Iron miracle in Quran: Fact or myth?

paki_

“And We also sent down iron in which there lies great force and which has many uses for mankind…” (Quran 57:25)

according to most Islamic scholars this verse references that Allah told mankind about Iron that came from meteors. now most people believe that before the revelation of Quran the world did not know that iron came from meteors and were actually using iron that is in the ground. now the difference between earth iron and meteorite iron is that meteorite iron has high nickel count.

The earliest known example of the use of metallic iron in Egypt dates to approximately 3400BC, this corresponds to the pre-historic time before Egypt became a single state ruled by a pharaoh. Found within a grave in the Gerzeh cemetery, situated 70km south of modern Cairo, were the remains of a man, along with valuable grave goods - an ivory pot, a stone palette and a copper harpoon - and strung across his neck and waist were beads made from precious materials including gold, carnelian and iron.
Soon after their excavation in 1911, scientific analysis revealed the beads to be nickel rich; as all meteorite iron is nickel rich this indicated a meteorite origin

http://www.open.edu/openlearn/scien...he-sky-meteors-meteorites-and-ancient-culture

so does this mean that mankind knew about iron falling from the skies thousand of years before the Quran? yes, it does. now the fanatics are going to tell me that the verse in question is saying that there are other uses of iron being talked about, but it is clearly written that Allah gave the knowledge of iron for waging war, i.e, making weapons. so in the 7th century AD, any person walking on the street could have told you that iron does come from the sky and can be smelted.

HORUS

The only elements that were formed on Earth are those produced by radioactive decay. All iron on Earth was produced by large stars that existed before our Sun formed: the iron was created during nuclear fusion and later released when the parent stars exploded, presumably supernova. After our solar nebula had formed and material had been gravitationally compacted, dense elements like iron did not get far from the center of the nebula before "precipitating" out into planets and meteors. So YES the origin of iron on earth are astronomical

Iconoclast

Wait, you're mixing things up, sort of. While iron had been smelted long before the advent of Islam and the specific verses, nowhere is it recorded in history that they knew the origin of it. That's akin to water knowing about it all the while and only recently we came to know almost all of it was transported to earth in the form of meteorites. Iron and all other heavier metals are formed when a sun goes crazy aka blows itself to smithereens.

Afraheem

A around of applause for my dear friend, He busted the myth about Quran Kareem not being Word of Allah according to his interpretation now all the Muslim should apologize and stop practicing Islam as their religion right?
I am confused here what should i do? Should I just take this argument like any other bad joke or should I explain to you that Quran Kareem is not a scientific book which needs constant updation.
It a message from Creator to its creation like manual book for living their lives t succeed in this life and after.
It is filled with some predictions and knowledge and history about this universe but the main topic is to give warning about judgement day and glad tiding for better life compare to this one who follow the message.

jee_nee_us

oh so they smelted iron and used it that means that they knew that it came from outer space otherwise they would not have dared touch it.

musakhan786

you need to read and understand the Quran properly, bits and pieces of knowledge does not make you expert by any mean, Quran is the most authentic book mankind ever seen. even Quran critics admit no other book not even comes close to Quran.

ahh yes, let the dislike come. don't even try to discuss it

Bhai Sir discussion kae leeae quran hadees kaa detail course kurna purrae gaa

yaar Sir maeree advice kae zeeyada naaa sonchoe,

aqal istaemal kurroe, halfknowledge is dangerous,

mashallah u are musalman baal kee khaal nikalnae kaaa faedaa nahee, nukhsan hae,

pehlae furz toe uddaa karroe like helping respecting others kurroe charity kurroe that's more than enough to have good life on earth and thereafter

you gonna debate quran here

itna detail sonchoe gae Sir toe u will invite
shaitaan stick to your beliefs dont question it too much, keeya milae gaa criticize kurkae,

allah gave us brain use it

peace

kaalashaa

Every time I see a person trying to prove something wrong in perfect logic, they present some twisted logic and say "see I proved it wrong". Yes, they prove their own twisted logic wrong but not the original one they are referring to.

Anyway, what were u trying to say?

ahh yes, let the dislike come. don't even try to discuss it

paki_

Should I just take this argument like any other bad joke or should I explain to you that Quran Kareem is not a scientific book which needs constant updation.
It a message from Creator to its creation like manual book for living their lives t succeed in this life and after.
It is filled with some predictions and knowledge and history about this universe but the main topic is to give warning about judgement day and glad tiding for better life compare to this one who follow the message.

maybe you should first tell your fellow muslims that Quran is not a book of science