Studying in the uK

bankalalookheti

Hello,

A relative of mine is a British national but lived almost all his life in Karachi, his family had moved back to Pakistan right after his birth.

He is in his early twenties and a university graduate. Now he wants to do his MBA from a British university. He is not getting any financial support from his family so he has to do it all by himself. As a student what kind of jobs can he get in the UK and how much can he earn in a month, and being a British citizen what are the chances of getting some better paying jobs or only low-paid manual jobs are available for students. I don't think he can do dish washing type jobs.

The University fees are very low for those who are the citizen of the UK. We know that the accommodation and other living expenses are quite high in the UK but his main concern is jobs. I think he can also get some financial assistance from the government. I know he can also get these information from some other sources but I just thought that a lot of Pakistanis are studying in the UK and some of those who are probably lurking here might give some useful information.

yhdil

Well why he wants to do MBA at first place?

Regardless of his nationality, if he wants to go for MBA from above average University, he needs to spare about 1.5 grands i.e. 1.5 million rupees. Jobs are going really bad these days. He can afford his living expenses by doing job for about 20 hours. At least I have done that. But he needs to make sure that he has sufficient funds for fee. professional jobs depends upon the degree, university, work experience, and academic background, and bit of luck bro. Even if has degree from top ranking university, even though he is British, its not guaranteed that he will find fun in having job soon.

I do volunteer career consultation apart from my job. u can approach me if u require further guidance.

alexendra85

i give you a sancear advise don,t come to uk,if you have an intension of study,you will suffer alot here,you can join any good uni in pakistan and get better degree then uk while studying in your own country in cheap price,we are suffering here a lot,having no jobs and its very tuff even to survive here if you belong to an average family.make your future there then come uk for visit,its not easy to get job in your own field,you will be doing odd jobs either in shops,store,take away,cleanings,security,etc you will be having no time even for your self and one day you will sick of it.

UK is just a name. Their standards of education has gone down like their sun has set. But we just have that dynasty dream of getting a degree from UK. They are no longer as good as they used, its just a name that they have. Like Harvard in US has just name. The students in Harvard study the same curriculum as any where else. Harvard is so least liked by Americans that if it werent for rich Arab students, Harvard and MIT would go out of business.

I have worked with some people graduated from London (2 people), from Lahore, Karachi, and New Delhi unversities/colleges (5 people). I was least impressed by the UK man including our manager. The browns were the smartest and hard working than the UK man according to out manager.

The UK man was a young guy and kept calling sick just to attend dates and other 'fun' parties

ac112233

UK is just a name. Their standards of education has gone down like their sun has set. But we just have that dynasty dream of getting a degree from UK. They are no longer as good as they used, its just a name that they have. Like Harvard in US has just name. The students in Harvard study the same curriculum as any where else. Harvard is so least liked by Americans that if it werent for rich Arab students, Harvard and MIT would go out of business.

I have worked with some people graduated from London (2 people), from Lahore, Karachi, and New Delhi unversities/colleges (5 people). I was least impressed by the UK man including our manager. The browns were the smartest and hard working than the UK man according to out manager.

The UK man was a young guy and kept calling sick just to attend dates and other 'fun' parties
LOL...are u kiddin me...what have u been smokin bro ???(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)

bankalalookheti

Thank you for your replies, my relative wants to earn some money before commencing with his master's studies. But judging by the replies of some members here it seems that even for a British national finding a job would be quite difficult. Are there some good job web sites that you people can suggest? And besides London which city can be suggested where living expenses are low and finding a job should also not be almost impossible.

yhdil

You are bloody high mate. I have attended Durham, Lancaster and Warwick University's business schools. I do know how tough it is to prosper! You cannot judge the standards of education by talking with the students studying at colleges. Whose study is primarily dependent upon the amount of work they do to earn their tuition fees.

Get your info right, plz!

Oh Thank you very much Gazoo Sahib
Just ruined 4 years of my life, lol.

I am forwarding your address to my family to sue you for all the expenses they had incurred on me for my education so you better retract your statement rather quickly.

If this does not scare you then I am giving your phone number to Faisal Raza Abidi and Fauzia Wahab as you have said something against the President of Pakistan as he is highly fully utterly completely educuated from UK, you can run now but you can't hide!

Hello,

A relative of mine is a British national but lived almost all his life in Karachi, his family had moved back to Pakistan right after his birth.

He is in his early twenties and a university graduate. Now he wants to do his MBA from a British university. He is not getting any financial support from his family so he has to do it all by himself. As a student what kind of jobs can he get in the UK and how much can he earn in a month, and being a British citizen what are the chances of getting some better paying jobs or only low-paid manual jobs are available for students. I don't think he can do dish washing type jobs.

The University fees are very low for those who are the citizen of the UK. We know that the accommodation and other living expenses are quite high in the UK but his main concern is jobs. I think he can also get some financial assistance from the government. I know he can also get these information from some other sources but I just thought that a lot of Pakistanis are studying in the UK and some of those who are probably lurking here might give some useful information.

Please ask your relative to take full information from British High Commission or consulate as the assumption that he will qualify to be charged Home Student Fee even if he is British Citizen. There is a clause that you have be a resident in EU for last three years or in Her Majesty Services overseas to be eligible as Home Student.

Best would be he should come to UK, have some work experience as a British National he will have no restrictions on working hours or sector of work and maybe apply after one year, he may get away as his National Insurance Number will show him paying tax and no one may raise his non residency period question.

For Masters degree, depending on the institution, Home student fee is 3000+ and non EU student 14000+, living expenses 800 Pounds pm average that is assuming you are not Bilawal like person.

