Economics Article - Understanding Inflation - My Article at The News

AsifAmeer

inflation.jpg

http://blogs.thenews.com.pk/blogs/2012/01/31/understanding-inflation-%E2%80%93-our-core-problem/

Understanding Inflation – Our Core Problem

One Rupee was all I wanted for lunch at school during my early school days, enough to buy me one bag-a-chips, and three Rupees for Thursdays to enjoy Pepsi. This was about two decades ago. Today a bag of chips cost Rs7 and Pepsi Rs20. So what happened? Am I getting 7 times the amount of Chips or Pepsi? Or is it my money worth less? This one’s pretty easy to answer after enjoying Pepsi. If I had saved those Rs3 from 20 years ago, it would have lost 86% of its value today. So how did this happen? How did the value of my Rs3 erode away as time went by? Where did the purchase powergo? To answer this, we will have to understand Money and the role of Central Banks.

Money is a medium for markets to unitize goods and labor. It is a pricing-mechanism to signal abundance or scarcity of certain goods or labor available in the market. If this abstract idea is understood correctly, no government or economist can fool you. The value of the whole money- supply reflects the goods and labor (and its potential future growth) in that economy. More notes added into circulation do not add to value of money as a whole. In fact it does just the opposite. The existing note loses value as value is shifted from the old notes to new ones. This is key to understanding today’s Economic scam. Universities call it Keynesian Economics. The newly issued notes resets the pricing mechanism in the market. Commerce slows down till the pricing adjusts to accommodate the newly added notes. Inflation encourages hoarding which results in food-shortages, and discourages savings which is the soul of Economic growth. Run away from an economist who says Consumption is the path to Economic growth. Production is! The more a country produces, the more there will be good to go around. Increased production increases the value of money and reduces poverty. In principle, if the amount of money were to be left unchanged, value of money would continue to rise and things would start to get cheaper.

15 years ago, computers were pricey. Then companies found cheaper ways to make them, economies of scale and now we have affordable computers. Other examples are Mobile phones, DVD players. This didnt happened with food prices or electric rates, or transportation cost. They blew through the roof, let alone remain stable. So what happened?

Thats where the role of Central Banks come in. Pakistan’s Central Bank is State Bank of Pakistan. Every time a new Federal Government budget is released, it’s unbalanced i.e. Federal Government is spending more than it is collecting. So where is it getting the rest of the money? Thin air. And the Govt has lots of thin air. The State Bank prints that money out and hands it over to the Federal Govt. This reduces the value of the money you and I hold. The more the bank prints, the more we loose.

So why dont we ask the Government to simply balance the budget? Afterall, every household in Pakistan has to live within its budget. You see every time your government offers you something free, run away! If people only knew how expensive government provided free stuff is, they would never buy those arguments. Governments also play tricks of divide and rule. Governments pander to minority groups and play the ‘prisoner’s dilemma’. The collapse of moral standards guaranties a failed generation for future. Look around and you will witness it. Thank Bhutto’s socialist policies.

Govt needs to eliminate all sorts of subsidies. Subsidies create structural deficits in the Economies, encourages uneconomic behavior. Remember, nothing is free. There is always a cost for everything. Sure Pakistan is a Social Welfare State, but welfare comes from budget savings, not from budget deficits, just like there is no ZAKAT on borrowed money.

Asif-Punjwani_avatar-80x80.jpg
Asif Ameer trades equities, bonds and derivatives in the International Capital Markets. Dallas TX

maksyed

issuing new notes in circulation ..... or for paying foreign debts issue new notes ....... is also damaging .... well, nice article ....:yes:

AsifAmeer

for paying foreign debts issue new notes

Here's the issue. Your debt is in US $. You can print as much Rupee but it will not pay for US$. I have written an article covering the external debt and its solution. Here's the link to it
http://tinyurl.com/PAKGOLDSTANDARD

issuing new notes in circulation ..... or for paying foreign debts issue new notes ....... is also damaging .... well, nice article ....:yes:

AsifAmeer

Folks, how do I tag my buddies on the thread? Here's a list of the folks [MENTION=8726]Afsr[/MENTION] [MENTION=20600]ajeeba[/MENTION] [MENTION=25107]amgsls[/MENTION] [MENTION=24375]AsifAmeer[/MENTION] [MENTION=9625]azrana[/MENTION] [MENTION=24746]Barbossa[/MENTION] [MENTION=5021]biomat[/MENTION] [MENTION=24792]brilTek[/MENTION] [MENTION=11207]canadian[/MENTION] [MENTION=13215]Cheeko[/MENTION] [MENTION=17151]chitra[/MENTION] [MENTION=12943]crankthskunk[/MENTION] [MENTION=9348]deshdrohi123[/MENTION] [MENTION=16839]EniGma90[/MENTION] [MENTION=18621]eysonm[/MENTION] [MENTION=9841]faiza[/MENTION] [MENTION=15977]falcons[/MENTION] [MENTION=9701]funkymonk[/MENTION] [MENTION=8825]gazoomartian[/MENTION] [MENTION=8963]GeoG[/MENTION] [MENTION=11343]hawk eyed[/MENTION] [MENTION=23969]indigo[/MENTION] [MENTION=19074]jujuju[/MENTION] [MENTION=8382]Justuju[/MENTION] [MENTION=12222]Kavalier[/MENTION] [MENTION=12754]cefspan[/MENTION]

