouldn't "lol" too much if I were you.... :D

sure he was ruthless, sure he was dedicated, sure he was selfless.... but you left out one important bit

HE GOT CAUGHT!

not only did he got caught, he BOASTED about his stuff in public through newspapers and interviews his entire life (esp during his actual years working)! When working in such a sensitive project, its wise to shut up and do your job rather than attract attention.

India stole nuclear technology from civil projects to go nuclear by 1974....THEN they started to boast! Same with the US, USSR, China etc. All of them first secretly acquired nuclear weapons capability and THEN they started boasting about it.

We started boasting BEFORE we even could learn to make fissile material. That's not dedication, that's stupidity!

his ego got the better of him, his vanity screwed him up and caused perhaps the BIGGEST embarrassment to Pakistan.

CIA, Mossad, Europol had known of his activities since the 1980s. They wanted to arrest him, but Regan's compulsions in tackling Soviets with the Afghan "Jihad" (lol) of 1980s with Pakistan's help meant he decided to REPEATEDLY ignore desperate cries from his intelligence staff and Senators in imposing sanctions on Pakistan.

So you can also thank Amreeka Bahadur in allowing us to achieve that nuclear capability :) Oh and dont forget to say JEAY BHUTTO for starting it :P

do whatever you must, but dont get caught. and if you do get caught, dont complain about facing the stick ;)

No quoting someone who is so clearly partisan and conspiracy prone is lol worthy.
He simply isnt a serious academic.
To be frank he is a conspiracy theorist who cherry picks unsubstantiated "facts" to arrive at laughable premises.
(Like the time he claimed Zia was murdered by Shia extremists lol)

I would suggest reading from neutral sources to arrive at a more balanced position.
I mean there is alot of academic material available on this subject.
(Like for example this excellent primer commissioned by Green peace that details AQ Khan European supplier network:www.greenpeace.org/international/en/publications/reports/a-q-khan-urenco-and-the-prol/)

And Caught by whom?

What an odd notion.
Pakistan was never a signatory of NPT or CTBT.
Since 70's Pakistan has made it clear it will develop Nuclear weapons no matter what the cost,consequences or means.
Thanks to AQ Khan it was possible.

If Musharraf made him the fall guy to wash our establishment "sins",Its more a reflection of Musharraf spinelessness then anything else.
Commando was (as usual) pressured to take an absurd position. Pretend Military had no idea of its own Nuclear/Missile programme.

Its sad people are still humouring this absurd notion.
Show some intellectual honesty for god sakes.
Dont let hoarse faux outrage and facile "condemnations" from powers that never wanted Pakistan to go nuclear define the parameters of your understanding.
Commando humiliated a national hero who did sooo much single-handedly just to get Armitage not to breathe down his neck.
I mean that inexcusable and ppl who still push the laughable Mush position in the media on this issue can only be motivated by a hatred towards this country.

(Same sources that dont have anything to say about Israel helping the South African Apartheid regime develop a Nuclear weapons programme.
Infact same clowns who till this day pretend Israel does not even have one.)

AQ Khan managed to evade strict Anti proliferation measures and intense scrutiny.
He was never "caught" by the many forces that never wanted to see Pakistan go nuclear.
He was rather "Caught" by spineless beghariat uniformed traitor Gen Mushrraf and a ********* muft khor treacherous shameless military establishment which has surrendered any self respect or notion of sovereignty ages ago.

Sure AQ Khan boasted about his accomplishments.
Rightly so. But if you live in the real world and not some Khaled Ahmed alternate reality you would know such "veiled: boasts were routine from other leaders such as Zia, Bhutto, Benazir, GIK.

Some times this sort of public signalling had to do with increased tensions with India.

AQ Khan did not reveal anything which wasn't extensively known from atleast the 80's.

Numerous press reports had already covered his network.
Especially since there were major cases in courts in Belgiam and Canada thorugh out 80s related to this work.
(Incidentally AQ khan managed to win most of these cases or get acquited from them. Another testament to his sheer brilliance in this regard )

And on Bhutto of course he gets credit for starting the programme.
AQ Khan has repeatedly said how ZAB responded to his letter to him and saw the incompetence of the PAEC clowns who were wasting his time.

