WHY PTI LOST NA 1 Peshawar: Random Thoughts from Peshawar

devilzzzprey

1756676.jpg

Two and half months before people of NA 1 gave 90000 votes to Imran Khan while total number of votes polled yesterday were around 65K. Peshawar NA 1 comprises of total urban area and where majority of people are literate. Giving them once candidate like Imran khan and then unknown, illiterate, controversial candidate like Gull Bacha is highly irresponsible on the part of PTI Top Leadership and an injustice to people of Peshawar. Peshawar is known for giving a befitting revenge to those who dont pay heed to their sentiments. Many did not vote PTI just because of their complain that Imran should not have left this seat however this was not the major reason of PTI losing this seat. Major reason was that PTI NA 1 workers were divided inside. Many thought Samad Mursaleen would have been a better candidate while i personally think Saleem Jan was a better choice. I know many Tabdeeli Razakars who were not willing to work with Gul Bacha as they had bitter time with him during election campaign of last general elections. Furthermore, all opposition parties ANP JUIF PPP PMLN were united against PTI, while PTI itself divided apart, but that too would have been countered had our candidate been a bit better. Despite these all odds, where PTI had a fair chance to losing it, someone as ordinary as Gull Bacha lost by less than 5000 votes to famous House of Bilours and Stalwart of ANP. ANP got almost same number of votes as they got on 11th May, which shows PTI Voters did not turn to ANP candidate but also also rejected PTI Candidate. It is important to understand that PTI voters are not dumb followers. If you will not give them a good choice, a choice which does reflect change, they will reject it.

While i am upset and angry at PTI leadership, i am glad as well. This defeat will hopefully wake them up, to work more proactively and solve their internal party disputes. PTI Government in KP has 4 years, 9 months and some two weeks. It is enough time for any government to establish their selves as a government sincere for betterment of masses. If KP Government did not work good enough, they should be ready for a further ruthless revenge in next general elections which ANP, PPP, JUIF faced recently.
On positive note, as a whole in KP, PTi improved despite losing Symbolic NA1. PTI retained NA 5, NA 13 seats despite joint opposition and went ahead by winning a seat in strong hold of JUIF i.e. Lakki Marwat despite his Yahoodi Conspiracy Propaganda. There are bright chances of PTI winning another seat of JUIF i.e. NA 25 as well. Hopefully PTI will learn, mend their ways and improve before its too late.

Following are some reasons due to which PTI Lost:

1. Extremely Weak, Uneducated and Controversial Candidate.
2. Internal Divisions in PTI Peshawar Chapter.
3. United Opposition of ANP JUIF PPP PMLN.
4. ANP`s Compaign Slogan “You Gave Respect to Imran and he Left Your Seat”
5. PTI Terrorism Stance which revived Bashir Bilour`s Sympathy Vote.
6. Failure of PTI to Counter Propaganda that Gull Bacha is Afghan National.

http://devilzzzprey.wordpress.com/2013/08/23/why-pti-lost-na-1-peshawar-some-random-thoughts/

Sohraab

Loogon ko is baat ka Shadeed Ghussa tha ke IK ne seat kuin chori

aur yeh bhi nahi bhoolna chahiye ke Ghulam Ahmad Bilour Peshawar ki siasat ka bohut barra naam hai , Jab IK ne seat chor di to Loogon ko shadeed ghussa tha is baat par

PakGem

aur yeh bhi nahi bhoolna chahiye ke Ghulam Ahmad Bilour Peshawar ki siasat ka bohut barra naam hai , Jab IK ne seat chor di to Loogon ko shadeed ghussa tha is baat par

Agar internal rift na hoti to is factor ko easily handle kia ja sakta tha. Logon ko confidence mein lia jata.

