Can Pakistan's F-16 fight terror? By Pervez Hoodbhoy

Reason

Can Pakistans F-16s fight terror?
57114847300a8.jpg

The writer teaches physics in Lahore and Islamabad.

PAKISTAN says it desperately wants Lockheed-Martin Block-V F-16 fighter-bombers at $87 million apiece for fighting terrorists in tribal badlands such as North Waziristan. An order for eight jets has already been placed. The US Senate is sympathetic; a move to ban the sale was massively rejected by majority vote. Lockheed-Martin, which peddles its deadly wares to all who can pay, has already sold 4,500 F-16s to 25 countries. It must be
pleased at this small, but tidy, deal of $700m.

But thoughtful Pakistanis should be worried. Wag*ing an aerial war against your own population is not a good idea. Even if you have to, shouldnt much cheaper weaponised drones be preferred over advanced fighter aircraft whose real job is to shoot down other planes? A drone, technically known as UAV, is far more precise than any fighter because it can loiter undetected over a target, capture and collect information better, and reduce though never eliminate damage to innocents. India is currently negotiating with the US for buying 40 Predator drones.

Drones merely crawl across the sky and so they wont stand a chance if the Taliban air force somehow acquires heaven-gifted Mach-3.5
Buraqs armed with advanced JDAMs. Then, at the very least, the fifth generation F-35 Lightning Fighter will be needed. Until that time, a state-of-the art
aircraft is a ridiculously expensive choice for fighting wild-eyed local tribesmen and assorted fanatics from Central Asia.

To destroy terrorism will require a massive change of public attitudes.

More importantly, F-16s or drones cant even dent the enemys real armour his ideology. The Taliban are fighting to forcibly transform Pakistan into a state run by Sharia law. In the last two to three decades millions of Pakistanis have come to share
enthusiasm for Sharia. Even while fighting the Taliban, many of our soldiers have agreed with their goal while disagreeing with their method. Hundreds, perhaps thousands, have died believing they are fighting agents of a foreign hand rather than religiously inspired fellow Muslims.

Military force, though sometimes indispensable, cannot eliminate those who live only to die. Pakistan has learned insufficiently from mighty Americas multiple failures in Afghanistan. No amount of aerial bombing, precision artillery, or even scorched-earth operations can daunt those who imagine they have been commanded by God to reform society. Faith, if strong enough, trumps fear.

So what will it take to get the upper hand in this existential conflict? The very first step is to realise that temporary victories achieved by use of force, while welcome, can fuel false hopes. After Operation Zarb-i-Azb, casualties from terrorist attacks have decreased by almost 40pc. A euphoric ISPR statement declared in December 2015 that, Phenomenal success achieved. Terrorist backbone
broken.

But no backbone was broken. The enemy is just resting. The subsequent suicide attacks on Bacha Khan University, and Gulshan-i-Iqbal childrens park in
Lahore, proved this. No one doubts that more atrocities will follow this year and next.

To destroy terrorism will require a massive change
of public attitudes and a complete repudiation of Pakistans current policy. This uses two hoses to fight a terrible fire. One pours water to douse the flames. But the other hose spews petrol, subtracting from the gains made by the first.

The petrol is in the form of incendiary television evening talk shows that justify or implicitly condone terrorism. Some hidden hand India, Afghanistan, Israel, or America is held to be responsible for all acts of terror. Todays television anchors and their guests are mostly those who had once claimed that Pakistans war on terror is not our war. Under army pressure they have stepped back recently, but only somewhat.

Drumming up jingoistic and religious sentiment, television has helped create an ambience where terrorism was explained away as resistance to Western invasions. Do readers remember TVs denunciation of the Lal Masjid operation? Or the discovery by multiple TV channels that suicide bombers were non-Muslims because they had not been circumcised?

To ban certain anchors and guests from freely peddling their lies using public media, and to jail them if necessary, would deflate popular support for extremists. Broadly, it is time to criminalise support for terrorism as much as terrorism itself.
Those offering justification and rationalisation of such acts, financing through donations, or opening front organisations should be punished.

More than F-16s, Pakistan needs better intelligence. This could have prevented the Army Public School
slaughter, and countless other atrocities. But, although budgets allocated to our multiple intelligence organisations are said to be generous, their professionalism mysteriously crashes when it comes to surveilling militant jihadist organisations.

