The use of Bodily Functies in the Hereafter

fauzia

Dear siasat forum readers,

I have a question and would like to know your view on this matter. What is the use of having bodily functions in the Hereafter? For instance:

1. The ability to feel pain. To be able to feel pain is a blessing we humans need as a warning, so we can prevent or minimize damage to our bodies. In heaven we would not be able to feel pain and in hell it's all about pain. Why is that so?
Some people have a skin condition called congenital analgesia (that you cannot feel pain or burns), so these people will never fear hell, because they don't know the meaning of physical pain.

2. The ability to reproduce. If the whole process of reproduction (having children) is completed, why to have this bodily function or the bodily need for it? Why even to form couples in Heaven or have intercourse there? Why even to have female and male humans, because this difference is only created for the use of reproduction.

3. The need for nutrition. If you cannot die, why we need to eat to keep our body functioning?

4. Our ability to think (cognitive functions). If we don't need to survive, we don't need to build houses, plow the lands, build roads, schools, institutions, do research, do inventions, solve problems etc.

I hope we can discuss in a mature way, and don't see my questions as an attack on Islam, because I am a muslim myself. Thank you for your time and effort.

dr Fauzia

mdusa

Dear Dr. Fauzia.

These questions were thought provoking.

The ability to feel pain: People will not have any disease/problem therefore no congenital analgesia. Secondly congenital analgesia is rare, thirdly even those people will feel the pain on internal organ sufferring. Bottom line will be free of disease when we are resurrected.

The ability to reproduce: Intercourse itself is a feeling of gratification/pleasure and a blessing. So its a naimat. Regarding reproduction ? only islamic scholar can answer if we can reproduce afterwards . From medical standpoint. One can argue to have only lower genital area without uterus/fallopian but then it would impair the hormonal balance and thus in the orgasm/pleasure.

3. The need for nutrition: Its a naimat to taste food. Will eat for that pleasure.........u need some strenght.

Building houses,roads,school are all materialistic thing.......... You need congnitive functions to be wise. Sahaba were not professors but intelligent. you need higher functions to do everything.

Dear Readers: these are just my personal feelings without any islamic facts/ground. If one looking for a islamic reasoning then should see a MUFTI.

Questioning other,s more importantly self questioning can only reveal the truth. Its far important to work well at tasks at hand than to worry about tomorrow. Your questions have no answer that will satisfy a rationale mind, I rather live a short live with a rationale mind than to live infinitely in heaven without it.

Maaloom hai Janaat ke Haqiqat kia hai, dil ko khush rakhney ka khyal bhi acha hai.

Ehraz

The Holy Quran makes it amply clear that the form of existence of the life to come will be so different from all known forms of life here on earth, that it is beyond human imagination even to have the slightest glimpse of the otherworldly realities.
"[SIZE=-1]We will raise you into a form of which you have not the slightest knowledge." (56:62)
[/SIZE]
The life in the hereafter would not be material. Instead, it would be of a spiritual nature of which we can only visualise certain aspects. We cannot determine precisely how things will take shape. One of the salient features of the hereafter concerns the soul giving birth to another rarer entity, which would occupy the same position in relation to the soul as the soul occupies in relation to our carnal existence here on earth. This birth of a soul from within the soul will be related to the sort of life that we have lived here on earth. If our lives here are spent in submission to the will of God and in accordance with His commands, our tastes gradually become cultured and attuned to enjoying spiritual pleasures as against carnal pleasures. Within the soul a sort of embryonic soul begins to take shape. New faculties are born and new tastes are acquired, in which those accustomed to carnal pleasures find no enjoyment. These new types of refined human beings can find the content of their heart. Sacrifice instead of the usurpation of others' rights becomes enjoyable. Forgiveness takes the upper hand of revenge, and love with no selfish motive is born like a second nature, replacing all relationships that have ulterior motives. Thus, one can say a new soul within the soul is in the offing.

All these projections regarding the development of the soul are inferences drawn from various verses of the Holy Quran, yet the exact nature of future events cannot be precisely determined. One can only say that something along these lines would take place, the details of which lie beyond the reach of human understanding. There are certain aspects of the new life which need to be discussed. The concept of hell and heaven in Islam is completely different from the normally held view. Hell and heaven are not two different places occupying separate time and space. According to the Holy Quran, the heaven covers the entire universe. 'Where would be hell then?' enquired some of the companions of the Holy Prophet. 'At the same place', was the answer, 'but you do not have the faculty to understand their coexistence.' That is to say in ordinary human terms, they may seem to occupy the same time-space, but in reality because they belong to different dimensions, so they will coexist without interfering and inter-relating with each other.

