A popular Indian Bihari Dish called Litti Cooked on COW DUNG BED

Shamain

Roasted on Dung

Litti are char-grilled flavour bombs, especially when freighted with chokha, the spicy stew of grilled aubergine, tomato and potato that traditionally accompanies one of my absolute favourite Indian street foods.

They come originally from the state of Bihar in eastern India.
Biharis absolutely love litti chokha, as - in truth - do most people who taste it.
Put it like this, the first time I went to the Bihari capital, Patna, I had people in my office begging me to bring some back.
I said I'd do my best, but warned I was unlikely to be allowed any food through airport security checks.

Image of dish below:
_90457702_f1df5310-306a-4b1f-b066-976898ff2a63.jpg

The security officers at Patna airport sniffed suspiciously, but, when I told them what and why, they broke into smiles and waved me right on through.
Clearly they judged it was more important to get a consignment of the state's most celebrated street food to hungry fans than enforce a few petty restrictions and regulations.
Litti are pastry balls, packed full of a spicy mash made with sattu - roasted chickpea flour.

They are roasted in beds of charcoal - or, sadly a rarity these days, dried cow dung - and then dipped in salty melted ghee, clarified butter.

A couple of these will be served with a decent dollop of chokha, as well as some yoghurt sauce and a scoop of hot, sour pickle.

Yes, I thought that would get your mouth watering.
You find litti wherever Biharis go, and since Biharis go almost everywhere in India, that means you've got a chance of tasting this delicious snack almost anywhere in the country.
You've got to keep your eyes peeled, though. Look out for the tell-tale pall of smoke from the charcoal and the queue of wiry, tough-looking men.
Wiry men, because one of the few things Bihar is famous for in India - apart from litti - is migration.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-36845267

Shamain

People shouls just NEVER consume foods in india who visit there. Infact dont visit india. Who knows the retsaurant or street rood you eat contains cow dung, urine or just like above roasted on her dung. Ewwww.

BrotherKantu

People shouls just NEVER consume foods in india who visit there. Infact dont visit india. Who knows the retsaurant or street rood you eat contains cow dung, urine or just like above roasted on her dung. Ewwww.

ملک کے اسی فی صد دیہات میں گوے کی پاتھیوں پر کھانا پکتا ہے.
میری گرمیوں کی چھٹیاں ایسی ہی انگھیٹوں کا دھواں کھاتے گزری ہیں.
کھانے میں صرف بار بی کیو فلیور ہوتی ہے اور کچھ نہیں.

ہاں انڈیا کیا پاکستان کا بازاری کھانا بھی نا کھانا ہی بہتر ہے.

chandbibi

People who eat littis of goat(kapooray) getting turned on by cow dung. lol .........New revolution in Pakistan.
Cow dung is generally a fuel used for burning a fire not for roasting anything. This british guy showed usual ignorance.

gorkhali

jisne dehat kewal filmo me dekha ho use kya pata dehat me kya kya hota hai ? [hilar]

BrotherKantu

ha ha ha ha............................
bouncing-smiley-emoticon.gif

beware you may be served donkey , monkey , dog meat in pakistan ,
pl ensure you get right meat when you are visiting pakistan.

???? ??? ????? ?? ???? ???? ???? ??.
?? ???? ????? ?? ?? ?? ???? ??? ?? ?? ????? ?? ??? ?????? ??.
???? ???? ??? ?????? ?? ????? ??? ??? ??? ?????? ?? ??? ??? ??? ??? ?? .

chandbibi

lol. Yes the brit can be excused for his ignorance but this lande ka angrez (wannabe angrez) also doesn't know what happens in rural areas. Its called upale, better this ignoramus gets some real knowledge instead of this internet trolling. :lol:

thread opener @shamain is a wana be arab , he does not know about cowdung cakes which are used as fuel in villages where wood is not easily available or is costly .india aur hinduo ki nafrat me andha ho raha hai .[hilar][hilar][hilar]

BrotherKantu

اور ہاں ایسے جانور جو گوشت خور ہوں وہ اسلام میں حرام ہیں. سواۓ سمندر کے جانداروں کے.
مولانا صاھب نے پھر اپنی ناعلمی کا مظاہرہ کیا ہے.