At same time also worth acknowledging (as you do in a way) Zia ul Haq under whom the bulk of the work towards a Nuclear weapon was done.
Also his ability to frustrate western attempts to stop the programme.
The notion US "Allowed" Pakistan to have a weapon is also rather silly.
It did no such thing. It simply did not have an option in the matter. Its intelligence was incomplete.
Zia was able to diffuse its diplomatic pressure repeatedly by obfuscation, redirection and some quite brilliant manoeuvring.
(National Security Archive had a very intresting set of document on this aspect)
1 www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/nukevault/ebb333/
2 www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB114/
3 www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB6/

In Summary for the love of God stop reading this nauseating revisionist crap DT,FT,Dawn,News week produces.
Outside Pakistan self flagellating lot (and India) no one takes these ridiculous revisionist accounts by Pervaiz Hoodbhoy,Khaled Ahmed, Samar Joker Mubarak mand & other assorted PAEC good for nothing seriously.

M Ali Khan

But would just add that till Musharraf sudden capitulation and onslaught of Pr Mush media voices , AQ Khan was given highest honors by the state. He was treated by public at large as hero.(Still is by vast majority)

The revocation of the status was not a spontaneous. Rather done explicitly to justify Musharaf action against AQ khan.
Which included a spurious forced admission of "guilt" in national media, years of house arrest and media black out.

If he demands gratitude now its only because he was so unfairly treated by a dictator and his goons.
In fact most of Mush lies are faithfully reproduced by a certain segment of the self flagellating English speaking press.

Also overall he has grown disillusioned with Pakistan and how it has turned out (after 2001 WoT period).
I can t blame him

No quoting someone who is so clearly partisan and conspiracy prone is lol worthy.
He simply isnt a serious academic.
To be frank he is a conspiracy theorist who cherry picks unsubstantiated "facts" to arrive at laughable premises.
(Like the time he claimed Zia was murdered by Shia extremists lol)

I would suggest reading from neutral sources to arrive at a more balanced position.
I mean there is alot of academic material available on this subject.
(Like for example this excellent primer commissioned by Green peace that details AQ Khan European supplier network:www.greenpeace.org/international/en/publications/reports/a-q-khan-urenco-and-the-prol/)

And Caught by whom?

What an odd notion.
Pakistan was never a signatory of NPT or CTBT.
Since 70's Pakistan has made it clear it will develop Nuclear weapons no matter what the cost,consequences or means.
Thanks to AQ Khan it was possible.

If Musharraf made him the fall guy to wash our establishment "sins",Its more a reflection of Musharraf spinelessness then anything else.
Commando was (as usual) pressured to take an absurd position. Pretend Military had no idea of its own Nuclear/Missile programme.

Its sad people are still humouring this absurd notion.
Show some intellectual honesty for god sakes.
Dont let hoarse faux outrage and facile "condemnations" from powers that never wanted Pakistan to go nuclear define the parameters of your understanding.
Commando humiliated a national hero who did sooo much single-handedly just to get Armitage not to breathe down his neck.
I mean that inexcusable and ppl who still push the laughable Mush position in the media on this issue can only be motivated by a hatred towards this country.

(Same sources that dont have anything to say about Israel helping the South African Apartheid regime develop a Nuclear weapons programme.
Infact same clowns who till this day pretend Israel does not even have one.)

AQ Khan managed to evade strict Anti proliferation measures and intense scrutiny.
He was never "caught" by the many forces that never wanted to see Pakistan go nuclear.
He was rather "Caught" by spineless beghariat uniformed traitor Gen Mushrraf and a ********* muft khor treacherous shameless military establishment which has surrendered any self respect or notion of sovereignty ages ago.

Sure AQ Khan boasted about his accomplishments.
Rightly so. But if you live in the real world and not some Khaled Ahmed alternate reality you would know such "veiled: boasts were routine from other leaders such as Zia, Bhutto, Benazir, GIK.

Some times this sort of public signalling had to do with increased tensions with India.

AQ Khan did not reveal anything which wasn't extensively known from atleast the 80's.

