Hazards of Praying in public in a non-Islamic country...

Before 9/11 it did not matter as nobody bothered. But now? Oh' boy, a big no no. Prevalent Islamophobia can land you into a big uncalled for trouble.
I do not doubt the integrity or love for prayers or per se for Islam of this boy but I would definitely caution him to be very careful.

tahirmajid

Jagha jagha openly Nimaz parh kay tamasha nahi banana chahiey, Allah ne masjid bananey is hukam kion dia? Ager aisey hi Islam pe amal karna karana hota to masjidein na bantein, tanhai ki ibadat is sawab bhi boht ziyada hay. Maine dekha hay Europe or dosrey countries mein log is tarha ki Garnett on kar rahey hain, mujhey nahi lagta keh ye koi boht achi baat hay, ibadat aap apney liaey kartey ho, dosro kay sath no aap ka ikhlaq or bartao hoga log to wahi daikhein he or usi se impressed honge. Islam mein to yehaan tuk bhi hukam hay keh ager aap ka malik non Muslim hay or so duty time mein nimaz nahi parhey de raha to aap baad mein parh lo

Jack Squire

Before 9/11 it did not matter as nobody bothered. But now? Oh' boy, a big no no. Prevalent Islamophobia can land you into a big uncalled for trouble.
I do not doubt the integrity or love for prayers or per se for Islam of this boy but I would definitely caution him to be very careful.
The khutbah before this last khutbah our imam gave an excellent lecture regarding etiquette while living in non-muslim countries. He recounted an incident of a Muslim employee of 7/11 who while performing ablution was seen by some non-muslim customers (they saw that the man was washing his feet in the sink) which to them seemed very repulsive and they complained. The point the imam raised was although the intention was good yet we living here in non-muslim countries have to be respectful of the culture here, being ambassadors of Islam, practitioners of Islam we represent Islam and thus should always put the best foot (pun intended :P) forward. He further suggested that we can take a little bottle of water to the toilet, wash our feet in there and then wipe the toilet seat after we are done, OR perform wudu at the time of Fajr, then wear socks over them, and simply perform masha over the socks at the office which nobody minds at all....
I can not agree more with him, so much so that Allah SWT tells us that when we approach non-muslims, we should do so in a beautiful manner by bringing up that which is common between us.....
A true momin is one that uses hikmah to better his/her affairs.....

The khutbah before this last khutbah our imam gave an excellent lecture regarding etiquette while living in non-muslim countries. He recounted an incident of a Muslim employee of 7/11 who while performing ablution was seen by some non-muslim customers (they saw that the man was washing his feet in the sink) which to them seemed very repulsive and they complained. The point the imam raised was although the intention was good yet we living here in non-muslim countries have to be respectful of the culture here, being ambassadors of Islam, practitioners of Islam we represent Islam and thus should always put the best foot (pun intended :P) forward. He further suggested that we can take a little bottle of water to the toilet, wash our feet in there and then wipe the toilet seat after we are done, OR perform wudu at the time of Fajr, then wear socks over them, and simply perform masha over the socks at the office which nobody minds at all....
I can not agree more with him, so much so that Allah SWT tells us that when we approach non-muslims, we should do so in a beautiful manner by bringing up that which is common between us.....
A true momin is one that uses hikmah to better his/her affairs.....

Exactly, what Imam Sahib and yourself saying is absolutely correct.
I remember before 9/11 if I was at a Mall or even walking by any open area I would get at a secluded side not very visible and say my prayers quietly (not the way this boy is doing). Sometimes if any caucasian American would see me they used to be very respectful and would see me in high esteem, many times telling me on my face you are a very pious Muslim, you don't miss your prayers. O' man! not anymore. Abb tou Masjid jaao aur allowed parking street per bhi gaari khari karow to doraan e namaz dil mein ajeeb say waswasay aa rahay hotay hein. namaz parh ker bahar aao tou kabhi windscreen per ticket intzaar ker raha hota hai aur kbhi gaari per scrateches. Law enforcement abb bhi boht zayadah monitor ker rahay hotay hein.

Shareef

Prayers is a sacred ritual between man and God and needs no public advertisement. Praying on the road side in a public place in a non muslim country (or for that matter even in a muslim country) is not the right thing to do. It may instigate some one and cause avoidable disruption/disrespect to the prayers. Imagine a Hindu offering pooja on the road n Raja Bazar Rawalpindi. Can he do it? If not, then we also need to be careful and respect the society we live in.

Jack Squire

Agreed, I do believe though most non-muslims are genuinely good people - atleast in Canada they are. They genuinely respect your beliefs, heck me n one of my gora room mate used to stay up all night and chat about everything religion and never once have I felt disrespected by these people. Rather they are good souls and thus I STRONGLY believe we (muslims in the west) MUST be the best in conduct and truly uphold haqooq al-ibad to rectify the negative image painted by Zionist/Indian media against Muslims ---

I often cringe when certain molvis in Pakistan refer to these good-hearted non-muslims as kafir/that they will goto Jahanam --- Why would you say that!?! Clearly Allah SWT tells us to use beautiful way to approach these people by sharing that which is common between you -- NOT by alienating them by saying "Oh you're going to hell!" -- ABSOLUTELY HATE THAT!!

