English or Urdu? keeping english in our curriculum = keeping poor suffering

concern_paki

This is the system created to keep the divide in between lower and upper class of Pakistan, it must be finished. We must have selected Arabic as our National Language at the time Pakistan was founded so we could have mitigate so many issues and must be much more prosperous today

What a load of absolute bollox. So if you can't do anything properly, then give it up, great logic? If you want to be competitive globally you have to be fluent in one of the global languages. English being the most widely spoken. Mandarin is the next big global language coming up.

It is simply because for the last 30-35 years the corrupt had done fcuk all on the education sector. Just look at across the border, their accents might suck but they have no issue with English.

Liberal 000

Poor speaks Punjabi and rich elite speaks Urdu... Urdu itself is a language of division and elite status!

English is a global language everyone must learn it.

:: Bhai Sahab degree tu har kissim ki Ajj kal har koi lylyta hai buss jaab mein RuPa hona chahiyh

Admiral

(I am a theoretical Physicist with PhD in Physics from US and a visiting scientist at CERN.)
My opinion is: it is too late now.
Instead the government can use the unemployed graduates who have good command of English, to educate the primary and secondary schools.

Vitamin_C

Urdu is not a Pakistani language, its the regional language of Uttar Pradesh and Bihr and a version of Hindustani langauge.

The national language of Mughal Empire and Pakistan region for last 2000 years was Persian. All our history and literature is in Persian including Iqbal. Persian is also a scientific language like French or English. The reason why we need English is that Urdu is not a scientific language.

Persian should have been the official language but the elites who supported Jinnah during partition were mostly from UP and Bihar, the first leaders if Pakistan were from UP. This is one of the reasons for 1971 disaster.

This is the system created to keep the divide in between lower and upper class of Pakistan, it must be finished. We must have selected Arabic as our National Language at the time Pakistan was founded so we could have mitigate so many issues and must be much more prosperous today

بدمعاشیہ نے انگریزی زبان کو طبقاتی تقسیم قائم رکھنے کا ھتیار بنا رکھا ہے. ان کے بچے انگلش پڑھیں آکسفورڈ میں پڑھیں غریب کو اس کی مقامی اور قومی زبان بھی نہیں پڑھائی جاتی

Galaxy

please get rid of this English, if you want pakistan to move forward. This multilingualism confuses our children. We are producing jack of trades but master of none people.

Galaxy

Not only english but also get rid of the local languages like Punjabi,Pashto,sindhi,balochi ect.ect.

Galaxy

Division in nations is created on bases of language.I can give you many many examples.Secondly keep a colonial language alive will keep their cultural door open to the colonies. Why you think they spend so much money to keep their language alive in their respective colonies.

Liberal 000

Reality is whether you like it or not... English has become a sole international language of the world. All other so called international languages are just the international languages by name and this phenomenon happened in this world for the first time.

Japanese, Chinese, Arabs, Latins,Europeans , Africans, Russians etc all have accepted it as a language of global communication and are learning it.

This world needs a global language and it has got one despite all opposition. It is very difficult for any other language to acquire this status now.

Liberal 000

Division in nations is created on bases of language.I can give you many many examples.Secondly keep a colonial language alive will keep their cultural door open to the colonies. Why you think they spend so much money to keep their language alive in their respective colonies.

Only difference between English and other is... English is a colonial language of our recent masters and Urdu developed in India under the Colonial Raj of our former Masters!

I think we should right Urdu in Divnagri script because the script we use is also of our colonial Masters Arabs and Persians!

Galaxy

Go to China,Russia,France, Germany and see how many people you will find speaking and understanding English. Sitting in pakistan and making false claims is easy but physically be their and then find out what you experience is some thing diffrent.

akzack

Tooo Late, Urdu did not recognise by any country, either Japan, China, Iran, Germany or any country, the young students are well expose to English, so our children must be educate in English to compete the world not the old junk.

Galaxy

Let me tell you from first hand physical experience .Go to Mexico or any latin american spanish speaking country and speak english and see for you will get. Just don't claim things that you don't know dude.

Vitamin_C

I disagree, Canada is a bi-lingual country. There are significant efforts in US from stopping local languages from growing extinct, diversity in language, culture and tradition is a strength not a weakness. Pakistan should protect its diverse languages not only the popular ones but also small ones on the North.

Division only comes when a specific group discriminates against other, for example Punjab discriminate against Sindh and Balochistan, or Saddam discriminating against Kurds. If you get rid of their language and culture then those people will go against you even more causing more divisions.

Urdu is also a colonial language. Before British arrived, Urdu was not an official language of any Muslim Dynastic in North India or modern day Pakistan. The official language for all Muslim Dynasties and empires in this region from 2000 years ago to Mughals was Persian.

If Persian was our official language we would not need English, because Persian is a scientific language.

Urdu is a version of Hindustani and it is the regional language of UP and Bihar. It is not native to West Pakistan and most people in Rural areas do not understand it unless they have been exposed to Bollywood.

Urdu_official-language_areas.png

Some members of my family studied in urdu medium schools. They used to go bonkers with maths and science subjects, with the weird translations and terminologies. Unless and until we can have homegrown research done in urdu, which develops an easier learning system, it is impossible for urdu to be the main teaching language for higher studies.

English is a universally accepted language. Using it doesnt mean you have a 'love' for it. It simply means its the commonly accepted standard. Build your homegrown research system, and you have have urdu speakers work in those sectors, like the Japanese, French, Germans etc. Till then, do what India is doing. There is no other way around it.

Galaxy

You know how much trouble canada has with this second language dude. Do you live here ?. If you do go to Quebec and try to go around with speaking english only.You people talk without any practical knowledge. TV and book smart.:D