I will encourage anyone and everyone to come, if you can manage a few years, there will be a success story. I wish half the Pakistan to come here, it is a big sea with plenty of fish, you just have to work hard.

Ajnabi27

Salam,
I will disagree with some fellows here abt not studying in UK. "HE SHOULD COME AND STUDY HERE IT IS A GREAT EXPERIENCE". No wonder having a degree is certainly worth and once in a life time opportunity and if he can afford to come here, he should.

Anyways, as he is a British national, First he should apply for "Student loan ", and he will get that (ask embassy or get some help). and No worries ... as you return once you get a job.

Second, MBA used to be a very good degree, but he should do something more technical i.e. engineering or computing etc... there r lots of options, as these degrees are more worthy.

Since he is a national, 20 hours rule of working wont apply to him, so he can work as much as he wants. (Its a Plus point to get a student level job.)

"HE CANT WASH DISHES" (:D)) is a Joke, Send him here, n he will start beliving in dignity of work. :P .. Anyways there are many customer services and stock replenishment jobs around. sometimes not very easy to find, but needs a bit of effort to grab 'em n trust me no student is jobless in UK for good, unless they choose to do so.

My last advice is to Choose a better University in UK, Like in London Queen Mary or City Uni. Check the University ranking (ask google for top 100 uk unis :) and go for any Uni that is Under 50 rank. It really matters when you go for an interview, as the reputation counts. Universities in Mid ranking charge comparatively the same as the universities atlower ranking, So doesnt make much difference financially.

My little intro: In last 3 years, I worked in First Macdonalds, then Starbucks coffee shop then Waitrose Supermarket and then Accenture as a Software Engineer (Alhamdullilah). Its good you struggle here more than Pakistan if you r not wealthy there, But you learn and get mature and experienced as you go. Its part of life and a key to success.
If you need further info my id is [email protected].

Well as for as educational standards are concerend i do agree with some fellows here.. getting MBA degree from UK is not a very hard job to do... there are few short cuts to get Masters in business .. in recent days i have heard a top up degree plan in which you can top up your Post graduate diploma into MBA in 4 months with dessertation of 20,000 words plagiarism free... and here in uk there are so many online sites where you can pay a certain amount and they will write your dissertation with the help of professionals... and in the end the degree will be awarded to you without having any kind of study tention.. all you need is just money..and in degree certificate there isnt mentioned anything about your topup method or so.. you will be given a degree of university as regular ful time student..in those universites there are few names which i know .. Greenwich university, Anglia ruskin University etc are on top. so those who are praising English universities i wud like to say that all five fingers are not equal.... do numbri har jaga chalti hay bhai....
Pakistan aur British MBA men farq maloom krna hay to sirf itna jaan lo bhayya... k IBA ya karachi university se MBA ki degree krnay k liye 36 module paas krnay hotay hain.. aur yahan UK universities men 8 module k baad Masters degree mil jati hay....:lol:

bankalalookheti

Dear GeoG and Ajnabi27, thank you friends for your comprehensive replies.

As I said earlier in my previous post that there are many reliable sources, like the BHC as GeoG mentioned in his reply, from where information can be gathered but I just wanted to know the opinion of those pakistani students who have studied in the UK or are still studying.

What I have understood from your posts is that jobs are available for students but it is up to them how smart and hard-working they are. Not only low-paid jobs like those at sales counters of McDonalds and Burger King but also some better paid jobs like stock replenishment (I found some jobs on this site
http://www.jobisjob.co.uk/london/stock-replenishment/jobs) can be found with some luck and efforts. This is a good news.

Which city you people will recommend? London is good, opportunities must be in abundance but it is also very expensive. What about other cities like Birmingham or Manchester or even Durham. Don't you people think that studying in a smaller town is much better. Durham is good for its business faculty but I don't know about the job opportunities in Durham.

GeoG, you're ritght. You must have been ordinarily resident within the EU for the last three years in order to be eligible for home fee. Anyway, he wants to earn some money before commencing with his studies. He himself has to find a solution for this home fee eligibility problem

GeoG and Ajnabi27, do the both of you still live in the UK?

foqia khan

May be the people you meet from London might have graduated from the same University from where Zardari did ? :)

London or Manchester would be better option than Durham as very few job opportunities in smaller towns.

I am not suggesting it but just for your information, as a British Citizen, he can claim accomodation from Council until he finds a job and probably some living expenses too, aka Malka Key Mehman but don't hold me for this information as there may be some problem due to non residency.

Jobs in McDonalds, Burger King, Tesco like places will just earn you enough to pay for your accomodation. Many Pakistani students are going for Security Gurad jobs, you have to take a ctertificate and it costs around 300 Pounds but you earn 10-14 Pounds per hour. It is normally late night shift but that suits students as they will have time to study for soemetime even when they are working.

My personal experience of being student is of many years ago but this information is from students living around my area in London.

LOL...are u kiddin me...what have u been smokin bro ???(yapping)(yapping)(yapping)

See what I mean?

Ghulami ka sehra tum ney bhi pehen rakha hai :lol:

Most people dont realize, most of Paki curriculum is 'imported' from UK/US and refined to suit our needs. So why waste money in UK when you can get a degree from Pak

I got a college degree from DJ college in Karachi. I am pretty happy with it.

AND ITS NOT FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAKE!!!!! :lol::lol:

adnan_swati

please can i one tell me if one could survive by doing part time jobs. i am going UK in feb 2011 for earning mainly and for studying as a secondary thing. please tell me if jobs in shops and stores etc will give me enough money to support myself and send some money home