The Daily Shows Muslim correspondent tears into Trumps Muslim ban

Uncle Q

Its week two of Donald Trumps presidency and people are pissed about his ban on immigrants from seven Muslim-majority countries.

Trevor Noah began Monday nights Daily Show with the chaotic scenes from airports across the country over the weekend. But it wasnt until he brought on Muslim correspondent Hasan Minhaj that the shows criticism of the policy truly came alive.

As Minhaj told Noah, hes not surprised that an American president has decided to label Muslims as the enemy of the United States. While previous presidents have implemented similar policies, he said Trump is taking this thing to a whole new level.

Minhaj went on to give a shout-out to all his Republican friends who promised Trump would never actually enact the Muslim ban he promised on the campaign trail. What the f***? he asked. So we are getting banned?

Reminded by Noah that as a citizen of the US he will not be banned himself, Minhaj shot back, Yet! Were on day 11, man. Thats it! Where do you think this is going to go? He compared it to watching the first episode of Breaking Bad and thinking, Oh, this is just a science teacher cooking meth, it cant get any crazier. But it does!

There was one bright spot to Trumps executive order, though. As Minhaj explained, usually being a Muslim at the airport sucks, but this weekend it was like I was The Weeknd.

How can I hate Trump right now? he asked. Just look at what hes done at the airport. White women were turning their scarves into hijabs. Muslims were publicly praying and people were cheering them on!

Think about how crazy this is, Minhaj continued. Because of Donald Trump, people were being nice at the airport. The beautiful irony, he said, is that for years Trump has been terrified about the spread of Islam in America. Well congratulations, Mr President, mission accomplished, he said, as a protest sign that read We are all Muslims now appeared on the screen.

Source

Asad Mujtaba

امریکہ کے لوگوں میں شعور ہے۔۔ وہ کسی کے ساتھ ہونے والی زیادتی کے خلاف اس کا ساتھ دیتے ہییں۔۔ لیکن ہمارے ہاں ایسا نی ہے۔ اگر کسی اقلیتی پے ظلم ہو تو ہم چپ چاپ تماشہ دیکھتے ہیں۔۔ کوی ان کا ساتھ نی دیتا۔۔۔

PappuChikna

imagine if someone here had said the same things about qadyani or other non-muslims.

ab takk oss kay saath bhensay wali ho chukee hoti.

Iconoclast

imagine if someone here had said the same things about qadyani or other non-muslims. ab takk oss kay saath bhensay wali ho chukee hoti.
Hah that's what you gathered from watching this video? No one is saying send Qadyanis out, They can live here peacefully and practice what they want, as non muslims, with recourse to all the rights any other Muslim Pakistani can exercise. Nobody's asking them to leave the country. They just can't use the Muslim moniker and I have to say that's a fair deal. I must blame it on your murky ruminations.

nepali.nationalist

No Muslim leader has EVER made an Issue of banishing people from the land. This has always happened in other countries where people were shipped off to australia or other destinations and now back to their own countries.

Muslim countries up until the 1960's never had PASSPORTS . Travel was at your own Discretion.

Ahmadis enjoy high positions in Pakistan so does every minority. Quebec's incident proves bad apples to be everywhere but by and large Muslims countries have never banned groups based on religious affiliation.

imagine if someone here had said the same things about qadyani or other non-muslims.

ab takk oss kay saath bhensay wali ho chukee hoti.

nepali.nationalist

Just to set the record straight through RESEARCH :

[h=2]Non-Muslims Carried Out More than 90% of All Terrorist Attacks in America[/h]By Washington's Blog
Global Research, January 28, 2017
Washington's Blog and Global Research 1 May 2013

