We Make it the Mighty Dollar - My Article at TheNews Blog

AsifAmeer

f103aa8ab86d8a0c3284b8fb8e03b508.jpg

http://blogs.thenews.com.pk/blogs/2011/12/09/we-make-it-the-‘mighty’-dollar/

We make it the “Mighty” Dollar

By Asif Ameer November 29, 2011

Money only holds value because there are goods and services available to buy with that money. It is the goods
and services that create a value for that money. Coconut water would be more valuable on a treasure island than
kilos of Gold. It's not the value of Coconut water that has increased, but the diminished value of Gold that's
reflected. Lesser the goods/services available, lesser the value of money – no matter if it's a pile of Gold.
Pakistan currently produces Cotton, Rice, Fish, Fruits, Vegetables, pulses and much more. These are the goods
that add value to the Pak Rupee. The Rupee is worth more as these goods produced in Pakistan increases. Instead
of selling these goods in Pak Rupee, which would create a “demand” for the Pak Rupee in the International
Exchange Market, the State Bank of Pakistan settles the export payments in US Dollar, called "Balance of
Payment" or BoP. Any country that imports from Pakistan would have to otherwise buy Pak Rupee from the
International Forex Market to pay for Pakistani Products. This may sound trivial but it takes the "value"
from the Pak Rupee away and transfers it to the US Dollar (think Petro-Dollar). The Pak Rupee becomes like
Gold on the Treasure Island – not much left to be bought with. A pretty sad thought that the very country that
grows the best of Rice, doesn't get to feed its own citizen that grow it.

Currently the State Bank of Pakistan uses Dollar and Euro to settle its BoP account. One should realize that the
value of Dollar and Euro is not static. Due to the Financial crises and socialization of the financial losses in the
banking sector, American and European Central banks have been running their printing presses on turbo mode.
The more the Central Banks prints or issue electronic credits to the markets, the more these currencies lose their
value. By using a foreign currency, not only does Pakistan's Economy import American Inflation but it also
results in Pak Rupee being devalued.

So why the dollar? This goes back to the Bretton Woods Agreement of 1944 when the Dollar was redeemable by
Gold. The American Central Bank, the Federal Reserve, could not print dollar bills if it didn't have the Gold to
back up the bills with. Eventually the "Gold Window" was closed in 1971 which should have marked the end of
the Bretton Woods Agreement but it didn't. After all, why should a sovereign country use a currency of a foreign
country when that currency can be devalued at the will of a foreign central bank as the dollar is no longer backed
by Gold? The whole idea goes against the concept of sovereignty. To add insult over injury, IMF lends loans in
dollar to fill the BoP gap, loans that have to be paid back with interest. The interest has to be earned by Pakistan
by exporting more of its goods. This is a double-edged sword. Interest sucks the value out of Import and dollar
inflation dilutes the value of Exports.

State Bank of Pakistan should demand payments for its exports be settled in Pak Rupee. But for the general public
to see the fruits of its labor, the Federal Government needs to stop printing Rupee and balance it's budget.
Otherwise the fruits of labour, that were saved from the International Bankers, would be stolen by the Federal
Government of Pakistan via inflation. It is high-time the Ministry of Finance takes notice of these issues as
Pakistan has already passed its point-of-no-return towards bankruptcy. Lets save whatever there is left to be saved
for future generations to come.

Asif Ameer trades equities, bonds and derivatives in the International Capital Markets. He can be reached via twitter @AsifAmeer _AP

compy

Nice Article, but doesnt work in our country, you should be honest and khuddar to ask that :) (cry)

Temojin

Asif send me your email address through PM please. A brilliant article but I would need to discuss the possibility of its implementation and it would not be possible in this forum due to intervening factors.

EDIT: Or we can discuss it here yet I would still need your email address.

i see a flaw based on my kowledge of economics which I dont claim am an expert of...

1 - its not what u produce; its what u can export. e.g. if cotton is low on export producing more and more will only lead to devaluation of cotton . Thus its a relative to the demand from INTERNATIONAL buyers not local consumption that will increase the value of RS if it was used for the transaction

2 - Economically we are in a global village; u cannot change yr export to Rs if others have dollars as their main reserves and use for balance of payment. eventually ppl will stop buying from pakistan as they have to keep dollars euros and then Rs as well in their reserves

3 - What will be Rs backed with??? Gold, dollars. i think currently its pegged with Dollar reserves. So if its pegged with dollar reserves we might be better off having more and more dollars in our reserves

4 - Our imports are mnore than our exports; thus we need more dollars to buy petrol etc than Rs.