Example: until earlier this week our spies were apparently unaware that Jamaatud Dawa, which was added on to the UNs list of international
terrorists groups in 2008, has been running a parallel and wholly illegal system of justice for many years. Sharia courts in Lahore, Gujranwala, Bahawalpur, Multan, and Islamabad have so far ruled on 5,529 cases. In case of murder, compensatory blood money was fixed at the price of 100 camels. Those found guilty have been too afraid to challenge the courts decision.

This brings to mind the Red Mosque. In 2007, its clerics had also illegally instituted their own system of justice that involved kidnapping Islamabads residents and trying them for moral crimes. Finally beaten down by the army, the price tag was 11 dead Special Services Group commandos and over 120 others. But it seems that subsequently the army lost the stomach to face urban challenges. No charge of murder of army officers was ever filed against the head cleric, Maulana Abdul Aziz, who continues to enjoy a normal life.

Religiously motivated terrorism threatens Pakis*tans existence. We have entered a state of permanent conflict where victory may not be possible even in 100 years. Drones or F-16s are not a solution. They may help in tribal areas but not in city environments where the enemy is thickest. Still, casualties can be reduced with good strategic thinking. Cutting off support to terrorists from their allies in the media, measures to stop
radicalisation of the youth, and effective intelligence is critical. These are critical needs.

The writer teaches physics in Lahore and Islamabad.
Published in Dawn, April 16th, 2016

http://www.dawn.com/news/1252330/can-pakistans-f-16s-fight-terror

Quora1

He sum up very well "Religiously motivated terrorism threatens Pakistan’s existence. We have entered a state of permanent conflict where victory may not be possible even in 100 years."
Pakistan cannot win its battle against the Taliban, when the views of many Pakistanis are barely any more moderate and parts of it remain largely tribal, medieval hellholes, ripe for sympathising views and fresh recruits....So much wrong with Pakistan one barely knows where to start.

Why millions of people gathered for Mumtaz Quadri funeral?? Did people were not aware? that he was criminal?? ...Indeed religion Islam is curse for Pak it has destroyed the Pak... What religion Islam did to Pak in last 30 years it can not be undone in next 50 years ... Every year Nawaz Sharif government r producing 1 million madrass graduates across Pak. what these graduates r doing after studies?? They become mentally retarded by considering them close to Allah and superior than to normal non madrass graduate Muslims.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6iUM8KJi2AI

Army already announced that the war on terrorism will continue for next 30 years.
Though in new circumstances Pak is lucky that ISIS emerged as new Islamic Jehadist. And most of the Pakistani Madrass students and very few university students start to join them in Syria.
Imagine if there was no ISIS in SYria, every 1 in Pak who want to do Jihad after madrasa education would join the Pak Taliban. The key Pakistani Talbian commanders r now in Syria and r part of ISIS.

Pakistan’s Religious Extremism: A World Menace Can Pakistan win its war against the Taliban?

Aftab Zaki

Why millions of people gathered for Mumtaz Quadri funeral?? Did people were not aware? that he was criminal?? ...Indeed religion Islam is curse for Pak it has destroyed the Pak... What religion Islam did to Pak in last 30 years it can not be undone in next 50 years ... Every year Nawaz Sharif government r producing 1 million madrass graduates across Pak. what r these graduates r doing after studies?? They become mentally retarded by considering them close to Allah and superior than to normal non madrass graduate Muslims.

Army already announced that the war on terrorism will continue for next 30 years.
Though in new circumstances Pak is lucky that ISIS emerged as new Islamic Jehadist. And most of the Pakistani Madrass students and very few university students start to join them in Syria.
Imagine if there was no ISIS in SYria, every 1 in Pak who want to do Jihad after madrasa education would join the Pak Taliban. The key Pakistani Talbian commanders r now in Syria and r part of ISIS.

He sum up very well
"Religiously motivated terrorism threatens Pakistan’s existence. We have entered a state of permanent conflict where victory may not be possible even in 100 years."

Pakistan cannot win its battle against the Taliban, when the views of many Pakistanis are barely any more moderate and parts of it remain largely tribal, medieval hellholes, ripe for sympathising views and fresh recruits....So much wrong with Pakistan one barely knows where to start.

Pakistan’s Religious Extremism: A World Menace

Can Pakistan win its war against the Taliban?