Mikkix

100 right.
one thing i would like to add.
-Common people not came for vote, they were disappointed of rigging in general election.
-Common people not came for vote, they were thinking that PTI already has provincial government and it will not change the status of federal government.
-They were not happy with IK for vacating the seat.

chargootay

Reasons for loss in NA1:

Reason:
Poor election campaign due to rift between Gul Bacha (supported by Khattak, Yusafzai etc) , while Samad Mursaleen (oldest pti worker supported by them and has a very good local stronghold due to his family)
Asad qaiser n Shaukat usafzai met Samad murasleen on the 20th asking him to sit in favour of gul bacha. Samad was offered Senator or Mayor of peshawar ticket which he rejected by asking them to convince the workers rather than him.
Asad n Shaukat insisted on settling the issue in drawing room instead of addressing the concerns of local workers.
Samad was insulted at CM secretariate by keeping him waiting in security room while IK was there and was released when IK left.
Solution: bring discipline and transparency in decision making and settle issues by listening to both parties

reason:
ASad Qaiser n KHatak couldnt campaign for him or any other guy from the top leadership because of their positions in KPK govt.
Solution: Its abt time asad qaiser n khattak decide about their dual offices

Reason:
Lack of discipline, meritocracy in awarding tickets and lack of transparency in awarding of tickets..and conflicts shud have been addressed earlier to avoid this failure.
SOlution: Ground level worker should be given the opportunity to decide (as IK always used to say)

Reason:
Gap between leadership and ground level worker. Leaders, especially elected leaders are too busy in their offices while they knew that Byelections were around the corner.
solution:they shud have been doing more cosmetic work than making policies if they wanted to win the seat

Reason
very strong propaganda by samad and bilour abt nationality of gul bacha
solution PTI AND ITS media team couldnt come up clear about this issue

Reason: KP politics is about attending weddings and funerals, no minister of pti govt attended the funerals of two MPAs and the policemen and locals killed in terrorist attacks..

Bottom-line:
All those who were responsible for this ticket should be questioned.
Next, local body elections are to be held, the MPAs and MNAs should close the gap between themselves and the voters.
Propagate your achievements more on social media and on tv.

This is in a way good for pTI . Its an eyeopener for them.
People of KPK do not vote just like that.
There are factors to it and one must not grant us for granted.
Ik never came to Peshawar for thanking the locals, he always stood away.
He should have come atleast once to NA1 after the elections for thanking those who voted for him.

3rd_Umpire

I belong to NA-5, and doing my job at Peshawar, and had a chance to assess the reason of losing NA-1

1. NA-1, mostly comprised of Pure Peshawari (Hindko) speaking constituency , The candidate should have been Samad Mursaleen who is a Hindko speaking candidate of PTI, in contrast ANP never tried to give this seat to a Non-Hindko person in past even, and so so did other parties like PPPP

2. If IK retained the seat of MianWali(Home Town), then Voters would have not objected of leaving the seat of NA.1, by making this WRONG decision of retaining Rawalpindi seat PTI lost both seat

3.People of peshawar HATES Afghan very much, and the Afghan National propaganda played its role to a fairly good proportion.

Democratic

I think there is unanimity on nature of stimuli and precursors which lead to the defeat of PTI in Peshawer. The only question that needs to be resolved is that why did IK vacated NA-1?. I think the reasons are very clear. Hanif Abbasi's fear in the case of re-election at at NA-56 made him do this and Shiekh Rasheed (the unofficial uncle of PTI) must have been instrumental in convincing IK to keep NA-56 because of Shaikh's own peculiarities related to Hanif Abbasi. No matter how much politically justified it may seem to be but was it a morally justified decision as well? I am sure not at all. IK should have kept either NA-71 or NA-1. The people of Mianwali have been traditionally supporting IK and even in the fragile times when he was almost a non-entity in politics. Secondly , the majority populous of KKP had voted for PTI. Peshawrians dethroned their very own Billour for IK in an unprecedented manner.

The message that was transmitted to the people of NA-71 and NA-1 after IK's political decision to vacate these two seats was obvious and that was that you people shall vote for me no matter what so I am leaving with a surety that you shall stay loyal to me. There is not much of a difference in such unquestionable loyalty and slavery. This message of "You are my obedient servants" was further reinforced by launching two very precarious and infamous candidates in these two constituencies. The message turned into "Such obedient servants you are that you shall vote for anyone if i ask for that".

