"Being a woman doesn't limit me" Reham Khan's interview to India Today

yahya.khan

w-cover-story-3_050815011029.jpg

w-cover-story-1_050815011031.jpg

CEjvK9RUgAA4041.jpg

1102840336-2.gif

For complete interview plz visit

As the car winds up the hill to the most famous house in Bani Gala, Islamabad, I have no idea what to expect of Reham Khan. The lovely broadcast journalist married Imran Khan, the "most noted bachelor" in Pakistan, amidst controversy on January 7, 2015, in a simple ceremony in Islamabad. Their home rings with the laughter of children and the yelps of dogs. Slim, elegant, and dressed in a lawn salwar-kameez, 42-year-old Reham is gorgeous. She has worked as a prime time anchor for three top channels where she interviewed prominent politicians, covered big stories, and spoke on all that mattered. Reham became a household name in Pakistan, known for saying that you don't need to shout to be heard. Reham Khan at the family home in Islamabad. (Pic by Madiha Aijaz)

As Imran's wife, she is a partner in all that he stands for: a new Pakistan where everyone has an opportunity to live with dignity above all else. Without being bestowed any official position in the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) or the KP (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa) government where the PTI holds power, Reham's presence indicates that she is determined to be part of a changing Pakistan. Reham's most prominent physical attribute is her 500-megawatt smile that underlines her words, as she gets candid on life, marriage to Imran, her work and their children.

Did Imran ask you to cover your head after marriage?

No, not at all. He's not the type to force you to do anything. In fact, I said to him, "Imran, I'm marrying you because people don't know what a wonderful human being you are." I think people have no idea what he's like. He's an extremely shy person; he's not manipulative, he's not cunning, and what you see is what you get. He doesn't play games. The impression I had of him was that he was aggressive and hot-tempered but that's far from the truth. He's very forgiving and if someone makes a mistake, he overlooks it at once. Especially our employees. One would think he's an arrogant celebrity, but he's extremely down-to-earth.

What's Imran like away from the political glare?

When I first came into this house I thought, "Gosh, Imran doesn't even get cooked porridge!" If I introduce something new in the kitchen he's like "Yeh kya hai" (laughs). He's adorable, because he can live in the wild and couldn't care less. He is a non-fussy person.

What were your thoughts before marrying him?

Having been divorced for ten years, you become set in your ways. I told Imran I didn't want to compromise. I give my children a lot of freedom, which I suppose a lot of parents don't do. I do have rules but nothing like no noise, no music. We are a very loud family and my children share an easy relationship with us.

Is Imran a great father?

He is an amazing father. Like Sulieman, (Imran's firstborn with ex-wife Jemima Goldsmith) mashallah, who is going to be 19 this year. Even now cuddle karke sota hai Dad ko. And I think it's important to give cuddles to boys no matter how old they are. In fact, my children have to stop me from cuddling because I'm a bit of a supersonic hedgehog. I'm like constantly whizzing around them, and they are very laidback; they are like, "Mum, stop for a minute!"Imran and Reham got married in Islamabad in January. (Pic by Madiha Aijaz) Even as a stepfather, he's wonderful. Before we got married, people may have wondered what our problems were. Our problems centred around our children. For example, Ridha finishes her A levels, Sulieman his, this school trip, that ski trip. We have very normal, parental concerns. You wouldn't expect Imran Khan to think about small things but he is a soft-hearted person and extremely sensitive, especially when it comes to the children. He is a man who has never bad mouthed his ex-wife (Jemima), and shares a respectful relationship with her. I often tell my boys that you talk like him, dress like him, but try to be the man that he is. Be a husband like him, be an ex-husband like him, be a brother like him, and be a son like him.

Any parenting tips?

The top tip for parenting, especially for newly married couples or people trying to have a baby: you should want to have a child. The thing with people is they think after marriage they must have a child because it is expected of them. I really think some people have an aptitude for being parents while others don't. So the top tip is to want to have children and enjoy them. Another key to parenting: you should want to spend time with your children. People ask me how I've raised three children as a single parent but honestly, parenting has been a breeze.

What about broadcasting?

I've always done primetime talk shows, and I've interviewed every Pakistani politician. When I first came to Pakistan everybody said, you're not going to succeed, your Urdu's not good enough, you're too polite, sophisticated. Yahan bahut chillana padta hai, ladna padta hai. And I thought that's insulting people's intelligence. Give them a choice, let them judge for themselves whether they like it or not. I didn't change myself in any way.

What was your most memorable interview?