Region: USA
Theme: Religion, Terrorism

religion.jpg

This article was first published May 1, 2013.
Terrorism Is a Real Threat … But the Threat to the U.S. from Muslim Terrorists Has Been Exaggerated
An FBI report shows that only a small percentage of terrorist attacks carried out on U.S. soil between 1980 and 2005 were perpetrated by Muslims.
Princeton University’s Loon Watch compiled the following chart from the FBI’s data:
piechart2.jpg
Terrorist Attacks on U.S. Soil by Group, From 1980 to 2005, According to FBI Database
According to this data, there were more Jewish acts of terrorism within the United States than Islamic (7% vs 6%). These radical Jews committed acts of terrorism in the name of their religion. These were not terrorists who happened to be Jews; rather, they were extremist Jews who committed acts of terrorism based on their religious passions, just like Al-Qaeda and company.
(Loon Watch also notes that less than 1% of terror attacks in Europe were carried out by Muslims.)
U.S. News and World Report noted in February of this year:
Of the more than 300 American deaths from political violence and mass shootings since 9/11, only 33 have come at the hands of Muslim-Americans, according to the Triangle Center on Terrorism and Homeland Security. The Muslim-American suspects or perpetrators in these or other attempted attacks fit no demographic profile—only 51 of more than 200 are of Arabic ethnicity. In 2012, all but one of the nine Muslim-American terrorism plots uncovered were halted in early stages. That one, an attempted bombing of a Social Security office in Arizona, caused no casualties.
Wired reported the same month:
Since 9/11, [Charles Kurzman, Professor of Sociology at University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, writing for the Triangle Center on Terrorism and National Security] and his team tallies, 33 Americans have died as a result of terrorism launched by their Muslim neighbors. During that period, 180,000 Americans were murdered for reasons unrelated to terrorism. In just the past year, the mass shootings that have captivated America’s attention killed 66 Americans, “twice as many fatalities as from Muslim-American terrorism in all 11 years since 9/11,” notes Kurzman’s team.
Law enforcement, including “informants and undercover agents,” were involved in “almost all of the Muslim-American terrorism plots uncovered in 2012,” the Triangle team finds. That’s in keeping with the FBI’s recent practice of using undercover or double agents to encourage would-be terrorists to act on their violent desires and arresting them when they do — a practice critics say comes perilously close to entrapment. A difference in 2012 observed by Triangle: with the exception of the Arizona attack, all the alleged plots involving U.S. Muslims were “discovered and disrupted at an early stage,” while in the past three years, law enforcement often observed the incubating terror initiatives “after weapons or explosives had already been gathered.”
The sample of Muslim Americans turning to terror is “vanishingly small,” Kurzman tells Danger Room. Measuring the U.S. Muslim population is a famously inexact science, since census data don’t track religion, but rather “country of origin,” which researchers attempt to use as a proxy. There are somewhere between 1.7 million and seven million American Muslims, by most estimates, and Kurzman says he operates off a model that presumes the lower end, a bit over 2 million. That’s less a rate of involvement in terrorism of less than 10 per million, down from a 2003 high of 40 per million, as detailed in the chart above.
Yet the scrutiny by law enforcement and homeland security on American Muslims has not similarly abated. The FBI tracks “geomaps” of areas where Muslims live and work, regardless of their involvement in any crime. The Patriot Act and other post-9/11 restrictions on government surveillance remain in place. The Department of Homeland Security just celebrated its 10th anniversary. In 2011, President Obama ordered the entire federal national-security apparatus to get rid of counterterrorism training material that instructed agents to focus on Islam itself, rather than specific terrorist groups.
Kurzman doesn’t deny that law enforcement plays a role in disrupting and deterring homegrown U.S. Muslim terrorism. His research holds it out as a possible explanation for the decline. But he remains surprised by the disconnect between the scale of the terrorism problem and the scale — and expense — of the government’s response.
“Until public opinion starts to recognize the scale of the problem has been lower than we feared, my sense is that public officials are not going to change their policies,” Kurzman says. “Counterterrorism policies have involved surveillance — not just of Muslim-Americans, but of all Americans, and the fear of terrorism has justified intrusions on American privacy and civil liberties all over the internet and other aspects of our lives. I think the implications here are not just for how we treat a religious minority in the U.S., but also how we treat the rights & liberties of everyone.”
We agree. And so do most Americans. Indeed – as we’ve previously documented – you’re more likely to die from brain-eating parasites, alcoholism, obesity, medical errors, risky sexual behavior or just about anything other than terrorism.
Kurzman told the Young Turks in February that Islamic terrorism “doesn’t even count for 1 percent” of the 180,000 murders in the US since 9/11.
