میرا سیٹھی : ابو اور پی ایس ایل

Muqadas

14102525_10153978858928666_205307187943196269_n.jpg

Mira Sethi

I try not to write or debate or pitch in about my father on public forums because he's a public figure and what I feel for and about him -- affection, love, pride, amusement/bemusement -- may not be what others feel (certainly in that order).

Today I am emotional. I am sitting in Qaddafi stadium with goosebumps on my arms.

I'm not a huge cricket watcher. I watch T20s because they're short and fun. I also really like Misbah. He's a graceful man.

I am emotional today because the energy in the stadium is electric. Everyone is smiling. A girl of 6 waved at me from her stand above: "Mira baji!" A huge grin on her face. Her mother beside her, waving, smiling, laughing, actually.

25,000 Pakistanis -- young and old and men and women and excitement-addled children -- are here. Some of the kids are too young to know or be obsessed with cricket. But they're smiling because their parents are smiling: Something Good Is Happening. They want to be a part of it.

A week ago I went up to Abu's study at 1 am. He was stressed out. Some foreign players had refused to play in Lahore. The franchise owners had concerns. Pakistanis were worried. Abu was pacing in his nightsuit, a creme-coloured khaddar shalwar kameez he has worn since I was a child.

I hugged him and told him that, actually, I was worried too. And I was. It was a perfectly legitimate concern. There was a lot to take care of.

And today, here I am, sitting in Qaddafi stadium, the crowds roaring, doing "waves," countdowns, chants, engaged in selfie-itus that would give our actresses a run for their money.

I went up to Abu and squeezed his hand. "You're wearing a woolen suit," I said. "It's too hot for this type of suit."

"I don't feel hot at all," he laughed.

I knew exactly what he meant: his mind and heart had expanded with joy. Heat? What heat? His mind was somewhere else.

The stadium is lit up. Pakistan is lit up. May this flicker grow into a steady ray that arcs over this land.

I love you, Pakistan. Pakistan Zindabad. #PSL #Pakistan

https://web.facebook.com/MiraSethipage/posts/1773775559604432

Sirphira

سیٹھی صاحب ۔۔ آپ نے کمال کیا ہے
اللہ آپ کو خوش رکھے

کمال تو واقعی کردیا ہے کوئٹہ گلیڈیٹرز کو تھرڈ کلاس کھلاڑی دیکر ہرواکر
کل میچ بورنگ تھا لیکن گونوازگو کا مزہ بہت آیا۔۔۔
نجم سیٹھی نے واقعی کمال کردتا ہے
پانچ دن تک نوازشریف کے بکاؤ اینکرز اور پٹواری عمران خان کو ذلیل کرنیکی کوشش کرتے رہےاور چند منٹ میں ساری کسر لاہوریوں نے پوری کرکے منہ توڑجواب دیدیا

NAWAZNOORA

hahah yaar Najam sethi ki taqreer ke doraaan Go nawaz GO se pooora stadium Goonj utha aur ye awaaz unhi 500 Rs ki tricket wali seats se aa rahi thi jahan log apni jaibon se paise kherch ker ke gaye thai.....:)

mercedesbenz

​عوام کے لیئے آج کا کالم جو سہیل احمد عرف عزیزی نے لکھا ھے وہ کافی ھے کہ عوام کو کسطرح بے وقوف بنایا جاتا ھے۔۔

v r imran k

سیٹھی صاحب ۔۔ آپ نے کمال کیا ہے
اللہ آپ کو خوش رکھے

sethi

sab k sath waqiee kamal hoo gaya jub poora stadium GO NAWAZ GO kay slogan and chanting sy goonj utha ..well done MR sethi you did your job for your bosses after GO NAWAZ GO they are happy now
[hilar]

Zainsha

Go Nawaz Go after 30 years rule in Punjab.. l@n@t aisay iqtedar pe.. jahan apnay sheher main kut@tay ki tarah zaleel huay..