In short, each individual creates his own hell or his own heaven, and in accordance with his own state each heaven differs from the other person's heaven, and each hell differs from the other person's hell, though apparently they occupy the same space and time in otherworldly dimensions.

For further details, readers are advised to read the full treatise, which deals not only with this subject, but also discusses some other very interesting topics which agitate the minds of people the world over.

niazi

Dear sister fauzia,
human beings are made up of soul(which is heavenly ,cames from heavens)and body.after death body goes to earth and became part of it as body is made from dirt,and soul goes back to heaven.life needs living issues like nutrition,reproduction and growth extra but after death as body is sent back to where it comes from there is no need of these functions.read quran with its translation get first hand knowledge from your creators book quran and please don't get your self confused.

Jack Sparrow

we did not create this world and we have not come out of an accidental combination of amino acids. It was meant to be so. You see the sun would not have been in such a place if it had not been set by God. You see, about 10 millions around us, it would have burnt us and 10 millions beyond, it would have frozen us. So the man and all these constellations are placing. They are not accidental. They have been set to create a life belt. A life belt in this universe in which special experiments were done by Almighty Allah to create human beings. And then not only to create; he gave us some thing very extraordinary. I believe we are all like robots. And he created so many numerous kinds of unlimited robots. We have 13 millions sorts of creation on earth. There could be 13 millions in the skies also. Different sorts of creativity, he has been doing. And He thought; I need somebody special, I should given my choice. Because he gave choice to nobody, not to people, not to Jinn and not to angels. He thought this is what I forced in them. Things believe in me as God; as there is no other option. So he made a decision to give somebody an option. Whether believe me or not. And so for that he created a special instrument that we called our mind, our thinking process. He gave us thinking. He gave us mind an apparatus. And then he gave us the choice ‘Do you believe in me or do you not believe in me’? That is a classic maneuver God made with human being. And in lieu of that choice he made us more superior than anybody else. He gave us superiority over the rest of the things. And then he gave us the credit that even if you made the little effort and you reach the recognition, you will be awarded . Somewhere in the skies, somewhere in the universe you will be awarded a reign over, my very special utopia that is called Heaven. There are other containers also; angels thought they deserve that utopia, jinn’s thought they deserve that utopia which is called Janaat (heaven). And Janaat is not imaginary as we know the immensity of universe around us, billions and trillions of stars. It’s not a simple idea. If you look at the mountains, when the green streak comes and we know it is emerald in this mountain. You can always suppose after 50 more billion years, perhaps that all mountains turned into emerald, similarly there could be stages and places in the universe in which the whole mountains turned into emerald. The ground could be very different of combination. If He has given this (earth) he could create much finer places up there. So nothing is imaginary and people thought, it must be an idea, Dozakh (hell) will be an idea. Heaven or hell is not an idea. They are not imaginary creations. God does not tell a lie. When he tells; you have to go there, you have to go there. These are the chosen paths and when you end up show life, you go those paths. If you have discovered the truth and reality, you have another way. It is just like when the pup and people come from outside, they put them in quarantine. Because they are afraid, may be they have brought big diseases in this earth. They are poured, they are examined and then they are brought out, similarly we have put in graves. It’s a kind of quarantine; it’s a gateway to higher galaxies beyond us. They squeezed time of 70 years and ultimately go to millions and trillions. So the way is very clear. It is well understood means and matters. But the job is also very clear. Over here all these things you do or you enjoy, you don’t say we live once. We only die once over here. If we are dead we are dead. If we have learnt our lesson, we are not dead at all. So we live for centuries, for trillion years of years. Unimaginable vastness of life is here. So nobody should take this life casually only for life. They should understand. They have big choice to live eternally or die eternally or to burn eternally or suffer eternally.

Jack Sparrow

Questioning other,s more importantly self questioning can only reveal the truth. Its far important to work well at tasks at hand than to worry about tomorrow. Your questions have no answer that will satisfy a rationale mind, I rather live a short live with a rationale mind than to live infinitely in heaven without it.

Maaloom hai Janaat ke Haqiqat kia hai, dil ko khush rakhney ka khyal bhi acha hai.

