How much money PTV Sports lost because the PSL was aired on GEO Super too?

sher_khan

Ad revenue rates for the PTV Sports must have gone down because the PSL games were also being aired on GEO Super.

GEO Super is a channel which falls under the GEO Group. Najam Sethi who runs the PSL has a paid show with the GEO group. This is a text book conflict of interest case.

PTV sports is a government owned channel (a national asset). The conflict of interest mentioned above reduced the earnings of a national asset.

How much did the PTV sports lose due to the conflict of interest?

sher_khan

PSL was also aired on ten sports which is not owned by Geo

GEO super was showing the PSL. There is no doubt about it. If Ten Sports (I ma not sure) was also showing it "in" Pakistan then it makes 3 content providers for the same event. That makes it even worse. It further reduced the earnings of the PTV sports. Reduced earnings means reduction in value of the PTV sports.

This is a textbook approach to devalue the national assets and sell them to government's cronies for a cheap price.

Ten sport is an international system. International airing cannot hurt the income generated from the local channel. Many channels in the world broadcast the live coverage of the PSL, which didn't hurt the income of PTV.
You should answer the question of conflict of interest. How Najam Sethi allowed to form the PSL!!! He first grab hold of PCB, changed its constitution, appointed himself as the chief of the newly formed company PSL to gain himself. This is typical grab and run tactics used by the crooks. Don't try to defend the Choors who are stealing from a poor nation.

Unorthodox

Ten sport is an international system. International airing cannot hurt the income generated from the local channel. Many channels in the world broadcast the live coverage of the PSL, which didn't hurt the income of PTV.
You should answer the question of conflict of interest. How Najam Sethi allowed to form the PSL!!! He first grab hold of PCB, changed its constitution, appointed himself as the chief of the newly formed company PSL to gain himself. This is typical grab and run tactics used by the crooks. Don't try to defend the Choors who are stealing from a poor nation.

Tensports was showing matches in Pakistan as well.

dingdong

Phateechar JEW TV ke Pheetecher Meer Jaffar Zaleel Hanoomaan Raw ke BHarvay to Nooray Button ki Bharva Geeri kaa Muawaza to milna hi thaa Pheetcher Meer Jaffar Zaleel Hanoo Maan waisay bhi Ratab aur Haddi khore hai

Unorthodox

First of all I am not supporter of PMLN or die hard fan of Najam Sethi.

PSL live video feed is owned by PCB, they hired production company Sunset and Vine for production of whole event. PCB is selling live feed of PSL to different channels all over the world. In Pakistan instead of selling it to one channel they sold it to Three. So they have generated more money here.
Geo bought 2 feeds from PCB one for Pakistan and other for UK users.

This criticism in unnecessary

values

سب جھوٹ ہے ..نورے کا گٹھ جوڑ جیو کے ساتھ ہے اور سیٹھی دلال کا کام کرتا ہے .
حرام خور مل بیٹھے ہیں .اصل پھٹیچر تو نواز شریف ہے .

sher_khan

First of all I am not supporter of PMLN or die hard fan of Najam Sethi.

PSL live video feed is owned by PCB, they hired production company Sunset and Vine for production of whole event. PCB is selling live feed of PSL to different channels all over the world. In Pakistan instead of selling it to one channel they sold it to Three. So they have generated more money here.
Geo bought 2 feeds from PCB one for Pakistan and other for UK users.

This criticism in unnecessary

Bro you need to gain some economic sense regardless of the party you support or whether you hate or support Najam Sethi.

Let me help you in understanding the situation.

PCB could have sold the right to air only to one source in Pakistan at a very high price. The source would have paid for the rights and could have charged a high price for the ads. Since the rights were diluted between 3 content providers within Pakistan, the ad prices that PTV charges also came down.

Channels like GEO Super have in between analysis of the games during innings/lunch breaks. PTV does not. If people switch to a non-PTV channel they have no need to come back to the PTV sports. This brings the PTV viewership ratings down. If a certain channel has lower ratings then its ad prices also become cheaper than the channel with the higher ratings.

The bottom line is that lower ad revenues will devalue the PTV sports. This is a text book method of devaluing national assets and selling them cheap in an open market to the preferred people, on a later date.

Unorthodox

Bro you need to gain some economic sense regardless of the party you support or whether you hate or support Najam Sethi.
PCB could have sold the right to air only to one source in Pakistan at a very high price. The source would have paid for the rights and could have charged a high price for the ads. Since the rights were diluted between 3 content providers within Pakistan, the ad prices that PTV charges also came down.

Only possible when you have more than 2 established sports channels available in country who are willing to bid for single TV rights. PCb can not force PTV to pay high price it is not in their hands.