So its not Pakistan only but the world that this model of economy is linked with has to change. You have to change all. U cannot only change yrs while others keep using dollar and euros for their transactions.

You are right! The leaders wont do it. Thats why I wrote this article earlier which the newspapers wouldnt touch
http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthre...ouself-Do-it-for-your-Kids-Do-it-for-Pakistan

AsifAmeer

I have PM'ed u my email but would prefer that we discuss it here in Public so that ppl can add their feedback and correct us where we may assume something wrong.

Asif send me your email address through PM please. A brilliant article but I would need to discuss the possibility of its implementation and it would not be possible in this forum due to intervening factors.

EDIT: Or we can discuss it here yet I would still need your email address.

AsifAmeer

Adnan, 1st of all. Some EXCELLENT points you mention here. I will answer them 1 at a time.

1 - its not what u produce; its what u can export. e.g. if cotton is low on export producing more and more will only lead to devaluation of cotton . Thus its a relative to the demand from INTERNATIONAL buyers not local consumption that will increase the value of RS if it was used for the transaction

You are not wrong in stating this. This is what I was taught in American Universities as well. But this flies against the basic common sense. And here's why.
Assume we sell cotton to Bangladesh. Bangladesh sells its TAKA in the Forex market (putting downward pressure on Taka rates) and buys US$ (putting upward pressure on $). If Pakistan is EXPORTING, why should the benefit go to the Dollar and not the rupee? If the SBP had demanded that BoP be settled in PKR, Bangladesh would have had to buy PKR, putting upward pressure on PKR, from the Forex Market. Does my explaination make sense? I mean where is the buying pressure going to come from for the PKR? If Pakistan exports everything it produces, it will only add to the Dollar value. Where will the PKR appreciation come from?

2 - Economically we are in a global village; u cannot change yr export to Rs if others have dollars as their main reserves and use for balance of payment. eventually ppl will stop buying from pakistan as they have to keep dollars euros and then Rs as well in their reserves

Today we have floating currencies, a Milton Freidman concept. The way it was supposed to work is, the more a country exports, the more it's currency appreciates, forcing it to export less (by making exports more expensive in the international market) and importing more (as International Imports would get cheaper) and thus bringing that country's trade more in balance with the international trade.
Today we heard words like "But Pakistan doesnt have enough buying power" - That is BECAUSE of this BoP issue!

3 - What will be Rs backed with??? Gold, dollars. i think currently its pegged with Dollar reserves. So if its pegged with dollar reserves we might be better off having more and more dollars in our reserves

For now, lets just balance the Federal Deficit and make the money supply static for the pricing mechanism to stabilize in the local and INternational market place. And settle BoP in PKR for Rupee to appreciate. We arent pegged to the dollar. PKR is a free floating currency. Our exchange rates vary day-to-day.

4 - Our imports are mnore than our exports; thus we need more dollars to buy petrol etc than Rs.
Local cost of production has increased due the financing of bridge loans for BoP from the IMF. This is another CAN of worms I dont wanna touch at this point.

I know you may be thinking "huh! this isnt too complicated to understand.. this just cant be true.. !" Believe me! the lies are so simple to understand!

i see a flaw based on my kowledge of economics which I dont claim am an expert of...

So its not Pakistan only but the world that this model of economy is linked with has to change. You have to change all. U cannot only change yrs while others keep using dollar and euros for their transactions.

It circulates around what goods and services u have in offereing and what does the rest of the world has; if u are a market leader then u may dictate yr terms. If someone is to buy cotton from us; and we sell in Rs where as that country sells its services in dollars because it needs dollars to pay for some otehr products ; theres a conflict. I dont disagree with you in isolation on forex market but practically u cannot jsut apply this on Pakistan. It has to be done globally thats my point is ; Doing it only for paksitani prodcuts i.e. selling in Rs will be disastrous rather than in favour of pakistan.

Rs will be in demand on Forex market if we come up with some great stuff to sell and we demand Rs ; agreed. But eventually; the world will look for a common currency and will move away from us.