cefspan

Just Paste this on tag option bar .

Afsr ,ajeeba ,amgsls ,AsifAmeer ,azrana ,Barbossa ,biomat ,brilTek ,canadian ,Cheeko ,chitra ,crankthskunk ,deshdrohi123 ,EniGma90 ,eysonm ,faiza ,falcons ,funkymonk ,gazoomartian,GeoG ,hawk eyed ,indigo ,jujuju ,Justuju ,Kavalier,cefspan

AsifAmeer

This is proof that you cant know everything about everything.

Yet I know a few things about most things.
But I do know most things about a few thing.
And I know everything about nothing!

Just Paste this on tag option bar .

Afsr ,ajeeba ,amgsls ,AsifAmeer ,azrana ,Barbossa ,biomat ,brilTek ,canadian ,Cheeko ,chitra ,crankthskunk ,deshdrohi123 ,EniGma90 ,eysonm ,faiza ,falcons ,funkymonk ,gazoomartian,GeoG ,hawk eyed ,indigo ,jujuju ,Justuju ,Kavalier,cefspan

AsifAmeer

He's talking about Fractional Reserve Lending. Its mindboggling how any moral person wudnt object to it.

Lekin pata the issue he is explaining here, doesnt apply to Pakistan because leverage isnt the problem in Pakistan. Govt Deficit is. And its this deficit that is being financed by Western Leverage Machines.

He started talking about independent and decentralized money but didnt elaborate. Check out BITCOIN.

Read my Original article covering Monetary, Fiscal, Commercial and International Trade Framework for Pakistan
Education and awareness is key to development. Thanks for explanation.

Here is one TEDx talk on a relevant topic "The Money Myth".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5uGLbV5zVo

Sedqal

Govt needs to eliminate all sorts of subsidies. Subsidies create structural deficits in the Economies, encourages uneconomic behavior. Remember, nothing is free. There is always a cost for everything.
Some Observations:
- If govt. does not subsidize petro items public has to pay a multi-faced price. Transportation charges increase (public & private), electricity price increases, everyday items increase i.e. edible oil to shampoos (increase to varying degree but its almost always linked to oil price) - thus a whole scale increase. Wouldn't it be better to subsidize some specific items because the public has to face a greater trickle down effect?
- Related to last post a govt. for encouraging business activity has to have a stable environment, it simply can't do when cost of oil and electricity can skyrocket thus change the very cost structure of any business plan.
- There is an opinion that Musharraf by doing away with most subsidies actually exposed the poorer segment of society to forces (international price mechanisms) that they simply can not be expected to cope with.
Your learned opinion!?

AsifAmeer

Very valid questions. Here I will point 2 things.
1. You are right. Prices without subsidies will move higher at a broad spectrum. But this is what you want in the market. There are 2 things happening here. 1. You are being discouraged by the Market prices to use more gas or petrol than you absolutely need. 2ndly, when you buy Petrol or gas at a higher price, Oil and Gas Company profits soars and that forces other companies to enter the field and add competition. Also the added capital due to higher prices help spur investments in new Oil and gas fields. There is a saying in Economics that The cure for higher prices, are higher prices.

Aur phir ye bhi issue hai k ur diverting Monetary powers from a Market to Govt. Since Pakistan is an Islamic Republic, I feel financial cleanliness is just as important. When Govt subsidies get involved, there is always corruption. Its a spiral downward from there.

2. The second why Economics is hard to understand is because we humans are blind-sighted because of our own benefits. I will never advote higher prices for items I use. Same goes with every one. Its a human nature. And this is reflected as a major failure in a democratic system. That is why all major countries are founded as REPUBLICS and not Democracies.

- About Stability. Dekho I understand there have been oil and gas shortages in Pakistan. This has been a problem in the making since 2005. Subsidizing is inviting hyperinflation. I assure you, this are about to get very ugly in Pakistan. There is no immediate fix. There is no 4-hr Panadol for the problems Pakistan faces today. But lets make sure your kids dont face what Pakistanis are facing today. A sound Monetary system will being price-stability.