It was a humiliation and contempt for the voters so they gave IK the due political slap of the right magnitude.

Mikkix

I think there is unanimity on nature of stimuli and precursors which lead to the defeat of PTI in Peshawer. The only question that needs to be resolved is that why did IK vacated NA-1?. I think the reasons are very clear. Hanif Abbasi's fear in the case of re-election at at NA-56 made him do this and Shiekh Rasheed (the unofficial uncle of PTI) must have been instrumental in convincing IK to keep NA-56 because of Shaikh's own peculiarities related to Hanif Abbasi. No matter how much politically justified it may seem to be but was it a morally justified decision as well? I am sure not at all. IK should have kept either NA-71 or NA-1. The people of Mianwali have been traditionally supporting IK and even in the fragile times when he was almost a non-entity in politics. Secondly , the majority populous of KKP had voted for PTI. Peshawrians dethroned their very own Billour for IK in an unprecedented manner.

The message that was transmitted to the people of NA-71 and NA-1 after IK's political decision to vacate these two seats was obvious and that was that you people shall vote for me no matter what so I am leaving with a surety that you shall stay loyal to me. There is not much of a difference in such unquestionable loyalty and slavery. This message of "You are my obedient servants" was further reinforced by launching two very precarious and infamous candidates in these two constituencies. The message turned into "Such obedient servants you are that you shall vote for anyone if i ask for that".

It was a humiliation and contempt for the voters so they gave IK the due political slap of the right magnitude.

Ik has to vacate one, i guess he did right cause mianwali and peshawar are eaiser seats then pindi..
Gul bacha is a weak candidate.
malik waheed is not suitable for mianwali, malik waheed decision made local workers disappointed..
these were the reasons which made PTI lost...

Democratic

Ik has to vacate one, i guess he did right cause mianwali and peshawar are eaiser seats then pindi..
Gul bacha is a weak candidate.
malik waheed is not suitable for mianwali, malik waheed decision made local workers disappointed..
these were the reasons which made PTI lost...

If you ponder over the results of the general elections in KPK , you shall see that most of the candidates of PTI were as good as Gul bacha. People were under the impact of "tsunami" so they cared little for who is representing the "tsunami". In the by polls , the choice of candidate must have played a devastating role for PTI but the predominant issue is that the impact of the slogan of "tsunami" has lost most of its charm due to KPK's government performance , the attitude of Parvez Khattak and Asad Qiasar and Imran khan's personal conduct.

Mikkix

If you ponder over the results of the general elections in KPK , you shall see that most of the candidates of PTI were as good as Gul bacha. People were under the impact of "tsunami" so they cared little for who is representing the "tsunami". In the by polls , the choice of candidate must have played a devastating role for PTI but the predominant issue is that the impact of the slogan of "tsunami" has lost most of its charm due to KPK's government performance , the attitude of Parvez Khattak and Asad Qiasar and Imran khan's personal conduct.

you are absolutely wrong bro, Ik voters are educated and they know this bi-election will not change much, neither KP nor federal government...
PTI beat JUIF in lakki marwat,,, can u expext that, lakki marwat is home town of moulana, and JUIF accept this defeat with silence...
in bi-election candidate stature is more important than general election, cause u need candidate which make people out of home for voting, general election depends on leadership and more.