lurker

Go Nawaz Go after 30 years rule in Punjab.. l@n@t aisay iqtedar pe.. jahan apnay sheher main kut@tay ki tarah zaleel huay..
Laanat to aise hum Pakistanis dete hain jaise landay mein khana dete hain. lol. Its no big deal if people are chanting "Go Nawaz Go". First its grammatically incorrect; sounds more like they are cheering him on. Just ask any foreign guy. hahah. Second of all to be able to openly say this during Nawaz Sharif's own reign is actually a showcase of the freedoms allowed or tolerated in his tenure. And thirdly, Nawaz Sharif was ELECTED into power by the majority of Pakistan; so next time you hear Go Nawaz Go, remember that Elect Nawaz Elect was louder in 2013. And before you start on me, I voted PTI in 2013.

SahirShah

Laanat to aise hum Pakistanis dete hain jaise landay mein khana dete hain. lol. Its no big deal if people are chanting "Go Nawaz Go". First its grammatically incorrect; sounds more like they are cheering him on. Just ask any foreign guy. hahah. Second of all to be able to openly say this during Nawaz Sharif's own reign is actually a showcase of the freedoms allowed or tolerated in his tenure. And thirdly, Nawaz Sharif was ELECTED into power by the majority of Pakistan; so next time you hear Go Nawaz Go, remember that Elect Nawaz Elect was louder in 2013. And before you start on me, I voted PTI in 2013.

You are amazing ! So according to you, when BB Benazir used to chant "Go baba Go" for Ghulam Ishaq Khan in early 90's, it was to cheer GIK. Or may be when Showbaz Sharif used to chant "Go Zardari Go" on every possible forum, it was to cheer President Zardari up. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Nawaz Sharif was not elected by majority, he rigged his way through the power. Every Pakistani knows it except some by-default patwaris. Your last liner "And before you start on me, I voted PTI in 2013" HAHAHAHAHAH ... No comment on this one !!!
Thanks for making my day, it was fun to read the amazing analysis of "Go Nawaz Go" from an "ex-insafian" .... :P

MADdoo

Salay Cricket me b Politics and PMLn daal di, itni advertisement. omg.

Ab Lagta hai Toilet k saman p PMLn and Mian Nawaz ki Bothi aia kare g.

chandaa

Maulaa Khush rakhey BHAAG lagey rehan - JEW group. Some people have no shame at all when they try to distort the facts.

lurker

If you look at the "Cheering" Wiki page here is a short summary of the "Go" chants.

Common chants include "Let's go - [team name] -, let's go (clap-clap clap-clap-clap); or in case of a single syllable nickname, "Go - [team name] - Go".

I remember I was in the stadium at Fedex field chanting "Go Steelers Go!" And I am certain all of us Steeler fans weren't telling the Steelers to leave! LOL. So when I finally came to Pakistan and heard "Go Nawaz Go!" I was thinking wow they really love Nawaz Sharif and are cheering him on! hahaha. My cousin who used to live in Pakistan told me, thats not what they want to convey, but since their english is poor they used Go Nawaz Go, or Go Zardari Go. But to a foreigner it sounds like they are cheering him on! When Sammy was hitting Sixes in the last 2 overs last night I was shouting Go Sammy Go!

And that little tidbit of Nawaz Sharif rigging his way to Victory; I heard Imran lost that case. Nawaz Sharif *IS* the constitutionally elected Prime Minister whether you like it or not. Whether you believe it or not. And to come out here and say he rigged his way to Power, well; you gotta prove that and Imran has already done that dance and it did not come to fruition. So without proof and a court judgement what you say is just a "he said, she said" story.

Btw, I will NOT be voting PTI again in the coming elections. These guys are just as incompetent and deluded as Nawaz Sharif and Zardari & Co. With that said, I do hope Imran wins because I want to see him take the reigns and fail just as miserably as everyone else has failed at Pakistan. This will be the ultimate slap in the face for All Pakistanis when they realize that Not Nawaz, Not Zardari, Not Imran, Not Benazir, Not Bhutto, Not the Army, Not even Jinnah can save Pakistan from the Pakistani Awaam!