آپ کے خیالات بھی آپ کی انگریزی کی طرح ٹوٹ پھوٹ کا شکار ہیں
دونوں کو سخت مرمّت کی ضرورت ہے

Ali aapki baat say 100% muttafiq houn. Terror fight karein yaa na karein laykin muujhay itna yaqeen e kamil hai keh is BC ghaddar ki g***d zaroor phaar saktay haein. Isee leeaye isay her waqat wahaan per takleef rehti hai.

(P/S: Sorry for my expression but I too like yourself, cannot stand this traitor .)

Zmalik

I totally disagree with this man. In the current situation around Pakistan it is very essential that Pakistan should do whatever so that India who is trying to surround Pakistan like a cancer get defeated on each front.
I have not seen this man having good ideas for Pakistan just like Altaf Hussain. So the audience can sense what I am talking about when someone gets compared with Altaf Hussain. If you need prove then please google dr Hoodbhoy and carefully listen to his views.....

Liberal 000

Ali aapki baat say 100% muttafiq houn. Terror fight karein yaa na karein laykin muujhay itna yaqeen e kamil hai keh is BC ghaddar ki g***d zaroor phaar saktay haein. Isee leeaye isay her waqat wahaan per takleef rehti hai.

(P/S: Sorry for my expression but I too like yourself, cannot stand this traitor A$$hole.)

How he is traitor ?

You must be a mureed of useless Mullahs such as Tariq Jamil.

Aliimran1

I don,t feel like arguing right now but some other time I will give a million reason and argument to dislike this person,s illogical bias and stupid views about Pakistan in general and Muslims in particular so I will request you to read and listen his views without prejudice against Islam and you will feel that he is enemy of Islam and Pakistan

Why millions of people gathered for Mumtaz Quadri funeral?? Did people were not aware? that he was criminal?? ...Indeed religion Islam is curse for Pak it has destroyed the Pak... What religion Islam did to Pak in last 30 years it can not be undone in next 50 years ... Every year Nawaz Sharif government r producing 1 million madrass graduates across Pak. what r these graduates r doing after studies?? They become mentally retarded by considering them close to Allah and superior than to normal non madrass graduate Muslims.

He sum up very well
"Religiously motivated terrorism threatens Pakistan’s existence. We have entered a state of permanent conflict where victory may not be possible even in 100 years."

Pakistan’s Religious Extremism: A World Menace

Can Pakistan win its war against the Taliban?

خداداد

Ha Ha Ha...
Interesting and funny article with some contradiction and fear embedded into it. I would be easily convinced if I was told that this piece of research work is produced somewhere in our neighborhood; but even knowing that these thoughts of wisdom came from our own Professor of Physics does not surprise me.

In one paragraph he is objecting Pakistan's decision to choose fighter jets over UAV's and in the same paragraph he is appreciating India's move to order 40 UAV's. The question however is that; is India fighting a war against terrorism in their own country? If the answer is "no", then against whom would they use these UAV's? This skew eyed analyst while facing North, sees only with his left eye, hence not able to see what is going on beyond our eastern border. Only things he sees are Taliban, Zarb-e-Azab, F16's, etc. Monkeys and their handlers are often not visible to him because of his defective right eye. Or perhaps he does not want to see towards his right, who knows?

Despite all the misleading thoughts, he is rite about one thing. These F16's are way too expensive.

israr0333

The only other who shares the same views with the professor is Endia. How unfortunate!

[h=3]US' sale of F-16s to Pakistan: India expresses disappointment[/h]
Source:

Aliimran1

Why you think or assume that Tariq Jamil or any other Mullah is thakaydar of Islam -------- when you don,t have any argument to convince you bring these mullahs in discussion and divert the attention and the whole topic is changed ----- please stick to the topic these Mullah are not Islam
How he is traitor ?

You must be a mureed of useless Mullahs such as Tariq Jamil.

Quora1

I don,t feel like arguing right now but some other time I will give a million reason and argument to dislike this person,s illogical bias and stupid views about Pakistan in general and Muslims in particular so I will request you to read and listen his views without prejudice against Islam and you will feel that he is enemy of Islam and Pakistan

Leave the Molana Abdual Aziz aside,Ok! he is stupid illogical and useless as u argued, lets talk for other millions of people... , let me explain about people in picture below?? Why so many people from urban area was in Mumtaz Qadrai Funeral??? Do u think these people did fair by attending the funeral? or all they were wrong, stupid, illogical same ar Molana Abdual Aziz to glorify by praying, crying for Killer?? And clearly these people were very sad ,angry for punishing Qadri infect they were opnely sympathising for Mumtaz Qadri ???

mumtaz-qadri-funeral.jpg

sher_khan

This low life is a fascist, as proven by the following excerpt:

"To ban certain anchors and guests from freely peddling their lies using public media, and to jail them if necessary, would deflate popular support for extremists."