Also globally countries cant just come up with their own currency to sell. so who ever will be the Super Power will dictate this.

Adnan, 1st of all. Some EXCELLENT points you mention here. I will answer them 1 at a time.

You are not wrong in stating this. This is what I was taught in American Universities as well. But this flies against the basic common sense. And here's why.
Assume we sell cotton to Bangladesh. Bangladesh sells its TAKA in the Forex market (putting downward pressure on Taka rates) and buys US$ (putting upward pressure on $). If Pakistan is EXPORTING, why should the benefit go to the Dollar and not the rupee? If the SBP had demanded that BoP be settled in PKR, Bangladesh would have had to buy PKR, putting upward pressure on PKR, from the Forex Market. Does my explaination make sense? I mean where is the buying pressure going to come from for the PKR? If Pakistan exports everything it produces, it will only add to the Dollar value. Where will the PKR appreciation come from?

Today we have floating currencies, a Milton Freidman concept. The way it was supposed to work is, the more a country exports, the more it's currency appreciates, forcing it to export less (by making exports more expensive in the international market) and importing more (as International Imports would get cheaper) and thus bringing that country's trade more in balance with the international trade.
Today we heard words like "But Pakistan doesnt have enough buying power" - That is BECAUSE of this BoP issue!

For now, lets just balance the Federal Deficit and make the money supply static for the pricing mechanism to stabilize in the local and INternational market place. And settle BoP in PKR for Rupee to appreciate. We arent pegged to the dollar. PKR is a free floating currency. Our exchange rates vary day-to-day.

Local cost of production has increased due the financing of bridge loans for BoP from the IMF. This is another CAN of worms I dont wanna touch at this point.

I know you may be thinking "huh! this isnt too complicated to understand.. this just cant be true.. !" Believe me! the lies are so simple to understand!

thinking abt PKR appreciation; since i said im not an export on economics im still thinking on it. But i gt yr point keeping forex trading in mind only but my stance on the over all picture is the same as i said.

InsafianPTI

its a good idea, don't know much about international economics but I think I had heard that china and india are relying more on gold now.

So what Adnan-aplm is saying is not quite right, as these two countries are example of having another backup.

I won't be possible to change everything at once but atleast we should start an effort to do so.

AsifAmeer

Dekho. Import and export of countries should remain in a balance over 5yr periods. No one will give free stuff to anyone. Same goes with countries. Let me try to simplify it a bit. Remember, there is nothing complicated here. If you didnt understand something, I didnt explain well enough.

Suppose Pakistan sells more to Bangladesh than it buys from Bangladesh. Bangladesh issues "CREDITS/I.O.Us/Bonds" to Pakistan in return to the surplus export. Now those are called Sovereign debt or Govt bonds. Now suppose, Saudia wants to buy garments from Bangladesh. Pakistan offers those surplus credits to Saudia in return for crude oil. Saudia agrees and it accepts those bangla-credits from Pakistan and dispatches Crude oil to Pakistan in exchange. Saudia turns around and buys garments from Bangla using those bangla-credits it had bought from Pakistan. At this point all import-export transactions are closed
  • Pak sells extra to Bangla
  • Bangla issues credits to Pak
  • Saudia sells to Pak for Bangla-credits
  • Saudia buys garments from Bangla for Bangla-credits.
This is a very simplistic view. There alot of onion-layers to it but the concept is the same.

About the upward pressure for PKR, there is none. Suppose Pakistan figures a way out to preserve fruits for 5 yrs. International buyers of the technology will BUY DOLLAR from the FOREX market and use those dollars to buy the technology from Pakistan. Pakistan will see NO gains from this technology thru Rupee appreciation. Only appreciation it will see would be from increasing its local market efficiency and reduced imports

It circulates around what goods and services u have in offereing and what does the rest of the world has; if u are a market leader then u may dictate yr terms. If someone is to buy cotton from us; and we sell in Rs where as that country sells its services in dollars because it needs dollars to pay for some otehr products ; theres a conflict. I dont disagree with you in isolation on forex market but practically u cannot jsut apply this on Pakistan. It has to be done globally thats my point is ; Doing it only for paksitani prodcuts i.e. selling in Rs will be disastrous rather than in favour of pakistan.