The bottom line is that lower ad revenues will devalue the PTV sports. This is a text book method of devaluing national assets and selling them cheap in an open market to the preferred people, on a later date.

One thing should be clear here PCB is separate entity and its main aim is to maximize its profit. They have nothing to do what will happen to PTV GEO or XYZ. Bottom line is PCB has earned more by giving TV rights to more channels in Pakistan.

After PSL Season 3 there will be new bidding process for Sponsorship (currently HBL), production (Sunset Vine) and TV rights. By that time PSL will be well known product and I am hoping channels will be willing to acquire TV rights at higher prices

You should ask this question to PTV management why they did not bid for sole channel to show PSL matches in Pakistan. They have done it in past when acquiring Pakistan International home Matches deal with PCB, that is another story they did join venture with Tensports (previously owned by Taj now Sony TV is new owner) to get TV rights of Pakistan home matches.

Pak Falcon

Ten sports is not an international system its a desi system and ten sports was showing PSL in Pakistan

http://pakistansuperleague.com.pk/pakistan-super-league-broadcast-psl-rights/

sher_khan

Only possible when you have more than 2 established sports channels available in country who are willing to bid for single TV rights. PCb can not force PTV to pay high price it is not in their hands.

One thing should be clear here PCB is separate entity and its main aim is to maximize its profit. They have nothing to do what will happen to PTV GEO or XYZ. Bottom line is PCB has earned more by giving TV rights to more channels in Pakistan.

After PSL Season 3 there will be new bidding process for Sponsorship (currently HBL), production (Sunset Vine) and TV rights. By that time PSL will be well known product and I am hoping channels will be willing to acquire TV rights at higher prices

You should ask this question to PTV management why they did not bid for sole channel to show PSL matches in Pakistan. They have done it in past when acquiring Pakistan International home Matches deal with PCB, that is another story they did join venture with Tensports (previously owned by Taj now Sony TV is new owner) to get TV rights of Pakistan home matches.

Actually, i am afraid you don't know how the bidding process works. PCB has every right to charge the any price they want. PCB doesn't have to sell the rights to PCB either. It can simply sell it to its competitor for a higher price.

You are working under the assumption that the PTV did not ask for the sole right. Even if the PTV asks for such a condition, PSL/PCB is under no obligation to accept these terms. You are also omitting the reality of things - because PCB sold the rights to more than 1 channel, the cost for the GEO Super to buy the rights got cheaper. This happened because of the conflict of interest - Sethi running PSL and having economic relationship with the GEO group. This case could be studied as a classic example of conflict of interest.

I said its a desi system desi means india and pakistan not international and ten sports only showed PSL in Pakistan not anywhere else!

Desi doesn't mean Pakistani. IT is an international channel. Where it shows the coverage depends where he obtained the rights to broadcast. That more reason to say that PTV's income was further deteriorated because the rights were given to too many channels.
Ten take Pakistani rights because it takes majority of its advertisements in Pakistan rather than India.

Unorthodox

Actually, i am afraid you don't know how the bidding process works. PCB has every right to charge the any price they want. PCB doesn't have to sell the rights to PCB either. It can simply sell it to its competitor for a higher price.

Yes PCB can set an initial price (minimum) to start the bidding process but question still remains "Is any channel ready to even pay the base price to get the rights?" Answer is No this is why 3 channels are broadcasting PSL matches. Here what PCB did they get the desired price by giving rights to 3 channels. As mentioned before they have nothing to do with PTV profit/losses both are separate bodies

You are working under the assumption that the PTV did not ask for the sole right.
In recent history PTV did not bid alone for sole rights. .Only time PCB bids for right as sole channel was in 90s when their production was top notch This is why I write in my previous post they bid with Tensports as Joint Venture

You are also omitting the reality of things - because PCB sold the rights to more than 1 channel, the cost for the GEO Super to buy the rights got cheaper.
Can not repeat my self again here. PCB earned more by giving rights to 3 channels. There was no channel for example BT Sports or SKy Sports or Sony TV ready in UK to broadcast PSL matches. Only party who was interested in getting rights was Geo TV UK.

Sethi running PSL and having economic relationship with the GEO group. This case could be studied as a classic example of conflict of interest.
Here I am agreeing with you there is a threat of conflict of address and it needs to addressed. In fact there are many loop holes in PCB corporate governance structure. For example Mr Sethi is active board member and he is also heading remuneration committee.