Shamain

I am well aware of that vilagelife u are talking abt. Thats a different thing. Dey burn cowdung patties on fire and over that they place large pans and then cook on pan, there cow dung patties are only used as fuel and never ever come in contact with food. BUT in this bihari dish they literally cook those litti balls on cow DUNG BED. THATis the cow dung is in contact with food . Which is sickening.

and even in villages ppl who use cow dung patties as fuel dont like it cuz the smoke form dung gives food an awkward flavor, but due to poverty those people can't afford real expensive fuel. But above the report shows that these balls are specifically cooked on cow dung bed,

chandbibi

Jiske dimagh me gobar bhara ho woh aise hee pakda jata hai ek din.[hilar] BED OF COW DUNG. [hilar][hilar][hilar]

thread opener @shamain is a wana be arab , he does not know about cowdung cakes which are used as fuel in villages where wood is not easily available or is costly .india aur hinduo ki nafrat me andha ho raha hai .[hilar][hilar][hilar]

Shamain

Jiske dimagh me gobar bhara ho woh aise hee pakda jata hai ek din.[hilar] BED OF COW DUNG. [hilar][hilar][hilar]
Its written in the report.

btw u said dimagh may cow dung bhara ho as an insult for me. Why? Isnt cow dung respected thing for u and u ppl eat it too as ur Gao Mata jees speciality buahahhaha

chandbibi

You should be careful when you pick up stuff from western media.Your entire thread is based on the ignorance of the british reporter, and also exposed your ignorance about the use of cow dung as a fuel in rural areas. Now you are showing another bit of ignorance about a common saying in hindi, dimagh me gobar bhara hona.
I can't reveal to you the secret of why the cow is revered in India, nobody eats cow dung and urine is used for medical purposes by some desperate people who don't find any cure, its kind of alternate medicine like they drink snake's blood in China.
But why do you eat goat's viscera. lolz

btw u said dimagh may cow dung bhara ho *** an insult for me. Why? Isnt cow dung respected thing for u and u ppl eat it too as ur Gao Mata jees speciality buahahhaha

BengaliBaboo

shamain ...inki fikr mut kero ...ab to gau mata ji bhi ro rahi hain ...kay aesay bhakt milay hain jo doodh to dooh, piss aur dung bhi nahi chortay aur waqt anay per "b@latkar" bhi kerlaytay hain[hilar][hilar][hilar]

Wesay aj kal India ki speciality "Cat Biryani" hai ...here street corner mein mil rahi hai - Enjoy

btw u said dimagh may cow dung bhara ho as an insult for me. Why? Isnt cow dung respected thing for u and u ppl eat it too as ur Gao Mata jees speciality buahahhaha

BengaliBaboo

western ignorance inko khoob yaad hai to phir yeh jo "State backed effort to eat Rats" hai kya yeh bhi "western ignorance" hai ??....yeh "powerful country" apnay citizens ko mice khila ker kya prove kerna chah rahi hai ??[hilar][hilar][hilar]

[TABLE="class: storycontent, width: 786"]
[TR]
[TD="colspan: 2"][h=1]India's poor urged to 'eat rats'[/h]
[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: storybody"][TABLE="width: 466"]
[TR]
[TD]By Amarnath Tewary
BBC News, Patna
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
999999.gif

[TABLE="width: 203, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD]
_42840045_230rat.jpg
It's argued that rats are a good source of nutrition

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
An official in the Indian state of Bihar has come up with a new idea to encourage low caste poor people to cope with food shortages - rat meat.
The Principal Secretary of the state's Welfare Department, Vijay Prakash, said that he was advancing his proposal after "much survey and ground work".
Bihar's extremely poor Musahar community are rat-eaters by tradition.
The Musahar are on the bottom strata of the caste system with the lowest literacy rate and per capita income.
Less than one percent of their 2.3 million population in Bihar is literate and 98% are landless.
Delicacy
Mr Prakash says his proposals to popularise rat meat eating are intended to uplift their social-economic condition.
[TABLE="width: 231, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD="width: 5"]
o.gif
[/TD]
[TD="class: sibtbg"]
_44916722_vijay-prakash_body.jpg

start_quote_rb.gif
People now prefer to eat rat meat instead of chicken or goat as it comes cheaper and is more tasty and healthy
end_quote_rb.gif