(Laughs) Well, I liked this woman, Badam Zari, the first female to run for elections independently from the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA); I travelled to Bajaur Agency to interview her. She was inspirational and the interview was widely watched, even overseas.

How do you look at your new role as a Pakistani politician's wife?

Firstly Imran doesn't think he's a politician, so it's easy for me. He believes he's on a mission, and I share that belief. Actually, I feel no pressure. Like if I want to work, people think Imran would stop me. On the contrary, he's never said anything. Obviously he wouldn't have married me if he thought he had to change me. Marrying at 62, he must have thought long and hard before committing to it.

Describe the wedding...

This was my first apni pasand se shaadi. I chose his sherwani in the dark, and I'm colour-blind. I don't know much about men's clothing, and I thought I had chosen beige to match my outfit but that was not how it eventually looked. Imran can't stand uncomfortable clothes; all he wanted to do was--photo khenchain aur main khane pe baithoon. It was a very lovely day spent with my family, children, dogs. We were only about eight people of the core family, and my team from Dawn where I have worked since 2007.

How does it feel to be married to Pakistan's biggest celebrity and arguably Pakistan's most popular leader today?
I thought it would be scary and that's what I communicated to him initially. I said, "Oh my God, you realise your IK status is terrifying for me, right?" He answered unfazed, "What IK status?" At home, we are a very normal couple. I cook and we are both very private and have a very domesticated life. As for giving time he's actually a lot better than me; once home, he puts away his phone. After 7 pm he doesn't let me work either and that's hard because my children know I am an insomniac.Reham Khan with her children (from left) Inaya, Ridha and Sahir. (Pic by Madiha Aijaz)

What are you doing in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa?

Much was said about me being appointed the "ambassador" for the cause of street children. I'm not a part of the PTI, in any official capacity, or of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government. But I feel strongly about the abuse of street children and child labour so I have been working on that. There are affluent people who keep 7-8-year-olds as domestic help. Minimum wage was introduced in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa for industrial workers, but nothing for domestic workers. Child labour has to be abolished and that's what I am working towards through a campaign.

What else are you doing in the region?

My commitment dates back to before I became Imran Khan's wife. I know Khyber Pakhtunkhwa well, so I want to start from there. That doesn't mean that I wouldn't work in Balochistan, Sindh or Punjab. Of course, it's natural that I feel the most for my own province; this affinity is spontaneous. Pakhtoons have been stigmatised, stereotyped, even derided, and I really want the world to see us for who we are. I'm producing two films, one is an epic on Khushal Khan Khattak, a Pashtun poet and warrior and reflects our culture and history. The other is a romantic comedy, a love triangle about a normal, modern Pakhtoon family like my own. There's no lecture-baazi.

What about your jewellery connect?

My jewellery collection is also for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa because I want people from there to get involved; I want people to have a vocation. I'm completely against the notion of giving a woman a sewing machine that she spends her life hunched over. You have to raise people's standards of living. I believe that if there's an area where gem-mining is being done, people from there should be trained to cut, market and sell gems. Their skills should match those available in Thailand, in Dubai, where I buy stuff for my jewellery.

What else are you passionate about?

Street children need to be taken off the street. Give them a home; their childhood has been lost. I want them to have an education so that by the time they are 16-17, they are not forced to go back to their old life or resort to taking drugs.

How do you look at the place of women in society?

I really think women need to stop complaining. I'm very unsympathetic to whiners. Stop making excuses for yourself. First change your perception that you're inferior in some way. I don't think that I'm a woman; I am an individual, and it doesn't limit me from doing anything.

What's Imran take on that?

The best thing about Imran is that he accepts me for who I am. I have this feminine side to me as well and I've every right (to be who I am). If you get love and understanding, a happy atmosphere, you wouldn't care about anything else. I told Imran that my father used to bring flowers for my mother every day when he went for a jog. Imran brings me flowers every day after his morning run. I don't need jewellery; Imran picks the best roses for me from our garden.

Would Imran's views on nepotism prevent you from holding a party position?

I don't have a position in the party. In this set-up, as an MNA, as a minister, what can you achieve? If Imran becomes the prime minister tomorrow, and he doesn't have any real authority, what's the use? Third-time Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has achieved so little. I say to Imran that your legacy has to be bigger than that. You should be someone who's remembered by generations, that here was a leader.

What's the best thing about being Imran Khan's wife?

The best thing? That I'm not the Imran Khan's wife. I mean at home I'm not Imran Khan's wife. I'm not conscious of it at all.

What does fashion mean to you?