Here my argument is PCB did right thing to sell TV rights to 3 channels to maximize its profit. Its up to PTV how they can maximize its profit/viewership by getting TV advertisement etc
There are other issues in PCB, one I have mentioned above on basis of which you can criticize Mr Sethi not on this one brother

sher_khan

Yes PCB can set an initial price (minimum) to start the bidding process but question still remains "Is any channel ready to even pay the base price to get the rights?" Answer is No this is why 3 channels are broadcasting PSL matches. Here what PCB did they get the desired price by giving rights to 3 channels. As mentioned before they have nothing to do with PTV profit/losses both are separate bodies

In recent history PTV did not bid alone for sole rights. .Only time PCB bids for right as sole channel was in 90s when their production was top notch This is why I write in my previous post they bid with Tensports as Joint Venture

Can not repeat my self again here. PCB earned more by giving rights to 3 channels. There was no channel for example BT Sports or SKy Sports or Sony TV ready in UK to broadcast PSL matches. Only party who was interested in getting rights was Geo TV UK.

Here I am agreeing with you there is a threat of conflict of address and it needs to addressed. In fact there are many loop holes in PCB corporate governance structure. For example Mr Sethi is active board member and he is also heading remuneration committee.

Here my argument is PCB did right thing to sell TV rights to 3 channels to maximize its profit. Its up to PTV how they can maximize its profit/viewership by getting TV advertisement etc
There are other issues in PCB, one I have mentioned above on basis of which you can criticize Mr Sethi not on this one brother

Thanks for your interest in the issue and taking time to respond to my thread and concerns. You have given relatively reasonable justifications for your stance. I appreciate that.

However, you are misinterpreting my explanations. Part of it is my fault. I conduct audits on conflict of interest situations and sometimes when explaining things to people on the matter of conflict , I become oblivious of the fact that I might be engaging in a discourse with someone who might not have the same background as mine. Some explanations need more depth than others.

I should have explained to you that the state run organizations like PTV (referred to as crown corporations in common wealth countries) contain assets, which are a property of state/people. In countries which are less infested with corruption, there are no political appointments (rewarding favorite people with perks-rich-executive-jobs, who don't have the background to run a corporation) for the heads of such organizations. Hence when you bring up the question that why PTV sports "management" did not pursue a specific direction and I should direct my questions to them, you are omitting the big issue of collusion in this whole scenario.

The PSL head is appointed by the PMLN government. The PTV head is also appointed by the PMLN government. PMLN gets political-media support from the GEO group (the PM of the country actually thanked the GEO group on the floor of the National Assembly. Gone are the days when the bribes were given in a form of cash in a dark brief case at a seedy restaurant. Now, all this business collusion and financial rewards are exchanged in forms of contracts.

When I say that the PTV lost money, I am implying that the PTV as a corporation is being devalued not only by the PMLN cronies like Sethis but also by the PTV management, whose head is appointed by the government (PMLN in this particular case). There are corporate governance issues within PTV.

You cannot have an effective bidding process when the parties involved are not interacting at arm's-length. PTV and GEO super can't operate at arm's length with the PCB. They are effectively related parties. One example which substantiates my claim is that the PSL head, who is also a de facto head of the PCB matters (because he is the head of PCB Executive Committee), answers PCB related question exclusively on a GEO group's show. A show in which, only his GEO associate can ask him questions.

The price of the TV rights within Pakistan were brought down because of the collusion mentioned above just to bring the cost down for the GEO Super. This can be taken to any court of law and the plaintiff would have a very strong case. However, no one with deep pockets will do that because all of them are benefiting from the scenario. For example, the ARY channel won't do it because it has a stake in a PSL team and it provides a live coverage of PSL games via a show, "har lamha pujosh." They show a live coverage of the game in a minimized screen. It shouldn't happen this way. Cricket websites, like cricinfo, are not even allowed to put pictures of the IPL games on their website while the game is being played.

Why are you under the impression that PCB made more money by selling the rights to 3 different organizations? I mean you could be right if you have access to the figures. What is the possibility of PCB intentionally making the initial price set too high so that the price has to come down eventually - collusion to benefit the GEO group? What was the initial base price and what was sum of contracts with all the three parties at the end, for the Pakistan related rights?

Also, do you know all the details of bidding that took place in the UK? Are you sure that the PCB did not put conditions to SKY sports that it wants to sell the rights to GEO UK, simultaneously? To be honest, if memory serves me right - I was under the impression that some other channel was showing PSL in UK not the GEO group.

It should be noted that my thread started with a question. I don't have access to the figures but the collusion in this case is so blatant that the question is justified.

Governments in Pakistan abuse a lot of taxpayers' money for their political ads, to strengthen their relationship with the media. They buy opinions of the media houses. This appears to be a classic case of rewarding a media house at the cost of a state-run-corporation. There have been similar precedences. Karachi steel mill has been destroyed to help out the private steel mills. Same is happening with the PIA.