Which countries in the world had the same problems as Pakistan, rigged elections, corrupt politician

Imran the legend

Which countries in the world had the same problem as Pakistan where corrupt politicians rule & weak instatutions. How did they fix them?

Elections are rigged same people keep coming back making money and then spending at the time of the elections selling jobs making commission on commission projects not spending money on humans notspending money on schools hospitals jobs only few families keep ruling and hijacking the system they know all the loop holes.

Italy had a mafia, China had corruption Malaysia reformed Singapore.

STORMTROOPER

Re: Which countries in the world had the same problem as Pakistan, rigged elections, corrupt politicians & weak instatutions.how did they fix it ???

The reason why this is unique in Pakistan is because we missed out on the development that occurred under authoritarian rule during the cold war by stunting democracy.
We were in the same league as South Korea for example during the 50s and 60s but democracy derailed the progress that had been made during Ayub's tenure. In South Korea Park Chung hee elevated the country while in Pakistan reversals made by democratic rule under Bhuttos and Sharifs screwed us over.

But to answer your question Mexico is somewhat similiar

jaanmark

Re: Which countries in the world had the same problem as Pakistan, rigged elections, corrupt politicians & weak instatutions.how did they fix it ???

59b3d7607a960.jpg

Fikay .... You know how they fixed it ? They fixed it by spreading anarchy, Chaos and discontent within the country instead of sitting down , sort out and reform the systems . You are the master of above malicious practices , why would you give a lesson on this forum to Imrani Nizam ? Most of the members of this forum have already surrendered in front of Tillies and Manjhays.

Eyeaan

Sicilian mafia's political control in Southern Italy and Sicily had some similarities. At the core of this was a cabal of a few influential landed families, wide-spread rigging, local government patronage and use of local thuggery. The political methods were the same however they used hatred against Northern Italy and Catholic church to cheat the people quite similar to what PPP uses hatred against military or Punjab to keep grip upon Sindhi people.

Family cabal politics and rigging using local governments is quite common in sections of Latin American countries - Mexico is one example where the drug money has some added influence. In the past such situations often led to imposition of strongmen/fascist regimes and civil conflicts. It has been a common tendency, in history, that when the attempts are made to correct the situation by peaceful and political mean, these cabals resort to the regional and confrontational politics. The current conduct of PMLN is not strange.

Such problems start when a political group's control originates from non-political means such as land, money/wealth or emotional hold such as PPP rules over the minds of rural Sindh; they, in the political arena, often turn to monsters.

Nawaz/PMLN politics is a classic example of Rent-Seeking political structure - a disease of a political state when the politics and political parties become the front of the business class and in return the whole structure of the government and leaders are corrupted. There exist a wide academic literature including seminal theories by the Nobel literate relating this political disease. Once the political system goes to this, there very small tendency to self-correct however, in our case, we need to rely upon our political action to overcome these problems.

There is a concept of democratic-deficit in the countries where the true meaning of democracy is alien or has not been the result of historical social evolution. The conduct of the average Joe PMLN supporter can be analyzed through that angle as well.

Imran the legend

One big concern is nawa sharif zardari altaf is corrupt past 30 they have been robbing pakisanis and its people why some slave minds protect and defend them like dogs they are also suffering from this rotten system no jobs poor schools poor hospitals have to abroad for jobs but they defend Nawaz sharif or zardari like a Rottweiler dogs they only attack is Imran Khan who has never robbed them or been in power but the person who is robbing them they protect them.

Dream Seller

India...our neighbor...we've thousands of differences but we can learn alot from them...we can criticize how hostile their government is but did we ever think how loyal they're to their people and country...unlike noora and zardari

Eyeaan

The reason why this is unique in Pakistan is because we missed out on the development that occurred under authoritarian rule during the cold war by stunting democracy.
We were in the same league as South Korea for example during the 50s and 60s but democracy derailed the progress that had been made during Ayub's tenure. In South Korea Park Chung hee elevated the country while in Pakistan reversals made by democratic rule under Bhuttos and Sharifs screwed us over.