I wear whatever someone gets made for me. I don't like very busy stuff. Ideally I like mono-toned outfits, from top to bottom. Slim, sleek lines. No frills. I love Pakhtoon dresses and I like ethnically-inspired clothes that are not too ornate. I like the kochi cut a lot. I can't wear uncomfortable clothes.

Favourite designers?

I think Pakistani designer Hassan Sheheryar Yasin is amazing. As far as international designers go I like clean lines, Gucci coats. My shoe fetish is now gone because I'm married to such a simple man but I love buying new shoes.

Fitness tips?

Fitness is another bone of contention because I married a fitness freak. I don't go to a gym. I've always been very thin, because I have three children and I don't sit still. Our family doesn't have a tendency to put on weight. Imran runs, sprints even, but I can run as fast as he does. I am always running around with the children.

Favourite food?

Sushi is my favourite but I like pizza as well. In fact, I can't live without pizza. I cook a lot and I love trying out new desserts. I make a number of wicked puddings, including tiramisu.

Read more at: http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/being-a-woman-doesnt-limit-me-imran-khan-reham-khan/1/436139.html

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/being-a-woman-doesnt-limit-me-imran-khan-reham-khan/1/436139.html

Riemn

Re: Being a woman doesn't limit me. Reham Khan interview to India Today

India Today Magazine has sold almost 5 million copies by publishing Imran Khan's family interview.
IK family interview bring the max business for India Today and all the copies got sold in first day.

IK has great respect all over the world.

IK will bring prestige 4 Pakistan in all over the world if He would PM.

Ik family got 10000$ as royalty for interview.

Thought if India today publish Sharif family interview no body would bought the paper.

The best family of Pakistan to present us in world,
IK has humble , down to earth and self made family .

Indians and world are very impress by IK struggle and honesty.

پرفیکٹ سٹرینجر

تحریک انصاف والوں کو ہیپی مدر ڈے مبارک ہو۔

نوٹ: دل کی گہرائیوں سے

zain786

pti have nothing to do with reham is leye wo marzi kahe kare not our concern

India Today Magazine has sold almost 5 million copies by publishing Imran Khan's family interview.
IK family interview bring the max business for India Today and all the copies got sold in first day.

Thought if India today publish Sharif family interview no body would bought the paper.

Are you Praising PTI or criticizing.
Your role is to criticize India as NS is an Indian agent..

DrFixit

pti have nothing to do with reham is leye wo marzi kahe kare not our concern

I can't believe seeing slightly sensible remark from any N goons. G aadmi your concern should be with anything that is not pro pakistani, regardless of any political affiliations, rather it be PTI PPP or your Chay party PMLn!

umerazam

Read all of it and this has increased Quaid respect in my heart as jisko uski ex wife current wife itni respect dete hun he is definitely a gem of a man

JuanM67

Shareef interview with notes for 10 cents, and people will burn the magazine for free.

hairatkada

Re: Caption Time.

Pakistani worship leaders like imran khan , zardari and nawaz etc. Nothing good is expected unless the Pakistanies start using their brains.

kernelxx

یار آپ نے کبھی گدھے کا بچہ دیکھا ہے، بوہت معصوم دکھتا ہے. بالکل ایسے....

یہ پٹواری بھی بیچارے معصوم گدھے کی طرح ہیں کیوں خامکخا اس طرح کی انفارمیشن پھیلا کر انھے غصہ دلاتے ہوں .گھدھے میں سیلف ریسپیکٹ نہیں ہوتی، عزت بستی کا اسے پتا نہیں ہوتا کے یہ کس چڑیا کا نام ہے، ہاں البتہ گدھے کی اکڑ کا کوئی جواب نہیں اور ان پٹواریوں کی اکڑ بھی گدھے جیسی ہے. آویں ناراض ہو کر دولتی جھاڑ دیتے ہیں. اس کی کامل مثال "کامل اجنبی "ہیں. آویں خامکھا دولتیاں جڑتے رهتے ہیں یہ جناب. اب ان کواصل ابو کا پیار نہیں ملا تو اس نے عمران خان جسے ہر بندے کو ٹارگٹ بنا لیا. اب اس کا غصہ فورم پر تو نہ نکالے آ کے، اس طرح اصل ابو تو نہیں مل جائیں گے نہ

:)

تحریک انصاف والوں کو ہیپی مدر ڈے مبارک ہو۔
نوٹ: دل کی گہرائیوں سے

Jahanzab Ali

What is your source.
It seems Fabricated

shiningstar

till yesterday fauzia kasuri was kids ammi, now this british passport holder agent is :)