Dear Brother

Doubt is the most lethal weapon of Shaitan(Devil) to confuse human about reality.Remember there will be no second chance.Plz try to read Quran at least once. you will get the answers of all your doubts.

behzadji

As far as my observations are concerned about the above mentioned questions, I believe that all these blessings are announced as the reward and the pleasures hidden therein are mentioned to make us understand the Almighty's Bounty in the hereafter. The objective of these human functions as you have mentioned belong to this material world only. In the hereafter, the unlimited pleasures of these functions would be rewarded to the righteous ones. This worldly life is not more than a transition phase to get us examined to be the best practicing believer. It is like an attempt to reward someone of the unending pleasures through an assortment test. May Almighty bless us with taufeeq to be prepared for that time and bless us with His Endless Bounties. Aameen. In fact we don't need to think about the purpose of those rewards as the Almighty could say, OK if you don't think any purpose of these rewards then you should not be given these useless things..............indeed that would be quite miserable.

shamsheer

Dear siasat forum readers,

I have a question and would like to know your view on this matter. What is the use of having bodily functions in the Hereafter? For instance:

1. The ability to feel pain. To be able to feel pain is a blessing we humans need as a warning, so we can prevent or minimize damage to our bodies. In heaven we would not be able to feel pain and in hell it's all about pain. Why is that so?
Some people have a skin condition called congenital analgesia (that you cannot feel pain or burns), so these people will never fear hell, because they don't know the meaning of physical pain.
[/QUOTE]
As I read quran on multiple occaisions Allah mentions that we will recreate them. We are capable of recreating everything as we have created it once. So I think it is clearly mentioned that every human will have a body that will suffer all these pains. Also in one ayat Allah has mentioned that while burning the sinner in hell fire we will keep changing their skin. In medical terms when the skin is completely burnt it can not sense anything, these are called third degree burns. (This ayat it self is a miracle, as during 6th century on body would know about third degree burns etc). Here is translation of the verse.
The Quran states ; “Those who reject our signs, We shall cast into the fire; as often as their skins are roasted through. We shall change them for fresh skins, that they may taste the punishment; for Allah is Exalted in power; Wise.” ( 4:56)

So I get a clear message from Quran that we will be given our body back and based on one hadeeth we be given young body.

2. The ability to reproduce. If the whole process of reproduction (having children) is completed, why to have this bodily function or the bodily need for it? Why even to form couples in Heaven or have intercourse there? Why even to have female and male humans, because this difference is only created for the use of reproduction.
[/QUOTE]
Humans mostly go for reproduction becuase the process gives them immense pleasure. So it is the factor of pleasure not the reproduction. We are talking about Qadir-e-Mutlaq here, a creator who creates something out of nothing. I will even be surprised to have this question in my mind. It could best be described as waswasa.

3. The need for nutrition. If you cannot die, why we need to eat to keep our body functioning?
[/QUOTE]
Note that nutrition has an inidrect relationship to life and death. The direct relationship of a human to its death is the existance of Soul. A young man can die in a car accident while a old, hungry person can survive for several days. Eating is also one of the favorites of humans. We give treats to each other, distribute sweets on good occaisions, invite people to eat with us. This is all because it makes us feel good. It is not just a need but also a desire. It is your assumption in this case that food will be required for the body to function in heaven, but quran never talks about food found in heaven in terms of a need, but a desire a blessing a reward for Ahl-e-Jannnat. It is pretty natural and phycologically correct. If one is hungry and knows that in heaven he will not even get food, he may have the desire to eat everything in this world. But since he has been told that in heaven he will get much more and better food, a reward for sabar. He will be more patient.

4. Our ability to think (cognitive functions). If we don't need to survive, we don't need to build houses, plow the lands, build roads, schools, institutions, do research, do inventions, solve problems etc.
[/QUOTE]
How many of us build houses, plow lands, build roads, schools and institution for pleasure? If given a chance we would like to have all that build for us, with no need to worry about jobs and just get everything when needed. None of this is pleasure, we are to take these things up for survival. Cognitive functions, can be used at different levels. Exploration, poetry, singing, etc. So again the prupose of Heaven is to have emmense pleasure as a reward. I do not know if you would like to plow any body will stop you there.

Again all good question and I have answered them the way I understand them, but I believe I have enough eman that I can wait for an answer or actually I have a lot more than these question but may be I do not have time to think about them. If you can find books written by Maulana Rommi specially Nuskha-e-keemia. You will get satisfactory answers to your questions, insha Allah. May Allah forgive me if I have said anything wrong above. I am not a maulana, so please do not judge me.

Dear Brother

Doubt is the most lethal weapon of Shaitan(Devil) to confuse human about reality.Remember there will be no second chance.Plz try to read Quran at least once. you will get the answers of all your doubts.