It seems hard to put the sole or partial blame on the authoritative governments. The basic system of politics is not very dis-similar to what we have in India or Bangladesh though their political history is not the same. Perhaps I would not be very wrong to find that the land and the caste still plays the major role in the politics in India if not more than that in Pak. Around the world, the fascist and authoritative regimes have been the result of these democratic deficiencies or lack of development of democracy. Fascism and authoritative regimes are true monsters and solution to none of these problems and never recommended in any event, however, here, I am only objecting to your putting cart before the horse. The pop history of Pak is churned out to favor the political class, So I may be hard pressed to argue against the popular narrative, but if ---.

Eyeaan

This rather is an example of union led control of the political parties which had been quite a common feature of the pre-war politics of mainland Europe especially in Germany and Italy. Pre-revolution Chinese nationalist government and, and, if one has a broader canvas, the end conduct of the Communist Party’s regional/local leadership in USSR was marred by the similar corrupt practices.

This problem of political governments, in my opinion, originates from the situation when, in general, the real political power of the leadership overwhelmingly lies beyond the political parties or normal electoral process. This is not necessarily something bad, rather at times, such situations enable political parties to evolve to new phase of politics.
Weaker political parties, a strong and controlling leader and independent local/regional leadership are the recipe for the corrupt practices. I’m not arguing against the Union politics rather think that our current politics has main deficit of union/ labor-led politics which has severely limited the scope of our politics and range of leaders.

BrotherKantu

کمنٹس میں بہت سے لوگوں نے بہت کچھ لکھا ہے پر میں کہوں گا کہ جس جس ملک کی عوام چور ہے وہاں سیاستداں ڈاکو اور لٹیرے ہیں.

Vitamin_C

Democracy works better in countries with more educated populations so they can use their brain when voting. In 1880s France was one of worlds first democracies their literacy rate was over 80% and they had the best scientific institutions.

Believe it or Not, despite how poor was South Korea they were an educated country and their literacy rate in 1970s was 88% and over 97% in 1980s this is one of the reasons why democracy bore fruit very quick here.

Pakistans literacy rate in 2017 is around 57% which is overstated. We are a Jahil qoum and that's why democracy gave us jahils and corrupts like Benazir, Zardari and Nawaz.

More than democracy Pakistan needs an education emergency and most funding routed towards educating people on a national emergency basis especially women's education as women literacy rate is below 50%. If you educate a man you educate one person. If you educate a woman she will educate an entire generation.

famamdani

کمنٹس میں بہت سے لوگوں نے بہت کچھ لکھا ہے پر میں کہوں گا کہ جس جس ملک کی عوام چور ہے وہاں سیاستداں ڈاکو اور لٹیرے ہیں.

Aap ki baat se agree hoon, but Awam ko Educate koun kare ga ya kis ne nahi kia.....................1945 world war k baad agar german Govt. workout na karti tou aaj yahan bhi aisa hi mamla hota.....................East german main 40 saal tak Russia ka control tha but 1989 k baad W German ki Govt. ne aisa educate kia with in 11 years we are same as East and West both are best................ agar aap k Asool k saath dekha jai tou East German k loog jo k OSSI kehlate the wo tou zero the phir un k Leader bhi zero kiyon na bane because Education of Govt......Govt want to good he do, if he want Rigged every thing then not happened.

STORMTROOPER

More than democracy Pakistan needs an education emergency and most funding routed towards educating people on a national emergency basis especially women's education as women literacy rate is below 50%. If you educate a man you educate one person. If you educate a woman she will educate an entire generation.

There is no doubt a great deal of truth in that. But the fact is that a good many of the political/civilian elite in Pakistan THRIVE on having the poor depend on them.They know very well that their dynastic power will be threatened if the masses are enlightened.

Its a matter of priorities I suppose. Would we rather have an extremely flawed democracy (assuming that what we have counts as a democracy) or another form of government that holds the public in regard.