While the Boston marathon bombings were horrific, a top terrorism expert says that the Boston attack was more like Columbine than 9/11, and that the bombers are “murderers not terrorists”. The overwhelming majority of mass shootings were by non-Muslims. (This is true in Europe, as well as in the U.S.)
However you classify them – murder or terrorism – the Boston bombings occurred after all of the statistical analysis set forth above. Moreover, different groups have different agendas about how to classify the perpetrators (For example, liberal Mother Jones and conservative Breitbart disagree on how many of the perpetrators of terror attacks can properly be classified as right wing extremists.)
So we decided to look at the most current statistics for ourselves, to do an objective numerical count not driven by any agenda.
Specifically, we reviewed all of the terrorist attacks on U.S. soil as documented by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START). (2012). Global Terrorism Database, as retrieved from http://www.start.umd.edu/gtd.
The START Global Terrorism Database spans from 1970 through 2012 (and will be updated from year-to-year), and – as of this writing – includes 104,000 terrorist incidents. As such, it is the most comprehensive open-source database open to the public.
We counted up the number of terrorist attacks carried out by Muslims. We excluded attacks by groups which are obviously not Muslims, such as the Ku Klux Klan, Medellin Drug Cartel, Irish Republican Army, Anti-Castro Group, Mormon extremists, Vietnamese Organization to Exterminate Communists and Restore the Nation, Jewish Defense League, May 19 Communist Order, Chicano Liberation Front, Jewish Armed Resistance, American Indian Movement, Gay Liberation Front, Aryan Nation, Jewish Action Movement, National Front for the Liberation of Cuba, or Fourth Reich Skinheads.
We counted attacks by Al Qaeda, the Taliban, Black American Moslems, or anyone who even remotely sounded Muslim … for example anyone from Palestine, Lebanon or any other Arab or Muslim country, or any name including anything sounding remotely Arabic or Indonesian (like “Al” anything or “Jamaat” anything).
If we weren’t sure what the person’s affiliation was, we looked up the name of the group to determine whether it could in any way be connected to Muslims.
Based on our review of the approximately 2,400 terrorist attacks on U.S. soil contained within the START database, we determined that approximately 60 were carried out by Muslims.
In other words, approximately 2.5% of all terrorist attacks on U.S. soil between 1970 and 2012 were carried out by Muslims.* This is a tiny proportion of all attacks.
(We determined that approximately 118 of the terror attacks – or 4.9% – were carried out by Jewish groups such as Jewish Armed Resistance, the Jewish Defense League, Jewish Action Movement, United Jewish Underground and Thunder of Zion. This is almost twice the percentage of Islamic attacks within the United States. If we look at worldwide attacks – instead of just attacks on U.S. soil – Sunni Muslims are the main perpetrators of terrorism. However: 1. Muslims are also the main victims of terror attacks worldwide; and 2. the U.S. backs the most radical types of Sunnis over more moderate Muslims and Arab secularists.)
Moreover, another study undertaken by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism – called ”Profiles of Perpetrators of Terrorism in the United States” – found:
Between 1970 and 2011, 32 percent of the perpetrator groups were motivated by ethnonationalist/separatist agendas, 28 percent were motivated by single issues, such as animal rights or opposition to war, and seven percent were motivated byreligious beliefs. In addition, 11 percent of the perpetrator groups were classified as extreme right-wing, and 22 percent were categorized as extreme left-wing.
Preliminary findings from PPT-US data between 1970 and 2011 also illustrate a distinct shift in the dominant ideologies of these terrorist groups over time, with the proportion of emerging ethnonationalist/separatist terrorist groups declining and the proportion of religious terrorist groups increasing. However, while terrorist groups with religious ideologies represent 40 percent of all emergent groups from 2000-2011 (two out of five), they only account for seven percent of groups over time.
Similarly, a third study by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism Religion found that religion alone is not a key factor in determining which terrorists want to use weapons of mass destruction:
The available empirical data show that there is not a significant relationship between terrorist organizations’ pursuit of CBRN (chemical, biological, radiological or nuclear) weapons and the mere possession of a religious ideology, according to a new quantitative study by START researchers Victor Asal, Gary Ackerman and Karl Rethemeyer.
Therefore, Muslims are not more likely than other groups to want to use WMDs.
* The Boston marathon bombing was not included in this analysis, as START has not yet updated its database to include 2013 terrorist attacks. 3 people died in the Boston attack. While tragic, we are confident that non-Musliims killed more than 3 during this same period.
We are not experts in terrorism analysis. We would therefore defer to people like Kurzman on the exact number. However, every quantitative analysis of terrorism in the U.S. we have read shows that the percent of terror attacks carried out by Muslims is far less than 10%.
Postscript: State-sponsored terrorism is beyond the scope of this discussion, and was not included in our statistical analysis. Specifically, the following arguments are beyond the scope of this discussion, as we are focusing solely on non-state terrorism:

• Arguments by University of Michigan Professor Juan Cole that deaths from 20th century wars could be labeled Christian terrorism

The original source of this article is Washington's Blog and Global Research

http://www.globalresearch.ca/non-mu...0-of-all-terrorist-attacks-in-america/5333619

PappuChikna

Hah that's what you gathered from watching this video? No one is saying send Qadyanis out, They can live here peacefully and practice what they want, as non muslims, with recourse to all the rights any other Muslim Pakistani can exercise. Nobody's asking them to leave the country. They just can't use the Muslim moniker and I have to say that's a fair deal. I must blame it on your murky ruminations.

lol...

PappuChikna

No Muslim leader has EVER made an Issue of banishing people from the land. This has always happened in other countries where people were shipped off to australia or other destinations and now back to their own countries.

Muslim countries up until the 1960's never had PASSPORTS . Travel was at your own Discretion.

Ahmadis enjoy high positions in Pakistan so does every minority. Quebec's incident proves bad apples to be everywhere but by and large Muslims countries have never banned groups based on religious affiliation.

lol for you too.
there is systematic and institutional discrimination and persecution against qadyani non-muslims.
bhaijan, kion khud se jhoot boltay hoo.

nepali.nationalist

such systematic discrimination exists everywhere and in every society. Nothing new. However the difference ins Qadiyanis enjoy high positions in Pakistan. They have never been issued banishment threats by any Pakistani leader. I'm sure you have heard of the course of events with the trump ban and then the quebex incident. What that tells us is that xenophobia happens everywhere !

Thousands of immigrants complain about being disciminated about jobs - No society is perfect - but learn to give credit where its deserved.

Atleast were not turning people away at airports or revoking there visas in mid air. Heck we never even did that to the afghanis !

Upto a year ago Afghanis were crossing in without Visas or Passports. What more do you want ??

Learn to give credit where Pakistanis deserve.

lol for you too.
there is systematic and institutional discrimination and persecution against qadyani non-muslims.

PappuChikna

such systematic discrimination exists everywhere and in every society. Nothing new. However the difference ins Qadiyanis enjoy high positions in Pakistan. They have never been issued banishment threats by any Pakistani leader. I'm sure you have heard of the course of events with the trump ban and then the quebex incident. What that tells us is that xenophobia happens everywhere !

Thousands of immigrants complain about being disciminated about jobs - No society is perfect - but learn to give credit where its deserved.

Atleast were not turning people away at airports or revoking there visas in mid air. Heck we never even did that to the afghanis !