Reason

Mr. Reason try to be reasonable please ------ Is ulo Kay pathay ki koi bhi post yahan na lagain tu maharbani ho gi iss ko dekhtay he na janay kion ghusa aa jata hay

Mein samjha yahan per Log roz Korea Qabool ka non sense padh ker kissi sane voice ko sunna pasand kerein gay. Her waqt "Maulvi Tariq Jameel" or "Korea Maqbool Jaan" ko nahin sunna chahye. Apko Nahin padhna naa padhein. Mein wohi post keronga jo mujhe sahi lage gaa.

Aliimran1

Yeh sab Zia kanay ka boya hoa beej hay jisay aaj hum talban Nawaz Molana Fazlo Altaf aur in jaisay na janay kitnay ko bhugat rahay hain Yeh sab us Waqt ki paidawar hein aur aaj hum in ki waja se zalil o ruswa ho rahay hein aur In hi waja se Pervaiz Hood jaisay Mulk dusman Humaray senay per mong dal rahay hein
Leave the Molana Abdual Aziz aside,Ok! he is stupid illogical and useless as u argued, lets talk for other millions of people... , let me explain about people in picture below?? Why so many people from urban area was in Mumtaz Qadrai Funeral??? Do u think these people did fair by attending the funeral? or all they were wrong, stupid, illogical same ar Molana Abdual Aziz to glorify by praying, crying for Killer?? And clearly these people were very sad ,angry for punishing Qadri infect they were opnely sympathising for Mumtaz Qadri ???

mumtaz-qadri-funeral.jpg

Reason

I don't like the views of right wing douchbags like Korea Qabool or Fankaar Abbasi or any of the mullah brigade. But I still pay attention to what they say or write, even its something as stupid as erecting a 10th caliphate. Can u imagine all that insane sh!t that I have to read or watch? after reading those overly-zealous crap pieces everyday, I though I should Inject a lil dose of sanity into myself and others on this forum.

Reason

(P/S: Sorry for my expression but I too like yourself, cannot stand this traitor A$$hole.)

You can't do much about this Ghaddar from Texas. You need to take your *** to Pakistan first, and then tell the Pakistani people that you have come all the way from US to teach this Ghaddar a lesson. Camon Cowboy, Pakistani nation is waiting for you to come and take out this ghaddar.

Aliimran1

Aap Kay liay itna hi
Lagay Raho Muna Bahai
;)
Mein samjha yahan per Log roz Korea Qabool ka non sense padh ker kissi sane voice ko sunna pasand kerein gay. Her waqt "Maulvi Tariq Jameel" or "Korea Maqbool Jaan" ko nahin sunna chahye. Apko Nahin padhna naa padhein. Mein wohi post keronga jo mujhe sahi lage gaa.

HORUS

Quora1/ Okara Bull is a low Indian troll pretending to be Pakistan, in one of his previous posts he urged Pakistan to boycott Islam:naooz: but the admins took no action.

HORUS

if your Endia can have a mass murder as their prime minister, then why cant a few Pakistanis protest in favor of a murderer. First you Indians should look in the mirror and then come and bark at Pakistan

mumtaz-qadri-funeral.jpg

Porus

پاکستانی اخباروں میں مضمون لکھ لکھ کر پاکستان کو، اسلام کو، نظریہ پاکستان کو دل کھول کر گالیاں دینا اور پھر کہنا کہ یہ کیسا بیکار ملک ہے جہاں آزادی اظہار نہیں- ساتھ ساتھ مخالف نظریہ رکھنے والوں کی زباں بندی اور جیل میں ڈالنے کی فریادیں کرنا- اتنے شدت پسندانہ فاشسٹ خیالات کے اظہار کے باوجود اپنے آپ کو بڑی ڈھٹائی سے لبرل بھی کہنا (جس کی بنیادی تعریف ہی مخالف نظریات کا احترام ہے) - کوئی شرم ہوتی ہے، کوئی حیا ہوتی ہے

ایسے چپڑ کناتیے جب خود کو لبرل کہلانے پر اصرار کرتے ہیں تو حقیقی لبرلز کو سخت شرمندگی ہوتی ہے