The best solution to Pakistan's problem is smaller provinces

alis

I hear everyone is talking that the presidential system is some kind of magic bullet and this would solve the issues but in my opinion, it might have some good aspects but to think of this as the all-in-one solution is factually just wrong. The issue of Pakistan is not just that its sovereignty is distributed too thinly but it is distributed only at the federation level.
The primary issue is the way our politics works. If we can devolve the provinces into scales of the old divisional level along with local needs and geographic aspects and expectations, considered, you can transform Pakistani politics and state institutions, in essence, even the idea of the state itself.

What are the most important changes we can expect from such reorganization of sovereignty? some of these impacts are the following.
  • End of ethno-provincialism
  • End of Linguistic controversies
  • End of Regionalism
  • Distributed responsibility, enhancing the ability to perform
  • Rise of rural power centers and access to grass-root level.
  • Rise of relevant & Issue bases politics.
  • Focused governance
  • Reduction of citizen-institutional gap and Improved accountability due to improved access.
These are some of the benefits, there are many more.

انقلاب

I hear everyone is talking that the presidential system is some kind of magic bullet and this would solve the issues but in my opinion, it might have some good aspects but to think of this as the all-in-one solution is factually just wrong. The issue of Pakistan is not just that its sovereignty is distributed too thinly but it is distributed only at the federation level.
The primary issue is the way our politics works. If we can devolve the provinces into scales of the old divisional level along with local needs and geographic aspects and expectations, considered, you can transform Pakistani politics and state institutions, in essence, even the idea of the state itself.

What are the most important changes we can expect from such reorganization of sovereignty? some of these impacts are the following.
  • End of Regionalism
  • Focused governance
  • Reduction of citizen-institutional gap and Improved accountability due to improved access.
Doesn’t conform with GHQ’s nefariousness!

jigrot

• End of Regionalism
  • Focused governance
Someone should have full authority to hire and fire people.
It doesn't matter, the Prime Minister or the President.

A.G.Uddin

First of all Eid Mubarak to everyone out there. Let's hope we achieve spirit of selflessness and sacrifice.

At topic, area-wise Italy is smaller than Pakistan but has got more number of administrative divisions. India went from 12 to over 28 states in 70+ years. It's an open secret that Pakistan is home to not just Sindhis, Punjabis, Pashtuns and Balochs. Muhajirs, Brahvis, Hindkus and Seraikis have also popped up as distinct and major communities/nations. Whether do it on administrative levels or linguistic basis but atleast 10 provinces is need of the hour.

I would like to admit one more thing....there has always been theory or rhetoric about Punjabi lobby, Punjabi establishment and Punjabi army. However you can easily speak about dividing Punjab while sitting in Lahore, Rawalpindi , Sargodha or Chakwal....however even saying Karachi and Sindh will trigger various Sindhis (NOT ALL) irrespective of their political or ideological affiliations.

Chairman of Pak Sarzameen Party Syed Mustafa Kamal has been holding Space sessions on Twitter where he discusses about administrative formats and control. Didn't get a chance to listen but people would give positive response towards it. With better management and distribution system at microlevel, the nation will prosper regardless of which party forms government .

ZS_Devil

Pakistan's main issue is not utilizing the natural resources and don't have proper plan about the future
1. focus on export create small factories jo items bahar se import krte hai unke liye like wise tasbeeh and other item jo china se import krte hai
2. koi b party people power build nhi kr rhi monkey produce kr rhi hai jo unke peche taen tean krte phiren aur muft khooor hojae like wise subsidies jo basic items k ilawa nahi honi chahye kisi pr b

alis

Someone should have full authority to hire and fire people.
It doesn't matter, the Prime Minister or the President.
this does not work, even if you change the system to a more authoritarian style, some asshole can single-handedly destroy the country. we need smaller provinces, to bring democratic rule to the masses. the centre can deal with trade, defence etc.

alis

Pakistan's real problem is that the policy makers don't care about it's problems.
dude, policy-makers do not exist in our country. we have to create space for them to exist and by making new provinces you are diverting the focus from a security-centric govt to a social-centric govt. you will automatically have policy makers who will have the right focus.

alis

too many fault lines in pakistan

the only thing that is holding together pak is Islam
small provinces will solve all this, and will also reduce the power of pseudo-Islamist and most local provincial politics will be on issues of public interest.

alis

Pakistan's main issue is not utilizing the natural resources and don't have proper plan about the future
1. focus on export create small factories jo items bahar se import krte hai unke liye like wise tasbeeh and other item jo china se import krte hai
2. koi b party people power build nhi kr rhi monkey produce kr rhi hai jo unke peche taen tean krte phiren aur muft khooor hojae like wise subsidies jo basic items k ilawa nahi honi chahye kisi pr b
you can't change that, as Milton Friedmann said, To achieve progress, you have to make 'doing the right thing', politically beneficial for bad people. stop expecting angles.
and for that you need small enough provinces that people can control the powerholders and make them answerable. when you have all the decision on the national level or huge provincial level it is far away from the reach of a common man. you have bring the scale down to the common man.

alis

In my second country Germany, we have 16 federal states, with their own powerful governments. The whole of Germany is almost as big as Balochistan and its population is less than our Punjab. Think about states, the size of Peshawar and Lahore districts