So this is the electronic voting machine that NADRA developed for transparent elections

delta_paki

So this is the reason why chief dhandalizers like Ayaz Sandiq are on a personal vendetta against Tariq Malik. Go Malik sab we are with you...this machine isn't perfect but its atleast a start against the thappa parties of Pakistan. Good going.

rizhussain44

Re: So this is the electronic voting machine that NADRA developed for transparent elections - Looks Great!!

I don't know if you have difficulty understanding the Urdu the reporter speaking in the video and the simple english I wrote or you have some sort of childish arrogance ... where the hell did I say the whole system cost Rs.8000??? I said the device they showed for scanning finger prints ...secondly its not 1 crore they spent ...its 100 crores (ek arab).. watch the video and my comments again..hope it will correct you misunderstanding. I don't claim anything that I don't know or don't do and I still stand for what I said. As far as the development cost in Pakistani govt is concern the actual cost is hardly 10% of what they claim in the papers...

the reason I am disappointed is that there are much better option available in the market in the given range of NADRA spending money, they already have one of the best Database in the world, all the need to do is to configure any of the advance device to their database to verify voters against their database and record selected option. have a look at the picture attached and decided yourself how advance the normal available voting devices and the NADRA device.

VDevice.jpg

Thanks for the information, I never had any problem with the disappointment you have with this system costing 100 crore to develop! That seems to be a legit question that 100 crore sounds too much but then you have stated this yourself that in case of Gov projects the actual price is only 10% of the price on paper, so I guess that should lessen your disappointment by 90%!

My problem was if you were comparing the development cost with the unit price, for that you have asked “where the hell did I say the whole system cost Rs.8000???”

Well, you didn’t exactly say that the whole system should cost Rs 8000 but in your very first post you complained about the development cost of 100 crore and then in same breath, in your second sentence you stated that a system like this should merely cost RS 8000, (As if you were comparing the two prices, implying that you were trying to compare the development price with the unit price. If you were not doing that, fine then, but that’s what the impression it gave)
This is what you said in your first post… “1980s design this device should not cost more then Rs.8000 each.. I was expecting much better device and system when I heard the spending amount (100 crors) on it.”

So after getting this impression from your post, I tried to make this distinction in my first. Instead of clarifying it in your second post (what you clarified in your third post) you only bragged about your experience. That compelled me to ask you again if you are confusing the two prices! So I guess no arrogance anywhere on my part!

By the way would you mind showing me a system like this, off the shelf maybe, costing RS 8000? The system you showed earlier didn't mention anyehere how much it costs, unless I have missed it.

asifukp

Re: So this is the electronic voting machine that NADRA developed for transparent elections - Looks Great!!

Thanks for the information, I never had any problem with the disappointment you have with this system costing 100 crore to develop! That seems to be a legit question that 100 crore sounds too much but then you have stated this yourself that in case of Gov projects the actual price is only 10% of the price on paper, so I guess that should lessen your disappointment by 90%!

My problem was if you were comparing the development cost with the unit price, for that you have asked “where the hell did I say the whole system cost Rs.8000???”

Well, you didn’t exactly say that the whole system should cost Rs 8000 but in your very first post you complained about the development cost of 100 crore and then in same breath, in your second sentence you stated that a system like this should merely cost RS 8000, (As if you were comparing the two prices, implying that you were trying to compare the development price with the unit price. If you were not doing that, fine then, but that’s what the impression it gave)
This is what you said in your first post… “1980s design this device should not cost more then Rs.8000 each.. I was expecting much better device and system when I heard the spending amount (100 crors) on it.”

So after getting this impression from your post, I tried to make this distinction in my first. Instead of clarifying it in your second post (what you clarified in your third post) you only bragged about your experience. That compelled me to ask you again if you are confusing the two prices! So I guess no arrogance anywhere on my part!

By the way would you mind showing me a system like this, off the shelf maybe, costing RS 8000? The system you showed earlier didn't mention anyehere how much it costs, unless I have missed it.

..you are so confused... you are just assuming without paying attention to what is actually written or said.... I suggest just leave it you wouldn't get it and wouldn't admit it even if you get it..

As far as the pricing is concern it depends on the number of units ordered, they don't give away price of one unit..there was around 72144 poling station in the last election so you can guess there is a potential of high discount on unit price but still should not be more then an average laptop.

rizhussain44

..you are so confused... you are just assuming without paying attention to what is actually written or said.... I suggest just leave it you wouldn't get it.

Yes I was confused because your post was confusing! and I just showed and explained it to you how and where it was confusing! but it seems like it is too hard for you to digest your shortcoming!

You didn't answer my last question, when you claim big or drastic things you better back them up! show me a voting system like this costing PKR 8000!

rizhussain44

As far as the pricing is concern it depends on the number of units ordered, they don't give away price of one unit..there was around 72144 poling station in the last election so you can guess there is a potential of high discount on unit price but still should not be more then an average laptop.

Though I don't agree that it would cost equal to an avg laptop but lets say it does for the sake of argument.

So you are agreeing that even after a good a discount (based on huge sale count such as 72144 units) the system would still cost around 5 to 10 times more than PKR 8000. Assuming that an average laptop cost around 40,000 to 80,000 PKR. That’s what I was trying to point out that earlier you were underpricing it too much.

asifukp

Yes I was confused because your post was confusing! and I just showed and explained it to you how and where it was confusing! but it seems like it is too hard for you to digest your shortcoming!