Rs will be in demand on Forex market if we come up with some great stuff to sell and we demand Rs ; agreed. But eventually; the world will look for a common currency and will move away from us.

Also globally countries cant just come up with their own currency to sell. so who ever will be the Super Power will dictate this.

sirjeee; mera argument theoritical nahi hai practical hai.. i understood what u said academicall.. but SAUDI will never accept a BANGLA credit.. they wil say ye chotey height ke kaley bangali ka credit nahi chahiye.. we need USD.... my argument in response to yr theory is practical implication......
my argument is pakistan will not accept bangla credit.. it will say gimme daaaalarrr as other countries only accept $$$$ as payment

Dekho. Import and export of countries should remain in a balance over 5yr periods. No one will give free stuff to anyone. Same goes with countries. Let me try to simplify it a bit. Remember, there is nothing complicated here. If you didnt understand something, I didnt explain well enough.

Suppose Pakistan sells more to Bangladesh than it buys from Bangladesh. Bangladesh issues "CREDITS/I.O.Us/Bonds" to Pakistan in return to the surplus export. Now those are called Sovereign debt or Govt bonds. Now suppose, Saudia wants to buy garments from Bangladesh. Pakistan offers those surplus credits to Saudia in return for crude oil. Saudia agrees and it accepts those bangla-credits from Pakistan and dispatches Crude oil to Pakistan in exchange. Saudia turns around and buys garments from Bangla using those bangla-credits it had bought from Pakistan. At this point all import-export transactions are closed
  • Pak sells extra to Bangla
  • Bangla issues credits to Pak
  • Saudia sells to Pak for Bangla-credits
  • Saudia buys garments from Bangla for Bangla-credits.
This is a very simplistic view. There alot of onion-layers to it but the concept is the same.

About the upward pressure for PKR, there is none. Suppose Pakistan figures a way out to preserve fruits for 5 yrs. International buyers of the technology will BUY DOLLAR from the FOREX market and use those dollars to buy the technology from Pakistan. Pakistan will see NO gains from this technology thru Rupee appreciation. Only appreciation it will see would be from increasing its local market efficiency and reduced imports

f103aa8ab86d8a0c3284b8fb8e03b508.jpg

http://www.thenews.com.pk/blog/blog_details.asp?id=1618

We make it the “Mighty” Dollar

By Asif Ameer November 29, 2011

Money only holds value because there are goods and services available to buy with that money. It is the goods
and services that create a value for that money. Coconut water would be more valuable on a treasure island than
kilos of Gold. It's not the value of Coconut water that has increased, but the diminished value of Gold that's
reflected. Lesser the goods/services available, lesser the value of money – no matter if it's a pile of Gold.
Pakistan currently produces Cotton, Rice, Fish, Fruits, Vegetables, pulses and much more. These are the goods
that add value to the Pak Rupee. The Rupee is worth more as these goods produced in Pakistan increases. Instead
of selling these goods in Pak Rupee, which would create a “demand” for the Pak Rupee in the International
Exchange Market, the State Bank of Pakistan settles the export payments in US Dollar, called "Balance of
Payment" or BoP. Any country that imports from Pakistan would have to otherwise buy Pak Rupee from the
International Forex Market to pay for Pakistani Products. This may sound trivial but it takes the "value"
from the Pak Rupee away and transfers it to the US Dollar (think Petro-Dollar). The Pak Rupee becomes like
Gold on the Treasure Island – not much left to be bought with. A pretty sad thought that the very country that
grows the best of Rice, doesn't get to feed its own citizen that grow it.

Currently the State Bank of Pakistan uses Dollar and Euro to settle its BoP account. One should realize that the
value of Dollar and Euro is not static. Due to the Financial crises and socialization of the financial losses in the
banking sector, American and European Central banks have been running their printing presses on turbo mode.
The more the Central Banks prints or issue electronic credits to the markets, the more these currencies lose their
value. By using a foreign currency, not only does Pakistan's Economy import American Inflation but it also
results in Pak Rupee being devalued.