Upto a year ago Afghanis were crossing in without Visas or Passports. What more do you want ??

Learn to give credit where Pakistanis deserve.

bhaijee, I am a patriot like you but my patriotism demands continuous improvement. While pakistan has done more than anyone else to afghan and other refugees, we need to fix our situation with non-muslims. There is no doubt situation is improving at government level but ikabir-e-deoband and aashiqan have made whole population a hostage. There are also draconian laws and public is full of hatred against them, thanks to our ikabireen-o-aashiqeen.
its probably off-topic so i will leave it for now.

its also true what trump has done even a worse government in pakistan wont do that.

secondly, we call us muslims, so a bad behavior elsewhere does not justify anything.

aur kisi grohh kee mukhalifat tum ko zulm pay aamada na karay.

nepali.nationalist

Yes work in progress remains and the government needs a serious overhaul. Once you fix the government the ashikans and the deobands will fall in line. Its the weakness of the center which allows groups to flourish.

bhaijee, I am a patriot like you but my patriotism demands continuous improvement. While pakistan has done more than anyone else to afghan and other refugees, we need to fix our situation with non-muslims. There is no doubt situation is improving at government level but ikabir-e-deoband and aashiqan have made whole population a hostage. There are also draconian laws and public is full of hatred against them, thanks to our ikabireen-o-aashiqeen.
its probably off-topic so i will leave it for now.

its also true what trump has done even a worse government in pakistan wont do that.

secondly, we call us muslims, so a bad behavior elsewhere does not justify anything.

aur kisi grohh kee mukhalifat tum ko zulm pay aamada na karay.

PappuChikna

Yes work in progress remains and the government needs a serious overhaul. Once you fix the government the ashikans and the deobands will fall in line. Its the weakness of the center which allows groups to flourish.

jee nahi. ikabireen-e-deoband and aashiqan are more powerful than the government and they have wide support among awam of their evil ideology.
awam ko samjhna hogaa.

nepali.nationalist

Thats because the government ITSELF doesnt have an Ideology it subscribes too. Jub government AIK ideology banayegi to koi group nahi chal sakta .

jee nahi. ikabireen-e-deoband and aashiqan are more powerful than the government and they have wide support among awam of their evil ideology.
awam ko samjhna hogaa.

barmla

so if any qadiani says he is muslim you will not let him live in pakistan ?
what if americans i mean christians start calling themselves muslim you will not let them live in pakistan ?or in this world .
after doing all this you will criticise trump.

Iconoclast

so if any qadiani says he is muslim you will not let him live in pakistan ? what if americans i mean christians start calling themselves muslim you will not let them live in pakistan ?or in this world . after doing all this you will criticise trump.
You either didn't understand what I wrote above or you're just looking to troll. Nowhere did I say they can't live in Pakistan. They can live freely and call themselves whatever they want. If you adhere to the fundamentals of Islamic faith and it's beliefs, you're a muslim otherwise you are not and if you want to argue that point then you don't know nothing about Islam and the concept of shirk in which case I do not wish to discuss anything with you. They are free to live here as minorities, they can call themselves whatever they want. They will never be considered Muslims is all. Try and secure a job in Israel or the CIA. Being an informant does not count.

Iconoclast

so if any qadiani says he is muslim you will not let him live in pakistan ? what if americans i mean christians start calling themselves muslim you will not let them live in pakistan ?or in this world . after doing all this you will criticise trump.
And I am not complaining about Trump, I was actually rooting for him to win. Always told my American friends that. For me it's time to grab my popcorns and enjoy his fkwittery. About time we choose a side. So I say more power to him.

fannekhan

tera timpu lal topi to daily hindu , qadiyani ,masihio ko pakistan me qatl karne ki dhamki deta hai .

fannekhan

lol for you too.

well done
rightly hit on the head of the nail .
this idiot is a boot polish expert from the house of clown zaid lal topi wala baloongera , he is exactly like his masters