Vijay Prakash

[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
"There are twin advantages of this proposal. First, we can save about half of our food grain stocks by catching and eating rats and secondly we can improve the economic condition of the Musahar community," he told the BBC.
According to Mr Prakash, about 50% of total food grain stocks in the country are eaten away by rodents.
He argues that by promoting rat eating more grain will be preserved while hunger among the Musahar community will be reduced.
He said that rat meat is not only a delicacy but a protein-enriched food, widely popular in Thailand and France.
"Rats have almost no bones and are quite rich in nutrition. People at large don't know this cuisine fact but gradually they are catching up."
However he may find it difficult to popularise such a strategy in a conservative society like Bihar and other north Indian states.
Mr Prakash says that he has recipes to make rat eating a delicacy, which he now wants to distribute to all the hotels in Bihar.
He also wants to encourage rat farming in the same way that poultry is farmed.
While eating rat meat is still stigmatised in urban areas of the country, Mr Prakash says that his research has revealed that it is a popular food item in some parts of Bihar where it is known at roadside hotels by the name of "patal-bageri".
This is not the first time that the department secretary has come out with such an innovative idea.
Earlier, he proposed to recruit eunuchs as security guards to maternity wards in hospitals.
"Yes, that proposal is in its advance stage and we'll very soon engage them in various social activities of our department," he said.
And the welfare secretary's next plan?
"I'll make snake catching popular for the economic value of its venom," he said.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7557107.stm
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]

BengaliBaboo

khuda ki qudratt haina ...Kuton ko chuay aur billi hi khilati hai [hilar][hilar][hilar]

[FONT=&amp]Indian Army in Kashmir fighting people shouting go back Indian dogs slogan

By: Shreyas Updated: Tuesday, July 12, 2016, 4:58 [IST] Anantnag (Jammu and Kashmir), July 12: "Go back Indian dogs, Go back Indian dogs... In front of our establishment people are shouting," says Raghu G C, Engineer, Boarder Road Organisation who was a month back deputed by the Indian Army to currently conflict-ridden Jammu and Kashmir. The saffron party (BJP) that stepped into the legislative assembly seems forgotten the long history of people-army conflict in the region. Or thought of found a way of dealing the problem to make separatists declare "we are integral part of India." As assembly elections in the valley signalled the 'Modi wave'. [/FONT]

[FONT=&amp]Read more at: [/FONT]http://www.oneindia.com/india/india...ple-shouting-go-back-indian-dogs-2150481.html

army1-16-1460746931-12-1468278980.jpg

Shamain

You should be careful when you pick up stuff from western media.Your entire thread is based on the ignorance of the british reporter, and also exposed your ignorance about the use of cow dung as a fuel in rural areas. Now you are showing another bit of ignorance about a common saying in hindi, dimagh me gobar bhara hona.
I can't reveal to you the secret of why the cow is revered in India, nobody eats cow dung and urine is used for medical purposes by some desperate people who don't find any cure, its kind of alternate medicine like they drink snake's blood in China.
But why do you eat goat's viscera. lolz
I Have never eaten that goat viscera soemthing and whats wrong even if ppl eat it? Its not like medically its harmful or prohibited by doctors unlike animal excreta. U can cosnume cow viscera whatever who cares. P come and make comparison the day ppl consume goat gobbar or urine.

So u guys use cow dung for meidcinal purpose but to insult someone u use the saying dimagh may gobbar
. Quite a weird people of comtradiction you guys are.

and btw here is the video of ltti cooked on cow dung, literlaly they are rolled on cow dung.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=T4auZlu81K4

and i am also form village background , so no i am no landay ka angraiz etc.

Shamain

western ignorance inko khoob yaad hai to phir yeh jo "State backed effort to eat Rats" hai kya yeh bhi "western ignorance" hai ??....yeh "powerful country" apnay citizens ko mice khila ker kya prove kerna chah rahi hai ??[hilar][hilar][hilar]

[TABLE="class: storycontent, width: 786"]
[TR]
[TD="colspan: 2"]India's poor urged to 'eat rats'

[/TD]
[/TR]
[TR]
[TD="class: storybody"][TABLE="width: 466"]
[TR]
[TD]By Amarnath Tewary
BBC News, Patna[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
999999.gif