So why the dollar? This goes back to the Bretton Woods Agreement of 1944 when the Dollar was redeemable by
Gold. The American Central Bank, the Federal Reserve, could not print dollar bills if it didn't have the Gold to
back up the bills with. Eventually the "Gold Window" was closed in 1971 which should have marked the end of
the Bretton Woods Agreement but it didn't. After all, why should a sovereign country use a currency of a foreign
country when that currency can be devalued at the will of a foreign central bank as the dollar is no longer backed
by Gold? The whole idea goes against the concept of sovereignty. To add insult over injury, IMF lends loans in
dollar to fill the BoP gap, loans that have to be paid back with interest. The interest has to be earned by Pakistan
by exporting more of its goods. This is a double-edged sword. Interest sucks the value out of Import and dollar
inflation dilutes the value of Exports.

State Bank of Pakistan should demand payments for its exports be settled in Pak Rupee. But for the general public
to see the fruits of its labor, the Federal Government needs to stop printing Rupee and balance it's budget.
Otherwise the fruits of labour, that were saved from the International Bankers, would be stolen by the Federal
Government of Pakistan via inflation. It is high-time the Ministry of Finance takes notice of these issues as
Pakistan has already passed its point-of-no-return towards bankruptcy. Lets save whatever there is left to be saved
for future generations to come.

Asif Ameer trades equities, bonds and derivatives in the International Capital Markets. He can be reached via twitter @AsifAmeer _AP

oh Boy!!!! (sing)

:please:

AsifAmeer

To youn kaho na bhai k from a social point of view, anything other than a dollar is unacceptable.

Haan! That is a legit issue. Lekin I will tackle it in 2 ways.
1. These are BONDS. Suppose you dont like "ye chotay height k kaalay bangali" right? Well, what if they sell you $1000 worth of garments for $990? Still no? Ok, how about for $450? Someone somewhere in the world will see an arbitrage and bid the bangla-bonds to its appropriate value.
2. The second issue is (which is what I want Govts of every country to come out and say) that they simply wont use anything other than the dollar because breaking the chains of the dollar will end their govt as promised by the Central Bankers. Thats all the Govts have to say. I will simply stop writing economic articles then. Then I will try to specialize how to effectively insult Govt officials in less than 2-seconds or something of that sort. Its always easy to work on a problem once you know what the problem is. I suggest you read my article on Civil Monetary Disobedience.

sirjeee; mera argument theoritical nahi hai practical hai.. i understood what u said academicall.. but SAUDI will never accept a BANGLA credit.. they wil say ye chotey height ke kaley bangali ka credit nahi chahiye.. we need USD.... my argument in response to yr theory is practical implication......
my argument is pakistan will not accept bangla credit.. it will say gimme daaaalarrr as other countries only accept $$$$ as payment

I read that artcile and it fails right on the first sentence.. "every one shud withdraw their cash".. thast not possible.... practcally or academically..because of fractional reserve banking... u may write economic solutions thats practical... not based on some fantasy.... like the whole recession was due to these weak derivatives sold over and over again... tat wud b more interesting.....

To youn kaho na bhai k from a social point of view, anything other than a dollar is unacceptable.

Haan! That is a legit issue. Lekin I will tackle it in 2 ways.
1. These are BONDS. Suppose you dont like "ye chotay height k kaalay bangali" right? Well, what if they sell you $1000 worth of garments for $990? Still no? Ok, how about for $450? Someone somewhere in the world will see an arbitrage and bid the bangla-bonds to its appropriate value.
2. The second issue is (which is what I want Govts of every country to come out and say) that they simply wont use anything other than the dollar because breaking the chains of the dollar will end their govt as promised by the Central Bankers. Thats all the Govts have to say. I will simply stop writing economic articles then. Then I will try to specialize how to effectively insult Govt officials in less than 2-seconds or something of that sort. Its always easy to work on a problem once you know what the problem is. I suggest you read my article on Civil Monetary Disobedience.

UKPakistani

Good discussion

Tell me do you see any value in introdicing a New Pak Rupee,which is valuedat say 100 old ones, That would pitch it with say the Euro in terms of exchange slightly above the dollar and below the pound.

It can serve two purposes, A lot of "Black Money" would have to be changed into the new currency through the banks, and maybe some explanations would be sought as to the sources.

Secondly, stability, at the moment, Pak prints Rs 3 Billion daily, the costs of doing that alone, daily must be enormous.

I believe Turkey most recently revalued its Lira from millions and billions to to single digit values

I am no expert on economics, so a view/opinion from you would be interesting