Doubts is a very necessary aspect of our life even if it is the weapon of Shiatan only truth(god) eliminates doubt not blind faith.Doubts are born either due to lack of knowledge or statements that do not stand up to reason. If the knowledge gained through learning and experience fails to eliminate doubt than on the balance of probabilities the statements are likely not true. We all live our daily lives and make day to day decisions based on this principle and get better at it with experience.

Any way Bro my response is only limited to questions posed by the sister based solely on personal thinking and experience.

niazi

I have heard on the day of judgement we will not be having same body as we posses now,bcuz when you read quran and sayings of our beloved prophet Muhammad sallalah ho alahewassallam it tell and describes that people of hell will have huge bodies with thick skin so they can feel more pain and people in jannah will also have different bodies as they will rejoice there.Again i will ask you to educate your self with the knowledge of deen it will help you .

we did not create this world and we have not come out of an accidental combination of amino acids. It was meant to be so. You see the sun would not have been in such a place if it had not been set by God. You see, about 10 millions around us, it would have burnt us and 10 millions beyond, it would have frozen us. So the man and all these constellations are placing. They are not accidental. They have been set to create a life belt. A life belt in this universe in which special experiments were done by Almighty Allah to create human beings. And then not only to create; he gave us some thing very extraordinary. I believe we are all like robots. And he created so many numerous kinds of unlimited robots. We have 13 millions sorts of creation on earth. There could be 13 millions in the skies also. Different sorts of creativity, he has been doing. And He thought; I need somebody special, I should given my choice. Because he gave choice to nobody, not to people, not to Jinn and not to angels. He thought this is what I forced in them. Things believe in me as God; as there is no other option. So he made a decision to give somebody an option. Whether believe me or not. And so for that he created a special instrument that we called our mind, our thinking process. He gave us thinking. He gave us mind an apparatus. And then he gave us the choice Do you believe in me or do you not believe in me? That is a classic maneuver God made with human being. And in lieu of that choice he made us more superior than anybody else. He gave us superiority over the rest of the things. And then he gave us the credit that even if you made the little effort and you reach the recognition, you will be awarded . Somewhere in the skies, somewhere in the universe you will be awarded a reign over, my very special utopia that is called Heaven. There are other containers also; angels thought they deserve that utopia, jinns thought they deserve that utopia which is called Janaat (heaven). And Janaat is not imaginary as we know the immensity of universe around us, billions and trillions of stars. Its not a simple idea. If you look at the mountains, when the green streak comes and we know it is emerald in this mountain. You can always suppose after 50 more billion years, perhaps that all mountains turned into emerald, similarly there could be stages and places in the universe in which the whole mountains turned into emerald. The ground could be very different of combination. If He has given this (earth) he could create much finer places up there. So nothing is imaginary and people thought, it must be an idea, Dozakh (hell) will be an idea. Heaven or hell is not an idea. They are not imaginary creations. God does not tell a lie. When he tells; you have to go there, you have to go there. These are the chosen paths and when you end up show life, you go those paths. If you have discovered the truth and reality, you have another way. It is just like when the pup and people come from outside, they put them in quarantine. Because they are afraid, may be they have brought big diseases in this earth. They are poured, they are examined and then they are brought out, similarly we have put in graves. Its a kind of quarantine; its a gateway to higher galaxies beyond us. They squeezed time of 70 years and ultimately go to millions and trillions. So the way is very clear. It is well understood means and matters. But the job is also very clear. Over here all these things you do or you enjoy, you dont say we live once. We only die once over here. If we are dead we are dead. If we have learnt our lesson, we are not dead at all. So we live for centuries, for trillion years of years. Unimaginable vastness of life is here. So nobody should take this life casually only for life. They should understand. They have big choice to live eternally or die eternally or to burn eternally or suffer eternally.

The only superiority we have is the power of questioning. If cats had the ability to ask " why I am here" they will be driving cars, opening rat farms for food, office building, very comfortable air conditioned dens and probably have us as pets no big deal.

Jack Sparrow

The only superiority we have is the power of questioning. If cats had the ability to ask " why I am here" they will be driving cars, opening rat farms for food, office building, very comfortable air conditioned dens and probably have us as pets no big deal.

Agreed brother, no objection .

if you read the next line after your highlighted portion , Your point is mentioned.

"He gave us superiority over the rest of the things. And then he gave us the credit that even if you made the little effort and you reach the recognition, you will be awarded . Somewhere in the skies, somewhere in the universe you will be awarded a reign over, my very special utopia that is called Heaven."