[TABLE="width: 203, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD]
_42840045_230rat.jpg
It's argued that rats are a good source of nutrition
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
An official in the Indian state of Bihar has come up with a new idea to encourage low caste poor people to cope with food shortages - rat meat.
The Principal Secretary of the state's Welfare Department, Vijay Prakash, said that he was advancing his proposal after "much survey and ground work".
Bihar's extremely poor Musahar community are rat-eaters by tradition.
The Musahar are on the bottom strata of the caste system with the lowest literacy rate and per capita income.
Less than one percent of their 2.3 million population in Bihar is literate and 98% are landless.
Delicacy
Mr Prakash says his proposals to popularise rat meat eating are intended to uplift their social-economic condition.
[TABLE="width: 231, align: right"]
[TR]
[TD="width: 5"]
o.gif
[/TD]
[TD="class: sibtbg"]
_44916722_vijay-prakash_body.jpg

start_quote_rb.gif
People now prefer to eat rat meat instead of chicken or goat as it comes cheaper and is more tasty and healthy
end_quote_rb.gif

Vijay Prakash
[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
"There are twin advantages of this proposal. First, we can save about half of our food grain stocks by catching and eating rats and secondly we can improve the economic condition of the Musahar community," he told the BBC.
According to Mr Prakash, about 50% of total food grain stocks in the country are eaten away by rodents.
He argues that by promoting rat eating more grain will be preserved while hunger among the Musahar community will be reduced.
He said that rat meat is not only a delicacy but a protein-enriched food, widely popular in Thailand and France.
"Rats have almost no bones and are quite rich in nutrition. People at large don't know this cuisine fact but gradually they are catching up."
However he may find it difficult to popularise such a strategy in a conservative society like Bihar and other north Indian states.
Mr Prakash says that he has recipes to make rat eating a delicacy, which he now wants to distribute to all the hotels in Bihar.
He also wants to encourage rat farming in the same way that poultry is farmed.
While eating rat meat is still stigmatised in urban areas of the country, Mr Prakash says that his research has revealed that it is a popular food item in some parts of Bihar where it is known at roadside hotels by the name of "patal-bageri".
This is not the first time that the department secretary has come out with such an innovative idea.
Earlier, he proposed to recruit eunuchs as security guards to maternity wards in hospitals.
"Yes, that proposal is in its advance stage and we'll very soon engage them in various social activities of our department," he said.
And the welfare secretary's next plan?
"I'll make snake catching popular for the economic value of its venom," he said.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7557107.stm[/TD]
[/TR]
[/TABLE]
Someone arrest him and throw him behind bars for such bizzarre suggetsion. Rats only cause disease.

And honestly its a very sad thing these poor communitis like Musahar mentioned in report and Dalits who cant afford meat have to end up using rat meat which is so sad. And ven these people eat dead cow meat they get lynched or beaten like in recent news. May God help them out of poverty and give them clean food. And majority of food grain stock in India goes wasted or rots. This is a fact even this guy accepted. The reason behind this is that india has poor chain of supply and goddowm storages for food grain which leads to food grain absorbing moisture or simply sitting unconsumed in storage and then its dumped in sea, whilst a huge population of india sleeps on empty stomach. do u know india is self sufficient in food grains production ,she doesn't need to import it, she produces enough to feed her people.

chandbibi

Please open up ur brain and stop being so limited in your vision. If you haven't eaten goat viscera, similarly most indians haven't had urine or cow dung. Watch bizarre foods by andrew zimmerman to expand your gobar filled brain.

Ok now lets educate you on why cow dung is a better fuel as compared to coal.
This bio-fuel has been used for a long time primarily of two reasons 1. for easy disposal of cow dung 2. easily available and cheap fuel. After burning the residue ash is used to wash hands since it becomes germs free as bi-product of burning and sprinkled also on crops to get rid of certain pests.

You see the gobar is in your head, when you live with nature you adapt to use what is natural and what is cheap and what is probably the best for mother earth.
Come out of your hatred, these western countries have destroyed nature. Old is gold.

I Have never eaten that goat viscera soemthing and whats wrong even if ppl eat it? Its not like medically its harmful or prohibited by doctors unlike animal excreta. U can cosnume cow viscera whatever who cares. P come and make comparison the day ppl consume goat gobbar or urine.

So u guys use cow dung for meidcinal purpose but to insult someone u use the saying dimagh may gobbar
. Quite a weird people of comtradiction you guys are.

and btw here is the video of ltti cooked on cow dung, literlaly they are rolled on cow dung.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=T4auZlu81K4

and i am also form village background , so no i am no landay ka angraiz etc.