News Night with Talat - 15 May 2012 - Dr samar Mand Mubarak - Thar Coal & Our Fortune!!

InsafianPTI

he is a bit weird but i think he should be given chance to atleast show he can actually do it, instead of giving money for all the scam projects why not give him money to produce electricity for atleast 20-30 Mw like he says, its a fair demand.
He definitely deserves a chance .
I have serious doubts about the claim of this guy....

PakistaniFirst

and what technical , practical or theoretical basis do you doubt him

secondly what experience or relevant qualification do you hold to challenge a professional ?

is nay kom ko truck ki butti k pechay laga rakha hey ........... since 2010 he is saying that crap.
Dr.Qadir is right and also Dr.Farid malik of PTI is right.

What Dr.Samar is saying, this is not commercially viable yet but on experimental basis many countries working and producing little bit.

go to google and check UCG coal. you will find everything. You dont need to be Phd to understand what Dr.Samar and Dr.Qadir is saying.

najeebahmad

Remember he is a PhD even before most of us were born. Although Dr A Q Khan might not have good words for him but he cannot be a fool working on high positions for most of his life. I think Petrol lobby is against him as he is snatching away their business.

affanpervez

Well done Dr. Sahab May Allah help you in making this project game changer for Pakistan and give guidance to our corrupt leaders to release funds for this project.

mrk123

I have to admit that even though I am an engineer I don't have the expertise in this field to tell for sure but I have friends in the energy sector who cast serious doubts about his claims. I think he is given to exaggeration just a tad bit. Well, the proof is in the pudding - slowly but surely he is lowering the bar for himself which is pretty evident from his interview here.

You may disagree with me which is just fine - I will be the first one to admit that I was wrong if he can prove his claims. In fact I would like to see his claims come true and I think that some of them will but not to an extent what he is selling.

I think that he is trying to pull an AQ Khan on us.

and what technical , practical or theoretical basis do you doubt him

secondly what experience or relevant qualification do you hold to challenge a professional ?

mrk123

I never said that cut his funding - in fact he has to be given a reasonable chance to prove himself. I just doubt that his tall claims would come to fruition. I am not saying that he would fail completely but it will not be a panacea for all our energy problems as he has been selling to people.
But you know me - always a pessimist even though secretly I want him to succeed but little things called reality and practicality always spoil the party ;-)

he is a bit weird but i think he should be given chance to atleast show he can actually do it, instead of giving money for all the scam projects why not give him money to produce electricity for atleast 20-30 Mw like he says, its a fair demand.
He definitely deserves a chance .

mrk123

Exactly - I had read the wikipedia entry on underground gasification when I watched the interview and someone posted a link to it too. It seems that the technology is there but the question is whether it is a viable and feasible technology for the type of coal we have and what would be our costs to produce electricity using this technology.

I would recommend him that if he is so confident about the technology and he said that it saved us $60M in technology transfer then why not sell that technology to customers who are so dying to use the technology for $50M and fund his project in pakistan.

is nay kom ko truck ki butti and pechay laga rakha hey ........... since 2010 he is saying that crap.
Dr.Qadir is right and also Dr.Farid malik of PTI is right.

What Dr.Samar is saying, this is not commercially viable yet but on experimental basis many countries working and producing little bit.

go to google and check UCG coal. you will find everything. You dont need to be Phd to understand what Dr.Samar and Dr.Qadir is saying.

He is claiming something for which lot of expectations from whole nation I believe everyone wishes it to be successful but to be honest his performence and outcome of 5 years are bit disappointing.Here we need our leadership(Govt &So called Opposition),experts in this field to come out and tell truth about this project,if its not feasable we must know prior so disappointment may be less.

Bhai Agar Samar Saheb bhi ney bhi Choona(kiyon ke Pakistan Mein Choona Hamesha Milta hai Kuch miley ya na Miley Choona Miey Ga) Kharid liya hai tu Qaum ko Koyi Jaldi Bata de.

sparkie

just watched the programe..i dun see any reason to doubt him..very few ppl in our country are actually doing something and he infact already showed everyone by successfully implementing the pilot project...

why they can't make this project as National project just like they did it for our nuclear programme..and float the 50% shares to public..all overseas investors thhan buy their shares and enjoy dividend once project is in full production..it can be WIN-WIN situation..

ejazahmad88

Dear brothers who are have negative thoughts about our heros. Why always have negative thoughts especially about our own people. I bet if an american scientist would have been on the seat of respect dr. Samar then all so called engineers would have liked his thoughts. But since he is pakistani and few people who are so impressed from americans and british that they even can not imagine that a pakistani scientist can do this.

We are people who like the graves and we give due respect to people after their death. But the reality is the approved funds have been blocked because ipps and other mafias don't want him to get any success.

He is a total drama baaz who does not hold any qualification in the project he is talking about. He is more of like those laal topi guys who keeps talking. He should first tell us how much money he is taking from these projects. First he was going for the gold mines and now thar coal. Is he in sane? how would you work if you dont have any kind of qualification?

Urooj_lbw

Islam qubuul karle usm100, bohot hogai ab
He is a total drama baaz who does not hold any qualification in the project he is talking about. He is more of like those laal topi guys who keeps talking. He should first tell us how much money he is taking from these projects. First he was going for the gold mines and now thar coal. Is he in sane? how would you work if you dont have any kind of qualification?

mkamd

I give this much that UCG is a complicated process but we have to give credit to Dr. Mund that instead of giving lip service he has been trying to do something about energy crisis. Now how viable is his project perhaps this should be discusssed at National level by experts in the field though I doubt if we have any experts on this topic in Pakistan. Since Russians, UK and USA have done some work on this ( Russians being most successful ) our governament can bring some expert to analyze the claim ( trust me it will cost much less than one abroad medical check up trip of Zardari).

I have lived long enough in America to understand their system & innovation. When Americans build something they rarely do it right the first time and they know it. But they believe in perseverance. Therefore they keep correcting the mistakes as they move forward and finally launch an excellent product. However, they keep their mind open for new ideas, avoid monopoly and remain practical.

Being said this, lets think about what we have got. Dr. Mund is right in saying that we are importing very expensive oil to produce electricity and Governament can not afford to give 50% subsidy for ever. Whatever be the reason none of the foreign investors has attempted to develop Thar coal yet, so basically its just a promise. On record we have already wasted more than 100 million on rental power without producing a single KW. If not 100 megawatt than may be 30-50 MW plant can be given to Dr. Mund to prove his point that he can do it. As far as I understand no matter how long the flame lasted weather 4 months or 4 hours, it proves one point that they were able to go in the ground and succesfully oxidize coal reserve and able to produce gas. In this technique real problem is technical expertise to keep gas flow constant as it depends on so many variables like rate of oxidation, water influx, penetration of gas through coal etc. My guess is that portion of expertise will come with experience when they have a pilot electric station. But until they don't build one they can't learn either.

Its better we learn this process by ourselves. If we let foreigners do it for us they are going to charge us a hefty price to us and take all the profit to their home.. I agree with Dr. Mund that we just do not need electricity. We need cheap electricity.