May Allah SWT soften our hearts - Ameen!!

Agreed, I do believe though most non-muslims are genuinely good people - atleast in Canada they are. They genuinely respect your beliefs, heck me n one of my gora room mate used to stay up all night and chat about everything religion and never once have I felt disrespected by these people. Rather they are good souls and thus I STRONGLY believe we (muslims in the west) MUST be the best in conduct and truly uphold haqooq al-ibad to rectify the negative image painted by Zionist/Indian media against Muslims ---

I often cringe when certain molvis in Pakistan refer to these good-hearted non-muslims as kafir/that they will goto Jahanam --- Why would you say that!?! Clearly Allah SWT tells us to use beautiful way to approach these people by sharing that which is common between you -- NOT by alienating them by saying "Oh you're going to hell!" -- ABSOLUTELY HATE THAT!!

May Allah SWT soften our hearts - Ameen!!

Aameen.

Likewise, even as of today, I have found an average American citizen a good person regardless of whatever faith they belong to or whatever denomination of Christianity they practice. Would you believe that I, a staunch Sunni Muslim..... and my best friend in this country since 3 decades is a Rabbi. I have lots of friends from Jewish faith. We eat together, we laugh together and we cry together. Rabbi and I, sometimes we spend hours and hours together discussing everything under the sun including our faiths and our religions, never criticising each others faith but always trying to find commonalities in our faiths. Twice he gifted me Holy Quran. Now do you think I will ever think to disrespect this man?

Jack Squire

Aameen.

Likewise, even as of today, I have found an average American citizen a good person regardless of whatever faith they belong to or whatever denomination of Christianity they practice. Would you believe that I, a staunch Sunni Muslim..... and my best friend in this country since 3 decades is a Rabbi. I have lots of friends from Jewish faith. We eat together, we laugh together and we cry together. Rabbi and I, sometimes we spend hours and hours together discussing everything under the sun including our faiths and our religions, never criticising each others faith but always trying to find commonalities in our faiths. Twice he gifted me Holy Quran. Now do you think I will ever think to disrespect this man?
SubhanAllah -- may Allah SWT guide his heart to the ultimate truth and strengthen you in your goodness!!

Aameen.
One last thing about Rabbi.... he is the direct descendant of the Prophet Moses AS son Hakohen. He showed me his ancestors line. I'm sure you are aware of the fact that Jews have maintained their ancestors registry like nobody else.

Jack Squire

Aameen.
One last thing about Rabbi.... he is the direct descendant of the Prophet Moses AS son Hakohen. He showed me his ancestors line. I'm sure you are aware of the fact that Jews have maintained their ancestors registry like nobody else.
Wah SubhanAllah -- that is impressive!!!

Steyn

What's wrong with that? I used to think the same ie how good Kuffar are compared to some of Muslims but all their good is useless and wasted if they commit the biggest oppression one can commit ie Shirk. And yes, they are Kafirs.

When you approach them, yeah talk and be nice to them and invite them to Islam. But it doesn't change the fact that if they don't cease from Shirk, they will face a terrible end InshaAllah.

To me, it sounds like you're taking Maulvis statements out of context. If some Maulvi is being rude to non-Muslim face to face and doesn't talk to them then I'd agree with you. But giving a khutbah on how the Kuffars are commiting wrongs and will go to hell, what is wrong with that? That is teaching of Islam

Jack Squire

To me, it sounds like you're taking Maulvis statements out of context. If some Maulvi is being rude to non-Muslim face to face and doesn't talk to them then I'd agree with you. But giving a khutbah on how the Kuffars are commiting wrongs and will go to hell, what is wrong with that? That is teaching of Islam
are we not taught to use the best of words (all the time, especially when teaching one another)... check this out:

Molvi g instead of saying these guys will be jahanami could instead say these people clearly uphold haqoq-al-ibad and thus are already half muslims - thus we (muslims) need to become soo good in our conduct that these people get inspired and wana be like us?! Now to get the point across of shirk, well he could clearly state shirk is the utmost sin and it leads to jahanam...

This way you're not alienating anyone against anybody AND getting the message across....

Steyn

are we not taught to use the best of words (all the time, especially when teaching one another)... check this out:

Molvi g instead of saying these guys will be jahanami could instead say these people clearly uphold haqoq-al-ibad and thus are already half muslims - thus we (muslims) need to become soo good in our conduct that these people get inspired and wana be like us?! Now to get the point across of shirk, well he could clearly state shirk is the utmost sin and it leads to jahanam...

This way you're not alienating anyone against anybody AND getting the message across....

I don't know man. They're really not that great people.

Once you do some dealing with them long term, you will notice that they have a habit of deceiving.

Most of them believe YOLO - you only live once and there's no afterlife so they do anything to have the upper hand in this life including pretty scammy things.

Saying soft things like what you said to youth will just lead people to think they're great. Maybe after the tough messages, they should preach to be soft to them and be good to them so they come to Islam.