You are amazing ! So according to you, when BB Benazir used to chant "Go baba Go" for Ghulam Ishaq Khan in early 90's, it was to cheer GIK. Or may be when Showbaz Sharif used to chant "Go Zardari Go" on every possible forum, it was to cheer President Zardari up. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
Nawaz Sharif was not elected by majority, he rigged his way through the power. Every Pakistani knows it except some by-default patwaris. Your last liner "And before you start on me, I voted PTI in 2013" HAHAHAHAHAH ... No comment on this one !!!
Thanks for making my day, it was fun to read the amazing analysis of "Go Nawaz Go" from an "ex-insafian" .... :P

SahirShah

If you look at the "Cheering" Wiki page here is a short summary of the "Go" chants.

Common chants include "Let's go - [team name] -, let's go (clap-clap clap-clap-clap); or in case of a single syllable nickname, "Go - [team name] - Go".

I remember I was in the stadium at Fedex field chanting "Go Steelers Go!" And I am certain all of us Steeler fans weren't telling the Steelers to leave! LOL. So when I finally came to Pakistan and heard "Go Nawaz Go!" I was thinking wow they really love Nawaz Sharif and are cheering him on! hahaha. My cousin who used to live in Pakistan told me, thats not what they want to convey, but since their english is poor they used Go Nawaz Go, or Go Zardari Go. But to a foreigner it sounds like they are cheering him on! When Sammy was hitting Sixes in the last 2 overs last night I was shouting Go Sammy Go!

And that little tidbit of Nawaz Sharif rigging his way to Victory; I heard Imran lost that case. Nawaz Sharif *IS* the constitutionally elected Prime Minister whether you like it or not. Whether you believe it or not. And to come out here and say he rigged his way to Power, well; you gotta prove that and Imran has already done that dance and it did not come to fruition. So without proof and a court judgement what you say is just a "he said, she said" story.

Btw, I will NOT be voting PTI again in the coming elections. These guys are just as incompetent and deluded as Nawaz Sharif and Zardari & Co. With that said, I do hope Imran wins because I want to see him take the reigns and fail just as miserably as everyone else has failed at Pakistan. This will be the ultimate slap in the face for All Pakistanis when they realize that Not Nawaz, Not Zardari, Not Imran, Not Benazir, Not Bhutto, Not the Army, Not even Jinnah can save Pakistan from the Pakistani Awaam!

So, you are a foreigner ? And you have the right to vote in Pakistan? And you are so much involved in Pakistani politics that you have posted 6K+ posts on a Pakistani politcal forum ? And you'd like to see Imran Khan fails ? .... Okay .... I think, you are a waste of time to have a conversation with. I didn't realize that before and I apologize for that.
BTW, an Oxford-graduate Benazir Bhutto introduced this slang "Go Baba Go" in Pakistan's politics, when Ghulam Ishaq Khan dissolved her government in early 90's. But I believe you, her English was poor than yours.
Go now and never return. Go get it. (Same ''Go'' but different meanings). :biggthumpup:

Zainsha

No Einstein.. your explanation can't hide the real sentiment of people.. Go Nawaz Go is a symbolic curse that will always follow him where ever he goes. I see 99.9% of people these days are ex PTIans or ex-youthiyas here on these forums who realizaed IK in just 3 years so want to vote for established thugs of 30 years. Nawaz Sharif democracy was showcased in model town where several people were killed in broad daylight. This was a cricket stadium and their own event so they could not do anything about it. But I respect your political affiliation.

So once again l@n@t hazar on g@nj@ who got kutt@y wala treatment even after 30 years rule in Punjab and Lahore being their own city.. l@n@t aisay iqtedar pe..