You didn't answer my last question, when you claim big or drastic things you better back them up! show me a voting system like this costing PKR 8000!

where the hell did you get the idea that I said the whole system is Rs.8000??? I mentioned it previously I am talking about the device they showed for scanning fingerprints... its not even their own design ... its a damn generic login/out device ...

rizhussain44

where the hell did you get the idea that I said the whole system is Rs.8000??? I mentioned it previously I am talking about the device they showed for scanning fingerprints... its not even their own design ... its a damn generic login/out device ...

Buddy, you keep coming back and saying I wasn't talking about this I was actually talking about that... whatever they showed in the video was not just a device for scanning fingerprints it was their voting system on dispaly. So I don't know why you even bothered to mention price of just a simple fingerprints scanning device, as you are claiming!

Anyway, we can just forget it else it does not seem to go anywhere

asifukp

Though I don't agree that it would cost equal to an avg laptop but lets say it does for the sake of argument.

So you are agreeing that even after a good a discount (based on huge sale count such as 72144 units) the system would still cost around 5 to 10 times more than PKR 8000. Assuming that an average laptop cost around 40,000 to 80,000 PKR. That’s what I was trying to point out that earlier you were underpricing it too much.

by system you means device? if this is what your understanding then I am really sorry for you. I didn't under price anything as the device showed is not better then any below average laptop.

this is the beginning mate they spent 100 crores on developing this system now they will spent much more on deployment of this system and let see how much this antique device cost. I'll be glade if its less then Rs.50000 as it will be a huge waste of TAX payer money. Only two devices per poling station will cost 577 crores even if you used my given price then installation and maintenance will increase it significantly and if you calculate the figures with 50000/unit then I really feel sorry for poor Pakistanis its too much to pay for.(50000x2= 100000x 72144 = 7214400000)..

optimistic

Re: So this is the electronic voting machine that NADRA developed for transparent elections

Faking thumbprint is not easy yes... but stealing is! You may have seen National Treasure movies and many other thriller movies, in which thumbprints are very easily stolen from a glass or something similar... my above two points are only to get your hands on the culprits and/or make sure that they are warned that they could even lose the already casted vote... keep the damn vote thieving elements at bay!

Also, one way of limiting fake votes, like if someone from the inside tries to change the database, the memory of the fingerprinting machine should be limited, like it should not accept more than 1500 votes per polling station.... its a big debate and there are lot of things to consider

Bhai those are just movies i have myself done some study on biometrics(face, thumbprint, iris) based identity recognition, iris and fingerprint are very secure and what you are saying you should stop and think for yourself, how can some one obtain hundreds of thousands of fingerprints and fake them, these corrupt a**holes in our country cannot fake technology...and the database should be on a centralized server and not somewhere locally on the machine and what you are saying if somebody hijacks this server then this is another story but its a long discussion but i firmly believe that electronic vote casting can reduce 95% of the rigging

rizhussain44

by system you means device? if this is what your understanding then I am really sorry for you. I didn't under price anything as the device showed is not better then any below average laptop.

this is the beginning mate they spent 100 crores on developing this system now they will spent much more on deployment of this system and let see how much this antique device cost. I'll be glade if its less then Rs.50000 as it will be a huge waste of TAX payer money. Only two devices per poling station will cost 577 crores even if you used my given price then installation and maintenance will increase it significantly and if you calculate the figures with 50000/unit then I really feel sorry for poor Pakistanis its too much to pay for.(50000x2= 100000x 72144 = 7214400000)..

Well, lets see what will be the official figures for the complete deploymenty cost of this system. IMHO it will be less than that.

Even if the cost is same as you what you have quoted, don't forget that introduction of such a system would inshallah mean the end of corruption raj resulting in no more wastage and loot of tax payers money by our corrupt politicains.. which amounts to much much more than the quoted price of this system. I just hope that it gets deployed succesfully. In short, this news has much more to celebrate than to worry!

MADdoo

Re: Electronic Voting System by NADRA

Nawaz Ganjuuu ne laga dia hoga Apnay Laannttyy Gang ko , is system k hacker dhoodne k lie....

Re: Electronic Voting System by NADRA

مجھے پرچی سے نفرت ھے ، پرچی گنتی ختم ھونی چاھئے

تھوڑی مایوسی ھوئ کہ پرچی کو مکمل ختم نہ کیا جاسکا

اگر باقی کام کمپوٹر کر سکتا ھے تو آخری قدم بھی کمپیوٹر
سے ھی کروایا جائے ، ایک گھنٹے کے اندر پورے پاکستان کے ووٹوں کا رزلٹ آسکتاھے

طارق ملک کو دوبارا بحال کیا جائے

ZenoInTheZoo

I don't know why everybody is after reinventing the wheel in one form or the other. In your neighboring country they are running the same exercise with a relative success. Why cant u just adapt and replicate a proven and successful experiment here?

You just need a one time investment/fixed cost, then u need to learn from ur own experience and see how the whole exercise can be improved to make the system fully adaptable to local/our requirements and mad cost effective.