‘Pakistan must shift to high value-added exports

Imran the legend

LAHORE: Economic researchers have said that Pakistan’s balance of payments crisis is a result of less sophisticated, low value-added exports, which have led to a lower economic growth.
1954849-image-1555702844.jpg

They ask whether Pakistan will be able to break out of this cycle of balance of payments crisis if it changed the nature of goods it exported.

A research conducted by the Lahore School of Economics concluded that a shift towards higher value-added exports, characterised by high income and price elasticities, was the only realistic way for Pakistan to realise sustained levels of higher economic growth.

It pointed out that Pakistan was again faced with an unsustainable balance of payments crisis and was on the brink of taking another stabilisation programme. While there is a tendency to blame different policy-makers, the actual problem is the structural issue in the economy which, if left unaddressed, will lead to continuation of the cycle of balance of payments crisis.

More specifically, owing to a narrow export base (concentrated in low value-added textile exports) and a relatively inelastic import base, the value of imports rises to unsustainable levels while exports increase only marginally.

“This leads to a balance of payments crisis which is addressed by the usual troika of policies – devaluation, monetary contraction and fiscal contraction,” the research added.

Exports are mainly concentrated in textile and agricultural sectors. According to the United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics (UN Comtrade), Pakistan is the most effective exporter of rice, fruits, fish, cotton, leather apparel, cotton fabrics, linen, suits and ensembles and collector pieces and antiques. These products are included in low value-added categories and basic manufactured items.

In contrast to that, the main imports of Pakistan comprise petroleum products, power generating machinery, electrical machinery and apparatus, palm oil, iron and steel, plastic material, LNG and raw cotton. Naturally, due to capital and high value-added imports, the import bill surpasses export revenues, resulting in an unsustainable current account deficit, it said.

Given the low value-added exports and capital imports, any attempt to uplift GDP sparks fears of a balance of payments crisis.

“This is because, if GDP growth surpasses a certain level, in order to produce more goods and services to maintain or further increase that rate, the imports of essential products increase exponentially,” the research said.

Since the export structure remains the same and export quantities are largely determined by foreign markets, the revenues from exports stay stagnant. As a result, the current account deficit soars and since it is not possible to finance it for an indefinite time period, it eventually leads to the balance of payments crisis.

It was found that average real economic growth in Pakistan from 1980 to 2017 was 4.61% whereas the balance of payments constrained growth rate for the same time period was 4.5%.

“This suggests that Pakistan has been growing at approximately the same level of its balance of payments constrained growth rate, hence, to simultaneously increase the GDP growth rate and avoid the balance of payments crisis, it is imperative to broaden the export base.”

The research also simulated the outcome in the current account as a result of devaluation under three scenarios based on estimated export and import demand functions.

It incorporated a conservative estimate for domestic GDP growth, IMF forecasts for international GDP growth and three different exchange rates, ie Rs140, Rs150 and Rs160 against the dollar.

In each of these scenarios, the results showed that while the current account deficit improves, it was due to the reduction in imports and not due to any significant increase in exports.

“Ultimately, the policy of devaluing the rupee does little to boost exports and eventually restricts economic growth at or below 4.5%,” it added.
Source

islamabadi

This govenrment of khotas does not even have a plan to increase VALUE ADDED exports. They gave a little subsidy on electricity to textile units to export the same low value aded textiles. There has been no effort to hire bright brains in Export promotion bureau or even in Board of Investment. About 9 years back I applied for a mid level position in BOI but after being shortlisted the position was given to a bureaucrat. Even this govenrmetn is busy appointing bureaucrats. Ye hai in khoton ki hakuumat. Tabdeeli my foot.....they havent given 1 relief for the middle class. 3 baar to Naya Paksitan housing inaugurate ho chuka hai 8 months mein....lekin 1 ghar ki 1 brick nahi lagi in se 9 months mein....

Nadir Bashir

This govenrment of khotas does not even have a plan to increase VALUE ADDED exports. They gave a little subsidy on electricity to textile units to export the same low value aded textiles. There has been no effort to hire bright brains in Export promotion bureau or even in Board of Investment. About 9 years back I applied for a mid level position in BOI but after being shortlisted the position was given to a bureaucrat. Ye hai in khoton ki hakuumat. Tabdeeli my foot.....they havent given 1 relief for the middle class. 3 baar to Naya Paksitan housing inaugurate ho chuka hai 8 months mein....lekin 1 ghar ki 1 brick nahi lagi in se 9 months mein....

Your way of response clearly indicates why you were not selected 9 years back, sorry to say........
It clearly indicates you like khota biryani.....................People like you were silent and mouths shut as sealed when economy was being driven to the destruction.
Enormous amount of loans were being misused instead of creating localization............
Trade was being driven from 25 billion USD to 18 Billion USD...........A reduction more than 7 billion.....................
A trade deficit more than 15 billion but you were silent.................
Its a complete shame my friend..................
I was surprised to know that last government has made contract with IPPs to pay them back in Dollars even local companies.......................Why at first, we make trade deficit by importing furnace oil then at the same time paying back in dollars means we importing at two times...................

Modest

Your way of response clearly indicates why you were not selected 9 years back, sorry to say........
It clearly indicates you like khota biryani.....................People like you were silent and mouths shut as sealed when economy was being driven to the destruction.
Enormous amount of loans were being misused instead of creating localization............
Trade was being driven from 25 billion USD to 18 Billion USD...........A reduction more than 7 billion.....................
I was surprised to know that last government has made contract with IPPs to pay them back in Dollars even local companies.......................Why at first, we make trade deficit by importing furnace oil then at the same time paying back in dollars means we importing at two times...................
Don’t waste your time on this brain dead Patwari aka Islamabadi Patwari. These Khota Khor Patwaris had put their head in their Ass for the last thirty years

islamabadi

Economy HAS been brought to destruction by YOUR PTI no 2 Asad Umar. That is why YOUR PTI finance minister has beeen SACKED....Khotey ki aulaad for patwaris like you anyone who is non PTI is automatically N league. Abhey ullu k pathey there are 60 poliltical parties in the country Not 2...acoording your patwari brain....And you know what? when I was shortlisted for the job in BOI.....Hafeez sheikh was the finance minister. The same hafeez sheikh who has BEEN SELECTED by YOUR PTI NOW ! What a bunch of jokers your are

islamabadi

Don’t waste your time on this brain dead Patwari aka Islamabadi Patwari. These Khota Khor Patwaris had put their head in their Ass for the last thirty years
Anyone who is non PTI is automattically a N leagu because your KHOTA brain doesnt realize there are 60+ political parties in the country. Ullu k pathey

Modest

Anyone who is non PTI is automattically a N leagu because your KHOTA brain doesnt realize there are 60+ political parties in the country. Ullu k pathey
Listen paid Patwari, it doesn’t matter if you are from PMLN, PPP, Fazlu party or from Altafi terrorist party, you all mofos are the same. You brain dead slaves of these corrupt parties were Zombies for the last thirty years but now you have suddenly woken up since PTI came into power 8 months ago. Where were your morals & patriotism when corrupt Noora, Zardari & their partners were raping your whore sisters for so long. Gashti k bachay