Numerous press reports had already covered his network.
Especially since there were major cases in courts in Belgiam and Canada thorugh out 80s related to this work.
(Incidentally AQ khan managed to win most of these cases or get acquited from them. Another testament to his sheer brilliance in this regard )

And on Bhutto of course he gets credit for starting the programme.
AQ Khan has repeatedly said how ZAB responded to his letter to him and saw the incompetence of the PAEC clowns who were wasting his time.

At same time also worth acknowledging (as you do in a way) Zia ul Haq under whom the bulk of the work towards a Nuclear weapon was done.
Also his ability to frustrate western attempts to stop the programme.
The notion US "Allowed" Pakistan to have a weapon is also rather silly.
It did no such thing. It simply did not have an option in the matter. Its intelligence was incomplete.
Zia was able to diffuse its diplomatic pressure repeatedly by obfuscation, redirection and some quite brilliant manoeuvring.
(National Security Archive had a very intresting set of document on this aspect)
1 www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/nukevault/ebb333/
2 www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB114/
3 www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB6/

In Summary for the love of God stop reading this nauseating revisionist crap DT,FT,Dawn,News week produces.
Outside Pakistan self flagellating lot (and India) no one takes these ridiculous revisionist accounts by Pervaiz Hoodbhoy,Khaled Ahmed, Samar Joker Mubarak mand & other assorted PAEC good for nothing seriously.
have you read "Nuclear Deception" by Adrian Levy and Cathy Scott-Clarke? Its a fascinating read on AQ Khan's story as well as Reagan era politics on nuclear issues with Pakistan :P

ZenoInTheZoo

I can t blame him

Did not have the opportunity to clarify that my opinion/assessment of AQK has nothing to do with what Mush/Army did to him. Generals needed a scapegoat and against all hopes he unfortunately proved to be a fairly easy one!

Actually I have long held that our generals/agencies are so unbridled.......so supra-state that QA Jinnah died them for too early and saved his pants. Otherwise, had it been required by any flimsy expediency these generals would not have hesitated for a moment to put even him on the altar of their incompetency, power-hungriness and inflated egos.

I look at AQK from two angles: managerial (as Project Manager) and moral (Personal Character). From the former's perspective, with the results he achieved/delivered for a very complex project with lot of prying eyes focus on him, he delivered his mandate with excellent results. Mind it usual project evaluation parameter of cost, time and quality were not an issue. He was given access to unlimited resources (not only in monetary terms) without any book keeping and accounting requirements imposed. So, mine is not a purely project management evaluation. But still..........as a nationalist I feel indebted to him for what he achieved. I dont go into that crap of stealing..........when u r serving a religious/national cause like in this context, everything is allowed except taking someone's life without a valid reason.

From the perspective of his personal character, he is a below average creature. Apart from financial bungling......and they are also of quite significant size........from the start he was driven by a consuming desire to carefully inculcate an image of a demigod for him using right wing journalists like Mustafa Sadiq, Zahid Malik, Abdul Qader Hasan, Qureshi Brothers, Shami and many others who would religiously write him at set intervals in every newspaper of its worth. This happened throughout the whole of 1980s. And they would employ every kind of metaphor from Mohsin-e-Pakistan to Ummah and Islamic bomb to turn him into a larger than life figure which in certain/some sense he was and many senses he was not. It was not a one-way favor exercise. All these journos were also benefiting from his closeness in certain ways. Particularly, Zahid Mailk became quite a specialist in this regard.

This was a person who at a time was revered by the whole of Pakistan almost unanimously (still revered by 60-70% ignorant majority in my assessment) but he absolutely failed to know how to carry his image of a demigod which he had become at that time. He became (or perhaps was from the start?) even greedier in terms of self projection, personal ambition/national service with which he was bound to tread on some sensitive toes and thus negative image building (mainly planned by Sharif Family Mafia) started thru the likes of Nazir Naji and HN and the last nail (or straw, use whichever u prefer) was his forced/managed confession. At that time, had he had any (personal) character.....even just the average one........he would have stood up to the generals and would have regained most of his goodwill back he lost to negative propaganda (but not without reasons or proof)......but u know, as they say, at the end of the day u get what u really deserve......

BTW for a student of PR and image building he can serve as an excellent case study!