-About the issue of Musharraf. Haan, sahi keh rahay ho. I wrote an article called WE MAKE IT THE MIGHTY DOLLAR http://blogs.thenews.com.pk/blogs/2011/12/09/we-make-it-the-‘mighty’-dollar/
There I made a case that you gotta save Pakistan from International Bankers and its own Govt all at the same time. Or it would be pointless. You point to the very same issue but from a flipped angle.

Excellent observations.

Folks, keep the questions coming.

Some Observations:
- If govt. does not subsidize petro items public has to pay a multi-faced price. Transportation charges increase (public & private), electricity price increases, everyday items increase i.e. edible oil to shampoos (increase to varying degree but its almost always linked to oil price) - thus a whole scale increase. Wouldn't it be better to subsidize some specific items because the public has to face a greater trickle down effect?
- Related to last post a govt. for encouraging business activity has to have a stable environment, it simply can't do when cost of oil and electricity can skyrocket thus change the very cost structure of any business plan.
- There is an opinion that Musharraf by doing away with most subsidies actually exposed the poorer segment of society to forces (international price mechanisms) that they simply can not be expected to cope with.
Your learned opinion!?

AsifAmeer

2 million? Dollars? I dont believe in confetti!

This guy I knew. Had a bar of Gold at his office desk. 1 big bar of shining Gold. When you hold it, its not like you're holding gold. Its like the Gold's gotta hold of you! I'll donate you $2 mill .. in ten years.. when a chicken egg will get you $22k in change!

look pal, cut all the bull sh it and send me $2million will ya? I need to get my party United Patriots off the ground :biggthumpup:

2 million? Dollars? I dont believe in confetti!

This guy I knew. Had a bar of Gold at his office desk. 1 big bar of shining Gold. When you hold it, its not like you're holding gold. Its like the Gold's gotta hold of you! I'll donate you $2 mill .. in ten years.. when a chicken egg will get you $22k in change!

damn! already lost a donor:(

Once I had a bar too, sitting at the far corner of my office desk. I stared at it for few min, then slowly and quietly got up ensuring that the bar doesn't find out, got around the desk and NABBED the sucker and ate the little fellow

I love Wonder Bar

AsifAmeer

yeah.... i love wonder bra too!

damn! already lost a donor:(

Once I had a bar too, sitting at the far corner of my office desk. I stared at it for few min, then slowly and quietly got up ensuring that the bar doesn't find out, got around the desk and NABBED the sucker and ate the little fellow

I love Wonder Bar

AsifAmeer

To put it in blunt terms, asking for subsidies is like a dog chasing his own tail. And the tail will always be faster than the dog.

I gave this very example in my Econ class to my professor. He goes, "So you think I am a dog." I replied "No I am the dog. U Sir are an *******". I tried to crack him up but I had to leave the class after that. Made a C!.... c like in kunt.

Thanks for the free stuff from govt.
BISP
laptops
sasti rotti
sassta atta
peeli taxis

InsafianPTI

:lol:looks like someone paid for his words, well i think u only spoke the truth.
To put it in blunt terms, asking for subsidies is like a dog chasing his own tail. And the tail will always be faster than the dog.

I gave this very example in my Econ class to my professor. He goes, "So you think I am a dog." I replied "No I am the dog. U Sir are an *******". I tried to crack him up but I had to leave the class after that. Made a C!.... c like in kunt.

yeah.... i love wonder bra too!

lol Iwrote Wonder Bar by the way and not Wonder Bra

also, I hate Wonder Bra. that's why when I see them on some one, I take them off lmao

by the way, why did Ottawa ban the sale Wonder Bra in Quebec during the separatist movement in 1974??

Anybody knows?

Sedqal

You are being discouraged by the Market prices to use more gas or petrol than you absolutely need.
Thats a dangerous argument inherently favoring the more affluent (if the case was limited to luxury items only it would make sense).

when you buy Petrol or gas at a higher price, Oil and Gas Company profits soars and that forces other companies to enter the field and add competition. Also the added capital due to higher prices help spur investments in new Oil and gas fields.
That would be the ideal case but in real life scenario these companies will most probably form monopolies in growth stage and at some time near maturity it would be a cartel. Additional capital invested in exploration would not necessarily reduce cost of these goods as cartel (I mean in a real Global way) may keep the price at the point where it fetches greatest profits. Lets not underestimate these cartels, they nearly shelved alternative energy projects/ research also there is a very strong case that the famed electric car was shelved because of them (if true that exposes the nature of the beast, in electric cars they would have made indirect sales but didn't allow even that much of competition)

There I made a case that you gotta save Pakistan from International Bankers and its own Govt all at the same time.
Can we really differ between MNCs and banks? In a free market MNC reigns supreme!