Nadir Bashir

Reasons for loss in NA1:

Reason:
Poor election campaign due to rift between Gul Bacha (supported by Khattak, Yusafzai etc) , while Samad Mursaleen (oldest pti worker supported by them and has a very good local stronghold due to his family)
Asad qaiser n Shaukat usafzai met Samad murasleen on the 20th asking him to sit in favour of gul bacha. Samad was offered Senator or Mayor of peshawar ticket which he rejected by asking them to convince the workers rather than him.
Asad n Shaukat insisted on settling the issue in drawing room instead of addressing the concerns of local workers.
Samad was insulted at CM secretariate by keeping him waiting in security room while IK was there and was released when IK left.
Solution: bring discipline and transparency in decision making and settle issues by listening to both parties

reason:
ASad Qaiser n KHatak couldnt campaign for him or any other guy from the top leadership because of their positions in KPK govt.
Solution: Its abt time asad qaiser n khattak decide about their dual offices

Reason:
Lack of discipline, meritocracy in awarding tickets and lack of transparency in awarding of tickets..and conflicts shud have been addressed earlier to avoid this failure.
SOlution: Ground level worker should be given the opportunity to decide (as IK always used to say)

Reason:
Gap between leadership and ground level worker. Leaders, especially elected leaders are too busy in their offices while they knew that Byelections were around the corner.
solution:they shud have been doing more cosmetic work than making policies if they wanted to win the seat

Reason
very strong propaganda by samad and bilour abt nationality of gul bacha
solution PTI AND ITS media team couldnt come up clear about this issue

Reason: KP politics is about attending weddings and funerals, no minister of pti govt attended the funerals of two MPAs and the policemen and locals killed in terrorist attacks..

Bottom-line:
All those who were responsible for this ticket should be questioned.
Next, local body elections are to be held, the MPAs and MNAs should close the gap between themselves and the voters.
Propagate your achievements more on social media and on tv.

This is in a way good for pTI . Its an eyeopener for them.
People of KPK do not vote just like that.
There are factors to it and one must not grant us for granted.
Ik never came to Peshawar for thanking the locals, he always stood away.
He should have come atleast once to NA1 after the elections for thanking those who voted for him.
\
Brother your opinion is convincing.But one i would like to add that thanking period was passed due to khan sb. injuries.It was in my mind as well that khan sb should visit entire Pakistan for thanking people.As people have given votes in whole Pakistan.He should also re-arrange his party in rural areas.one thing Pakistani nation likes chat patti siasat and khan sb reaction on 1st 80 days of current govt was not aggressive.

This is not the MAIN reason. Very few would have these thoughts.

The reason No. 1 is the main reason followed by reason 6 because Peshawaris HATE Afghanis.

Despite all these odds PTI lost with a low margin of 5000. If there would little better candidate like Saleem Jan, he would secure more than 40,000 votes.

Sohraab

This is not the MAIN reason. Very few would have these thoughts.

The reason No. 1 is the main reason followed by reason 6 because Peshawaris HATE Afghanis.

Despite all these odds PTI lost with a low margin of 5000. If there would little better candidate like Saleem Jan, he would secure more than 40,000 votes.

Peshawaris se aap ki murad sirf Hindko speaking yah Pathans bhi ????

sahirmushtaq

پنجاب سے ہارے تھے تو سب نے کہا بے غیرت پنجابی اس فورم میں بہت سے تھریڈ آج بھی ثبوت ہیں

اب پشاور والوں نے منہ کالا کیا ہے تو پھر سے کہو نا بے غیرت پٹھان ابھی تو چند ہفتے بھی نہیں گزرے پنجاب کی توہین کئیے

:biggthumpup:وجہ نا تلاش کرو صاف صاف کہو نا بے غیرت بکاؤ پٹھان

you are absolutely wrong bro, Ik voters are educated and they know this bi-election will not change much, neither KP nor federal government...
PTI beat JUIF in lakki marwat,,, can u expext that, lakki marwat is home town of moulana, and JUIF accept this defeat with silence...
in bi-election candidate stature is more important than general election, cause u need candidate which make people out of home for voting, general election depends on leadership and more.

Talking logically with Nooras is just useless.

You r right.The main reason is the worst candate. Peshawaris are very much enlightened and Live people. They are not dumb that they will even vote to a Khamba of PTI. Now PTI will think twice to give ticket to a low educated person. But I don't think Bilour would live long as per his physical condition. PTI will win again.